DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are under examination.
Claim 15, and 21 are canceled.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed April 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a hole wall surface of the central hole is a part of a surface of the isolation member” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show " a hole wall surface of the central hole is a part of a surface of the isolation member” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Maintained Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, “a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole” is recited in Lines 27-29. The examiner will interpret the limitation as put forth in the instant specification in [0200] whereby “a diameter of the first through hole 81 is less than the diameter of the central hole 211, so that the projection of the hole wall surface of the first through hole 81 along the length direction Z of the housing 1 is totally located in the central hole 211”, such that if a first through hole diameter is less than diameter of the central hole, said projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, "…wherein the electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and an isolation member, the isolation member is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the positive electrode plate, the isolation member, and the negative electrode plate are wound around the central hole to form a wound structure, a hole wall surface of the central hole is a part of a surface of the isolation member, wherein the battery cell further comprises a support member, the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole" is recited in Lines 30-36, however, it is unclear as to how a hole wall surface of the central hole is a part of a surface of the isolation member, such that, based on antecedent basis, the isolation member is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Furthermore, the drawings do not show the claimed features and instead as shown in Fig. 15 show a support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole. Therefore, the examiner will interpret claim 1 as --"…wherein the electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and an isolation member, the isolation member is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the positive electrode plate, the isolation member, and the negative electrode plate are wound around the central hole to form a wound structure, wherein the battery cell further comprises a support member, and the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole"
Claims 2-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10, 13-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR100542683 (B1) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Choi, in view of Lim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0271403 (A1)), hereinafter Lim, in view of Du et al. (CN216288850 (U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Du, in view of Lee et al. (KR20060059694(A) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a battery cell, comprising: a housing, comprising a first half region and a second half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2, lacking any further structural distinction as to first/second region(s)),
wherein along a length direction of the housing, a part from a middle section of the housing to an end of the housing is the first half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2, see double headed arrow for first half region, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
a part from the middle section of the housing to the other end of the housing is the second half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2, see double headed arrow for second half region, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
a length of the housing is L, and the middle section is perpendicular to the length direction (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2, such that the middle section as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 is at least perpendicular to the length L in the vertical direction, and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Choi further discloses in Page 5:L4-20 whereby the can ref. 11 is configured in various shapes such as cylindrical, etc., and in the case of a cylindrical shape, a cylindrical side is formed to form a cylindrical space in which an electrode assembly can be built, and a lower surface is formed at the lower portion of the cylindrical side to block the lower space of the cylindrical side, etc., and a protrusion formed at the center of the lower surface of the cylindrical can, etc., so that the negative electrode lead formed on the negative electrode plate of the electrode assembly can be resistance welded, etc., which at least provides an electrode assembly (also see Page 3:L1-13 with regards to a jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly composed of a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, etc., as well as positive/negative electrode tab(s), etc.), accommodated in the housing, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion and a tab, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said electrode assembly at least comprises a body portion so as to provide a jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly composed of a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, etc., as well as said negative electrode lead and/or positive/negative tab(s), etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Choi discloses on Page 5:L4-20 a cylindrical side is formed to form a cylindrical space in which an electrode assembly can be built, and a lower surface is formed at the lower portion of the cylindrical side to block the lower space of the cylindrical side, etc., and a protrusion formed at the center of the lower surface of the cylindrical can, etc., so that the negative electrode lead formed on the negative electrode plate of the electrode assembly can be resistance welded, etc., this at least provides one end of the body portion along the length direction is provided with the tab (also see Page 3:L1-13 with regards to a jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly composed of a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, etc., as well as positive/negative electrode tab(s), etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Choi discloses Page 3:L1-13 a jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly composed of a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, etc., whereby a positive electrode tab insulated from the can ref. 11 is provided on the upper part of the electrode assembly, and a negative electrode tab is provided on the lower part of the electrode assembly, etc., and further discloses in Page 5:L4-20 a protrusion formed at the center of the lower surface of the cylindrical can, etc., so that the negative electrode lead formed on the negative electrode plate of the electrode assembly can be resistance welded, etc., this at least provides a part of the body portion is located in the first half region, and the other part of the body portion is located in the second half region so that a positive electrode tab is insulated from the can on the upper part of the electrode assembly, and a negative electrode tab is provided on the lower part of the electrode assembly so that the negative electrode lead formed on the negative electrode plate of the electrode assembly can be resistance welded, etc., and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Choi further discloses the first half region and the second half region are each provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least as disclosed in Annotated Fig. 2, also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Choi further discloses the housing comprises a first end wall, a second end wall, and a side wall, the first end wall is located in the first half region, the second end wall is located in the second half region, the first end wall and the second end wall are arranged opposite to each other along the length direction, and the side wall is arranged around the first end wall and the second end wall (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that as disclosed in Page 5:L4-20 the cylindrical can ref. 11 has an inward creeping portion formed that presses the cap ref. 12 from the top, and an inward beading portion formed that presses the cap ref. 12 from the bottom to the top, whereby additionally a safety vent and a safety valve can be installed at the bottom of the can ref. 11, etc., such that said first (second) end walls are least provided so as to provide a can with a bottom (top), and such that said side wall is at least arranged around said first (second) end walls so as that said cap(s), etc., are pressed, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Choi further discloses the electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and an isolation member (i.e., at least as disclosed Page 3:L1-10 jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly composed of a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, and a separator in a can ref. 11, etc., and further discloses in claim 1 a separator inserted between the negative electrode plate and the positive electrode plate, etc.), which at least provides the isolation member is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, the positive electrode plate, the isolation member, and the negative electrode plate are wound to form a wound structure, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said separator is at least an isolation member, and said jelly roll-shaped electrode assembly at least provides a wound structure, lacking any further distinction thereof.
However, Choi is silent as to L≥80 mm. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to the body portion is provided with a central hole, along the length direction, the central hole runs through the body portion, and the central hole is configured to communicate an internal space of the first half region with an internal space of the second half region. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to two electrode terminals opposed to each other along the length direction; and two current collectors corresponding to the two electrode terminals and opposed to each other along the length direction. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to the two electrode terminals are respectively arranged on the first end wall and the second end wall, each one of the two current collectors is arranged on a side of the body portion facing the corresponding electrode terminal and electrically connected to the corresponding electrode terminal, each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole, a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to the battery cell further comprises a support member, the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole.
Although Choi is silent as to L≥80 mm, the relative dimensions of the claimed product are a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)) so as to improve safety during use by significantly reducing the degree of injury to users, etc., even if a secondary battery ruptures or explodes due to an internal malfunction of the secondary battery, etc., as disclosed on Page 4:L18-21 in Choi.
Lim teaches a battery and current collector applied thereto, and battery pack and vehicle including the battery (Title). Lim further teaches L≥80 mm (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0361] whereby a battery having a cylindrical shape, whose diameter is about 46 mm, height is about 80 mm, and form factor ratio is about 0.575, etc., which at least provides a value of the length (e.g., length such as a height) that is within the claimed range of L≥80 mm, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.), also see [0353]-[0361]).
Lim further teaches an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing (i.e., at least ref. 20 as shown in at least Fig. 1a and taught in at least [0171], etc.), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion and a tab (i.e., at least electrode assembly ref. 10 has a body portion and a tab(s) refs. 11(12) as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a and taught in in at least [0173]-[0174], etc., also see [0011], [0016], [0054], [0056], [0059], [0062], [0067], [0111]-[0112], [0125], [0129], [0171]-[0175], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Lim further teaches one end of the body portion along the length direction is provided with the tab (i.e., at least electrode assembly ref. 10 has a body portion and a tab(s) refs. 11(12) as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a and taught in in at least [0173]-[0174], etc., also see [0011], [0016], [0054], [0056], [0059], [0062], [0067], [0111]-[0112], [0125], [0129], [0171]-[0175], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Lim further teaches a part of the body portion is located in the first half region, and the other part of the body portion is located in the second half region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a and taught in in at least [0173]-[0174], etc., also see [0011], [0016], [0054], [0056], [0059], [0062], [0067], [0111]-[0112], [0125], [0129], [0171]-[0175], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b).
Lim further teaches in [0211]-[0212] when the diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 is less than the diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in the core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, the separator or the uncoated portion at the center of winding may be prevented from being separated from the top surface of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., which at least provides the body portion is provided with a central hole, along the length direction (i.e., at least ref. H1 as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a, also see Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b), the central hole runs through the body portion, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Lim further teaches in [0208] the central portion ref. 31 includes a circular current collector hole ref. H2 formed at a position corresponding to a winding central hole ref. H1 formed at a central portion of the electrode assembly ref. 10, and the winding central hole ref. H1 and the current collector hole ref. H2 communicating with each other may function as paths for irradiating a laser welding beam or inserting a welding rod for welding between the terminal ref. 50 and the current collector (second current collector) ref. P or welding between the terminal ref. 50 and a lead tabor paths for irradiating a laser welding beam, etc., which at least provides the central hole is configured to communicate an internal space of the first half region with an internal space of the second half region as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a, (also see [0126]-[0128], [0210]-[0212], [0233], [0315], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b).
Furthermore, since Lim provides said central hole (ref. H1) with an internal space between the first/second half region(s), properties and/or functions such as configured to communicate are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Lim teaches in [0211]-[0212] when the diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 is less than the diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in the core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, the separator or the uncoated portion at the center of winding may be prevented from being separated from the top surface of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., this at least provides a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole (as evidenced by instant specification in [0200] whereby “a diameter of the first through hole 81 is less than the diameter of the central hole 211, so that the projection of the hole wall surface of the first through hole 81 along the length direction Z of the housing 1 is totally located in the central hole 211”), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Lim further teaches in [0129]-[0132] according to the present disclosure, a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi with the teachings of Lim, whereby the battery cell including the electrode assembly, housing, etc., as disclosed by Choi further includes an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion and a tab, one end of the body portion along the length direction is provided with the tab, a part of the body portion is located in the first half region, and the other part of the body portion is located in the second half region, and the body portion is provided with a central hole, along the length direction, the central hole runs through the body portion, and the central hole is configured to communicate an internal space of the first half region with an internal space of the second half region, and a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole as taught by Lim so that a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Choi and Lim are silent as to two electrode terminals opposed to each other along the length direction; and two current collectors corresponding to the two electrode terminals and opposed to each other along the length direction. Furthermore, the combined teachings of Choi and Lim are silent as to the two electrode terminals are respectively arranged on the first end wall and the second end wall, each one of the two current collectors is arranged on a side of the body portion facing the corresponding electrode terminal and electrically connected to the corresponding electrode terminal, each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole. However, Choi is silent as to the battery cell further comprises a support member, the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole.
Du teaches a battery monomer, battery and electric device (Title). Du further teaches two electrode terminals opposed to each other along the length direction (See Annotated Fig. 6, also see [n0039], [n0123], Figs. 3-5, 7);
and two current collectors corresponding to the two electrode terminals and opposed to each other along the length direction (See Annotated Fig. 6, such that tab connection portion ref. 243, tab ref. 231, etc., are at least current collector(s), lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [n0039], [n0060], [n0069], [n0072], [n0113], [n0117], [n0123]).
Du teaches the two electrode terminals are respectively arranged on the first end wall and the second end wall (See Annotated Fig. 6, also see [n0039], [n0123], Figs. 3-5, 7),
each one of the two current collectors is arranged on a side of the body portion facing the corresponding electrode terminal and electrically connected to the corresponding electrode terminal (See Annotated Fig. 6, such that said current collector(s) and electrode terminal(s) are at least electrically connected so that the electrode terminal ref. 22 is electrically connected to the tab ref. 231 of the electrode assembly ref. 23 through connector ref. 24, etc. as taught in [n0072], and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [n0039], [n0060], [n0069], [n0072], [n0113], [n0117], [n0123]).
each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole (See Annotated Fig. 4 and Annotated Fig. 6, also see Figs. 3-7, [n0039], [n0087]-[n0099], [n0123]-[n0124]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said through hole is at least in communication with the central hole so that as taught in [n0088] the first through hole ref. 242 is a circular hole that penetrates the body and communicates with the inner cavity of the heat sink ref. 2411, etc., such that as taught in [n0123]-[n0124] the first heat dissipation part ref. 241a and the second heat dissipation part ref. 241b are both inserted into the central hole ref. 232, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Du further teaches in [n0008] the design of inserting the heat dissipation part into the central hole of the electrode assembly further improves the stability of the electrode assembly, and moreover, this design enables the heat dissipation part to have both heat conduction and heat dissipation functions and electrode assembly support functions, resulting in compact structure and strong functional integration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Lim with the teachings of Du, whereby the battery cell including the electrode assembly, housing, central hole, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim further includes two electrode terminals opposed to each other along the length direction; and two current collectors corresponding to the two electrode terminals and opposed to each other along the length direction, the two electrode terminals are respectively arranged on the first end wall and the second end wall, each one of the two current collectors is arranged on a side of the body portion facing the corresponding electrode terminal and electrically connected to the corresponding electrode terminal, each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole as taught by Du so as to improve the stability of the electrode assembly, and moreover, enable the heat dissipation part to have both heat conduction and heat dissipation functions and electrode assembly support functions, resulting in compact structure and strong functional integration.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du are silent as to the battery cell further comprises a support member, the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole.
Lee teaches a cylinder type secondary battery (Title). Lee further teaches Page 12:L10-22 Fig. 4 shows a state in which a center pin ref. 290 having a cross-sectional shape of approximately hexagon is coupled to a central hole ref. 331 of an insulating plate ref. 330a also having a hexagonal hole, etc., whereby an adhesive ref. 395 having a chemical resistance to electrolyte is applied to the inner surface of the central hole, etc., which at least provides a support member, the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on the hole wall surface of the central hole, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Fig. 4), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said adhesive layer is at least support member as shown in Fig. 4, so that the center pin ref. 390 and the insulating plate ref. 330a can be more strongly bonded due to the action of the adhesive ref. 395 on the center hole surface of the insulating plate, and therefore, even if a sudden shock is applied from the outside in the axial direction of the cylindrical battery, the center pin is fixed to the insulating plate within a certain shock range and does not come off the electrode assembly and the insulating plate, etc., as taught in Page 13:L13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery cell as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du further include a support member, and the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on a hole wall surface of the central hole as taught by Lee so that even if a sudden shock is applied from the outside in the axial direction of the cylindrical battery, the center pin is fixed to the insulating plate within a certain shock range and does not come off the electrode assembly and the insulating plate.
Annotated Figure 2 (Choi)
Annotated Figure 1a (Lim)
Annotated Figure 6 (Du)
Annotated Figure 4 (Du)
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1.
Choi further discloses a part of the side wall located in the first half region and a part of the side wall located in the second half region are each provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21);
and/or the part of the side wall located in the second half region and the first end wall are each provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see cap safety vent ref. 13 as disclosed in Page 3:L11-20 with regards to the first end wall with at least one pressure relief mechanism, etc.);
and/or the part of the side located in the first half region and the second end wall are each provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see Page 5:L4-20 the cylindrical can ref. 11 has an inward creeping portion formed that presses the cap ref. 12 from the top, and an inward beading portion formed that presses the cap ref. 12 from the bottom to the top, whereby additionally a safety vent and a safety valve can be installed at the bottom of the can ref. 11, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 2. Choi further discloses the side wall comprises a first wall portion and a second wall portion that are arranged opposite to each other (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2,), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said first/second wall portion(s).
Since Choi discloses in Page 5:L4-21 the can ref. 11 is configured in various shapes such as cylindrical, and in the case of a cylindrical shape, a cylindrical side is formed to form a cylindrical space in which an electrode assembly can be built, and a lower surface is formed at the lower portion of the cylindrical side to block the lower space of the cylindrical side, etc., this at least provides at least provides the first wall portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2) is configured to support the body portion along a gravity direction so that the electrode assembly can be built, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Choi discloses a first wall portion (e.g., of said), this provides an identical product as that claimed, such that properties and/or functions such as configured to support the body portion along a gravity direction are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Choi discloses in Page 5:L1-5 a plurality of safety vents and safety valve sets in the form of grooves sunken to a certain depth into the side of the can of a secondary battery, etc., which at least provides a channel gap (i.e., at least safety vent(s) sunken into a certain depth of the side of the can, etc.) is formed between the second wall portion and the body portion (i.e., at least vent(s) with are at least channels as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Furthermore, since Choi discloses in Page 5:L1-5 said channel gaps as discussed above and further discloses in Page 6:L11-22 the formation location of the safety valve set is arranged so that when the internal gas increases above the specified pressure and the side safety valve set is ruptured, the internal gas can be ejected in all directions of the battery, etc., this at least provides the channel gap is configured to communicate spaces located at two ends of the body portion along the length direction in the housing (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said channel gap, etc.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 3. Choi further discloses the first wall portion is provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 4. Choi further discloses the first wall portion is provided with a plurality of pressure relief mechanisms (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21),
the plurality of pressure relief mechanisms comprise a first pressure relief mechanism and a second pressure relief mechanism that are arranged on the first wall portion (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see the at least first/second refs. 21, etc., also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21),
the first pressure relief mechanism is located in the first half region, and the second pressure relief mechanism is located in the second half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2, also see the at least first/second refs. 21 above (below) the dotted double arrow, etc., also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 5. Choi further discloses the first pressure relief mechanism and the second pressure relief mechanism are arranged symmetrically about the middle section of the housing (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see the at least first/second refs. 21 above (below) the dotted double arrow, etc., also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 5. Choi further discloses the plurality of pressure relief mechanisms further comprise a third pressure relief mechanism arranged on the first wall portion, a part of the third pressure relief mechanism is located in the first half region, and the other part of the third pressure relief mechanism is located in the second half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see the at least plurality of refs. 21 above (below) the dotted double arrow, as well as the ref. 21 on the dotted line that is at least above (below) said dotted line and thereby located in at least a first/second half region(s), etc., also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 2. Choi further discloses the side wall is provided with at least one pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21),
a part of the at least one pressure relief mechanism on the side wall is located in the first half region, and the other part of the at least one pressure relief mechanism on the side wall is located in the second half region (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see the at least plurality of refs. 21 above (below) the dotted double arrow in said first/second half region(s), also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 8. Choi further discloses the side wall is provided with a plurality of pressure relief mechanisms (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 2, whereby a plurality of ref. 21 are shown, also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21),
the plurality of pressure relief mechanisms comprise a first pressure relief mechanism, a second pressure relief mechanism, and a third pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 2, whereby a plurality of ref. 21 are shown, also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21),
the first pressure relief mechanism is located in the first half region, the second pressure relief mechanism is located in the second half region, a part of the third pressure relief mechanism is located in the first half region, and the other part of the third pressure relief mechanism is located in the second half region (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 2, also see the at least plurality of refs. 21 above (below) the dotted double arrow such as a first safety valve ref. 21 above the dotted line in at least a first half region and a second safety valve ref. 21 below the dotted in at least a second half region, as well as the ref. 21 on the dotted line that is at least above (below) said dotted line and thereby located in at least a first/second half region(s), etc., also see side safety valve ref. 21 as disclosed in Page 6:L10-21 and Page 7:L1-13, also see Page 4:L14-21).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 2. However, Choi appears silent as to the housing comprises: a shell comprising the side wall, the shell being provided with openings at two opposite ends along the length direction; and two end caps, respectively closing the openings at two ends of the shell, wherein the two end caps are respectively the first end wall and the second end wall.
The combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 2. Du teaches a battery monomer, battery and electric device (Title). Du further teaches the housing comprises: a shell comprising the side wall, the shell being provided with openings at two opposite ends along the length direction; and two end caps, respectively closing the openings at two ends of the shell, wherein the two end caps are respectively the first end wall and the second end wall (See Annotated Fig. 3, also see Annotated Fig. 6 above in claim 1, also see [n0039], [n0062]-[n0067], [n0071], [n0123]).
Du further teaches in [n0008] the design of inserting the heat dissipation part into the central hole of the electrode assembly further improves the stability of the electrode assembly, and moreover, this design enables the heat dissipation part to have both heat conduction and heat dissipation functions and electrode assembly support functions, resulting in compact structure and strong functional integration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further with the teachings of Du, whereby the battery cell including the electrode assembly, housing, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further includes the housing comprises: a shell comprising the side wall, the shell being provided with openings at two opposite ends along the length direction; and two end caps, respectively closing the openings at two ends of the shell, wherein the two end caps are respectively the first end wall and the second end wall as taught by Du so as to improve the stability of the electrode assembly, and moreover, enable the heat dissipation part to have both heat conduction and heat dissipation functions and electrode assembly support functions, resulting in compact structure and strong functional integration.
Annotated Figure 3 (Du)
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to a support member, and the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on a hole wall surface of the central hole, wherein the support member is an adhesive layer adhered to a hole wall surface of the central hole.
The combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell including the support layer as discussed above in claim 1. Lee teaches a cylinder type secondary battery (Title). Lee further teaches Page 12:L11-22 an adhesive ref. 395 having a chemical resistance to electrolyte is applied to the inner surface of the central hole, etc., which at least provides a support member, and the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on a hole wall surface of the central hole, wherein the support member is an adhesive layer adhered to a hole wall surface of the central hole, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Fig. 4), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said adhesive is at least a layer as shown in Fig. 4, so that the center pin ref. 390 and the insulating plate ref. 330a can be more strongly bonded due to the action of the adhesive ref. 395 on the center hole surface of the insulating plate, and therefore, even if a sudden shock is applied from the outside in the axial direction of the cylindrical battery, the center pin is fixed to the insulating plate within a certain shock range and does not come off the electrode assembly and the insulating plate, etc., as taught in Page 13:L13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery cell as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further include a support member, and the support member is arranged in the central hole and supported on a hole wall surface of the central hole, wherein the support member is an adhesive layer adhered to a hole wall surface of the central hole as taught by Lee so that even if a sudden shock is applied from the outside in the axial direction of the cylindrical battery, the center pin is fixed to the insulating plate within a certain shock range and does not come off the electrode assembly and the insulating plate.
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to a diameter of the central hole is D and meets: 3 mm≤D≤8 mm.
The combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further teaches in [0210] a diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 may be equal to or greater than a diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in a core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., and further teaches in [0323] a flat portion (see Fig. 1a) of the terminal ref. 50 and the second current collector ref. P are welded by a laser and are welded in a continuous or discontinuous line to have an arc pattern, a diameter of the arc welding pattern may be equal to or greater than 4 mm, etc., and further teaches in [0325] a diameter of the flat portion of the terminal ref. 50 corresponding to a weldable region may be adjusted in a range of 3 mm to 14 mm, etc., which at least provides a range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of a diameter of the central hole is D and meets: 3 mm≤D≤8 mm, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a diameter of the current collector hole equal to or greater than a diameter of the winding central hole formed in a core of the electrode assembly and said current collector welded to said terminal so as to extend the diameter of the ref. H1, etc., at least obviates the range, therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0067], [0208], [0210]-[0212]).
Furthermore, Lim teaches in [0353] a battery may be, for example, a battery in which a form factor ratio (defined as a value obtained by dividing a diameter of the battery by a height, that is, a ratio between a heigh ref. H and a diameter ref. D) is greater than about 0.4, and further teaches in [0354]-[0362] a battery according to another embodiment may be a battery having a substantially cylindrical shape, whose diameter is about 46 mm, height is about 80 mm, and form factor ratio is about 0.575, etc., and further teaches in [0210] a diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 may be equal to or greater than a diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in a core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that ref. H2 is at least less than 46 mm in diameter, for example, which at least provides a range that encompasses the claimed range of a diameter of the central hole is D and meets: 3 mm≤D≤8 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Choi further discloses in Page 5:L1-4 a plurality of safety vents and safety valve sets in the form of grooves sunken to a certain depth into the side of a can of a secondary, etc., and further discloses Page 6:L8-21 the side safety valve set ref. 21 is formed as a concave portion formed with a certain depth on the side surface of the can ref. 11, which at least provides the pressure relief mechanism and a wall portion corresponding to the housing are integrally formed, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Choi discloses a plurality of safety vents and further discloses a wall portion corresponding to the housing as shown in at least Fig. 2, making said pressure relief mechanism integral is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, V., B., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)).
Choi further discloses in Page 6:L8-21 the concave portion can be formed by forming a vent penetrating the inside and outside of the battery, inserting aluminum foil coated with a polyethylene film into the vent, and joining the edge of the aluminum foil and the can by a method such as a heat fusion, whereby safety valve sets are available in various shapes, etc., and the formation location of the safety valve set is arranged so that when the internal gas increases above the specified pressure and the side safety valve is ruptured, the internal gas can be ejected in all directions of the battery, etc., which at last provides the housing is provided with a pressure relief hole (i.e., at least vent(s)), and the pressure relief mechanism is mounted on the housing and covers the pressure relief hole so as to insert said aluminum foil coated with a polyethylene film into the vent, and join the edge of the aluminum foil and the can by a method such as a heat fusion, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Choi further discloses the housing is cylindrical, and an axial direction of the housing is parallel to the length direction (i.e., at least Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, whereby axial direction is a least vertical direction, lacking any further distinction).
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to wherein L≥160 mm.
The combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further teaches in [0353] a battery may be, for example, a battery in which a form factor ratio (defined as a value obtained by dividing a diameter of the battery by a height, that is, a ratio between a heigh ref. H and a diameter ref. D) is greater than about 0.4. Lim further teaches in [0354] the term “form factor” used herein refers to a value indicating a diameter and a height of a battery, etc., whereby as taught in [0355] the increase in the form factor leads to increased energy density, enhanced safety against thermal runaway, and improved cooling efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine experimentation to optimize the size of the form factor (i.e., optimize the diameter and length) with the express motivation to increase energy density, enhanced safety against thermal runaway, and improve cooling efficiency, etc. (See MPEP 2144.05(11.), 2144.05 (I) ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 288, 285 (CCPA 1955)) (also see [0353]-[0362]).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Although, Choi appears silent as to a battery, comprising the battery cell according to claim 1, since Choi discloses said battery cell as discussed above in claim 1, and since there is no further structural detail so as to distinguish said battery that comprises said battery, Choi at least meets the limitation, lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further teaches in [0003] a battery and current collector applied thereto, and a battery pack and a vehicle including the battery, which at least provides a battery (e.g., battery pack) comprising said battery cell (also see [0006], [0107], [0110], [0166]-[0167], Figs. 19-20).
Lim further teaches in [0129]-[0132] according to the present disclosure, a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further with the teachings of Lim, whereby the battery cell as disclosed by Choi further includes a battery pack and a vehicle including the battery as taught by Lim so that a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to a power consuming device, comprising the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the battery cell is configured to provide electric energy to the power consuming device.
The combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Lim further teaches in [0003] a battery and current collector applied thereto, and a battery pack and a vehicle including the battery, which at least provides a battery (e.g., battery pack) comprising said battery cell, and further teaches in [0364] referring to Fig. 20, a vehicle ref. 5 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be, for example, an electric vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, or a plug-in hybrid vehicle, and includes the battery pack ref. 3, etc., whereby the vehicle ref. 5 operates by receiving power from the battery pack ref. 3, etc., (also see [0006], [0107], [0110], [0166]-[0167], Figs. 19-20).
Lim further teaches in [0129]-[0132] according to the present disclosure, a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further with the teachings of Lim, whereby the battery cell as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee further includes a power consuming device, wherein the battery cell is configured to provide electric energy to the power consuming device (i.e., at least vehicle operates by receiving power from the battery pack) as taught by Lim so that a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Choi and Lim have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As to applicants’ arguments on Page 8, “In particular, claim 1 now requires that "a hole wall surface of the central hole is a part of a surface of the isolation member." By contrast, Du in FIG. 4 (reproduced below) discloses that the center hole is within the radiation pipe 2411 (e.g., an inner cavity of the radiation pipe 2411 is interpreted by the Office as the central hole). Thus, the hole wall surface is the inner surface of the radiation pipe 2411 but not a part of a surface of the isolation member of the electrode assembly.”, the examiner respectfully asserts that Du is not relied upon to meet said limitation of the central hole, and instead the combined teachings of Choi and Lim disclose said central hole, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record above, Lim teaches one end of the body portion along the length direction is provided with the tab (i.e., at least electrode assembly ref. 10 has a body portion and a tab(s) refs. 11(12) as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a and taught in in at least [0173]-[0174], etc., also see [0011], [0016], [0054], [0056], [0059], [0062], [0067], [0111]-[0112], [0125], [0129], [0171]-[0175], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Lim further teaches a part of the body portion is located in the first half region, and the other part of the body portion is located in the second half region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a and taught in in at least [0173]-[0174], etc., also see [0011], [0016], [0054], [0056], [0059], [0062], [0067], [0111]-[0112], [0125], [0129], [0171]-[0175], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b).
Lim further teaches in [0211]-[0212] when the diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 is less than the diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in the core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, the separator or the uncoated portion at the center of winding may be prevented from being separated from the top surface of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., which at least provides the body portion is provided with a central hole, along the length direction (i.e., at least ref. H1 as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a, also see Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b), the central hole runs through the body portion, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Lim further teaches in [0208] the central portion ref. 31 includes a circular current collector hole ref. H2 formed at a position corresponding to a winding central hole ref. H1 formed at a central portion of the electrode assembly ref. 10, and the winding central hole ref. H1 and the current collector hole ref. H2 communicating with each other may function as paths for irradiating a laser welding beam or inserting a welding rod for welding between the terminal ref. 50 and the current collector (second current collector) ref. P or welding between the terminal ref. 50 and a lead tabor paths for irradiating a laser welding beam, etc., which at least provides the central hole is configured to communicate an internal space of the first half region with an internal space of the second half region as shown in Annotated Fig. 1a, (also see [0126]-[0128], [0210]-[0212], [0233], [0315], Figs. 1b, 2-3, 7, 12, 16b).
Furthermore, since Lim provides said central hole (ref. H1) with an internal space between the first/second half region(s), properties and/or functions such as configured to communicate are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Lim teaches in [0211]-[0212] when the diameter of the current collector hole ref. H2 is less than the diameter of the winding central hole ref. H1 formed in the core of the electrode assembly ref. 10, the separator or the uncoated portion at the center of winding may be prevented from being separated from the top surface of the electrode assembly ref. 10, etc., this at least provides a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole (as evidenced by instant specification in [0200] whereby “a diameter of the first through hole 81 is less than the diameter of the central hole 211, so that the projection of the hole wall surface of the first through hole 81 along the length direction Z of the housing 1 is totally located in the central hole 211”), and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Lim further teaches in [0129]-[0132] according to the present disclosure, a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Therefore, examiner asserts that skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Choi and Lim, whereby the battery cell including the electrode assembly, housing, etc., as disclosed by Choi further includes an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion and a tab, one end of the body portion along the length direction is provided with the tab, a part of the body portion is located in the first half region, and the other part of the body portion is located in the second half region, and the body portion is provided with a central hole, along the length direction, the central hole runs through the body portion, and the central hole is configured to communicate an internal space of the first half region with an internal space of the second half region, and a projection of a hole wall surface of the first through hole along the length direction is at least partially located in the central hole as taught by Lim so that a coupling force of the coupling portion between a current collector and a battery housing may be improved, the energy density of a battery may be improved, and when a battery is manufactured, convenience in a welding process for electrical connection between a battery housing and a current collector may be improved, and thus, productivity may be improved, etc.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that Du is relied upon to at least meet the limitation(s) of each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole (See Annotated Fig. 4 and Annotated Fig. 6, also see Figs. 3-7, [n0039], [n0087]-[n0099], [n0123]-[n0124]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said through hole is at least in communication with the central hole so that as taught in [n0088] the first through hole ref. 242 is a circular hole that penetrates the body and communicates with the inner cavity of the heat sink ref. 2411, etc., such that as taught in [n0123]-[n0124] the first heat dissipation part ref. 241a and the second heat dissipation part ref. 241b are both inserted into the central hole ref. 232, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, and to clarify the record, the examiner asserts that a first through hole (of said current collector(s)) is provided, see the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, and the central hole is at least a central hole commensurate in scope with that disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim so that as taught in [n0123]-[n0124] the first heat dissipation part ref. 241a and the second heat dissipation part ref. 241b are both inserted into the central hole ref. 232, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Choi and Lim and Du, whereby the battery cell including the electrode assembly, housing, central hole, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lim further includes two electrode terminals opposed to each other along the length direction; and two current collectors corresponding to the two electrode terminals and opposed to each other along the length direction, the two electrode terminals are respectively arranged on the first end wall and the second end wall, each one of the two current collectors is arranged on a side of the body portion facing the corresponding electrode terminal and electrically connected to the corresponding electrode terminal, each one of the two current collectors is provided with a first through hole, and the first through hole is in communication with the central hole as taught by Du so as to improve the stability of the electrode assembly, and moreover, enable the heat dissipation part to have both heat conduction and heat dissipation functions and electrode assembly support functions, resulting in compact structure and strong functional integration.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made in view of Choi and Lim and Du and Lee for claims 1-10, 13-14, and 16-20. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0166050 (A1)) discloses a rechargeable battery (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0061] in the terminal plate ref. 63, the tab connection part ref. 632 is protruded from a center of the flange part ref. 631 to the inside, and passes through a through hole ref. 341 of the thermal fusion member ref. 34 and a terminal hole ref. 311 of the cap plate ref. 31 to be protruded toward the electrode assembly ref. 10, and the second electrode tab ref. 52 is electrically and mechanically connected to an inner surface of the tab connection part ref. 632, etc.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727