Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 10/9/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims no longer are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US20200398824A1 (“Tsujino”), US20220161785A1 (“Tashiro”) and US20210300335A1 (“Hara2”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20200398824A1 (“Tsujino”).
Claims 1 and 11:
A vehicle control method executed by a vehicle control device mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control method comprising:
causing the vehicle to perform autonomous travel by controlling at least an acceleration, a deceleration, and a steering based on a situation outside the vehicle, the situation being acquired by a sensor (Tsujino at least the abstract, [0006]); decelerating the vehicle at a first deceleration, stopping the vehicle (Tsujino at least [0047], FIG. 6), deactivating the autonomous travel, and displaying that the autonomous travel has been interrupted on a screen of a display device, when the situation outside the vehicle acquired by the sensor satisfies a first condition during the autonomous travel; displaying that the autonomous travel will be resumed when a brake operation is applied and then released in at least one image of the screen of the display device when the situation outside the vehicle and acquired by the sensor satisfies a second condition after deactivating the autonomous travel; and resuming the autonomous travel when a first operation of releasing the brake operation is received after the brake operation is applied. (Tsujino at least [0077-0078], [0050], [0113], FIGs 7A-7C, FIG. 12 st22 st23, [0111-0112])
Claims 2 and 12:
wherein the first condition is that an obstacle has been detected by the sensor in a traveling direction of the vehicle, and the second condition is that the obstacle detected by the sensor in the traveling direction of the vehicle has been no longer detected. (Tsujino at least FIG. 12, [0111-0112])
Claims 4 and 14:
wherein when the sensor detects that the obstacle is a first distance away from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle during the autonomous travel, the vehicle is decelerated at the first deceleration and stopped, the autonomous travel is deactivated, and the display device displays that the autonomous travel has been interrupted on the screen of the display device, and when the sensor no longer detects the obstacle after deactivating the autonomous travel the display device displays that the autonomous travel will be resumed when the brake operation is applied and then released, and the autonomous travel is resumed when the first operation of releasing the brake operation is received after the brake operation is applied. (Tsujino at least FIGs 7a-7c, [0111]: “a collision may occur if the vehicle moves by the travel distance, the action plan unit 43 executes step ST22. When the action plan unit 43 determines that no obstacle is present in the travel direction of the vehicle within the travel distance, the action plan unit 43 executes step ST23.”)
Claims 5 and 15:
wherein the vehicle is decelerated at a second deceleration greater than the first deceleration and stopped when the sensor detects that the obstacle is a second distance away from the vehicle in the traveling direction of the vehicle during the autonomous travel, the second distance being shorter than the first distance. (Tsujino at least [0114], FIG. 6)
Claims 6 and 16:
wherein in a case where it is determined that the situation outside acquired by the sensor device satisfies the second condition after deactivating the autonomous travel, it is displayed on the display device that the autonomous travel is available, it is displayed on the display device that the autonomous travel will be resumed when the brake operation is released after the brake operation, and the autonomous travel is resumed in a case where the operation device receives the first operation. (Tsujino at least [0113-0114], FIGs 9a-9c)
Claims 8 and 18:
wherein the sensor includes at least one of a camera, a sonar, a radar, or a LiDAR. (Tsujino at least [0064])
Claims 9 and 19:
wherein the autonomous travel is traveling along a parking path from a position to a target parking position. (Tsujino at least [0093])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujino in view of US20200398866A1 (“Hara”, previously cited).
As per claims 3 and 13, Tsujino teaches the limitations of the invention as described above. Tsujino does not disclose, which Hara teaches:
wherein the obstacle is a person. (Hara at least [0076])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsujino with the aforementioned limitations taught by Hara with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the safety of a vehicle (Hara [0004]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujino in view of US20210300335A1 (“Hara2”).
As per claims 7 and 17, Tsujino teaches the limitations of the invention as described above. Tsujino teaches:
wherein when the situation outside the vehicle acquired by the sensor satisfies the first condition during the autonomous travel, the display device displays deactivated when a second operation that is the brake operation is received, and the display device displays that the autonomous travel has been interrupted on the screen of the display device, Tsujino at least [0111-0113] as in claim 1 and 4 above)
Tsujino does not disclose, which Hara2 teaches:
when the situation outside the vehicle acquired by the sensor satisfies the first condition during the autonomous travel, the display device displays that at least one of deceleration or stopping is possible by the brake operation on the screen of the display device , and when the vehicle stops by the second operation and the situation outside the vehicle acquired by the sensor satisfies the second condition after the autonomous travel is deactivated, the display device displays that the autonomous travel will be resumed when the brake operation is released on the screen of the display device. (Hara2 at least claim 6: “upon failing to calculate the second target route, the control unit causes the display unit to display a promotion notification as the notification about the operation method of the vehicle, the promotion notification promoting the brake operation of the vehicle “, claim 8: “in a case where the user performs the brake operation of the vehicle in response to the promotion notification, the control unit causes the display unit to display a resumption selection notification in which the user can select resumption of the automatic parking.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsujino with the aforementioned limitations taught by Hara2 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the safety and convenience of a vehicle (Hara2 [0009], [0011]).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujino in view of US20220161785A1 (“Tashiro”).
As per claims 10 and 20, Tsujino teaches the limitations of the invention as described above. Tsujino does not disclose, which Tashiro teaches:
wherein the parking path is recorded in advance from the position to the target parking position. (Tashiro at least [0139]: “route generation unit 403 stores the route information as the travel route in the route information”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tsujino with the aforementioned limitations taught by Tashiro with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the merchantability of an automatic parking system (Tashiro [0188]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/TODD MELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669