DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norrman et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0070239 A1) hereinafter Norrman in view of Abinader, JR et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0150434 A1) hereinafter Abinader.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 20 Norrman discloses a network equipment (fig. 8, network node 110), method, and medium comprising a processing circuitry (fig. 8, processing unit 804) and a memory (fig. 8, memory 807), the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to:
identify a set of measurements to be used for false base station detection in an area (para 0024, implicitly discloses message comprises configuration data configuring the network device to perform measurements in order to collect information transmitted by network nodes in a surrounding area of the network device);
transmitting measurement reporting configurations to the wireless devices (para 0024, The network node may send a message to a network device, which message comprises configuration data configuring the network device to perform measurements in order to collect information transmitted by network nodes in a surrounding area of the network device);
receive measurement reports from the different sets of one or more wireless devices as configured (para 0024, The network node may further receive a message comprising measurement reports from the network device according to the configuration); and
perform false base station detection for the area using the received measurement reports (para 0024, The network node further provides an indication that a false base station is present when a difference between the received information in the measurement report and a predetermined target information is detected), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Abinader discloses configuring different sets of one or more wireless devices to report different respective measurements (abstract, claim 1, and para 0053-0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Norrman to include configuring different sets of one or more wireless devices to report different respective measurements as taught by Abinader to in order to reduce measurement load on the wireless device.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurements include measurements in multiple sub-areas of the area, and wherein the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to configure the different sets of one or more wireless devices to report measurements in different sub-areas of the area (Abinader, para 0085).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 2, wherein the sub-areas of the area correspond to at least one of the following: cells providing radio coverage over the area; core network tracking areas covering the area; geographical regions in the area; andpoints of interest in the area (Abinader, para 0085).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurements include measurements on multiple frequencies or frequency ranges, and wherein the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to configure the different sets of one or more wireless devices to report measurements on different frequencies or frequency ranges (Abinader, fig. 6 and para 0080-0082).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurements includes measurements of cells identified by multiple cell identifiers, and wherein the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to configure the different sets of one or more wireless devices to report measurements of cells identified by different cell identifiers (Abinader, fig. 6 and para 0080-0082).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurements includes measurements of multiple types, and wherein the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to configure the different sets of one or more wireless devices to report measurements of different types (Abinader, fig. 6 and para 0080-0082).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurements includes measurements performed at different times, and wherein the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to configure the different sets of one or more wireless devices to report measurements performed at different times (Abinader, fig. 6 and para 0080-0082).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to select only a portion of all wireless devices in the area to use for false base station detection for the area, wherein the one or more wireless devices in each of the different sets are included in the selected portion (Adinader, para 0053 and 0059).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 8, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to determine how many wireless devices to select to use for false base station detection in the area, based on one or more of: a level of suspicion that a false base station will be detected in the area; a speed with which false base station detection is to be performed in the area; or a reliability with which false base station detection is to be performed in the area (Abinader, para 0085).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 8, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to randomly select the portion of all wireless devices in the area to use for false base station detection in the area (Abinader, para 0085).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 8, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to select the portion of all wireless devices in the area to use for false base station detection in the area, based on one or more device properties (Adinader, para 0053 and 0059).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network equipment is configured to determine which wireless devices are to report which measurements in the set, based on one or more device properties (Adinader, para 0053 and 0059).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 12, wherein the one or more device properties include one or more of: device identity; device access class; device radio capabilities; device brand or model; device screen size; device price; device Radio Resource Control (RRC) state; device service type; device subscriber profile; device quality of service (QoS) profile; or device network slice (Adinader, para 0053 and 0059).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Norrman and Abinader discloses the network equipment according to claim 1, wherein the area is a geographical region surrounding a point of interest (Abinader, para 0085).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
/BAOTRAN N TO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435