DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to application 19/295,827 entitled "SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR TRADES PRICED RELATIVE TO A REFERENCE BENCHMARK VALUE ASSOCIATED WITH AN UNDERLYING INDEX FUTURE" filed on August 11, 2025, with claims 1 to 16 pending.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 15, and 16 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-16 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 26, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and/or Claims have been noted in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 27, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 11, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting with secondary reference as being obvious by claims 1-16 of Weber (U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2) in view of Kirsch (“System and methods for trading”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20140108215 A1) in view of Nowak (“Fair Value Model for Futures”, U.S. Publication Number: 20100125535 A1) . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to time-zone delineated benchmark-indexed trades.
While U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2 does not claim “A method comprising… trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones” this limitation is taught by Nowak (U.S. Publication Number: 20100125535 A1):
CLAIM 1
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2
Claim 1:
A method comprising: receiving, by an electronic platform comprising non-transitory memory and at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory memory,
Claim 1:
A system comprising:
at least one database comprising one or more data tables; and
an electronic platform operatively coupled to the at least one database, the electronic platform comprising non-transitory memory and at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory memory, the electronic platform configured to:
trade information associated with a trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones,
storing, by an electronic platform, the trade information as a record among one or more data tables of at least one database,
store trade information associated with a trade as a record among the one or more data tables of the at least one database, the trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones;[from earlier: the electronic platform comprising non-transitory memory and at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory memory]
communicating, by the electronic platform, with at least one external data source and receiving components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones from the at least one external data source, each of the components received at a specific time point associated with a respective one of the multiple time zones;
communicate with at least one external data source and receive components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones from the at least one external data source, each of the components received at a specific time point associated with a respective one of the multiple time zones;
delaying, by the electronic platform, execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network;
delay execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network;
automatically determining, by the electronic platform, the reference benchmark value based on all of said components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones upon determining that a last of the components of the reference benchmark value is available;
automatically determine the reference benchmark value based on all of said components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones upon determining that a last of the components of the reference benchmark value is available;
retrieving, by the electronic platform, the trade information associated with the trade from the record among the one or more data tables;
retrieve the trade information associated with the trade from the record among the one or more data tables;
assigning, by the electronic platform, the final value of the trade to the retrieved trade information, and thereby creating an executable trade, the final value comprising a final price and a quantity;
assign a final value of the trade to the retrieved trade information, based on the automatically determined reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones, and create an executable trade, the final value comprising a final price and a quantity;
automatically creating, by the electronic platform, responsive to the executable trade, a derivative on an underlying index future priced according to at least one market in at least one of the multiple time zones;
automatically create, responsive to the executable trade, a derivative on an underlying index future priced according to at least one market in at least one of the multiple time zones;
reporting, by the electronic platform, the executable trade to a reporting platform;
report the executable trade to a reporting platform;
clearing, by the electronic platform, the trade;
clear the trade;
and arranging, by the electronic platform, for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.
and arrange for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.
While U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2 does not claim “the trade information comprising a basis agreed to by parties of the trade a predetermined time prior to a determination of a final value of the trade” and “upon expiration of the predetermined time, determining, by the electronic platform, the final value of the trade based on the automatically determined reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones” this limitation is taught by Kirsch (“SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR TRADING”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20140108215 A1).
Kirsch teaches,
“the trade information comprising a basis agreed to by parties of the trade a predetermined time prior to a determination of a final value of the trade” and
“upon expiration of the predetermined time, determining, by the electronic platform, the final value of the trade based on the automatically determined reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones”:
(Kirsch [0005] The order also may expire upon reaching a certain predetermined or investor-selected time, such as close of business, 12:00 p.m. Central Time, or 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time.
Kirsch [0087] A “call option” or “call” gives a buyer of the contract the right to purchase the underlying asset and gives the seller the obligation to sell a set number of shares of the underlying stock at a specified price… on or before the date the contract expires.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the time zone reference benchmark of U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2 to incorporate the predetermined time of Kirsch such that the “predetermined or investor-selected time, such as close of business, 12:00 p.m. Central Time, or 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time” (Kirsch [0005]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. predetermined time) to a known concept (i.e. time zone reference benchmark) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “order also may expire upon reaching a certain predetermined or investor-selected time” Kirsch [0005])
While U.S. Patent Publication 12406304 B2 does not claim “A method comprising… trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones” this limitation is taught by Nowak (U.S. Publication Number: 20100125535 A1):
Nowak [Claim 1]: A computer implemented method for determining fair-value prices of a futures contract of index i …
Nowak [0014] fair value calculations that make adjustments to closing prices for liquidity, time zone, and other factors.
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade system of Weber to incorporate the method of fair-value prices based upon time zones of Nowak for “A computer implemented method for determining fair-value prices of a futures contract of index i” (Nowak [Abstract]) where “fair value calculations that make adjustments to closing prices for liquidity, time zone, and other factors” (Nowak [0014]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. method of fair-value prices based upon time zones) to a known concept (i.e. index trade system) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “A computer can be used to calculate” Nowak [Abstract])
CLAIM 2
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 2:
wherein the reference benchmark value is associated with at least one of (i) an index close, (ii) an index open, (iii) an exchange daily settlement price, and (iv) a volume weighted average price over time.
Claim 2:
wherein the reference benchmark value is associated with at least one of (i) an index close, (ii) an index open, (iii) an exchange daily settlement price, and (iv) a volume weighted average price over time.
CLAIM 3
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 3:
wherein the specific time point, for each of the components, differs from a closing time of the first time zone.
Claim 3:
wherein the specific time point, for each of the components, differs from a closing time of the first time zone.
CLAIM 4
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 4:
storing, by the electronic platform, the trade information responsive to receiving an indication of the trade.
Claim 4:
wherein the electronic platform is configured to store the trade information responsive to receiving an indication of the trade.
CLAIM 5
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 5:
wherein the last of the components of the reference benchmark value is received at a final specific time point that is an index close on a second day after a day that the indication of the trade is received.
Claim 5:
wherein the last of the components of the reference benchmark value is received at a final specific time point that is an index close on a second day after a day that the indication of the trade is received.
CLAIM 6
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 6:
generating, by the electronic platform, a trade identifier and linking the trade identifier with the trade; and mapping, by the electronic platform, the trade identifier and the trade information, in the record, to one or more predefined fields of the one or more data tables.
Claim 6:
generate a trade identifier and link the trade identifier with the trade, and
map the trade identifier and the trade information, in the record, to one or more predefined fields of the one or more data tables.
CLAIM 7
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 7:
wherein the trade identifier and the trade information are stored in the record among the one or more data tables in a searchable format.
Claim 7:
wherein the trade identifier and the trade information are stored in the record among the one or more data tables in a searchable format.
CLAIM 8
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 8:
wherein retrieval of any portion of the trade information associated with the trade comprises searching for the trade identifier in a predefined field among the one or more predefined fields.
Claim 8:
herein retrieval of any portion of the trade information associated with the trade comprises searching for the trade identifier in a predefined field among the one or more predefined fields.
CLAIM 9
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 9:
wherein the one or more predefined fields include one or more of a trade identifier field, a description field, a date field and a related data field.
Claim 9:
wherein the one or more predefined fields include one or more of a trade identifier field, a description field, a date field and a related data field.
CLAIM 10
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 10:
wherein the related data field includes information comprising one or more of a processing status, one or more financial values and one or more trading parties.
Claim 10:
wherein the related data field includes information comprising one or more of a processing status, one or more financial values and one or more trading parties.
CLAIM 11
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 11:
updating, by the at least one database, the one or more data tables based on information received from one or more entities.
Claim 11:
wherein the at least one database is configured to update the one or more data tables based on information received from one or more entities.
CLAIM 12
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 12:
wherein the derivative comprises one of (i) a future on the underlying index future, (ii) an option on the underlying index future, and (iii) a combination of put and call options on the underlying index future.
Claim 12:
wherein the derivative comprises one of (i) a future on the underlying index future, (ii) an option on the underlying index future, and (iii) a combination of put and call options on the underlying index future.
CLAIM 13
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 13:
wherein the derivative created by the executable trade is listed on a central order book.
Claim 13:
wherein the derivative created by the executable trade is listed on a central order book.
CLAIM 14
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 14:
wherein the executable trade is available for block trading.
Claim 14:
wherein the executable trade is available for block trading.
CLAIM 15
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 15:
said reporting and said clearing are associated with a Europe, Australasia and Far East index trade at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options.
Claim 15:
said report and said clear are associated with a mini-MSCI “EAFE” (Europe, Australasia and Far East) index trade at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options.
CLAIM 16
Current Instant Application 18/888,146 (claims filed on August 19, 2025)
Issued U.S. Patent No. 12406304 B2
Claim 16:
said reporting and said clearing are associated with an emerging markets index trade at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options.
Claim 16:
said report and said clear are associated with a mini-MSCI Emerging Markets index trade at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Please see MPEP 2106 for additional information regarding Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1-16 are directed to a method/process, machine/apparatus, (article of) manufacture, or composition of matter, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
“receiving, …trade information associated with a trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones, the trade information comprising a basis agreed to by parties of the trade a predetermined time prior to a determination of a final value of the trade:
storing, …the trade information as a record among one or more data tables …
communicating, … with at least one external data source and receiving components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones from the at least one external data source, each of the components received at a specific time point associated with a respective one of the multiple time zones;
delaying, … execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network;
automatically determining, … the reference benchmark value based on all of said components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones upon determining that a last of the components of the reference benchmark value is available;
retrieving, … the trade information associated with the trade from the record among the one or more data tables;
upon expiration of the predetermined time, determining, … the final value of the trade based on the automatically determined reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones:
assigning, … the final value of the trade to the retrieved trade information, and thereby creating an executable trade, the final value comprising a final price and a quantity;
automatically creating, … responsive to the executable trade, a derivative on an underlying index future priced according to at least one market in at least one of the multiple time zones;
reporting, … the executable trade to a reporting platform;
clearing, …the trade; and
arranging, … for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.”
These limitations clearly relate to generating financial transactions between traders. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructing to “determining, …the reference benchmark value” and “creating…a derivative on an underlying index future priced according to at least one market” recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[by an electronic platform comprising non-transitory memory and at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory memory,][by an electronic platform][of at least one database]:
merely applying computer processing, storage, and networking technology as tools to perform an abstract idea
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads:
[0048] The embodiments described herein may be implemented using any number of different hardware configurations. ... platform 1500 comprises a processor 1510, such as one or more commercially available Central Processing Units (CPUs)
[0049] The storage device 1530 may comprise any appropriate information storage device, including combinations of magnetic storage devices (e.g., a hard disk drive), optical storage devices, mobile telephones, vehicle computers, and/or semiconductor memory devices.
[0056] Although specific hardware and data configurations have been described herein, note that any number of other configurations may be provided in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims recite additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the recited additional elements of
Claims 2-3: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 4:
“by the electronic platform”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claims 5-10: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 11:
“by the at least one database”: merely applying computer storage technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 12-16: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads:
[0048] The embodiments described herein may be implemented using any number of different hardware configurations. ... platform 1500 comprises a processor 1510, such as one or more commercially available Central Processing Units (CPUs)
[0049] The storage device 1530 may comprise any appropriate information storage device, including combinations of magnetic storage devices (e.g., a hard disk drive), optical storage devices, mobile telephones, vehicle computers, and/or semiconductor memory devices.
[0056] Although specific hardware and data configurations have been described herein, note that any number of other configurations may be provided in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowak (“FAIR VALUE MODEL FOR FUTURES”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20100125535 A1), in view of O'shea (“PORTFOLIO INVESTMENT GUIDELINE COMPLIANCE AND FINANCIAL FUND ADMINISTRATION SYSTEM”, Canadian Publication Number: CA 2369296 A1),in view of Wilson (“RATE-NEGOTIATED, STANDARDIZED-COUPON FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT AND METHOD OF TRADING”, U.S. Publication Number: US 20120296793 A1),in view of Umezawa (“INDEX CALCULATION SYSTEM, INDEX CALCULATION METHOD, INDEX CALCULATION PROGRAM”, Japanese Publication Number: JP 2012128650 A).
Regarding Claim 1,
Nowak teaches,
receiving, by an electronic platform comprising non-transitory memory and at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in the non-transitory memory, trade information associated with a trade initiated in a first time zone and priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with multiple time zones, the trade information comprising a basis agreed to by parties of the trade a predetermined time prior to a determination of a final value of the trade:
(Nowak [0005] fund trade orders received during regular business hours are executed the next business day, at the NAV calculated at the close of business on the day the order was received.....this practice can create problems because of time differences between the foreign markets' business hours and the local (e.g. U.S.) business hours.
Nowak [0014] there is a present need for fair value calculations that make adjustments to closing prices for liquidity, time zone, and other factors.
Nowak [0022] an international security's overnight returns when compared against a benchmark return factor, such as a snapshot U.S. market return;
Nowak [0016] trading on international markets by making certain adjustments for time-zone differences between the time-zone of the futures contract, the time zone of U.S. exchanges, and in some cases the time-zone of the foreign exchange on which the constituents of the index are traded.
Examiner interprets the "close of business" time as fixed, which translates to at a different local time based on respective time zones. )
communicating, by the electronic platform, with at least one external data source
(Nowak [0018] connected to an electronic data network (e.g., the Internet, LAN, etc.) and configured to receive electronic data ...from data sources via the electronic data network.
Nowak [0078] The computer system 420 may be in electronic communication with an electronic data network.....via an electronic data network, may access...data feeds...and other sources/repositories)
and receiving components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones from the at least one external data source, each of the components received at a specific time point associated with a respective one of the multiple time zones; automatically determining, by the electronic platform, the reference benchmark value based on all of said components of the reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones
(Nowak [Figure 5, element 502] Receive information relating to a futures contract for index i
Nowak [0034] There are many factors which can be used in FVM...The following general principles are used to select factors for the FVM
Nowak [0061] The overnight returns of foreign stocks are computed using Bloomberg pricing data.... The FVM universe covers 41 countries
Examiner presumes 41 countries are not all within the same timezone)
upon determining that a last of the components of the reference benchmark value is available;
(Nowak [0129] on the latest trading day for which intraday data is available for both the underlying index and the future, the intersection of trading periods are found and analyzed)
upon expiration of the predetermined time, determining, by the electronic platform, the final value of the trade based on the automatically determined reference benchmark value associated with the multiple time zones:
(Nowak [0124] T: The expiration date of the futures contract for index i;
Nowak [0125] Pfi,t*: The predicted fair-value adjusted price for the futures contract on index i;
Nowak [0022] an international security's overnight returns when compared against a benchmark return factor, such as a snapshot U.S. market return;
Nowak [0016] trading on international markets by making certain adjustments for time-zone differences between the time-zone of the futures contract, the time zone of U.S. exchanges, and in some cases the time-zone of the foreign exchange on which the constituents of the index are traded.)
assigning, by the electronic platform, the final value of the trade to the retrieved trade information,
(Nowak [Claim 1] calculating a fair-value adjusted price for the futures contract )
on an underlying index future priced according to at least one market in at least one of the multiple time zones;
(Nowak [0102] An index measures the change in price in a group of underlying security constituents. For example, the S&P 500 is an index that measures the change in price of 500 large-cap common stocks that are actively traded in the U.S.
Nowak [0030] NAV of mutual fund shares is typically calculated at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), i.e., at the close of the U.S. financial markets
Nowak [0119] Examples of index futures contracts that can be used as factor Z are futures contracts that are based on the Nikkei 225 and S&P 500 indexes.)
Nowak does not teach storing, by the electronic platform, the trade information as a record among one or more data tables of at least one database; delaying, by the electronic platform, execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network; retrieving, by the electronic platform, the trade information associated with the trade from the record among the one or more data tables; and thereby creating an executable trade, the final value comprising a final price and a quantity; automatically creating, by the electronic platform, responsive to the executable trade, a derivative ; reporting, by the electronic platform, the executable trade to a reporting platform; clearing, by the electronic platform, the trade; and arranging, by the electronic platform, for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.
O'shea teaches,
storing, by the electronic platform, the trade information as a record among one or more data tables of at least one database
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-15] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table
O'shea [page 48, lines 29-30] the building blocks of the reporting systems and represent raw data fields (or columns in database tables))
retrieving, by the electronic platform, the trade information associated with the trade from the record among the one or more data tables;
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-15] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table
O'shea [page 53, lines 23-29]... some direct SQL requests, in order to provide Database connectivity. ...Data gathering will be done via calls to the various relevant data bases on the Server.)
and thereby creating an executable trade, the final value comprising a final price and a quantity;
(O'shea [Claim 70] identity of financial instruments in a fund, the quantity of each financial instrument in the fund and the value of each financial instrument in the fund
O'shea [page 28, lines 29-31] The transactions are processed on a custody system and the trade date)
automatically creating, by the electronic platform, responsive to the executable trade, a derivative
(O'shea [page 17, lines 13-20] the composite accounts are aggregations of accounts by investment themes... there may be a composite of all foreign equity portfolios...The creation of a composite account includes the addition of account level information as defined in the composite requirements document.
Examiner likens the generation of composite accounts holding a “composite of all foreign equity portfolios” to the generation of synthetic derivatives.
O'shea [page 8, lines 17-18] in interpreting the guidelines for each client (e.g., what does a particular client define as a "derivative"?).
O'shea [page 17, lines 21-28] Once the composite is created, however, additional calculations are then performed to generate the proper data for rule executions.... coverage logic on derivatives.... composite level testing can be employed to calculate derivative exposure for the composite
O'shea [page 17, lines 29-31] Benchmarks may be employed to compare the country exposure of the composite to the benchmark for the plan in general
Examiner notes any tradeable instrument that is based upon an (underlying) security/benchmark/composite is inherently a derivative )
reporting, by the electronic platform, the executable trade to a reporting platform;
(O'shea [page 39, lines 16-17] Clicking the Fund Transaction Tab caused the System to display a list of all transactions for the fund
O'shea [page 40, lines 23-24] Clicking on the Holding Transaction Tab will cause the System to display a list of all transactions for selected asset)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the investment compliance
of O'shea “for portfolio compliance and administration receives data concerning financial instruments that comprise a financial fund (4) from a collection of information sources.” (O'shea [Abstract]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. investment compliance) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “confirm that the fund is being managed in accordance with predetermined rules.” O'shea [Abstract])
O'shea does not teach delaying, by the electronic platform, execution of the trade while the components …. are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network; clearing, by the electronic platform, the trade; and arranging, by the electronic platform, for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.
Wilson teaches,
clearing, by the electronic platform, the trade; and arranging, by the electronic platform, for the trade to physically settle into the underlying index future.
(Wilson [0002] A derivative is a financial instrument whose value is linked to the price of an underlying commodity, asset, rate, index
Wilson [0010] the financial instrument is settled (either cash settlement or physical delivery)
Wilson [0011] All futures and futures options are centrally cleared...Central clearing means that the counterparty risk is removed.... each party faces a clearinghouse and looks solely to the clearinghouse for clearing trades)
Wilson more explicitly teaches,
automatically creating, by the electronic platform, … a derivative
(Wilson [0114] permits the creation of an instrument that lessens the effect of the granularization issue through coupon standardization
Wilson [0002] A variety of different types of financial instruments are traded throughout the world. Examples include cash contracts and derivatives. … A derivative is a financial instrument whose value is linked to the price of an underlying commodity, asset, rate, index, currency or the occurrence or magnitude of an event.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the investment clearance and settlement of Wilson where “All futures and futures options are centrally cleared...Central clearing means that the counterparty risk is removed.... each party faces a clearinghouse and looks solely to the clearinghouse for clearing trades.” (Wilson [0011]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. in investment clearance and settlement) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “the financial instrument is settled (either cash settlement or physical delivery.” Wilson [0010])
Wilson does not teach delaying, by the electronic platform, execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network;
Umezawa teaches,
delaying, by the electronic platform, execution of the trade while the components of the reference benchmark value are received from the at least one external data source via an electronic network;
(Umezawa [page 1, para 1] The electronic data of a financial product buying and selling order
Umezawa [page 4, para 4] price determination unit 110 notifies the merge processing unit 112 of the specified index information to be calculated. When such notification is made, the merge processing unit 112 waits until the calculated values of all indexes indicated by the notification can be obtained from each thread, that is, pools the calculated values obtained from each thread in the memory
Umezawa [page 5, para 12] notifies the merge processing unit 112 of the index information to be calculated, ....the merge processing unit 112 receives this notification and starts a state of waiting for a calculated value related to the corresponding index from each thread... the merge processing unit 112 waits until the calculated values of all the indexes indicated by the notification can be acquired from each thread.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the execution delay of Umezawa where “starts a state of waiting for a calculated value related to the corresponding index.” (Umezawa [page 5, para 12]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. execution delay) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “waits until the calculated values of all the indexes indicated by the notification can be acquired from each thread.” Umezawa [page 5, para 12])
Regarding Claim 2,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak teaches,
wherein the reference benchmark value is associated with at least one of (i) an index close, (ii) an index open, (iii) an exchange daily settlement price, and (iv) a volume weighted average price over time.
(Nowak [0005] The price at which these transactions occur is typically the fund's Net Asset Value (NAV) computed on the basis of closing prices for the day of all securities in the fund
Nowak [0022] an international security's overnight returns when compared against a benchmark return factor, such as a snapshot U.S. market return
Nowak [0089] significant positive δ using Model 2 as the benchmark
Nowak [0067] Model 2 is similar to Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM))
Regarding Claim 3,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak teaches,
wherein the specific time point, for each of the components, differs from a closing time of the first time zone.
(Nowak [0016] trading on international markets by making certain adjustments for time-zone differences between the time-zone of the futures contract, the time zone of U.S. exchanges, and in some cases the time-zone of the foreign exchange on which the constituents of the index are traded.
Nowak [0030] typically calculated at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), i.e., at the close of the U.S. financial markets...This is well after many, if not most, foreign markets already have closed.)
Regarding Claim 4,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach storing, by the electronic platform, the trade information responsive to receiving an indication of the trade.
O'shea teaches,
storing, by the electronic platform, the trade information responsive to receiving an indication of the trade.
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-15] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table
O'shea [page 81, lines 5-8] The As-of General Ledger Proof Report details post date account balances... on or after the post date that were posted to the system ... This report can be used as a tool for reconciliation and confirmation of as-of general ledger transactions)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the investment compliance
of O'shea “for portfolio compliance and administration receives data concerning financial instruments that comprise a financial fund (4) from a collection of information sources.” (O'shea [Abstract]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. investment compliance) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “confirm that the fund is being managed in accordance with predetermined rules.” O'shea [Abstract])
Regarding Claim 5,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 4 as described earlier.
Nowak teaches,
wherein the last of the components of the reference benchmark value is received at a final specific time point that is an index close on a second day after a day that the indication of the trade is received.
(Nowak [0016] trading on international markets by making certain adjustments for time-zone differences between the time-zone of the futures contract, the time zone of U.S. exchanges, and in some cases the time-zone of the foreign exchange on which the constituents of the index are traded.
Nowak [0030] typically calculated at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), i.e., at the close of the U.S. financial markets...This is well after many, if not most, foreign markets already have closed.
Nowak [0118] Ri,t+1: The next day return of index i;)
Regarding Claim 6,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach generating, by the electronic platform, a trade identifier and linking the trade identifier with the trade; and mapping, by the electronic platform, the trade identifier and the trade information, in the record, to one or more predefined fields of the one or more data tables.
O'shea teaches,
generating, by the electronic platform, a trade identifier and linking the trade identifier with the trade; and mapping, by the electronic platform, the trade identifier and the trade information, in the record, to one or more predefined fields of the one or more data tables
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table and will be logically related to the Asset holding in the fund through the unique Fund ID - Asset ID combination. A unique Lot ID is established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.
O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28] detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID
O'shea [page 16, lines 20-23] The data fields related to the funds are defined for each fund based on the analytical needs for that fund. These data fields provide the building blocks to set up investment guidelines)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the trade identifier
of O'shea where “detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID.” (O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. trade identifier) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.” O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17])
Regarding Claim 7,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 6 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein the trade identifier and the trade information are stored in the record among the one or more data tables in a searchable format.
O'shea teaches,
wherein the trade identifier and the trade information are stored in the record among the one or more data tables in a searchable format
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table and will be logically related to the Asset holding in the fund through the unique Fund ID - Asset ID combination. A unique Lot ID is established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.
O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28] detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID
O'shea [page 31, lines 25-26] the Asset Search Screen, will be used to find the appropriate asset item (or list of them) in the database.
O'shea [page 53, line 25] direct SQL requests)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the trade identifier
of O'shea where “detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID.” (O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. trade identifier) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.” O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17])
Regarding Claim 8,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 7 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein retrieval of any portion of the trade information associated with the trade comprises searching for the trade identifier in a predefined field among the one or more predefined fields.
O'shea teaches,
wherein retrieval of any portion of the trade information associated with the trade comprises searching for the trade identifier in a predefined field among the one or more predefined fields.
(O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17] all transactions will be stored on the Transaction Table and will be logically related to the Asset holding in the fund through the unique Fund ID - Asset ID combination. A unique Lot ID is established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.
O'shea [page 31, lines 25-26] the Asset Search Screen, will be used to find the appropriate asset item (or list of them) in the database.
O'shea [page 48, lines 29-30] the building blocks of the reporting systems and represent raw data fields (or columns in database tables))
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the trade identifier
of O'shea where “detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID.” (O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. trade identifier) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.” O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17])
Regarding Claim 9,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 6 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein the one or more predefined fields include one or more of a trade identifier field, a description field, a date field and a related data field.
O'shea teaches,
wherein the one or more predefined fields include one or more of a trade identifier field, a description field, a date field and a related data field.
(O'shea [page 48, lines 29-30] the building blocks of the reporting systems and represent raw data fields (or columns in database tables)
O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28] detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID
O'shea [page 81, line 2-3] The System displays cusip, sedol, asset description (long) and list each transaction with trade date, post date, transaction type, units and cost)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the trade identifier
of O'shea where “detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID.” (O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. trade identifier) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.” O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17])
Regarding Claim 10,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 9 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein the related data field includes information comprising one or more of a processing status, one or more financial values and one or more trading parties.
O'shea teaches,
wherein the related data field includes information comprising one or more of a processing status, one or more financial values and one or more trading parties.
(O'shea [page 28, lines 7-8] The user may filter the search results by date, name, completion status)
Regarding Claim 11,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach updating, by the at least one database, the one or more data tables based on information received from one or more entities.
O'shea teaches,
updating, by the at least one database, the one or more data tables based on information received from one or more entities.
(O'shea [page 31, lines 7-8] enable or disable source updating
O'shea [page 53, line 23] some direct SQL requests
O'shea [page 48, lines 29-30] the building blocks of the reporting systems and represent raw data fields (or columns in database tables))
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the trade identifier
of O'shea where “detail information regarding one specific transaction, the User can enter a Transaction ID.” (O'shea [page 40, lines 27-28]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. trade identifier) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “established to define the relationship between Fund Lots and Transactions.” O'shea [page 37, lines 14-17])
Regarding Claim 12,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak teaches,
wherein the derivative comprises one of (i) a future on the underlying index future, (ii) an option on the underlying index future, and (iii) a combination of put and call options on the underlying index future.
(Nowak [0031] S&P 500 Index
Nowak [0010] has led to the expansion of the strategic use of derivatives in mutual funds for various purposes
Nowak [0102] An index measures the change in price in a group of underlying security constituents
Examiner notes any instrument based upon an underlying security is inherently a derivative)
Regarding Claim 13,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein the derivative created by the executable trade is listed on a central order book.
Wilson teaches,
wherein the derivative created by the executable trade is listed on a central order book.
(Wilson [0114] permits the creation of an instrument that lessens the effect of the granularization issue through coupon standardization
Wilson [0023] standardized nature of futures results in concentration of liquidity within the central limit order book, as multiple trading participants place bids and offers to trade)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the investment clearance and settlement of Wilson where “All futures and futures options are centrally cleared...Central clearing means that the counterparty risk is removed.... each party faces a clearinghouse and looks solely to the clearinghouse for clearing trades.” (Wilson [0011]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. in investment clearance and settlement) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “the financial instrument is settled (either cash settlement or physical delivery.” Wilson [0010])
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa in view of MSCI (“MSCI Global Investable Market Indices Methodology”, May 2011).
Regarding Claim 14,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 13 as described earlier.
Nowak does not teach wherein the executable trade is available for block trading.
MSCI teaches,
wherein the executable trade is available for block trading.
(MSCI [page 37] block sales/buys that occur
MSCI [page 41] processes such as block sales or block buys)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the index development and management of MSCI that outlines the “objectives and details the methodology employed to create and maintain the MSCI Global Investable Market Indices.” (MSCI [page 8]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. index development and management) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “investability requirements and the size‐segmentation methodology used in constructing the indices.” MSCI [page 8])
Regarding Claim 15,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowack teaches,
at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options
(Nowak [0129] on the latest trading day for which intraday data is available for both the underlying index and the future
Nowak [0030] typically calculated at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), i.e., at the close of the U.S. financial markets...This is well after many, if not most, foreign markets already have closed. )
Nowak does not teach said reporting and said clearing are associated with a Europe, Australasia and Far East index trade at index trade.
MSCI teaches,
said reporting and said clearing are associated with a Europe, Australasia and Far East index trade at index trade
(MSCI [page 12] the MSCI Europe Index are derived from the constituents of the MSCI Europe Index
MSCI [page 65-66] list of Stock Exchanges, Market Segments and Eligible Security Classes that MSCI uses as the basis of the construction of the MSCI Global Investable Market Indices and MSCI
Frontier Markets Indices....AUSTRALIA...JAPAN Tokyo Stock Exchange ...SINGAPORE...CHINA
MSCI [page 53] Micro Cap Maximum Size Requirement
MSCI [page 74] Well functioning clearing and settlement system)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the index development and management of MSCI that outlines the “objectives and details the methodology employed to create and maintain the MSCI Global Investable Market Indices.” (MSCI [page 8]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. index development and management) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “investability requirements and the size‐segmentation methodology used in constructing the indices.” MSCI [page 8])
Regarding Claim 16,
Nowak, O’shea, Wilson, and Umezawa teach the index trading of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Nowack teaches,
at index close including at least one of a future, an option, or a combination of put and call options
(Nowak [0129] on the latest trading day for which intraday data is available for both the underlying index and the future
Nowak [0030] typically calculated at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST), i.e., at the close of the U.S. financial markets...This is well after many, if not most, foreign markets already have closed. )
Nowak does not teach said reporting and said clearing are associated with an emerging markets index trade.
MSCI teaches,
said reporting and said clearing are associated with an emerging markets index trade
(MSCI [page 12] the MSCI Europe Index are derived from the constituents of the MSCI Europe Index
MSCI [page 9] , under the MSCI Global Investable Market Indices methodology, there are new Small Cap Indices covering Emerging Markets countries
MSCI [page 53] Micro Cap Maximum Size Requirement
MSCI [page 74] Well functioning clearing and settlement system)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the index trade by timezone system of Nowak to incorporate the index development and management of MSCI that outlines the “objectives and details the methodology employed to create and maintain the MSCI Global Investable Market Indices.” (MSCI [page 8]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. index development and management) to a known concept (i.e. index trade by timezone) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “investability requirements and the size‐segmentation methodology used in constructing the indices.” MSCI [page 8])
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on January 26, 2026 have been fully considered and Examiner’s remarks to Applicant’s amendments follow.
Response Remarks on Objections
Applicant's amendments rectify the previous objections.
The objections are lifted.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Applicant states:
“Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that this rejection should be withdrawn…Taking these deficiencies into consideration, the Specification notes that "it would therefore be desirable to provide automatic and accurate systems and methods to facilitate trades priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with an underlying index future." …. leveraging of external data sources to obtain enhanced and improved price data from multiple time zones….recites delaying determination of the reference benchmark value and delaying creation of the executable trade until such time as reference benchmark value components come into existence in multiple other time zones and are accordingly retrieved."
Examiner responds:
The acts "to facilitate trades priced relative to a reference benchmark value associated with an underlying index future" and "delaying determination of the reference benchmark value and delaying creation of the executable trade" recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The acts of "to obtain enhanced and improved price data from multiple time zones" and "leveraging of external data sources" amount to determining and calculating differences between data elements amounts to Mere Data Gathering [Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions, CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011)], and Selecting A Particular Data Source or Type Of Data To Be Manipulated [Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)]. Both of which are abstract ideas.
The Applicant states:
“The Claims Include Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More than any Alleged Abstract Idea… the claims include unconventional steps that confine the claims to a particular useful application… for improving processing in electronic trading systems over multiple time zones…. the claimed limitations define a unique and unconventional timing mechanism and temporary restraint on the determination of the reference benchmark value and a delay in the creation of executable trades."
Examiner responds:
The “unconventional timing mechanism and temporary restraint on the determination of the reference benchmark value and a delay in the creation of executable trades” express abstract ideas related to financial trading and are not additional elements.
In the absence of unexpected results, changes or alteration of sequence do not make for a patentable invention, see Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) ; In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 101 remains.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's amendments required the application of new/additional prior art.
New prior art includes:
Umezawa (“INDEX CALCULATION SYSTEM, INDEX CALCULATION METHOD, INDEX CALCULATION PROGRAM”, Japanese Publication Number: JP 2012128650 A).
Excised prior art includes:
Murphy (“METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SIMULATING SECURITY TRANSACTIONS BASED ON INFORMATION FROM ACTUAL MARKET TRANSACTIONS FOR CORRESPONDING SECURITIES”, WIPO Publication Number: WO 0111453 A2).
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 103 remains.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the rejection made under 35 USC § 103 are rendered moot by the introduction of additional prior art.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of newly amended claims, a new grounds of rejection is made under 35 USC § 103.
Prior Art Cited But Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Haines (“STRUCTURED FUTURES PRODUCTS”, U.S. Publication Number: 20110055112 A1) proposes creating and trading structured futures and various vehicles to allow nearly equivalent financial instruments to be created and traded on exchanges are described, including computer systems and computer implemented methods that allow the creation and trading of structured futures and related financial instruments. Computer systems and methods may be used to calculate the value of structured futures and related financial instruments before maturity and their payoff value at maturity.
Gould (“METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR REPLICATING AN INDEX WITH LIQUID INSTRUMENTS”, U.S. Publication Number: 20060253360 A1) provides replicating a first index, comprising: constructing a basket of derivative financial instruments selected to replicate said index; wherein said basket of derivative financial instruments is constructed using key rate duration matching based on a plurality of instruments, and wherein said basket is reconstructed on a periodic basis approximately equal to that on which said index is reconstructed. In another aspect, the invention comprises a method for replicating a portfolio of securities, comprising: constructing a basket of derivative financial instruments selected to replicate said portfolio; wherein said basket of derivative financial instruments is constructed using key rate duration matching based on a plurality of instruments, and wherein said basket is reconstructed on a periodic basis approximately equal to that on which said portfolio is reconstructed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/C.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695