CTNF 19/292,378 CTNF 81624 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17-18, 20-25, and 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (US 2016/0295108) in view of Yadav et al. (US 10,694,105) Regarding claim 17: Cao discloses: Claim 17 Cao 17 . An apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and Fig. 7: 401 at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: Fig. 7: 402 capture first visual data associated with a first image; Paragraph 96, where the first visual data is. e.g., "Image Left" in Fig. 9A capture second visual data associated with a second image; Paragraph 96, where the second vidual data is, e.g., "Image Right" in Fig. 9A determine at least one aspect of the first visual data and the second visual data that overlap; Fig. 9A: "overlapping field" combine the first visual data and the second visual data to produce a stitched image based on the least one aspect; Paragraph 97 determine a region of the first visual data and the second visual data that do not overlap; As seen in Fig. 9A some areas are non-overlapping identify at least one of a first feature of the first visual data or a second feature of the second visual data in the region; Not disclosed by Cao generate proposed visual data based on at least one of the first feature or the second feature. Not disclosed by Cao Cao does not disclose wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to: "identify at least one of a first feature of the first visual data or a second feature of the second visual data in the region; "generate proposed visual data based on at least one of the first feature or the second feature." Yadav discloses wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to: identify at least one of a first feature of the first visual data or a second feature of the second visual data in the region (column 10, lines 20-40 -- "using calibration objects"); generate proposed visual data based on at least one of the first feature or the second feature (Fig. 3: 305 "predict the one or more occluded blocks by mapping…with pre-stored image data") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Cao the elements taught by Yadav. The rationale is as follows: Cao and Yadav are directed to the same field of art. Yadav discloses a method that can fill in blocked portions of the image. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results. Regarding claim 18: Cao in view of Yadov discloses: wherein the apparatus is further caused to update the stitched image to include the proposed visual data (Yadov Fig. 3: 309) Regarding claim 20: Cao in view of Yadov discloses: wherein the proposed visual data is generated by a machine learning model or a database repository (Yadav: abstract). Regarding claim 21: Cao in view of Yadov discloses: wherein the proposed visual data is generated based on previous imagery captured in the region (Yadav: abstract -- "pre-stored image data"). Regarding claim 22: Cao in view of Yadov discloses: wherein the region comprises an area adjacent to a blind spot area of the apparatus (Yadav column 5, line 60 to column 6 line 15). Regarding claim 23: Cao in view of Yadov discloses: wherein the apparatus comprises a 360-degree camera (the camera set as per, e.g., Cao Fig. 3A, constitutes "a 360-degree camera"). Regarding claims 24-25 and 27-31: All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Yadov, and further in view of Cricri et al. (US 2018/0336702) Regarding claim 19: Cao in view of Yadov discloses an apparatus as discussed above. Cao in view of Yadov does not disclose: “wherein the apparatus is further caused to: capture spatial audio data from a sound source; and generate the proposed visual data based on the spatial audio data.” Circri discloses: wherein the apparatus is further caused to: capture spatial audio data from a sound source; and generate the proposed visual data based on the spatial audio data (paragraph 77; paragraph 782). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include in Cao in view of Yadov the elements taught by Cricri. The rationale is as follows: Cao, Yadov, and Cricri are directed to the same field of art. Cricri discloses that using audio signals can help map and/or detect objects, which is clearly applicable to the method of mapping elements of Cao in view of Yadov. This is a known improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art could have included with predictable results. Regarding claim 26: All elements positively recited have already been identified with respect to earlier rejections. No further elaboration is necessary . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al. (US 2016/0191795); Kuehnle et al. (US 2017/0120817); Athreya et al. (US 2021/0289134) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER RAY LAMB whose telephone number is (571)272-5264. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patrick Edouard can be reached at 571-272-7603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER R LAMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 2 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 3 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 4 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 5 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 6 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 19/292,378 Page 7 Art Unit: 2622