DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. US 11773620 (Hereinafter referred to as Huang).
Claim 1. Huang discloses a lock system comprising:
a cover (7) including a first aperture (annotated figure) defining a first cross-sectional dimension (“D1” annotated figure);
a lock assembly (2) including a lock mechanism (key cylinder of 2) defining a second cross- sectional dimension (“D2” annotated figure); and
a baffle (6) including a base (annotated figure) and at least one leg (annotated figure), the base including a second aperture (annotated figure) defining a third cross-sectional dimension (“D3” annotated figure) smaller than the first cross- sectional dimension and larger than the second cross-sectional dimension,
wherein, in an assembled configuration, the base engages the cover, the at least one leg engages the lock assembly, and the lock mechanism is disposed within the first aperture and the second aperture. (see annotated figures, fig3)
Claim 2. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 1, wherein the at least one leg includes a first leg (annotated figure) engaging the lock assembly and a second leg (annotated figure) engaging the lock assembly. (annotated figure, NOTE: Merriam-Webster online defines engage as, “to interlock with,” and interlock is further defined as, “to become locked together or interconnected.” Therefore, engage at most is interpreted as connected, and all parts in an assembly of a system are considered connected with one another.)
Claim 3. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 2, wherein the second aperture is located between the first leg and the second leg. (annotated figure)
Claim 4. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 3, wherein: the first leg extends from a first end (annotated figure) of the base, and the second leg extends from a second end (annotated figure) of the base.
Claim 5. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 4, wherein: the base is perpendicular to the first leg, and the first leg is parallel to the second leg. (annotated figure)
Claim 6. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 5, wherein a cross-section of the baffle defines a U-shape. (annotated figure)
Claim 7. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 1, wherein the second aperture is located at a center (annotated figure) of the base.
Claim 8. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 1, wherein the second aperture defines a circle. (annotated figure)
Claim 9. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 1, wherein: the first aperture and the lock mechanism define a void (i.e. considered space between location of first aperture and lock mechanism in the interior, see annotated figure), and in the assembled configuration, the baffle blocks the void. (annotated figure)
Claim 10. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 1, wherein, in the assembled configuration, the baffle floats between the cover and the lock assembly. (fig3, annotated figure)
Claim 11. Huang discloses a lock system comprising:
a lock assembly (2) including a lock mechanism (key cylinder of 2);
a cover (7) including a first opening (annotated figure) configured to receive the lock mechanism; and
a baffle (6) including a base (annotated figure) and at least one leg(annotated figure), the base including a first surface(annotated figure), a second surface(annotated figure), and a second opening (annotated figure) smaller than the first opening and extending through the first surface and the second surface, the second opening configured to movably receive the lock mechanism, the at least one leg extending from the first surface,
wherein, in an assembled configuration, the second surface is configured to engage the cover, and the at least one leg is configured to engage the lock assembly. (annotated figure)
Claim 12. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 11, wherein the at least one leg includes a first leg (annotated figure) and a second leg(annotated figure).
Claim 13. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 12, wherein the second opening is located between the first leg and the second leg. (annotated figure)
Claim 14. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 13, wherein: the first leg extends from a first end (annotated figure) of the base, and the second leg extends from a second end (annotated figure) of the base.
Claim 15. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 14, wherein: the base is perpendicular to the first leg, and the first leg is parallel to the second leg. (annotated figure)
Claim 16. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 15, wherein a cross-section of the baffle defines a U-shape. (annotated figure)
Claim 17. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 11, wherein the second opening is located at a center point of the base. (annotated figure)
Claim 18. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 11, wherein the second opening is a circle. (annotated figure)
Claim 19. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 11, wherein: the first opening and the lock mechanism define a void (i.e. considered space between location of first aperture and lock mechanism in the interior, see annotated figure), and in the assembled configuration, the baffle blocks the void.
Claim 20. Huang discloses the lock system of claim 11, wherein, in the assembled configuration, the baffle floats in between the cover and the lock assembly. (fig3, annotated figure)
Annotated Figures
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to lock systems.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 12352083, US 7836735, US 20100269431.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675