DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to application 19/286,458 filed on 7/31/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,406,234 in view of US 2020/0293564 (hereinafter Reh). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in bold are the same and the differences would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art. With respect to claims 1-4 an artisan of ordinary skill in the art understands that data that is created or defined is associated with previous data within the system and that the created or defined data must be maintained.
With respect to claim 5 Reh renders obvious generating, by a machine learning system, the occurrence of the event instance as a machine learning task executed by the machine learning system (See paragraphs 0024, 0048 note the machine learning system is responsible for task and optimization). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Reh into the system of US 12,406,234. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of customer relations management (See US 12, 406, 234 abstract and Reh paragraph 0023), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Reh’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,406,234 system to have more efficient processing of CRM data.
With respect to claim 6 Reh renders obvious; training, by a machine learning system, an event classification model for identifying events (See paragraphs 0044, 0048 and 0066-0068 note the training is used for the ontology to classify data as events). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Reh into the system of US 12,406,234. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of customer relations management (See US 12, 406, 234 abstract and Reh paragraph 0023), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Reh’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,406,234 system to have more efficient processing of CRM data.
With respect to claim 7 Reh renders obvious; training, by a machine learning system, an event classification model for identifying an event as an indicator that a change is to be implemented to address a changing need (See paragraphs 0044, 0048 and 0066-0068 note the training is used for the ontology to classify data as events). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Reh into the system of US 12,406,234. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of customer relations management (See US 12, 406, 234 abstract and Reh paragraph 0023), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Reh’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,406,234 system to have more efficient processing of CRM data.
With respect to claim 8 Reh renders obvious; generating, by a conversation intelligence system, an event based on a conversation or call (See paragraphs 0035, note call logs, chat logs, bot logs etc.). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Reh into the system of US 12,406,234. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of customer relations management (See US 12, 406, 234 abstract and Reh paragraph 0023), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Reh’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,406,234 system to have more efficient processing of CRM data.
19/286,458 12406234
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising: constructing a custom event record for a custom object within a customer relationship management (CRM) system according to an event type definition; configuring the custom event record to track an event type defined by the event type definition; monitoring for an occurrence of an event instance of the event type; and in response to detecting an occurrence of the event instance of the event type tracked by the custom event record, associating the event instance with an event log of the custom event record.
1. A method, comprising: receiving a selection of a custom object within a customer relationship management (CRM) system; receiving a definition of an event type definition for the custom object; storing an ontology that defines a set of objects and respective associations between the set of objects, wherein the set of objects includes the custom object; wherein the ontology is a client-specific ontology of a client of a multi-service platform that includes custom objects that are specific to the client; constructing a custom event record for the custom object; configuring the custom event record to track an event type defined by the event type definition; monitoring for an occurrence of an event instance of the event type; and in response to an occurrence of the event instance associating the event instance with an event log of the custom event record.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: defining the event type definition specifying a set of event types to track with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties.
4. The method of claim 1, comprising: receiving a user selection of the custom object and the event type definition to associate with the custom event record, wherein the event type definition indicates a set of event types tracked with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: defining the event type definition specifying a set of event types to track with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties.
12. The computing system of claim 9, wherein the operations comprise: receiving a user selection of the custom object and the event type definition to associate with the custom event record, wherein the event type definition indicates a set of event types tracked with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising: maintaining the event log to track a time-sequenced log of event instances recorded for the custom object.
2. The method of claim 1, comprising: creating the event log to provide a time-sequenced log of event instances recorded for the custom object.
Claims 9-16 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1-8 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-18.
Claims 17-20 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1, 7, 8 and 2 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 7, 8, and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reh.
As for claim 1 Reh discloses: A computer-implemented method, comprising: constructing a custom event record for a custom object within a customer relationship management (CRM) system according to an event type definition (See paragraph 0023 note the domain includes an enterprise resource planning application and a customer relationship management system); configuring the custom event record to track an event type defined by the event type definition (See paragraphs 0024 and 0046 note the system will define events according to a user defined semantics); monitoring for an occurrence of an event instance of the event type (See paragraphs 0025, 0026 and 0038 note the system monitors transactions for the user defined events); and in response to detecting an occurrence of the event instance of the event type tracked by the custom event record, associating the event instance with an event log of the custom event record (See paragraph 0035 note the system will associated targeted data will logs, call logs, chat logs, bot logs, etc).
As for claim 2 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; defining the event type definition specifying a set of event types to track with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties (See paragraphs 0045, 0052 and 0077 note attributes are properties and mapped to values).
As for claim 3 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; defining the event type definition specifying a set of event types to track with respect to an instance of the custom object and a set of event properties (See paragraph 0022 and 0041 note the entities are specified than track and confirm certain events like purchases).
As for claim 4 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses: maintaining the event log to track a time-sequenced log of event instances recorded for the custom object (See paragraphs 0024, 0038 and 0041 note the system will structure logs based on metrics such as time, cost etc. along a timeline).
As for claim 5 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; generating, by a machine learning system, the occurrence of the event instance as a machine learning task executed by the machine learning system (See paragraphs 0024, 0048 note the machine learning system is responsible for task and optimization).
As for claim 6 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; training, by a machine learning system, an event classification model for identifying events (See paragraphs 0044, 0048 and 0066-0068 note the training is used for the ontology to classify data as events).
As for claim 7 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; training, by a machine learning system, an event classification model for identifying an event as an indicator that a change is to be implemented to address a changing need (See paragraphs 0044, 0048 and 0066-0068 note the training is used for the ontology to classify data as events).
As for claim 8 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Reh discloses; generating, by a conversation intelligence system, an event based on a conversation or call (See paragraphs 0035, note call logs, chat logs, bot logs etc).
Claims 9-16 are system claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1-8 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1-18.
Claims 17-20 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1, 7, 8 and 2 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 7, 8, and 2.
Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272-4098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eliyah S. Harper/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 June 10, 2026