DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering Claim 9: Claim 9 excludes structures of the formula B from the second polymer, which includes ethylmethacrylate. However, structural unit C, which is required in the second polymer, covers the structure for ethylmethacrylate. Therefore, it is not clear if ethylmethacrylate is excluded from the second polymer, due to its inclusion in structural unit B, or included in the second polymer, due to its inclusion in structural unit C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitto Denko (JP 5552364).
Considering Claim 9: Nitto Denko teaches an adhesive comprising a first and second polymer/adhesive (pg. 3), where in the example, the first polymer comprises butyl acrylate (structural unit C) and acrylic acid (structural unit A)and the second polymer comprises butyl acrylate (structural unit C), methyl methacrylate (structural unit B), and acrylic acid (structural unit A) (Table 1). Thus the first polymer of Nitto Denko reads on the second adhesive and the second polymer reads on the first adhesive.
Nitto Denko teaches that both polymer can additionally contain hydroxyethyl acrylate (structural unit D) in both polymers (pg. 6-7). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the hydroxyethyl acrylate to the polymers used in the examples, and the motivation to do so would have been, to include a crosslinkable moiety into the adhesive (pg. 11).
Considering Claim 10: Nitto Denko teaches the ratio of the first adhesive to the second adhesive of 1:4 (Table 1).
Considering Claim 11: Nitto Denko teaches the first adhesive as comprising 0.1 to 10 weight percent of the acrylic acid group (pg. 5-6), 0 to 40 weight percent of methyl methacrylate (pg. 4), 60 to 99 weight percent of the butyl acrylate (pg. 4), and less than 20 weight percent of the hydroxyethyl acrylate (pg. 6-7).
Considering Claim 12: Nitto Denko teaches the first adhesive as comprising 0.1 to 10 weight percent of the acrylic acid group (pg. 5-6), 60 to 99 weight percent of the butyl acrylate (pg. 4), and less than 20 weight percent of the hydroxyethyl acrylate (pg. 6-7).
Considering Claim 13: Nitto Denko teaches the molecular weight as being 1,000,000 to 4,000,000 (pg. 10), which overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a molecular weight in the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Nitto Denko suggests, to provide strong heat and moisture resistance (pg. 10).
Considering Claim 14: Nitto Denko teaches the composition as comprising a fatty alcohol polyether (pg. 8).
Considering Claim 15: Nitto Denko teaches the composition as comprising water/a solvent (pg. 8).
Considering Claims 21 and 22: Nitto Denko teaches that the polymer can optionally include styrene or acrylonitrile (pg. 6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have included these monomers, as Nitto Denko teaches them to be suitable for use in the adhesive polymers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767