DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Instant Application (US19/285394)
US12412278
Claim 1: An autonomous or semi-autonomous machine comprising: one or more central processing units (CPUs);one or more graphics processing units (GPUs);one or more hardware accelerators; and one or more sensors having one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields external to the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine, wherein the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine is to: evaluate a target space in an environment based at least on an indication of one or more adjustments to a shape corresponding to the target space, the indication determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs) and sensor data obtained using the one or more sensors; and perform one or more planning, parking, control, or navigation operations based at least on the evaluation.
Claim 11: A system comprising: one or more processors to execute operations comprising: applying, to one or more machine learning models (MLMs) trained to predict likelihoods that one or more points of a multi-dimensional shape correspond to one or more portions of a boundary of a target space, the boundary representing an entrance to the target space, sensor data corresponding to at least one field of view or sensory field of at least one sensor, the at least one field of view or sensory field including at least a portion of the target space; receiving, from the one or more MLMs, data indicating the one or more points correspond to the one or more portions of the boundary of the target space; identifying, using the data, one or more locations associated with the one or more points as corresponding to boundary of the target space; and performing one or more planning, control, parking, or navigation operations corresponding to a machine based at least on the identifying of the one or more locations as corresponding to the boundary.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12412278. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the boundary representing an entrance to the target space, sensor data corresponding to at least one field of view or sensory field of at least one sensor as an overall target space for a parking algorithm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Micks et al. (US20180025640) (hereinafter Micks) in view of Lei et al. (US20180128638) (hereinafter Lei).
Regarding claim 1, Micks discloses an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine comprising: one or more central processing units (CPUs); one or more graphics processing units (GPUs); one or more hardware accelerators [0021-0028; computing architecture for self-autonomous vehicle parking].
and one or more sensors having one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields external to the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine [0040-0044; sensors used in identifying parking area and availability].
perform one or more planning, parking, control, or navigation operations based at least on the evaluation [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; confirming parking spot availability for planned parking algorithm].
Micks discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Micks does not explicitly disclose wherein the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine is to: evaluate a target space in an environment based at least on an indication of one or more adjustments to a shape corresponding to the target space, the indication determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs) and sensor data obtained using the one or more sensors.
Lei more explicitly discloses wherein the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine is to: evaluate a target space in an environment based at least on an indication of one or more adjustments to a shape corresponding to the target space, the indication determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs) and sensor data obtained using the one or more sensors [0008-0010, 0040-0048, 0063-0084, 0125, 0166-0174; planning and drawing navigation route on distribution map for planned parking].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Micks with the teachings of Lei as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, increased efficiency and accuracy across different parking situations is achieved (see Lei 0005-0008).
Regarding claim 2, Micks discloses wherein the indication defines at least one of: one or more displacement values to one or more portions of the shape; one or more adjusted points relative to the shape; one or more adjusted boundaries of the shape; or one or more skewed versions of the shape [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 3, Micks discloses wherein the evaluation of the target space is based at least on the autonomous or semi-autonomous machine applying at least one of the one or more adjustments to one or more portions corresponding to the shape [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 4, Micks discloses wherein the one or more MLMs are to generate the indication based at least on processing input data corresponding to the sensor data [Figs. 1-6, 0040-0044; sensors used in identifying parking area and availability].
Regarding claim 5, Micks discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Micks does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication corresponds to a shape selected from a plurality of shapes associated with a spatial region within a representation of the one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields.
Lei discloses wherein the indication corresponds to a shape selected from a plurality of shapes associated with a spatial region within a representation of the one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields [0063-0066; parking space navigation route with a variety of representations on the map].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Micks with the teachings of Lei for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 6, Micks discloses wherein the sensor data comprises image data representative of one or more images, and the one or more adjustments are relative to coordinates defining the shape in the one or more images [0072-0095; parking space navigation performing updated radar detections and continually updating spines].
Regarding claim 7, Micks discloses wherein the evaluation is based at least on one or more confidence values indicating a likelihood that the shape corresponds to the target space [0072-0095; parking space navigation performing updated radar detections and continually updating spines].
Regarding claim 8, Micks discloses A system comprising: one or more central processing units (CPUs); one or more graphics processing units (GPUs);one or more hardware accelerators [0021-0028; computing architecture for self-autonomous vehicle parking].
and one or more sensors having one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields [0040-0044; sensors used in identifying parking area and availability].
wherein the system causes a machine to perform one or more planning, parking control, or navigation operations based at least on a geometry of a target space in an environment [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; confirming parking spot availability for planned parking algorithm].
sensor data obtained using the one or more sensors [0040-0044, 0072-0092; sensors used in identifying parking area and availability].
Micks discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Micks does not explicitly disclose the geometry of the target space identified based at least on one or more adjustments to one or more shapes corresponding to the target space as determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs).
Lei more explicitly discloses the geometry of the target space identified based at least on one or more adjustments to one or more shapes corresponding to the target space as determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs) [0008-0010, 0040-0048, 0063-0084, 0125, 0166-0174; planning and drawing navigation route on distribution map for planned parking].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Micks with the teachings of Lei as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, increased efficiency and accuracy across different parking situations is achieved (see Lei 0005-0008).
Regarding claim 9, Micks discloses wherein the one or more adjustments correspond to at least one of: one or more displacement values to one or more portions of the one or more shapes; one or more adjusted points relative to the one or more shapes; one or more adjusted boundaries of the one or more shapes; or one or more skewed versions of the one or more shapes [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 10, Micks discloses wherein the geometry is identified is based at least on the system applying at least one of the one or more adjustments to one or more portions corresponding to the one or more shapes [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 11, Micks discloses wherein the one or more MLMs are to generate the one or more adjustments based at least on processing input data corresponding to the sensor data [0072-0095; parking space navigation performing updated radar detections and continually updating spines].
Regarding claim 12, Micks discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Micks does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more adjustments correspond to a shape selected from a plurality of shapes associated with a spatial region within a representation of the one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields.
Lei discloses wherein the one or more adjustments correspond to a shape selected from a plurality of shapes associated with a spatial region within a representation of the one or more fields of view or one or more sensory fields [0063-0066; parking space navigation route with a variety of representations on the map].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Micks with the teachings of Lei for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 13, Micks discloses wherein the sensor data comprises image data representative of one or more images, and the one or more adjustments are relative to coordinates defining the one or more shapes in the one or more images [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 14, Micks discloses wherein the geometry is identified based at least on one or more confidence values indicating a likelihood that the one or more shapes correspond to the target space [0072-0095; parking space navigation performing updated radar detections and continually updating spines].
Regarding claim 15, Micks discloses wherein the system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system on chip (SoC);a system including a programmable vision accelerator (PVA);a system implemented using a robot; a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources [Figs. 1-6, 0024-0032; learning model and device for vehicle self-autonomous parking].
Regarding claim 16, Micks discloses at least one system-on-a-chip (SoC) comprising: one or more central processing units (CPUs);one or more graphics processing units (GPUs); and one or more hardware accelerators [0021-0028; computing architecture for self-autonomous vehicle parking].
wherein the at least one SoC causes a machine to perform one or more planning, parking, control, or navigation operations with respect to a target space in an environment [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; confirming parking spot availability for planned parking algorithm].
sensor data obtained using one or more sensors of the machine [0040-0044, 0072-0092; sensors used in identifying parking area and availability].
Micks discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Micks does not explicitly disclose the target space determined based at least on one or more adjustments to one or more shapes corresponding to the target space as determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs).
Lei more explicitly discloses the target space determined based at least on one or more adjustments to one or more shapes corresponding to the target space as determined using one or more machine learning models (MLMs) [0008-0010, 0040-0048, 0063-0084, 0125, 0166-0174; planning and drawing navigation route on distribution map for planned parking].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Micks with the teachings of Lei as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, increased efficiency and accuracy across different parking situations is achieved (see Lei 0005-0008).
Regarding claim 17, Micks discloses wherein the one or more adjustments correspond to at least one of: one or more displacement values to one or more portions of the one or more shapes; one or more adjusted points relative to the one or more shapes; one or more adjusted boundaries of the one or more shapes; or one or more skewed versions of the one or more shapes [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 18, Micks discloses wherein the target space is determined based at least on the SoC applying at least one of the one or more adjustments to one or more portions corresponding to the one or more shapes [Figs. 1-6, 0038-0047, 0053-0062, 0072-0092; splines and edges of parking spot and optimal path].
Regarding claim 19, Micks discloses wherein the one or more MLMs are to generate the one or more adjustments based at least on processing input data corresponding to the sensor data [0072-0095; parking space navigation performing updated radar detections and continually updating spines].
Regarding claim 20, Micks discloses wherein the SoC is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system including a programmable vision accelerator (PVA);a system implemented using a robot; a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources [Figs. 1-6, 0024-0032; learning model and device for vehicle self-autonomous parking].
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483