DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/8/25 and 8/22/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merritt U.S. 10,467,632 (hereinafter Merritt) in view of Ghafoor U.S. 2016/0351022 (hereinafter Ghafoor).
As per claim 1, 8 and 15, Merritt discloses a method/apparatus/CRM for detecting and reducing fraudulent network activity via a system arranged in a three-tiered architecture to perform the steps comprising:
receiving, by communications hardware, a transaction request (Merritt: Fig. 2; col. 8 lines 13-34);
detecting, by assessment circuitry, a characteristic associated with the transaction request (Merritt: col. 8 lines 34-44);
acquiring, by the assessment circuitry, characteristics of fraudulent activity stored by a thin client (Merritt: col. 8 lines 45-54: apply fraud risk metrics to the data records associated with the transaction request);
determine, by the assessment circuitry, whether the transaction request reflects an authentic transaction or potentially fraudulent transaction based on the characteristic and the characteristics of fraudulent activity (Merritt: col. 8 lines 54-67: determine potential fraud based on fraud risk metrics);
in response to determining the transaction request reflects a potentially fraudulent transaction, reporting, by escalation circuitry, the transaction request to a local authority controller (Merritt: col. 8 lines 54-67: generate escalation message if lower tier computing system determine fraud risk score exceeds certain threshold);
receiving, by the communications hardware, a network access rule set from the local authority controller, wherein the network access rule set comprises (a) instructions indicative of whether the transaction request should be approved or denied and (b) updated characteristics of fraudulent activity (Merritt: col. 8 line 54- col. 9 line : send indication to low-risk computing system or send escalation message to higher tiered computing system for additional analysis; col. 5 lines 16-29: the databases associated with each of the low risk, medium risk, and high risk computing systems may be updated based on the activities of the computing systems);
performing, by the assessment circuitry, the instructions included in the network access rule set, wherein the transaction request is either approved or denied based on the instructions (Merritt: col. 5 lines 53-56); and
updating, by the assessment circuitry, the characteristics of fraudulent activity stored by the thin client (Merritt: col. 5 lines 16-29: updating databases… populate with false positives such that that lower risk computing system may resolve similar fraud alerts without notifying the medium risk computing system).
Merritt does not explicitly recite terms such as network access rule set, thin client, and local authority controller. However, Ghafoor discloses multi-tier fraud detection system comprising local and remote servers for performing fraud risk assessment by identifying activity patterns and generating alert when an identified activity pattern deviates from an expected set of operational states (Ghafoor: [0005]-[0007]; [0014]: SST performs first tier of evaluation and remote system performs a second tier of evaluation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to perform analysis locally or remotely depending on resources because Ghafoor and Merritt are in the same field of endeavor. The motivation to combine would be that allocating resources locally, remotely, or via intermedia device based on processing capability is well-known in the art.
As per claim 2, 9 and 16, Merritt as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Merritt further discloses wherein the network access rule set indicates that a class of transactions exhibiting certain characteristics has an increased risk of being fraudulent (Merritt: col. 4 lines 5-67).
As per claim 3, 10 and 17, Merritt as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Merritt further discloses receiving, by the communications hardware, an additional network access rule set from the local authority controller, wherein the additional network access rule set is received in response to a report of fraudulent activity (Merritt: col. 5 lines 16-29: continuous learning cycle; col. 7 line 54 – col. 8 line 5).
As per claim 4, 11 and 18, Merritt discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Merritt further discloses wherein the network access rule set is generated by at least one of (a) a master authority controller or (b) the local authority controller (Merritt: col. 4 line 53 – col. 5 line 15).
As per claim 5, 12 and 19, Merritt discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Merritt further discloses wherein the updated characteristics of fraudulent activity are generated based on at least one of (a) a set of characteristics of likely fraudulent transactions stored by a local fraud knowledge base or (b) a set of characteristics of likely fraudulent transactions stored by a master fraud knowledge base that is connected to a plurality of local fraud knowledge bases (Merritt: col. 7 line 54 – col. 8 line 5).
As per claim 6, 13 and 20, Merritt discloses the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Merritt does not explicitly disclose wherein the characteristics of fraudulent activity pertain to a predetermined geographic area and the local authority controller is associated with the predetermined geographic area. However, Ghafoor discloses characteristics of fraudulent activity in a specific region is updated in response to detection at a particular device (Ghafoor: [0040]: fraud detection at other SSTs is modified to account for the identified pattern). It would have be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize local authority to propagate newly detected patterns to other systems because they are analogous art involving multi-tier fraud detection system. The motivation to combine would be to enable detection of fraud at other systems by perpetrator who attacks multiple systems in the same region.
As per claim 7 and 14, Merritt discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 8 respectively. Merritt further discloses wherein the characteristic associated with the transaction request is at least one of a transaction amount, an account identification, a user identification, a payer identification, and a payee identification (Merritt: col. 6 lines 32-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kramme et al. U.S. Pat. No. 10825028 discloses identifying fraudulent online applications.
Viljoen U.S. Pat. No. 10735468 discloses method for evaluating security services.
Merritt U.S. Pat. No. 10467632 discloses method for a multi-tiered fraud alert review.
Legault et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20190095919 discloses method for integrating cyber fraud intelligence and payment risk decisions.
Chen et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20190044950 discloses detection of compromised access points.
Banerjee et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20180196694 discloses transaction analyzer using graph-oriented data structures.
Pierson et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20170374076 discloses method for detecting fraudulent system activity.
Pathak U.S. Pub. No. 20170220814 discloses digital rights management system implementing version control.
Merz et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20170169500 discloses method for generating recommendations using a corpus of data.
Lord et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20170032783 discloses hierarchical networked command recognition.
Dzikowska et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20160364432 discloses automatic conflict resolution during software catalog import.
Tikhonov U.S. Pat. No. 9332029 discloses method for malware detection in a distributed network of computer nodes.
Gostev et al. U.S. Pat. No. 8484347 discloses method for malware detection in peer-to-peer computer networks.
Khanna et al. U.S. Pat. No. 7984500 discloses detecting fraudulent activity by analysis of information requests.
Singh U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0109498 discloses local processing nodes storing threat data to detect threat and providing update to master threat database stored by authority node manager, wherein the authority node manager distributes threat update to other local processing nodes based on newly discovered threat in push and pull update model (Singh: [0044]-[0051]).
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431