DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/08/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. Notably, a copy of WO-2017151689 was provided but not cited in the IDS. This might be a typographical error that applicant should correct in their response. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the omitted reference has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 12/08/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the references without a corresponding copy provided therein have not been considered. WO-2017015689 is cited in the IDS but not provided; also the applicant/date of this reference do not match what is listed in the IDS (this might be a typographical error that applicant should correct?). Additionally, no copy of WO-20220109575 was provided.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-8) and species 1a in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12409953 (henceforth 953. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same matter.
Regarding claim 1, 953 claims a connection system, comprising: one or more booms, the one or more booms having a stored configuration, a deployed configuration, and a closed configuration, wherein each of the one or more booms comprises two inflatable cavities, the two inflatable cavities separately inflatable (953, claim 1, one or more booms with stored, deployed, and closed configurations; booms have two separately inflatable cavities).
Regarding claim 2, 953 claims the connection system of claim 1, further comprising a capture surface coupled to the one or more booms (953, claim 8).
Regarding claim 3, 953 claims the connection system of claim 1, where a first of the two inflatable cavities defines a first length, and the second of the two inflatable cavities defines a second length (953, claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, 953 claims the connection system of claim 3, wherein the second length is longer than the first length (953, claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, 953 claims the connection system of claim 4, wherein terminal end regions of the two inflatable cavities are coupled and the two inflatable cavities are coupled together periodically along the first length (953, claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, 953 claims the connection system of claim 5, further comprising a hub (953, claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, 953 claims the connection system of claim 6, wherein the hub is inflatable (953, claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, 953 claims the connection system of claim 7, wherein the capture surface comprises a mesh (953, claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruschulte (US 20140030455 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ruschulte (US 20140030455 A1) discloses a connection system, comprising: one or more booms (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 1), the one or more booms having a stored configuration, a deployed configuration, and a closed configuration, wherein each of the one or more booms comprises two inflatable cavities (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21), the two inflatable cavities separately inflatable (Ruschulte, figure 1-3, item 11 and 21, different cavities are inflated separately from each other).
Regarding claim 2, Ruschulte discloses the connection system of claim 1, further comprising a capture surface coupled to the one or more booms (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 12 and III, inner layer capable of being used as a capture surface).
Regarding claim 3, Ruschulte discloses the connection system of claim 1, where a first of the two inflatable cavities defines a first length, and the second of the two inflatable cavities defines a second length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21, first and second cavities have different lengths).
Regarding claim 4, Ruschulte discloses the connection system of claim 3, wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21, second cavities longer than first cavity).
Regarding claim 5, Ruschulte discloses the connection system of claim 4, wherein terminal end regions of the two inflatable cavities are coupled and the two inflatable cavities are coupled together periodically along the first length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 4, first and second cavities are coupled together at ends and along intermediate spaces along cavity lengths).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnet (US 6568640 B1) in view of Ruschulte (US 20140030455 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barnet (US 6568640 B1) discloses a connection system, comprising: one or more booms (Barnet , figure 1, item 24), the one or more booms having a stored configuration, a deployed configuration, and a closed configuration, (Barnet , figures 1-2, 5, and 7-8, item 43, boom capable of moving between stowed, deployed, and close states) wherein each of the one or more booms comprises one inflatable cavity (Barnet , figure 1, item 24, tube with cavity)
except:
wherein each of the one or more booms comprises two inflatable cavities, the two inflatable cavities separately inflatable.
Ruschulte (US 20140030455 A1) teaches a one or more booms comprises two inflatable cavities (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21), where the two inflatable cavities separately inflatable (Ruschulte, figure 1-3, item 11 and 21, different cavities are inflated separately from each other).
Barnet and Ruschulte are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of inflatable structure. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Barnet with the second, separately inflatable cavity of Ruschulte with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the boom to be articulated based on selective inflation of the cavities without requiring additional brace structure (Ruschulte, ¶6).
Regarding claim 2, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 1, further comprising a capture surface coupled to the one or more booms (Barnet, figure 1, item 40, web can function as a capture surface).
Regarding claim 3, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 1, where a first of the two inflatable cavities defines a first length, and the second of the two inflatable cavities defines a second length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21, first and second cavities have different lengths).
Regarding claim 4, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 3, wherein the second length is longer than the first length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 11 and 21, second cavities longer than first cavity).
Regarding claim 5, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 4, wherein terminal end regions of the two inflatable cavities are coupled and the two inflatable cavities are coupled together periodically along the first length (Ruschulte, figure 1, item 4, first and second cavities are coupled together at ends and along intermediate spaces along cavity lengths).
Regarding claim 6, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 5, further comprising a hub (Barnet, figure 2, item 44).
Regarding claim 7, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 6, wherein the hub is inflatable (Barnet, figure 2, item 44, col 3 lines 17-20).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnet (US 6568640 B1) in view of Ruschulte (US 20140030455 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Stone (US 20120097799 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Barnet as modified by Ruschulte teaches the connection system of claim 7, except:
wherein the capture surface comprises a mesh.
Stone (US 20120097799 A1) teaches a capture surface comprising a mesh (Stone, claim 2, mesh net for capturing orbital debris).
Barnet as modified by Ruschulte and Stone are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of inflatable structure. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the capture surface of Barnet as modified by Ruschulte with the mesh capture surface of Stone with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the weight of the capture surface.
Conclusion
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642