DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimoto et al. (JP 2009181098, previously listed on the IDS filed 8/4/2025, see attached machine translation, hereinafter “Nishimoto”) in view of Kato (US 2013/0128236, previously listed on the IDS filed 8/4/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimoto teaches a light source device (a video display device comprising a plurality of light sources 10; see Figs. 1-6; Abstract; para. [0016]-[0019]), comprising a first light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature at a first temperature (a red light source 10r comprising a red light-emitting element 20r in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a first temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016][0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a second light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature at a second temperature (a blue light source 10b comprising a blue light-emitting element 20b in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a second temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a third light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature at a third temperature (a green light source 10g comprising a green light-emitting element 20g in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a third temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a first heat sink to which the first light emitting element is thermally connected (a heat sink 30br is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r to cool the first light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]); and a second heat sink to which the third light emitting element is thermally connected (a heat sink 30g is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the third/green light emitting element 10g/20g to cool the third light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), wherein the second light emitting element is thermally connected to a heat sink shared with a light emitting element that is one of the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element (the second/blue light emitting element 10b/20b is thermally connected to the heat sink 30br which is designed to support both the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r and the second/blue light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), and that forms a combination with the second light emitting element resulting in a larger allowable heat resistance of a radiator, the allowable heat resistance being calculated from: a difference between a maximum junction temperature and an ambient temperature, and an amount of heat generated (the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r and the second/blue light emitting element 10b/20b are each mounted on the same first heat sink 30br to form a combination which receives less power than the third/green light emitting element 10g/20g to ensure a higher brightness of the video display device, which means the combination of the first and second light emitting elements has a larger allowable heat resistance than the third light emitting element due to the majority of power being received by the third light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]).
However, the teachings of Nishimoto fail to specifically disclose the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, and the third temperature is equal to or higher than the second temperature.
Kato teaches a light source device (projection-type display apparatus 100; see Fig. 2; Abstract; para. [0032], [0108]) comprising a first light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature at a first temperature (a red light source 103R which has a maximum junction temperature of 110 C; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); a second light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature at a second temperature higher than the first temperature (a blue light source 103B which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which is larger than that of the first/red light emitting element 103R; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); and a third light emitting element having a maximum junction temperature equal to or higher than the second temperature (a green light source 103G which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which matches that of the second/blue light emitting element 103B; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]).
Therefore, in view of Kato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third light emitting elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second light emitting element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third light emitting element is equal to or higher than the second temperature. One would have been motivated to modify the known light source device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third light emitting elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second light emitting element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third light emitting element is equal to or higher than the second temperature, such as the light emitting elements of Kato, in order to ensure the light emitting elements have suitably high maximum junction temperatures to operate at high brightness without overheating.
Regarding claim 2, Nishimoto teaches wherein the second light emitting element is thermally connected to a heat sink shared with a light emitting element that is one of the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element (the second/blue light emitting element 10b/20b is thermally connected to the heat sink 30br which is designed to support both the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r and the second/blue light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]).
However, the teachings of Nishimoto fail to specifically disclose the one of the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element sharing a heat sink with the second light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature with a smaller difference from the second temperature.
Kato teaches wherein the first light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature at a first temperature (a red light source 103R which has a maximum junction temperature of 110 C; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); the second light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature at a second temperature higher than the first temperature (a blue light source 103B which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which is larger than that of the first/red light emitting element 103R; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); and the third light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature equal to or higher than the second temperature (a green light source 103G which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which matches that of the second/blue light emitting element 103B; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]).
Therefore, in view of Kato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third light emitting elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second light emitting element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third light emitting element is equal to or higher than the second temperature, and arranging the light emitting elements so that the one of the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element sharing a heat sink with the second light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature with a smaller difference from the second temperature, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would have been motivated to modify the known light source device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third light emitting elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second light emitting element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third light emitting element is equal to or higher than the second temperature, and arranging the light emitting elements so that the one of the first light emitting element and the third light emitting element sharing a heat sink with the second light emitting element has a maximum junction temperature with a smaller difference from the second temperature, such as the light emitting elements of Kato, in order to ensure the light emitting elements have suitably high maximum junction temperatures to operate at high brightness without overheating.
Regarding claim 3, Nishimoto teaches wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are respectively arranged on passages different from each other (the second heat sink 30g is arranged with a blower 31 near an intake section 52 of a housing 13, and the first heat sink 30br is arranged near an exhaust section 53 of the housing, such that during operation of the device, air is drawn into the intake section 52 by the blower 31 and first reaches heat dissipation fins 43g of the second heat sink 30g, and then branches in two directions: a first airflow path that flows towards the first heat sink 30br, passes through heat dissipation fins 43br of the first heat sink, and then reaches the exhaust section 53, and a second airflow path which reaches the green light source 10g and passes through the green light-emitting element 20g and its surrounding area, then reaches the space containing the blue and red light sources 10b and 10r and bypasses the first heat sink 30br to reach the exhaust section 53; see Figs. 1-6; para. [0022]-[0023], [0025], [0029], [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimoto teaches a cooling unit (a video display device comprising a plurality of light sources 10; see Figs. 1-6; Abstract; para. [0016]-[0019]), comprising a first heat generating element having a maximum junction temperature at a first temperature (a red light source 10r comprising a red light-emitting element 20r in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a first temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016][0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a second heat generating element having a second maximum junction temperature (a blue light source 10b comprising a blue light-emitting element 20b in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a second temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a third heat generating element having a maximum junction temperature (a green light source 10g comprising a green light-emitting element 20g in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a third temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]); a first heat sink to which the first heat generating element is thermally connected (a heat sink 30br is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the first/red heat generating element element 10r/20r to cool the first light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]); and a second heat sink to which the third heat generating element is thermally connected (a heat sink 30g is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the third/green heat generating element 10g/20g to cool the third heat generating element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), wherein the second heat generating element is thermally connected to a heat sink shared with a heat generating element that is one of the first heat generating element and the third heat generating element (the second/blue heat generating element 10b/20b is thermally connected to the heat sink 30br which is designed to support both the first/red heat generating element 10r/20r and the second/blue heat generating element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), and that forms a combination with the second heat generating element resulting in a larger allowable heat resistance of a radiator, the allowable heat resistance being calculated from: a difference between a maximum junction temperature and an ambient temperature; and an amount of heat generated (the first/red heat generating element 10r/20r and the second/blue heat generating element 10b/20b are each mounted on the same first heat sink 30br to form a combination which receives less power than the third/green heat generating element 10g/20g to ensure a higher brightness of the video display device, which means the combination of the first and second heat generating elements has a larger allowable heat resistance than the third heat generating element due to the majority of power being received by the third heat generating element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]).
However, the teachings of Nishimoto fail to specifically disclose the second temperature is higher than the first temperature, and the third temperature is equal to or higher than the second temperature.
Kato teaches a cooling unit (projection-type display apparatus 100; see Fig. 2; Abstract; para. [0032], [0108]) comprising a first heat generating element having a maximum junction temperature at a first temperature (a red light source 103R which has a maximum junction temperature of 110 C; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); a second heat generating element having a maximum junction temperature at a second temperature higher than the first temperature (a blue light source 103B which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which is larger than that of the first/red heat generating element 103R; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]); and a third heat generating element having a maximum junction temperature equal to or higher than the second temperature (a green light source 103G which has a maximum junction temperature of 170 C which matches that of the second/blue heat generating element 103B; see Figs. 2-3, 7; para. [0032], [0035]-[0037], [0040]-[0043], [0100], [0108]).
Therefore, in view of Kato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third heat generating elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second heat generating element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third heat generating element is equal to or higher than the second temperature. One would have been motivated to modify the known device of Nishimoto by selecting first, second, and third heat generating elements which have specific maximum junction temperatures where the second temperature of the second heat generating element is larger than the first temperature and the third temperature of the third heat generating element is equal to or higher than the second temperature, such as the heat generating elements of Kato, in order to ensure the heat generating elements have suitably high maximum junction temperatures to operate at high brightness without overheating.
Regarding claim 6, Nishimoto teaches wherein the first light emitting element is configured to emit red light (a red light source 10r comprising a red light-emitting element 20r in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a first temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016][0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimoto teaches wherein the second light emitting element is configured to emit blue light (a blue light source 10b comprising a blue light-emitting element 20b in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a second temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimoto teaches wherein the third light emitting element is configured to emit green light (a green light source 10g comprising a green light-emitting element 20g in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a third temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimoto teaches wherein the first heat sink comprises a first heat receiver to which the first light emitting element is thermally connected, the first heat receiver being configured to receive heat generated in the first light emitting element (the first heat sink 30br comprises a flat surface 40 onto which the first light emitting element 10r/20r and the second light emitting element 10b/20b are mounted; see Figs. 1-2, 4; para. [0022]-[0024], [0033], [0035], [0043]-[0044], [0046]); and plural first fins configured to radiate the heat of the first heat receiver into atmosphere (the first heat sink 30br comprises a plurality of heat dissipation fins 43br formed on a back surface 40R of the first heat receiver 40; see Figs. 1-2, 4; para. [0022]-[0024], [0033], [0035], [0038]-[0039], [0043]-[0044], [0046]), and the second heat sink comprises a second heat receiver to which the third light emitting element is thermally connected, the second heat receiver being configured to receive heat generated in the third light emitting element (the second heat sink 30g comprises a flat surface 40 onto which the third light emitting element 10g/20g is mounted; see Figs. 1-2, 4; para. [0022]-[0024], [0033], [0035], [0043]-[0044], [0046]); and plural second fins configured to radiate the heat of the second heat receiver into the atmosphere (the second heat sink 30g comprises a plurality of heat dissipation fins 43g formed on a back surface 40R of the second heat receiver 40; see Figs. 1-2, 4; para. [0022]-[0024], [0033], [0035], [0038]-[0039], [0043]-[0044], [0046]).
However, the teachings of Nishimoto fail to specifically disclose the second light emitting element is thermally connected to the second receiver which is configured to receive heat from the second light emitting element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source device of Nishimoto by arranging the light emitting elements such that the second and third light emitting elements are both thermally connected to the second receiver, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known light source device of Nishimoto by arranging the light emitting elements such that the second and third light emitting elements are both thermally connected to the second receiver would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to provide an alternate configuration of the lights while maintaining high brightness white light output.
Regarding claim 10, Nishimoto teaches wherein the second light emitting element and the third light emitting element are positioned by the second heat sink (the third light emitting element 10g/20g is positioned on the second heat sink 30g, and the second light emitting element 10b/20b is positioned on the first heat sink 30br at a location which is next to the second heat sink 30g and determined by the arrangement/positioning of the second heat sink 30g relative to the first heat sink 30br, and is therefore “positioned by” the second heat sink, since its location on the first heat sink 30br is determined by the position of the second heat sink 30g; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Nishimoto teaches wherein the first light emitting element is a red light source configured to emit red light (a red light source 10r comprising a red light-emitting element 20r in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a first temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016][0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]), the second light emitting element is a blue light source configured to emit blue light (a blue light source 10b comprising a blue light-emitting element 20b in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a second temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]), the third light emitting element is a green light source configured to emit green light (a green light source 10g comprising a green light-emitting element 20g in the form of an LED, which has a maximum junction temperature defined as a third temperature; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0019]-[0021], [0031]-[0033]), the first light emitting element is thermally connected to the first heat sink (a first heat sink 30br is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r to cool the first light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), the third light emitting element is thermally connected to the second heat sink (a second heat sink 30g is provided for thermally connecting and supporting the third/green light emitting element 10g/20g to cool the third light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]), and the second light emitting element is thermally connected to the first heat sink (the second/blue light emitting element 10b/20b is thermally connected to the first heat sink 30br which is designed to support both the first/red light emitting element 10r/20r and the second/blue light emitting element; see Figs. 1, 3-4; para. [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0024], [0032]-[0033], [0046]-[0049]).
However, the teachings of Nishimoto fail to disclose or fairly suggest the first light emitting element is an amber light source configured to emit amber light, the second light emitting element is a red light source configured to emit red light, and the third light emitting element is a blue light source configured to emit blue light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source device of Nishimoto by substituting the first light emitting element with an amber light source configured to emit amber light, substituting the second light emitting element with a red light source configured to emit red light, and substituting the third light emitting element with a blue light source configured to emit blue light, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element over another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) and MPEP 2143. In this case, modifying the known light source device of Nishimoto by substituting the first light emitting element with an amber light source configured to emit amber light, substituting the second light emitting element with a red light source configured to emit red light, and substituting the third light emitting element with a blue light source configured to emit blue light would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application in order to provide an alternative combination of light sources with which to achieve a white light output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The light source device according to claim 1, wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are arranged on the same passage, and at least part of one of the first heat sink and the second heat sink is arranged upstream of another one of the first heat sink and the second heat sink in the passage, the one being thermally connected to a light emitting element having a smaller allowable heat resistance of the radiator than another light emitting elements” (emphasis added).
Although light source devices are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The light source device according to claim 11, further comprising a fourth light emitting element that is a green light source configured to emit green light, wherein the fourth light emitting element is thermally connected to the second heat sink” (emphasis added).
The closest Prior Art, Nishimoto (JP 2009181009, see attached machine translation), while teaching a light emitting element that includes a green light source, lacks the teaching of the green light source being a fourth light emitting element which is thermally connected to the second heat sink while a third light emitting element that includes a blue light source is also thermally connected to the same second heat sink and the light source device includes a first heat sink that is thermally connected to both a first light emitting element configured as an amber light source and a second light emitting element configured as a red light source, as required by Claim 12 via its dependence on Claim 11.
Additionally, it is noted that while Kuboi et al. (US 2023/0420631, previously listed on the IDS filed 7/13/2026, hereinafter “Kuboi”, which corresponds to WO 2022190390 cited on the same IDS) teaches a light source device including combinations of red, green, blue, amber, and violet LEDs thermally connected to first and/or second heat sinks in various embodiments, this reference is by the same inventors as the instant application and is commonly owned by the same applicant as the instant application. Additionally, Kuboi was published after the effective filing date of the instant application, and WO 2022190390 was published less than one year prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, and therefore both of these references are disqualified for use as Prior Art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) because at least one of the exceptions set forth under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) apply.
Accordingly, although light source devices are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 12.
Claim 13 depends on Claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The light sourced device according to claim 1, further comprising a third heat sink and a fourth heat sink, wherein the first heat sink is thermally connected to an amber light source serving as the first light emitting element, the second heat sink is thermally connected to a blue light source serving as the second light emitting element and a green light source serving as the third light emitting element, the third heat sink is thermally connected to a violet light source serving as a fourth light emitting element, and the fourth heat sink is thermally connected to a red light source serving as a fifth light emitting element” (emphasis added).
Although light source devices are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 14.
Claim 15 depends on Claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The light source device according to claim 1, further comprising a third heat sink, wherein a red light source serving as the first light emitting element is thermally connected to the first heat sink, blue, green, and amber light sources serving as the second light emitting element are thermally connected to the second heat sink, and a violet light source serving as the third light emitting element is thermally connected to the third heat sink” (emphasis added).
Although light source devices are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 16.
Claims 17-20 depend on Claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaguchi (US 2017/0059973), Athalye (US 2014/0292176), and Hussell et al. (US 2013/0271991) all disclose light source devices comprising one or more light emitting elements of various colors thermally connected to first and/or second heat sinks.
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875