DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on August 12th, 2025. Claims 1-17 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on August 12th, 2025 and May 8th, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for continuation priority to PCT/JP2024/005295 dated February 15th, 2024 and foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to JP2024-006120 and JP2023-035644 dated March 8th, 2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “adjusting an environment inside the vehicle” should recite “adjusting the environment inside the vehicle” to properly recite antecedent basis to claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrases " creates an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan" render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the updated power plan and current power use plan are the same as or different from the updated power plan and current power use plan mentioned in claim 1 on which it depends. Claims 3-15 are additionally rejected due to their dependence on claim 2.
Regarding claims 2, 4-6, the phrase "notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan," render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether “a power use plan” refers to the current power use plan or the updated power use plan as mentioned in claims 1 and 2 on which it depends, or is a different power use plan. Claims 3-15 are additionally rejected due to their dependence on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a power management system, claim 16 is directed to a power management method, and claim 17 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a power management program. Therefore, claims 1-17 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
In this case independent claims 1, 16, and 17 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Specifically, the claims under their broadest reasonable interpretation cover certain mental processes. Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
a power management system comprising:
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor, the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the power management system to:
calculate an amount of electric power for travel and an amount of consumption-related electric power based on a power consumption parameter representing electric power consumed in a vehicle, the amount of electric power for travel being consumed while the vehicle is traveling until reaching a destination, the amount of consumption-related electric power being required to execute a function of an in-vehicle device used until the destination is reached;
create a power use plan for traveling to the destination based on the amount of electric power for travel and the amount of consumption-related electric power; and
determine, based on the power consumption parameter, whether it is appropriate to use a current power use plan,
wherein an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan is created when it is determined that the current power use plan is inappropriate.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bold limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” and/or a “mathematical process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, calculating an amount of electric power for travel and an amount of consumption related power consumption, in the context of this claim encompasses a driver observing the charge of the vehicle and how much mileage is left to take the user to their desired destination, and determining whether energy will need to be conserved and making a plan on how to conserve it. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. As explained above, independent claim 1 recites at least one abstract idea. The other independent claims 16 and 17, which is of similar scope to claim 1, likewise recites at least one abstract idea under Step 2A, prong I.
101 Analysis – Step2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
a power management system comprising:
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor, the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the power management system to:
calculate an amount of electric power for travel and an amount of consumption-related electric power based on a power consumption parameter representing electric power consumed in a vehicle, the amount of electric power for travel being consumed while the vehicle is traveling until reaching a destination, the amount of consumption-related electric power being required to execute a function of an in-vehicle device used until the destination is reached;
create a power use plan for traveling to the destination based on the amount of electric power for travel and the amount of consumption-related electric power; and
determine, based on the power consumption parameter, whether it is appropriate to use a current power use plan,
wherein an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan is created when it is determined that the current power use plan is inappropriate.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of a circuit and a processor storing a memory, the examiner submits that these limitations merely describe how to generally “apply” and “display” the otherwise mental judgements using generic components in a vehicle control environment. The power management system is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the calculation and plan creation steps.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a circuit and a processor amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The additional limitations do not amount to more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as mentioned in MPEP 2106.05(h). Hence claim 1 is not patent eligible. Claims 16 and 17 are also not patent eligible for the same reasons as stated in the above claim 1 rejection.
Dependent claims 2-15 have been given the full two-part analysis, including analyzing the additional limitations, both individually and in combination. Dependent claims 2-15, when analyzed both individually and in combination, are also patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 based on the same analysis as above. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims fail to establish that the dependent claims are not directed to an abstract idea, because they do not actively recite controlling of a function of a component of a vehicle, they merely state a plan is not executed without details as to how this execution is done. The additional limitations of the dependent claims, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly claims 2-15 are patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by JP5327142B2 (hereinafter, “Hiroshi”).
Regarding claim 1 Hiroshi discloses a power management system (see at least [0087]; “As described above, the vehicle air conditioning system 10 of this embodiment is a vehicle air conditioning system 10 that calculates the total air conditioning load required to reach the destination based on the current heat load information inside and outside the vehicle, and manages the energy of the air conditioning by comparing it with the current SOC.”) comprising:
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”), the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the power management system to:
calculate an amount of electric power for travel (see at least [0012]; “traction energy acquisition means (31) for acquiring traction indicating the amount of power required for the vehicle to travel until it reaches its destination”) and an amount of consumption-related electric power based on a power consumption parameter representing electric power consumed in a vehicle, the amount of electric power for travel being consumed while the vehicle is traveling until reaching a destination, the amount of consumption-related electric power being required to execute a function of an in-vehicle device used until the destination is reached (see at least [0012]; “air conditioning energy calculation means (32) for calculating air conditioning energy indicating the amount of power required for air conditioning inside the vehicle until it reaches its destination, based on the current location information acquired by the current location information acquisition means, the destination information acquired by the destination information acquisition means, and the air conditioning request acquired by the air conditioning request acquisition means”);
create a power use plan for traveling to the destination based on the amount of electric power for travel and the amount of consumption-related electric power (see at least [0058-0061]; “obtain the SOC change schedule for items other than air conditioning, and then proceed to step 3. The air conditioner ECU 32 receives the result of the SOC scheduling process performed by the main unit ECU 24 via the air conditioner communication unit 31. By obtaining the SOC change schedule for systems other than air conditioning in this way, it is possible to calculate the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume. In step 3, obtain weather forecast information for the direction of travel, and then proceed to step 4. Weather forecast information is included in the navigation information obtained via the air conditioner communication unit 31. This makes it possible to predict fluctuations in the air conditioning load inside and outside the vehicle throughout the entire journey…Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination,” the change schedule representing the total power consumed by the vehicle while it travels to its destination corresponds to a power use plan); and
determine, based on the power consumption parameter, whether it is appropriate to use a current power use plan (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor”),
wherein an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan is created when it is determined that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [0013]; “In contrast, the present invention calculates the amount of electricity that can be consumed for air conditioning, and based on this amount of electricity that can be consumed, it is possible to control the air conditioning by limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously operated without stopping the air conditioning.”).
Regarding claim 2 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein: a calculation section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”)configured to calculate the amount of electric power for travel (see at least [0012]; “traction energy acquisition means (31) for acquiring traction indicating the amount of power required for the vehicle to travel until it reaches its destination”) and the amount of consumption-related electric power(see at least [0012]; “air conditioning energy calculation means (32) for calculating air conditioning energy indicating the amount of power required for air conditioning inside the vehicle until it reaches its destination, based on the current location information acquired by the current location information acquisition means, the destination information acquired by the destination information acquisition means, and the air conditioning request acquired by the air conditioning request acquisition means”);
a generation section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”) configured to create the power use plan (see at least [0058-0061]; “obtain the SOC change schedule for items other than air conditioning, and then proceed to step 3. The air conditioner ECU 32 receives the result of the SOC scheduling process performed by the main unit ECU 24 via the air conditioner communication unit 31. By obtaining the SOC change schedule for systems other than air conditioning in this way, it is possible to calculate the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume. In step 3, obtain weather forecast information for the direction of travel, and then proceed to step 4. Weather forecast information is included in the navigation information obtained via the air conditioner communication unit 31. This makes it possible to predict fluctuations in the air conditioning load inside and outside the vehicle throughout the entire journey…Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination,” the change schedule representing the total power consumed by the vehicle while it travels to its destination corresponds to a power use plan); and
a determination section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”)configured to determine whether it is appropriate to use the current power use plan (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor”); and
the generation section creates an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan, when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [0013]; “In contrast, the present invention calculates the amount of electricity that can be consumed for air conditioning, and based on this amount of electricity that can be consumed, it is possible to control the air conditioning by limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously operated without stopping the air conditioning.”).
Regarding claim 3 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein the power consumption parameter includes an element for which electric power is consumed based on at least one of following pieces of occupant information: information on a driving operation of the vehicle by a driver; information on an operation of the in-vehicle device by a vehicle occupant; a state of the vehicle occupant; and a preference of the vehicle occupant (see at least [0060]; “The air conditioning ECU 32 calculates the change in State of Coolant (SOC) consumed by the air conditioning system to the destination based on current interior and exterior heat load information, air conditioning operation by the occupants, and weather forecast information for the direction of travel. The specific calculation method will be explained later.”).
Regarding claim 9 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein, when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate, the generation section creates the updated power use plan so as to reduce use of a function of adjusting an environment in the vehicle (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load,” limiting the air conditioning load corresponds to reducing use of a function of adjusting an environment in the vehicle).
Regarding claim 10 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein an occupant detection section that detects a seat in which a vehicle occupant is present is connected (see at least [0050]; “the air conditioning sensor group 34 includes…a seat sensor that can detect whether or not occupant is seated in a seat”), and
when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate, the generation section creates the updated power use plan so as to adjust an output of air conditioning to a seat from which the vehicle occupant is absent by adjusting an environment inside the vehicle (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor,” the air conditioning of the entire vehicle is able to be adjusted this includes all seats regardless of the presence of an occupant, therefore air conditioning to an unoccupied seat is executed along with other seats as well).
Regarding claim 11 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein an occupant detection section that detects a position of a body of a vehicle occupant is connected (see at least [0050]; “the air conditioning sensor group 34 includes…a seat sensor that can detect whether or not occupant is seated in a seat”),
when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate, the generation section creates the updated power use plan so as to adjust use of electric power by adjusting an output of an air conditioning to blow air in a limited manner only to a part of the body of the vehicle occupant (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor,” the air conditioning is able to be limited it would be obvious for this to include the amount of air directed to a part of the body).
Regarding claim 12 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein an occupant detection section that detects a seat on which a vehicle occupant is seated is connected (see at least [0050]; “the air conditioning sensor group 34 includes…a seat sensor that can detect whether or not occupant is seated in a seat”), and
when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate, the generation section creates the updated power use plan so as to adjust use of electric power by controlling an output of a temperature adjustment function of a seat cushion on which the vehicle occupant is seated and adjusting a thermal feeling of a part of a body of the vehicle occupant (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor,” and [0101]; “other power consuming elements constituting the vehicle air conditioning system 10 may also be used, such as seat air conditioning (heaters),” the air conditioning of the entire vehicle is able to be adjusted this includes the seat heater which overall adjusts a thermal feeling to a part of the body of an occupant).
Regarding claim 13 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”) is further configured to implement
an execution section configured to execute the updated power use plan without waiting for a determination by an occupant of the vehicle (see at least [0063]; “The electric maneuver auto switch is a switch operated by the occupant, and can be switched ON/OFF by, for example, operating the control panel 33. If the electric power management auto switch is ON, it is determined that the occupants have given permission to limit the air conditioning capacity to reduce power consumption, and the system proceeds to step 8,” if the switch is ON it automatically determines to execute the limited plan without having to ask the occupant every time there is a change to the plan).
Regarding claim 15 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein the determination section determines that use of the current power use plan is inappropriate when a predetermined standard defined from a viewpoint of security or safety is exceeded (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor,” if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power the plan is deemed inappropriate as it is unsafe to run out of power before reaching the destination), and
the generation section creates the updated power use plan when the use is determined to be inappropriate (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load”).
Regarding claim 16 Hiroshi discloses a power management method (see at least [0087]; “As described above, the vehicle air conditioning system 10 of this embodiment is a vehicle air conditioning system 10 that calculates the total air conditioning load required to reach the destination based on the current heat load information inside and outside the vehicle, and manages the energy of the air conditioning by comparing it with the current SOC.”) comprising:
calculating, by a calculation section, an amount of electric power for travel (see at least [0012]; “traction energy acquisition means (31) for acquiring traction indicating the amount of power required for the vehicle to travel until it reaches its destination”) and an amount of consumption-related electric power based on a power consumption parameter representing electric power consumed in a vehicle, the amount of electric power for travel being consumed while the vehicle is traveling until reaching a destination, the amount of consumption-related electric power being required to execute a function of an in-vehicle device used until the destination is reached (see at least [0012]; “air conditioning energy calculation means (32) for calculating air conditioning energy indicating the amount of power required for air conditioning inside the vehicle until it reaches its destination, based on the current location information acquired by the current location information acquisition means, the destination information acquired by the destination information acquisition means, and the air conditioning request acquired by the air conditioning request acquisition means”);
creating, by a generation section, a power use plan for traveling to the destination based on the amount of electric power for travel and the amount of consumption-related electric power (see at least [0058-0061]; “obtain the SOC change schedule for items other than air conditioning, and then proceed to step 3. The air conditioner ECU 32 receives the result of the SOC scheduling process performed by the main unit ECU 24 via the air conditioner communication unit 31. By obtaining the SOC change schedule for systems other than air conditioning in this way, it is possible to calculate the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume. In step 3, obtain weather forecast information for the direction of travel, and then proceed to step 4. Weather forecast information is included in the navigation information obtained via the air conditioner communication unit 31. This makes it possible to predict fluctuations in the air conditioning load inside and outside the vehicle throughout the entire journey…Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination,” the change schedule representing the total power consumed by the vehicle while it travels to its destination corresponds to a power use plan);
determining, based on the power consumption parameter, by a determination section, whether it is appropriate to use a current power use plan (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor”); and
creating, by the generation section, an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan, when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [0013]; “In contrast, the present invention calculates the amount of electricity that can be consumed for air conditioning, and based on this amount of electricity that can be consumed, it is possible to control the air conditioning by limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously operated without stopping the air conditioning.”).
Regarding claim 17 Hiroshi discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a power management program that causes a power management system (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”) to execute procedures of:
calculating, by a calculation section, an amount of electric power for travel (see at least [0012]; “traction energy acquisition means (31) for acquiring traction indicating the amount of power required for the vehicle to travel until it reaches its destination”) and an amount of consumption-related electric power based on a power consumption parameter representing electric power consumed in a vehicle, the amount of electric power for travel being consumed while the vehicle is traveling until reaching a destination, the amount of consumption-related electric power being required to execute a function of an in-vehicle device used until the destination is reached (see at least [0012]; “air conditioning energy calculation means (32) for calculating air conditioning energy indicating the amount of power required for air conditioning inside the vehicle until it reaches its destination, based on the current location information acquired by the current location information acquisition means, the destination information acquired by the destination information acquisition means, and the air conditioning request acquired by the air conditioning request acquisition means”);
creating, by a generation section, a power use plan for traveling to the destination based on the amount of electric power for travel and the amount of consumption-related electric power (see at least [0058-0061]; “obtain the SOC change schedule for items other than air conditioning, and then proceed to step 3. The air conditioner ECU 32 receives the result of the SOC scheduling process performed by the main unit ECU 24 via the air conditioner communication unit 31. By obtaining the SOC change schedule for systems other than air conditioning in this way, it is possible to calculate the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume. In step 3, obtain weather forecast information for the direction of travel, and then proceed to step 4. Weather forecast information is included in the navigation information obtained via the air conditioner communication unit 31. This makes it possible to predict fluctuations in the air conditioning load inside and outside the vehicle throughout the entire journey…Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination,” the change schedule representing the total power consumed by the vehicle while it travels to its destination corresponds to a power use plan);
determining, based on the power consumption parameter, by a determination section, whether it is appropriate to use a current power use plan (see at least [0013]; “if the remaining stored power is less than the total amount of power obtained by adding the amount of power used for driving and the amount of power used for air conditioning, the air conditioning control means calculates a limited air conditioning load based on the amount of power that can be consumed and the air conditioning request, limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously provided without stopping until the destination, and performs air conditioning control based on the calculated limited air conditioning load. If the air conditioning control is implemented to satisfy the air conditioning requirements without any restrictions, the remaining battery power needed for driving may run out before reaching the destination, making it impossible to drive the electric motor”); and
creating, by the generation section, an updated power use plan that is different from a current power use plan, when the determination section determines that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [0013]; “In contrast, the present invention calculates the amount of electricity that can be consumed for air conditioning, and based on this amount of electricity that can be consumed, it is possible to control the air conditioning by limiting the air conditioning capacity so that air conditioning can be continuously operated without stopping the air conditioning.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroshi, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of WO2014109325A1 (hereinafter, “Fukuda”)
Regarding claim 4 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hiroshi does not disclose wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement
a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan,
wherein the notification control section notifies the vehicle occupant of the current power use plan, and controls the notification so as to urge carrying out of the current power use plan.
Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [Page 14, paragraph 2]; “In Figure 1, 2 is a control device composed of a microcomputer, and a storage unit 3 is connected to the input terminal of this control device 2. This memory unit 3 stores updatable map information, and can also store and configure destination information, driver information, and air conditioning settings.”) is further configured to implement
a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan (see at least [Page 5, paragraph 1]; “a simulation presentation means for presenting the simulation results by the power amount management means”),
wherein the notification control section notifies the vehicle occupant of the current power use plan, and controls the notification so as to urge carrying out of the current power use plan (see at least [Page 24 paragraph 3 – Page 25, paragraph 1]; “Estimated driving power from departure point to destination Wa + Estimated essential auxiliary power Wb + Estimated optional auxiliary power Wc + Estimated air conditioning power Wd < Remaining stored power × Safety factor. In this case, as will be described later, the power quantity result presentation means (simulation result presentation means) 49 displays (presents) the simulation result on the display unit 16 by the display control means 32,” the display lets the operator now the current power use plan is within the limitations, this urges the operator that it is not necessary to change the current power use plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the power management system of Hiroshi with the power plan notification of Fukuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of giving a driver sense of security and accurately managing battery power consumption (see at least Fukuda; [Page 3, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 5 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Hiroshi discloses wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”)…
…wherein when the calculation section determines, based on a total amount of power consumption calculated under an assumption that the current power use plan is carried out until the destination is reached, that there is a margin equal to or greater than a predetermined remaining amount including a margin amount of electric power (see at least [0010]; “ [0012]; “the system includes an air conditioning control means (32) that performs air conditioning control in the vehicle cabin to satisfy the air conditioning request obtained by the air conditioning request acquisition means,” and [0058]; “In step 2, obtain the SOC change schedule for items other than air conditioning, and then proceed to step 3. The air conditioner ECU 32 receives the result of the SOC scheduling process performed by the main unit ECU 24 via the air conditioner communication unit 31. By obtaining the SOC change schedule for systems other than air conditioning in this way, it is possible to calculate the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume,” and [0061]; “Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination, falls below the minimum power limit for operation (for example, 30%),” the state of the battery is able to be determined in order to figure out the SOC that air conditioning can afford to consume),
the generation section creates an updated power use plan that increases the amount of power consumption based on a preference of the vehicle occupant (see at least [0049]; “The control panel 33 is equipped with…a temperature setting switch for setting the cabin temperature…the control panel 33 functions as an air conditioning request acquisition means for acquiring air conditioning requests from the electric vehicle 11,” and [0055]; “The air conditioner ECU 32 repeatedly executes the flowchart shown in Figure 5 in a short period of time when it is given the power supply status (when power is supplied) and destination information,” if the power of the ac is changed such as by changing the temperature setting a new power plan is generated, and [0061]; “Whether or not an air conditioning (A/C) control load limit is necessary is determined by whether the calculated State of Charge (SOC) value, which represents the total power consumed by the entire vehicle by the time it reaches its destination, falls below the minimum power limit for operation (for example, 30%),”it would be obvious for a new calculation be implemented when the user’s temperature preference changes, the power is recalculated when a new input to the temperature has been received, if this new input yields an acceptable power consumption, the power is approved and the plan is generated and implemented by the vehicle).
Hiroshi does not disclose a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan…
…the notification control section controls notification so as to propose the updated power use plan related to the preference of the vehicle occupant.
Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan (see at least [Page 5, paragraph 1]; “a simulation presentation means for presenting the simulation results by the power amount management means”)…
…the notification control section controls notification so as to propose the updated power use plan related to the preference of the vehicle occupant (see at least [Page 5, paragraph 1]; “a simulation presentation means for presenting the simulation results by the power amount management means,” if the vehicle temperature preference is changed a new power consumption would be calculated and therefore a new power use plan would be presented as the simulation results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the power management system of Hiroshi with the power plan notification of Fukuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of giving a driver sense of security and accurately managing battery power consumption (see at least Fukuda; [Page 3, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 6 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Hiroshi does not disclose wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement
a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan,
wherein when manual driving is switched to automated driving, the notification control section controls notification of the current power use plan and a current power use status and controls notification so as to inquire of the vehicle occupant whether to change the current power use plan.
Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [Page 14, paragraph 2]; “In Figure 1, 2 is a control device composed of a microcomputer, and a storage unit 3 is connected to the input terminal of this control device 2. This memory unit 3 stores updatable map information, and can also store and configure destination information, driver information, and air conditioning settings.”) is further configured to implement
a notification control section configured to control notification to a vehicle occupant of a power use plan (see at least [Page 5, paragraph 1]; “a simulation presentation means for presenting the simulation results by the power amount management means”),
wherein when manual driving is switched to automated driving, the notification control section controls notification of the current power use plan and a current power use status and controls notification so as to inquire of the vehicle occupant whether to change the current power use plan (see at least [0063]; “In step 7, it is determined whether the occupants have given permission to implement control that reduces the air conditioning load, since it would not be possible to reach the destination if the vehicle were driven according to the calculated SOC schedule…If permission is given, the process proceeds to step 8; otherwise, the process proceeds to step 6. If the electric power management auto switch is ON, it is determined that the occupants have given permission to limit the air conditioning capacity to reduce power consumption, and the system proceeds to step 8”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the power management system of Hiroshi with the power plan notification of Fukuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of giving a driver sense of security and accurately managing battery power consumption (see at least Fukuda; [Page 3, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 7 Hiroshi in view if Fukuda renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein a display apparatus for display control of content by the notification control section is connected (see at least [Page 15, paragraph 2]; “Furthermore, the output of the control device 2 is connected to a display unit 16, which consists of, for example, a liquid crystal panel (on which the touch sensor of the operation unit 4 is provided), and also to an audio output unit 17 that outputs audio for voice guidance,” and [Page 18, paragraph 6]; “the display control means 32 displays the simulation results and operating status, which will be described later, on the display unit 16”), and
in a case where the determination section determines that continuation of the current power use plan is impossible and that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [Page 29, paragraph 2]; “if the power consumption management means 48 determines that the destination cannot be reached”),
when the content is not being displayed on the display apparatus, the notification control section displays, on the display apparatus, continuation infeasible information indicating that the current power use plan cannot be continued, and reason information indicating a reason for impossibility of continuation (see at least [Page 29, paragraph 2]; “if the power consumption management means 48 determines that the destination cannot be reached, the power consumption result presentation means 49 displays on the display unit 16 a message indicating that the destination cannot be reached and recommends the following plans, such as changing settings or adding power supply points, as described above. Furthermore, the power consumption result display means 49 displays the estimated power consumption from the current location to the destination on the display unit 16 in response to a request made by operating the operation unit 4. Furthermore, the power consumption will be displayed using color coding or similar methods to show the breakdown of power consumption for driving, essential auxiliary equipment, optional auxiliary equipment, and air conditioning system. Furthermore, during operation, both estimated and actual values are displayed, allowing the difference between the estimated and actual values to be seen (see Figures 12 and 13),” this information is displayed once the driver inputs the destination information upon beginning of travelling), and
when the content is already been displayed on the display apparatus, the continuation infeasible information and the reason information are displayed on the display apparatus in superposition with already-displayed information that has already been displayed (see at least [Page 29, paragraph 2]; “if the power consumption management means 48 determines that the destination cannot be reached, the power consumption result presentation means 49 displays on the display unit 16 a message indicating that the destination cannot be reached and recommends the following plans, such as changing settings or adding power supply points, as described above. Furthermore, the power consumption result display means 49 displays the estimated power consumption from the current location to the destination on the display unit 16 in response to a request made by operating the operation unit 4. Furthermore, the power consumption will be displayed using color coding or similar methods to show the breakdown of power consumption for driving, essential auxiliary equipment, optional auxiliary equipment, and air conditioning system. Furthermore, during operation, both estimated and actual values are displayed, allowing the difference between the estimated and actual values to be seen (see Figures 12 and 13),” the power consumption is repeatedly calculated at predetermined intervals so it would be obvious that this information could be displayed even when previous content was already being displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the power management system of Hiroshi with the power plan notification of Fukuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of giving a driver sense of security and accurately managing battery power consumption (see at least Fukuda; [Page 3, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 8 Hiroshi in view if Fukuda renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein a display apparatus for display control of content by the notification control section is connected (see at least [Page 15, paragraph 2]; “Furthermore, the output of the control device 2 is connected to a display unit 16, which consists of, for example, a liquid crystal panel (on which the touch sensor of the operation unit 4 is provided), and also to an audio output unit 17 that outputs audio for voice guidance,” and [Page 18, paragraph 6]; “the display control means 32 displays the simulation results and operating status, which will be described later, on the display unit 16”), and
in a case where the determination section determines that continuation of the current power use plan is impossible and that the current power use plan is inappropriate (see at least [Page 29, paragraph 2]; “if the power consumption management means 48 determines that the destination cannot be reached”), the notification control section changes display layout of already-displayed information, and the notification control section displays, on the display apparatus, the already-displayed information (see at least [Page 37, paragraph 2]; “at the top of the power consumption simulation screen in figure 10, the outbound travel plan and the return travel plan 92…are displayed side by side…below displays 93 and 94, the estimated driving power consumption…are displayed,” the route plan corresponds to the already displayed information because while weather may change the route may stay the same so the newly calculated power consumption would be determined and generated, but the previously displayed route information would remain displayed), continuation infeasible information indicating that the current power use plan cannot be continued, and reason information indicating a reason for impossibility of continuation (see at least [Page 29, paragraph 2]; “if the power consumption management means 48 determines that the destination cannot be reached, the power consumption result presentation means 49 displays on the display unit 16 a message indicating that the destination cannot be reached and recommends the following plans, such as changing settings or adding power supply points, as described above. Furthermore, the power consumption result display means 49 displays the estimated power consumption from the current location to the destination on the display unit 16 in response to a request made by operating the operation unit 4. Furthermore, the power consumption will be displayed using color coding or similar methods to show the breakdown of power consumption for driving, essential auxiliary equipment, optional auxiliary equipment, and air conditioning system. Furthermore, during operation, both estimated and actual values are displayed, allowing the difference between the estimated and actual values to be seen (see Figures 12 and 13)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the power management system of Hiroshi with the power plan notification of Fukuda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of giving a driver sense of security and accurately managing battery power consumption (see at least Fukuda; [Page 3, paragraph 2]).
Regarding claim 14 Hiroshi discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Fukuda, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor (see at least [0053]; “The microcomputer consists of memory such as ROM (read-only memory) and RAM (read-write memory), and a CPU (central processing unit), and has various programs used for calculations based on operation commands transmitted from the operation panel 33, etc.”) is further configured to implement
an execution section configured to execute the updated power use plan regardless of a determination by an occupant of the vehicle, when no reply of approval has been received even though the updated power use plan has been proposed to an occupant of the vehicle a predetermined plurality of times, or when an inappropriate proposal has been made to the occupant as the updated power use plan a predetermined number of times (see at least [0063]; “If the electric power management auto switch is ON, it is determined that the occupants have given permission to limit the air conditioning capacity to reduce power consumption, and the system proceeds to step 8,” there is no reply required from the vehicle each time and the new plan is automatically implemented).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20180273018 teaches a system for controlling the operation of one or more electronic accessories of a vehicle and managing a power supply for the one or more accessories
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
7/21/26