DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/8/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 20130208026).
As to claim 1, Suzuki discloses a manufacturing method of a display device [abstract & figs. 11-12 & para. 111-113], the method comprising:
transferring a plurality of first light emitting elements (thin film LED 443A) [figs. 9-10 & para. 102] onto a plurality of first pixel electrodes (second contact layer 443f of thin film LED 443A) [fig. 10 & para. 104];
transferring a plurality of second light emitting elements (thin film LED 443B) [figs. 9-10 & para. 102] onto a plurality of second pixel electrodes (second contact layer 443f of thin film LED 443B) [fig. 10 & para. 104], the plurality of second pixel electrodes being spaced apart from the plurality of first pixel electrodes (spacing between second contact layer 443f of thin film LED 443A & second contact layer 443f of thin film LED 443B) [figs. 9-10];
forming a support layer (bridge insulating film 453) [figs. 9-10 & para. 108-109] having a height between the plurality of first light emitting elements and the plurality of second light emitting elements;
forming a conductive pattern (junction wirings 450, 451A, and 451B) [figs. 9-10 & para. 107-109] on the support layer, the conductive pattern having an end electrically connected to one of the plurality of second pixel electrodes (series connected LEDs) [figs. 9-12 & para. 114 & 81];
forming a contact layer (second electrode 443g) [figs. 9-10 & para. 104 & 107] having an end electrically connected to another end of the conductive pattern (series connected LEDs) [figs. 9-12 & para. 114 & 81];
forming a first common electrode (first electrode 443a of thin film LED 443A) [fig. 10 & para. 104] overlapping at least a portion of the plurality of first pixel electrodes and the plurality of first light emitting elements [figs. 9-10]; and
forming a second common electrode (first electrode 443a of thin film LED 443B) [fig. 10 & para. 104] overlapping at least a portion of the second pixel electrodes and the plurality of second light emitting elements [figs. 9-10].
As to claim 2, Suzuki discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the support layer overlaps at least a portion of the first common electrode (bridge insulating film 453) [figs. 9-10].
As to claim 4, Suzuki discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the support layer includes an organic material (polyimide) [para. 108].
As to claim 6, Suzuki discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein another end of the contact layer is electrically connected to the first common electrode (series connected LEDs) [figs. 9-12 & para. 114 & 81].
As to claim 7, Suzuki discloses the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the first common electrode is electrically connected to one of the plurality of second pixel electrodes through the contact layer and the conductive pattern (series connected LEDs) [figs. 9-12 & para. 114 & 81].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki.
As to claim 5, Suzuki teaches the manufacturing method of claim 1, the conductive pattern (junction wirings 450, 451A, and 451B formed using a combination of photolithography with vapor deposition or sputtering,) [figs. 9-10 & para. 109].
Suzuki further teaches wherein the conductive pattern includes a metal [para. 174].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive pattern of the manufacturing method of the display device of Suzuki, such that the conductive pattern includes a metal, as further taught by Suzuki, to reduce costs of manufacturing by utilizing commonly available conductive materials, as one or ordinary skill in the art would appreciate.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Hsieh et al. (US 20220336523).
As to claim 3, Suzuki teaches the manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the height is higher than heights of ones of the plurality of first light emitting elements and ones of the plurality of second light emitting elements [fig. 10].
Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein the height is smaller than heights of ones of the plurality of first light emitting elements and ones of the plurality of second light emitting elements.
Hsieh teaches the concept of a manufacturing method of a display device [abstract & fig. 1], that utilizes a support layer (insulation layer INS) [fig. 3 & para. 31] disposed between a plurality of first light emitting elements (first sub-chip 310) [fig. 3 & para. 31] and a plurality of second light emitting elements (second sub-chip 320) [fig. 3 & para. 31] and having a height (bold line of INS) [fig. 3].
Because Suzuki and Hsieh are in the same field of endeavor, i.e., configuration of series connected LED’s for display devices, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the height that is higher than heights of ones of the plurality of first light emitting elements and ones of the plurality of second light emitting elements of the support layer of the manufacturing method of the display device of Suzuki, with a height that is smaller than heights of ones of the plurality of first light emitting elements and ones of the plurality of second light emitting elements, as taught by Hsieh, for the purposes of achieving the predictable result of isolating conductive elements to avoid incorrect electrical connections.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Kishimoto et al. (US 20200388661).
As to claim 8, Suzuki teaches the manufacturing method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein the forming the contact layer includes:
forming an organic layer surrounding the plurality of first light emitting elements, the plurality of second light emitting elements, the conductive pattern, and the support layer;
etching the organic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer; and
depositing a conductive material in the hole.
Kishimoto teaches the concept of a manufacturing method for a display device [abstract & figs. 4a & figs. 5a-5e], wherein forming a contact layer (source contact 25b) [figs. 4a & 5e] utilizes:
forming an organic layer (organic insulating layer 32) [figs. 5b-5c & para. 79-80] surrounding and planarizing manufactured component elements [figs. 5b-5c & para. 79-80];
etching the organic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer (contact hole 30a formed via etching) [fig. 5d & para. 81]; and
depositing a conductive material in the hole (source contact 25b) [fig. 5e & para 82].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the forming of the contact layer of the manufacturing method of Suzuki, such that forming the contact layer includes: forming an organic layer surrounding the plurality of first light emitting elements, the plurality of second light emitting elements, the conductive pattern, and the support layer; etching the organic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer; and depositing a conductive material in the hole, as taught by Kishimoto, to improve image quality by improving luminance uniformity, as taught by Kishimoto [para. 80].
As to claim 9, Suzuki teaches the manufacturing method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Suzuki does not explicitly teach wherein the forming the contact layer includes:
forming an inorganic layer on the conductive pattern;
forming an organic layer surrounding the plurality of first light emitting elements, the plurality of second light emitting elements, the inorganic layer, the conductive pattern, and the support layer;
etching the inorganic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer; and
depositing a conductive material in the hole.
Kishimoto teaches the concept of a manufacturing method for a display device [abstract & figs. 4a & figs. 5a-5e], wherein forming a contact layer (source contact 25b) [figs. 4a & 5e] utilizes:
forming an inorganic layer (first inorganic insulating layer 31) [figs. 5b-5c & para. 79-80] on a conductive pattern (second conductor layer 25a) [figs. 5a-5c & para. 77];
forming an organic layer (organic insulating layer 32) [figs. 5b-5c & para. 79-80] surrounding and planarizing manufactured component elements [figs. 5b-5c & para. 79-80];
etching the inorganic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer (contact hole 30a formed via etching) [fig. 5d & para. 81]; and
depositing a conductive material in the hole (source contact 25b) [fig. 5e & para 82].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the forming of the contact layer of the manufacturing method of Suzuki, such that forming the contact layer includes: forming an inorganic layer on the conductive pattern; forming an organic layer surrounding the plurality of first light emitting elements, the plurality of second light emitting elements, the inorganic layer, the conductive pattern, and the support layer; etching the inorganic layer to form a hole corresponding to the contact layer; and depositing a conductive material in the hole, as taught by Kishimoto, to improve image quality by improving luminance uniformity, as taught by Kishimoto [para. 80].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 & 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12387660. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims of Instant Application
Claims of US 12387660
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
6
6
1
7
7
8
1
9
1 & 8
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20110062465).
Hsu (US 20110140078).
Shim et al. (US 20220149128).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622