DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “wherein the exposed surface comprises a textured granule-free polymer film disposed on thee exposed surface” was not supported in the specification. The specification provides no support for a textured granule-free exposed surface layer as this phrase contains a negative limitation. The specification does not explicitly provide support for the film to not contain granules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues et al (US Publication 20050130519) in view of Friedman (CA 2469546) and Kalkanoglu (CA 2719589).
As to claims 1, 2, 4-13 Rodrigues discloses a roofing shingle which includes an asphalt coated substrate. The substrate comprises fibrous material such as synthetic fibers and glass fibers (paragraph 22). The asphalt coating can comprise organic fillers (paragraph 23). Rodrigues discloses that granules are not essentially provided on the stop surface (paragraph 26) and that they can not be provided (paragraph 34). However, this reference is silent to a back surface covering of sand and the top surface of the shingle.
Friedman discloses a synthetic roofing shingle wherein a skin material is provided on the top surface that has desirable weather withstanding properties. The skin material is made of a plastic film that can be exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Rodrigues and added the skin layer of Friedman as it would create a more aesthetically pleasing shingle as an alternative to the colored granules that are optional as well as a cheaper protective shingle layer.
Kalkanoglu discloses a roofing product that comprises an asphalt coated base material and discloses the use of a parting agent made of sand or slag to keep the product from sticking to itself when in a spool or bundle of shingles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Rodrigues and Friedman and added a parting agent on the bottom surface of the shingle as it would allow for easier transportation and manufacturing of the shingles.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigues et al (US Publication 20050130519), Friedman (CA 2469546) and Kalkanoglu (CA 2719589) in view of Shiao (CA 2545903).
Rodrigues, Friedman and Kalkanoglu renders claim 1 obvious for the reasons noted above, however is silent to the use of polypropylene as the mat.
Shaio discloses an aspalt coated shingle comprising fibers of polypropylene as well as glass fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Rodrigues, Friedman and Kalkanoglu and sued polypropylene fibers as they would be a suitable alternative as Rodrigues discloses the use of synthetic fibers as the mat. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
.
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785