DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 12 May 2026 has been entered. Currently Claims 21-22, 26-30, 33, 36-37, 40-42 and 45-51 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ARTICLES OF FOOTWEAR HAVING VIBRATING MOTORS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 45-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (U.S. PG Publication No. 2015/0096203) in view of Roh (U.S. Patent No. 11,872,013).
Regarding Claim 45, Brown discloses in Figures 1-7, an article of footwear comprising: a sole 18; a plurality of motors 38, 40, 42, 44 and 46 for at least 3 vibration zones, a battery 58 and control circuitry (electrical assembly including wires 48, 50, 523, 54, 56 inherently connects battery and switch and charger plug Para 0028).
Brown does not explicitly disclose the vibration zones configured to be turned on or controlled individually.
Roh discloses a shoe with various zones having vibration motors where a controller individually controls the motors in relation to a pressure sensed at each location (Col 12, lines 24-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to individually control or turn on and off the motors in Brown. All the claimed elements in Brown and Roh were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the controller for individually activating each motor as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result providing customized vibration in response to specific pressure sensed at each zone or location of the foot to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 46, Brown discloses in Figures 1-7, the article of footwear of claim 45, wherein the three vibration zones comprise a front vibration zone having at least one vibrating motor 38 of the plurality of vibrating motors disposed in a forefoot region of the sole.
Regarding Claim 47, Brown discloses in Figure 1, the article of footwear of claim 45, wherein the three vibration zones comprise a middle vibration zone having at least two vibrating motors 40, 42 of the plurality of vibrating motors disposed in a midfoot region of the sole.
Regarding Claim 48, Brown discloses in Figure 1, the article of footwear of claim 45, wherein the three vibration zones comprise a back vibration zone having at least two vibrating motors 44, 46 of the plurality of vibrating motors disposed in a rearfoot region of the sole.
Regarding Claim 49, Brown discloses in Figures 1 and 5, the article of footwear of claim 45, wherein the plurality of vibrating motors 38, 40, 42, 44 and 46 is at least partially embedded within the sole.
Regarding Claim 50, Brown discloses in Figures 1 and 5, the article of footwear of claim 45, further comprising a mounting layer 22 coupled to the sole, wherein the mounting layer comprises a plurality of pockets, and wherein each of the plurality of vibrating motors 38, 40, 42, 44 and 46 is disposed in one of the plurality of pockets (Par 0028).
Regarding Claim 51, Brown does not disclose a top surface of the sole defines one or more cavities configured to receive the plurality of vibrating motors.
Roh discloses in Figure 2-3, a sole (outsole 11, midsole 12, insole 13) with cavities having a surface with cavities accommodating motors or vibrators 133.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form cavities in a top surface of the sole to accommodate the motors 40,42,44,46. All the claimed elements in Brown and Roh were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the cavities with the sole as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result securing the vibrating motors to a sole corresponding to the zone to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 51, Brown discloses that the invention relates to all types of footwear (para 0003 including a slide or slipper) but does not disclose a strap coupled to the sole, the strap extending from a lateral side of the sole to a medial side of the sole such that an area between the strap and the sole is configured to receive a wearer's foot.
In this case, selecting a given style of footwear having strap extending between the lateral sides for would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22,26-30,33,36-37 and 40-42 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art Brown (U.S. PG Publication No. 2015/0096203) and Roh (U.S. Patent No. 11,872,013) does not teach or suggest alone or combination wherein the protective housing is coupled to the mounting layer, wherein the battery is configured to power the motors, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the motors, and wherein the control assembly is disposed between the mounting layer and the sole; and a switch coupled to the control circuitry and configured to turn the motors on and off.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 45 and 51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875