DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Claims 19-23 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 09/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12,
The phrase requiring the copper foil and the resin sheet to be “essential layers” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear as to what is required for a layer to be considered “essential”. For examination purposes, an essential layer will be any layer that is positively recited as an embodiment and is not explicitly non-essential.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. (US 2014/0252404 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-6,
Takayama teaches a thermally-conductive sheet (a resin sheet) comprising a polymer matrix composed of a fluororesin and anisotropic oriented thermally-conductive filler particles composed of boron nitride (an anisotropic filler) (Takayama: abstract; par. 0010-0015 and 0034-0035). The fluororesin may be perfluorinated fluororesin such as a polytetrafluoroethylene (Takayama: par. 0023 and 0024). The boron nitride filler particles may have an average particle size of from 0.5 to 100 µm, which overlaps with the claimed 0.1 to 50 µm (Takayama: par. 0034). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
The anisotropic filler may be oriented 60% or more of the filler particles are oriented 45 degrees or more to the sheet surfaces which overlaps with the claimed “uniaxially oriented” as 60% or more overlaps with 100% and at least a part may be oriented in the thickness direction (Takayama: par. 0010-0012 and 0022). Thus, there may be a part that is uniaxially oriented in the film thickness direction. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Takayama is silent towards the filler being randomly oriented in the plane direction. The phrase “random” is not given a specific definition in the specification and will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant’s specification describes the orientation being to application of a magnetic field and drying steps (Applicant’s specification: par. 0055). Thus, any orientation as a result of magnetic and drying may be considered random to some degree. Takayama teaches a step of using a magnetic field to orient to the desired orientation and a step of drying (Takayama: par. 0053-0057). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a degree of random orientation in the plane direction.
Regarding claim 10,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama further teaches the resin sheet may have a film thickness of from 0.02 to 2 mm (Takeyama: par. 0043). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 11,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. The phrase requiring the resin sheet to be “an insulating material for a circuit board” is intended use of the claimed resin sheet. The preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than a claim limitation, no patentable weight would be given. See MPEP 2111.02 II. The claim limitation will be met if a Prior Art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 12,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama further teaches the resin sheet may be laminated with a copper film (foil) and thus may be considered a copper-clad laminate (Takayama: par. 0078-0079). The phrase requiring the layers to be “essential layers” is satisfied as the layers is a disclosed embodiment and thus essential for the embodiment that comprises the claimed layers. See the Section 112(b) interpretation of “essential layers” above.
Claim(s) 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama as evidenced by Kitagawa et al. (WO 2020/0195736 A1).
Regarding claim 4,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama is silent towards the aspect ratio of the boron nitride particles. However, Takayama does teach the boron nitride filler particles may be plate shaped using a tradename PT 110 manufactured by Momentive Performance Materials, Inc. (Takayama: par. 0092).
Kitagawa teaches the same tradename particles of boron nitride utilizing PT 110 manufactured by Momentive in which these particles have a diameter of 45 µm and an aspect ratio of 23 (Kitagawa: Example 1).
Thus, the boron nitride anisotropic filler of Takayama may have an aspect ratio within the claimed range of between 1 and 200.
Regarding claim 7,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama is silent towards the resin sheet having an anisotropic filler of boron nitride having the claimed intensity ratio (<002>/<100>) of a diffraction peak of a <002> plane to a difference peak of <100> plane of the boron nitride in the thickness direction of the sheet is 20 or less.
However, Takayama teaches the anisotropic filler may be boron nitride having the claimed diameter, aspect ratio, and oriented in the claimed manner as noted in the rejection of claims 1-6 above. As such, it would be expected to exhibit the same intensity ratio of a diffraction peak when measured in the claimed manner. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim(s) 7, 13-14, 16, and 18 are rejected in alternate under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama in view of Hida et al. (JP 2002/080617 A; machine translation).
Regarding claim 7,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama is silent towards the resin sheet having an anisotropic filler of boron nitride having the claimed intensity ratio (<002>/<100>) of a diffraction peak of a <002> plane to a difference peak of <100> plane of the boron nitride in the thickness direction of the sheet is 20 or less.
Hida teaches a thermoconductive sheet comprising a polymer matrix and boron nitride anisotropic filler particles that preferably have an intensity ratio (<002>/<200>) of the diffraction peak of a <002> plane to a difference peak of <100> plane of the boron nitride in a thickness direction 1.5 or less, which is within the claimed range of 20 or less, having a higher conductive heat capacity (Hida: abstract; par. 0001-0011).
Takayama and Hida are in the corresponding field of thermoconductive resin sheets comprising boron nitride anisotropic fillers which are oriented. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the anisotropic boron nitride filler particles of Takayama to have the claimed intensity ratio to provide a higher conductive heat capacity as taught by Hida.
Regarding claims 13-14, 16, and 18,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama further teaches the resin sheet may be laminated with a copper film (layer) (Takayama: par. 0078-0079).
Takayama does not explicitly teach the laminate being applied in a printed circuit board.
Hida teaches a thermoconductive sheet comprising a polymer matrix and boron nitride anisotropic filler particles that may be oriented with magnetic fields to provide improved conductive heat capacity (Hida: abstract; par. 0001-0011). The thermoconductive sheet is shown to be effective to provide excellent heat conductivity to electronic devices including light sources, displays, and printed circuit wiring board which overlap with the applications of Takayama (Hida: par. 0027 and 0042-0048).
Takayama and Hida re in the corresponding field of thermoconductive resin sheets composed of anisotropic filler in a polymer matrix in electronic devices. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the laminate of the resin sheet and copper layer of Takayama into a printed circuit board as taught by Hida as a known application to provide improved heat conductivity properties.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama in view of Komori et al. (US 2021/0345485 A1) and in further view of Hida.
Regarding claims 8 and 9,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama does not explicitly teach wherein the resin sheet further comprises amorphous silica filler. However, Takayama does teach additional filler may be added (Takayama: par. 0044).
Komori teaches a laminate comprising a fluororesin polymer matrix (the polymer matrix utilized in Takayama) for use in printed circuit boards and fused silica filler (Komori: abstract; par. 0045-0067). The fused Silica is made from Denka and is an amorphous silica as evidenced by the attached Denka Data Sheet (Komori: par. 0053 and Denka Data Sheet). The amorphous silica is shown to provide improved loading properties and flowability(Komori: par. 0047).
Komori doesn’t explicitly connect the use of displays, such as those used in Takayama, and printed circuit boards. Hida teaches a thermoconductive sheet comprising a polymer matrix and boron nitride anisotropic filler particles that may be oriented with magnetic fields to provide improved conductive heat capacity (Hida: abstract; par. 0001-0011). Hida further teaches the thermoconductive sheet is shown to be effective to provide excellent heat conductivity to electronic devices including light sources, displays, and printed circuit wiring board which overlap with the applications of Takayama and Komori (Hida: par. 0027 and 0042-0048).
Takayama, Komori, and Hida are in the corresponding field of laminates for use in electronics comprising polymer matrix and filler. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize amorphous silica in the resin sheet of Takayama to provide improved loading and flowability properties as taught by Komori.
Regarding claims 13-18,
Takayama teaches the resin sheet required by claim 1. Takayama further teaches the resin sheet is applied to a conductive layer made of metal such as copper (Takayama: par. 0078-0079).
Takayama does not explicitly teach the laminate being applied in a printed circuit board, the copper being rolled or electrolytic copper and the metal surface being roughened with a roughness Rz of 2.0 µm or less.
Komori teaches a laminate comprising a fluororesin polymer matrix (the polymer matrix utilized in Takayama) forming a resin sheet that is laminated with a rolled or electrolytic copper layer for use in printed circuit boards (Komori: abstract; par. 0045-0072). The copper layer may be roughened to have a roughness (Rz) of 2.0 µm or less to provide improved adhesiveness of the resin sheet to the copper foil (Komori: par. 0070).
Komori doesn’t explicitly connect the use of displays, such as those used in Takayama, and printed circuit boards. Hida teaches a thermoconductive sheet comprising a polymer matrix and boron nitride anisotropic filler particles that may be oriented with magnetic fields to provide improved conductive heat capacity (Hida: abstract; par. 0001-0011). Hida further teaches the thermoconductive sheet is shown to be effective to provide excellent heat conductivity to electronic devices including light sources, displays, and printed circuit wiring board which overlap with the applications of Takayama and Komori (Hida: par. 0027 and 0042-0048).
Takayama, Komori, and Hida are in the corresponding field of laminates for use in electronics comprising polymer matrix and filler. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a rolled or electrolytic copper layer with a roughened surface that contacts the resin sheet of Takayama to provide adhesion of the copper layer to the resin sheet of Takayama for use in the desired applications such as printed circuit boards as taught by Komori.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783