DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1-17 are pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
In regard to claim 8, the claim recites “a memory, wherein the memory stores data points for simulated reflectance curves, the simulated reflectance curves are used in determining an oxygen saturation value for an oxygen saturation measurement and an error value associated with the saturation measurement, and the quality metric is based on the error value”. It is noted that the limitation contains "nonfunctional descriptive materials", e.g. a memory stores “data points” and “an error value”, which do not have sufficient patentable weights. Applicant is reminded that the courts and Patent Office have distinguished between functional and non-functional descriptive materials stored on a memory device, see MPEP 2106.01 & 2111.05; Without further utilizing the stored values in a calculating/ processing element in a manner that would make the values functional, any system that comprises a memory and is capable of transferring the stored value to a device would be considered to meet the claim limitations. It is also noted that the processor recited in claim 16 performs a function using the stored data would make the stored data functional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions of abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 recite a method, which fall within one of statutory categories (i.e. process) (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One analysis: Claims 31 and 42 recite “determining, by the oximeter device, at least one absorption coefficient value for the tissue at least by fitting the plurality of detector responses to data points for one or more simulated reflectance curves; determining, with at least the oximeter device, at least one error value associated with fitting the plurality of detector responses to the data points; determining, with at least the oximeter device, a first oxygen saturation value for a first oxygen saturation measurement of the tissue based at least in part upon the at least one absorption coefficient value; determining, by at least the oximeter device, at least one quality metric value for the first oxygen saturation value based at least in part on the at least one error value”. The claims involve calculation/ determination of parameter(s) constitutes an abstract idea of mathematical relationships/ calculations and/or mental process, which fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Mathematical Concepts) (Step 2A Prong One: YES).
Step 2A Prong Two analysis: Claim 1 recites “an oximeter device, comprising one or more sources and one or more detectors… a display…”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited oximeter device is unaffected by how the calculations/ determinations operate (e.g. merely using a conventional oximetry device to collect data and provide data to the calculation/ determination steps). And the “using an oximeter device” and “rendering a visual indication on a display“ steps are considered as data gathering and presenting steps to be insignificant extra-solution activity. And/ or the abstract idea (mental process) is directed a limitation that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper, the limitation falls within the mental processes grouping (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.B) “(Step 2A Prong Two: YES).
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element(s), when considered separately and in combination, are associated with data gathering/ presenting steps of insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claims merely cover the collection of data obtained from known and existing technology and then using the data to make a correlation for parameter(s) (Step 2B: No). Dependent claims do not recite additional elements/ features and do not add significantly more (i.e. an “inventive concept”) to the exception.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claims, and thus claims 1-3 and 5-7 are ineligible.
It is noted that claim 4 recites specific configurations/ arrangements of the optical elements of the oximeter device and is considered as significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims that depend directly or indirectly from claim 8 is/are also rejected due to said dependency. In regard to claim 8, the claim recites “at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. It is unclear the metes and bounds of " symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources.” The specification does not provide any limitation definition(s) and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the number of different configurations is boundless (e.g. two or more detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to one to more sources). In addition, the specification describes “two of the detector structures that are symmetrically located with respect to each other about a point on a line connecting the first and second source structures” (paragraphs [18], [22] and [61]); “And the position of a detector (above the line) will have point symmetry with another detector (below the line) about a selected point on the line of the two sources” (paragraph [63]). However, it is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. To obviate this rejection, applicant is encouraged to amend the claim to recite specific embodiments consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochs (USPGPUB 2015/0230758 – applicant cited) in view of Meyer et al. (USPGPUB 2015/0141780). In regard to claim 8, Ochs discloses a system (Figs. 1-11 and associated descriptions) comprising: one or more sources (elements 130/316/402, Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated descriptions) and one or more detectors (elements 140/142, 318/338, and/or 404/406, Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated descriptions), wherein the system makes at least one oxygen saturation measurement of tissue (blood oxygen saturation, abstract; Figs. 3-11 and associated descriptions) by emitting light from the one or more sources into a tissue, and receiving light reflected by the tissue at the one or more detectors in response to the emitted light (Figs, 1-4 and associated descriptions); a quality metric indicator, wherein the quality metric indicator represents an indication of a quality metric associated with an oxygen saturation measurement (display 184 and/or speaker 186, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; “display an indication of the low confidence measure (e.g., a warning or alert)…Rmin values may be displayed to indicate confidence or as a quality index”, [0097]); and a memory (element 174, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0058]), wherein the memory stores data points for simulated reflectance curves, the simulated reflectance curves are used in determining an oxygen saturation value for an oxygen saturation measurement and an error value associated with the saturation measurement, and the quality metric is based on the error value (the limitations are directed to “nonfunctional descriptive materials” defined in the claim interpretation section above, which do not have sufficient patentable weights).
Ochs does not specifically disclose at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources.
Meyer teaches a regional/ tissue oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; regional/ tissue oximetry, [0014]) comprises at least two of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B symmetrically arranged with respect to sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; It is noted that the limitations are rejected as best understood, referring to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection above), wherein the sources and detectors create different optical paths for regional/ tissue oximetry measurements (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (Ochs) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
In regard to claim 11, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses the quality metric indicator comprises a screen (display 184, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions of Ochs).
In regard to claim 12, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses an oxygen saturation value indicator, wherein the oxygen saturation value indicator represents the oxygen saturation value for an oxygen saturation measurement (display 184, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; display rSO2, Fig. 6 and associated descriptions of Ochs).
In regard to claim 13, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses the oxygen saturation value and the quality metric are displayed on a screen (display 184, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; display rSO2 and confidence 612, Fig. 6 and associated descriptions; [0097] of Ochs).
In regard to claim 14, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses a handheld oximeter probe comprises the system (elements 100/102; 314/312; and/or 400, Figs. 1-4 and associated descriptions of Ochs).
In regard to claim 15, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses a battery, coupled to the one or more sources and one or more detectors, quality metric indicator, and memory (battery, [0065] and battery, [0069] of Ochs).
In regard to claim 16, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses a processor (element 172, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions), wherein the processor determines the oxygen saturation value by performing a fitting of responses of one or more detectors to the data points for simulated reflectance curves (Figs. 5- 7 and associated descriptions; determine a best fit reference set … reference absorption curves…, [0077]; [0081-0084] of Ochs).
In regard to claim 17, Ochs as modified by Meyer discloses the memory is a nonvolatile memory (memory types, [0058] of Ochs).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-16 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,786,187 in view of Meyer. In regard to claim 1-13 and 16-17, claims 1, 5-16 and 18-20 of ‘187 recite all the claimed limitations except “receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. Meyer teaches an oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; oximetry…rSO2/ SpO2, [0014]) comprises receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B and sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (claims 1, 5-16 and 18-20 of ‘187) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,589,784 in view of Meyer. In regard to claim 1-13 and 16-17, claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘784 recite all the claimed limitations except “receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. Meyer teaches an oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; oximetry…rSO2/ SpO2, [0014]) comprises receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B and sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘784) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,800,999 in view of Meyer. In regard to claim 1-13 and 16-17, claims 10-19 of ‘999 recite all the claimed limitations except “receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. Meyer teaches an oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; oximetry…rSO2/ SpO2, [0014]) comprises receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B and sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (claims 10-19 of ‘999) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,311 in view of Meyer. In regard to claim 1-13 and 16-17, claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘311 recite all the claimed limitations except “receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. Meyer teaches an oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; oximetry…rSO2/ SpO2, [0014]) comprises receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B and sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘311) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Claims 1-13 and 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,769 in view of Meyer. In regard to claim 1-13 and 16-17, claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘769 recite all the claimed limitations except “receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources”. Meyer teaches an oximetry sensor (Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; oximetry…rSO2/ SpO2, [0014]) comprises receiving the light emitted from at least one source of the one or more sources at a first detector that is spaced at a distance from the at least one source; and receiving the light emitted from the at least one source at a second detector that is spaced at the distance from the at least one source/ at least two of the plurality of detectors being symmetrically arranged with respect to the one or more sources (detectors 136A and 136B and sources 138A and 138B, Fig. 1 and associated descriptions; [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration(s) of the sources and detectors (claims 1, 4-18 and 20-21 of ‘769) with the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer to yield predictable results, since both devices are regional/ tissue oximetry systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration(s) as taught by Meyer is an alternative equivalent configurations for obtaining regional/ tissue oximetry information at different optical paths. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if overcome the double patenting rejections and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of Remarks, filed on 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-13 and 16-17 under double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. Updated DP rejections are made in response to the amendments (see above).
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to the claim interpretation, applicant alleged that “computer program” recited in conjunction with a memory should be treated as product claim and functional descriptive material. In response, the claim 8 merely recite “a memory, wherein the memory stores data points for simulated reflectance curves”, which do not contain any computer programs. It is noted that the additional functions recited are considered as intended uses have insufficient patentable weights. As indicated in the claim interpretation section above, a calculating/ processing element utilizing the stored values would make the values functional. It is suggested “a processor determines at least one absorption coefficient value and an error value associated with the oxygen saturation measurement based on fitting the data points of simulated reflectance curves; and determines an oxygen saturation value for an oxygen saturation measurement based on the at least one absorption coefficient value, wherein the quality metric is determined based on the error value” or similar functions as corresponding to the steps recited in claim 1 should be set forth.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to the 35 USC 101 rejection, applicant alleged that a human mind can not emit light or received reflected light in Step 2A Prong One analysis. In response, Step 2A Prong One analysis indicates which step(s) is/ are considered as an abstract idea of mathematical relationships/ calculations and/or mental process. The use of optical elements (e.g. emit light and receive reflected light) have been analyzed in Step 2A Prong Two analysis which are considered as using a conventional oximeter for data gathering and a display for presenting steps to be insignificant extra-solution activity. Step 2B analysis further indicates the claims does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element(s), when considered separately and in combination, are associated with data gathering/ presenting steps of insignificant extra-solution activity. As indicated in the 35 USC 101 rejection section, claim 4 recites specific configurations of the oximeter device which are considered as significantly more than the judicial exception.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of Remarks, filed on 06/18/2026, with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, and 16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to claims 8 and 11-17 filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in views of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791