DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8/12/2025. Claims 1-11 are pending and considered below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“network communication section”, “authentication section” and “alternative authentication section” (claims 2-11) are sections of a centralized cockpit electronic system on an integrated software and hardware platform, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraphs [0035], [0040], [0046] and [0049] (PGPub) and FIG. 1A, vehicle-2, domain control unit (DCU) - 4, network comm-4A, authentication-4b, and alternative authentication-4c;
“external environment acquisition section” (claim 4) is a temperature sensor, illuminance sensor, camera, electronic mirror and/or laser radar using light detection and ranging (LiDAR), as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0041] and FIG. 1A, vehicle-2, and external environment acquisition-6; and
“authentication history information storage section” (claim 9) is a database, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraph [0048] and FIG. 1A, vehicle-2, domain control unit (DCU) - 4, and contract info for billing system function: authentication history info (success/failure) - 4e.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 1-9, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 1-9 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 1-9 are directed to a device (at least one of a circuit and a processor with a memory).
Claims 1-9 are directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (commercial or legal interactions). Claims 1-9 are directed to a device for authenticating whether a billing system function can be enabled.
Claims 1-9 include the revised step 2A, prong two, additional element of communicating via a network with a server. Communicating via a network with a server is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claims 1-9 do not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1-9 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (vehicle subscription services).
Claims 1-9 include the step 2B additional element of at least one of a circuit and a processor with a memory. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the at least one of a circuit and a processor with a memory are anything other than conventional circuits and processors. Verifying that a billing system function can be enabled is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using generic circuits and processors. Circuits and processors are widely prevalent and in common use in systems for verifying the availability of a vehicle subscription service. Circuits and processors are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the vehicle subscription service industry. Therefore, claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 10, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claim 10 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories. Claim 10 is directed to a method.
Claim 10 is directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (commercial or legal interactions). Claim 10 is directed to a method for authenticating whether a billing system function can be enabled.
Claim 10 includes the revised step 2A, prong two, additional element of communicating via a network with a server. Communicating via a network with a server is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 10 does not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 10 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (vehicle subscription services).
Claim 10 includes the step 2B additional elements of a network communication section, an authentication section, and an alternative authentication section. Applicant’s specification defines these sections as components of a centralized cockpit electronic system on an integrated software and hardware platform. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the centralized cockpit electronic system is anything other than a conventional electronic system. Verifying that a billing system function can be enabled is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using a generic electronic system. Electronic systems are widely prevalent and in common use in systems for verifying the availability of a vehicle subscription service. Electronic systems are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the vehicle subscription service industry. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 11, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claim 11 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories. Claim 11 is directed to a device (a non-transitory computer readable storage medium).
Claim 11 is directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (commercial or legal interactions). Claim 11 is directed to a device for authenticating whether a billing system function can be enabled.
Claim 11 includes the revised step 2A, prong two, additional element of communicating via a network with a server. Communicating via a network with a server is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 11 does not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 11 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (vehicle subscription services).
Claim 11 includes the step 2B additional element of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (comprising a network communication section, an authentication section, and an alternative authentication section). Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the non-transitory computer readable storage medium is anything other than a conventional medium. Verifying that a billing system function can be enabled is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using a generic medium. Media are widely prevalent and in common use in systems for verifying the availability of a vehicle subscription service. Media are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the vehicle subscription service industry. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Examiner suggests amending the independent claims to positively recite a vehicle control function in order to provide a revised step 2A, prong two, additional element that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. For instance, the independent claims could be amended to include “streaming music or video, performing automated driving and/or activating devices which perform a comfort function in response to authenticating availability of a vehicle subscription service”.
See, the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, which is available on the USPTO Website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibasaki (US-2010/0049540-A1, hereinafter Shibasaki).
Regarding claim 1, Shibasaki discloses:
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor, the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the vehicle authentication system to: (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0117-0131]; FIG. 1, content delivery system-100, content delivery apparatus-110, payment information acquiring unit-111, temporary authentication information sending unit-112, formal authentication information sending unit-113, and user-140; and FIG. 7, navigation device-410a, CPU-701, ROM-702, RAM-703, audio I/F-708, input device-711, video I/F-712, and display-713);
communicate via a network with a server storing information regarding billing system function executable by an occupant of a vehicle (paragraphs [0072-0077] and [0105-0116]; FIG. 4, music delivery system-400, subscription service server-401, content reproducing apparatus-410, navigation device-410a, PC-410b, player-410c, network-420, and user-450);
authenticate whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0051] and [0134]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804);
substitute for authentication when connection to the server cannot be established (paragraphs [0052] and [0136-0137]; and FIG. 8, Has request for additional temporary authentication information been received? - S806, Refer to charging information - S807, Within limit of fee already paid? - S808, Send additional temporary authentication information - S809, and Reject sending of additional temporary authentication information - S810); and
wherein alternative authentication is performed when, as a result of a disconnection from the server, the vehicle authentication system fails to determine whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0051-0052] and [0134-0137]).
Regarding claim 2, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein a network communication section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor configured to communicate via the network with the server storing the information regarding the billing system function executable by the occupant of the vehicle (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0072-0077]);
an authentication section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor configured to authenticate, via the network communication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0051]);
an alternative authentication section is implemented by the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor configured to substitute for the authentication by the authentication section when the connection to the server cannot be established via the network communication section (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0052]); and
wherein the alternative authentication section performs the alternative authentication when, as the result of the disconnection from the server, the authentication section fails to determine, via the network communication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0051-0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein when the vehicle is traveling and, during execution of the billing system function, the authentication section fails to determine whether the billing system function can be enabled, the alternative authentication section determines that the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0134] and [0136-0137]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804, Has request for additional temporary authentication information been received? - S806, Refer to charging information - S807, Within limit of fee already paid? - S808, and Send additional temporary authentication information - S809).
Regarding claim 6, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0117-0131]);
a notification control section configured to provide notification to the occupant (paragraphs [0122] and [0125]; and FIG. 7, navigation device-410a, speaker-710, and display-713); and
wherein when the alternative authentication section determines whether the billing system function can be enabled, the notification control section controls notification to the occupant of a determination result by the alternative authentication section regarding whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0137] and [0145-0146]; FIG. 8, Send additional temporary authentication information - S809, and Reject sending of additional temporary authentication information - S810; and FIG. 9, Notify of expiration of effective period - S907).
Regarding claim 7, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein the alternative authentication section determines whether the billing system function can be enabled by alternative authentication (paragraphs [0134] and [0136-0137]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804, Has request for additional temporary authentication information been received? - S806, Refer to charging information - S807, Within limit of fee already paid? - S808, and Send additional temporary authentication information - S809); and
a determination result by the alternative authentication section remains valid until authentication by the authentication section becomes possible, or until the vehicle stops and a power supply of the vehicle is turned off while authentication by the authentication section remains impossible (paragraphs [0134] and [0136-0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0117-0131]);
a notification control section configured to provide notification to the occupant (paragraphs [0122] and [0125]; and FIG. 7, navigation device-410a, speaker-710, and display-713); and
wherein when the power supply is turned off while authentication by the authentication section has failed and authentication also fails when the power supply is next turned on, the notification control section notifies the occupant that the function for which authentication by the authentication section failed is unavailable (paragraphs [0137] and [0145-0146]; FIG. 8, Reject sending of additional temporary authentication information - S810; and FIG. 9, Notify of expiration of effective period - S907).
Regarding claim 10, Shibasaki further discloses:
communicating, by a network communication section (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0117-0131]; FIG. 1, content delivery system-100, content delivery apparatus-110, payment information acquiring unit-111, temporary authentication information sending unit-112, formal authentication information sending unit-113, and user-140; and FIG. 7, navigation device-410a, CPU-701, ROM-702, RAM-703, audio I/F-708, input device-711, video I/F-712, and display-713);
via a network with a server that stores information regarding billing system functions executable by an occupant of a vehicle (paragraphs [0072-0077] and [0105-0116]; FIG. 4, music delivery system-400, subscription service server-401, content reproducing apparatus-410, navigation device-410a, PC-410b, player-410c, network-420, and user-450);
authenticating, by an authentication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled via the network communication section (paragraphs [0051] and [0134]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804);
substituting, by an alternative authentication section, for authentication by the authentication section when connection to the server cannot be established via the network communication section (paragraphs [0052] and [0136-0137]; and FIG. 8, Has request for additional temporary authentication information been received? - S806, Refer to charging information - S807, Within limit of fee already paid? - S808, Send additional temporary authentication information - S809, and Reject sending of additional temporary authentication information - S810); and
wherein the alternative authentication section performs alternative authentication when, as a result of a disconnection from the server, the authentication section fails to determine, via the network communication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0051-0052] and [0134-0137]).
Regarding claim 11, Shibasaki further discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a vehicle authentication program for causing a vehicle authentication system to execute: (paragraphs [0039-0040] and [0117-0131]; FIG. 1, content delivery system-100, content delivery apparatus-110, payment information acquiring unit-111, temporary authentication information sending unit-112, formal authentication information sending unit-113, and user-140; and FIG. 7, navigation device-410a, CPU-701, ROM-702, RAM-703, audio I/F-708, input device-711, video I/F-712, and display-713);
communicating, by a network communication section, via a network with a server storing information regarding billing system functions executable by an occupant of a vehicle (paragraphs [0072-0077] and [0105-0116]; FIG. 4, music delivery system-400, subscription service server-401, content reproducing apparatus-410, navigation device-410a, PC-410b, player-410c, network-420, and user-450);
authenticating, by an authentication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled via the network communication section (paragraphs [0051] and [0134]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804);
substituting, by an alternative authentication section, for authentication by the authentication section when connection to the server cannot be established via the network communication section (paragraphs [0052] and [0136-0137]; and FIG. 8, Has request for additional temporary authentication information been received? - S806, Refer to charging information - S807, Within limit of fee already paid? - S808, Send additional temporary authentication information - S809, and Reject sending of additional temporary authentication information - S810); and
wherein the alternative authentication section performs alternative authentication when, as a result of a disconnection from the server, the authentication section fails to determine, via the network communication section, whether the billing system function can be enabled (paragraphs [0051-0052] and [0134-0137]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibasaki, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Avary et al. (US-2020/0364726-A1, hereinafter Avary).
Regarding claim 3, Shibasaki further discloses:
wherein the alternative authentication section determines that the billing system function can be enabled and performs the alternative authentication (paragraphs [0134-0135]; and FIG. 8, Can connect with network? - S804, and Send renewal authentication information - S805).
Shibasaki does not disclose that the billing system function corresponds to at least one of: a function necessary for travel of the vehicle, a function necessary for safety of the occupant, and a function for making an internal environment of a vehicle comfortable. However, Avary discloses an automated automotive enrollment system for automatically enrolling a vehicle with a subscription-based system, including the following features:
when the billing system function to be determined for availability corresponds to at least one of: a function necessary for travel of the vehicle, a function necessary for a safety of the occupant, and a function for making an internal environment of a vehicle comfortable (paragraphs [0028-0033]; and FIG. 1, customer-110, registration engine-125, message out to vehicle-130, in-vehicle message-140, confirmation engine-160, subscription services activated-170, full-180, and limited-190).
Avary teaches that a vehicle should communicate with a server to enroll in either a full activation set of services or a set of services which is limited to only safety and security protection (paragraph [0033]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the safety and security protection services of Avary into the vehicle which communicates with a server to enroll in a subscription service for a music delivery system of Shibasaki. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of expediting enrollment in services which make vehicle travel safer and more comfortable.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibasaki, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cermak et al. (US-2019/0176752-A1, hereinafter Cermak).
Regarding claim 4, Shibasaki does not disclose that the billing system function corresponds to a function for making an internal environment of a vehicle comfortable. However, Cermak discloses a system of vehicle remote start functionality, including the following features:
wherein the at least one of (i) the circuit and (ii) the processor with the memory storing computer program code executable by the processor is further configured to implement (paragraphs [0042-0046] and [0049]; and FIG. 1, vehicle-12, vehicle electronics-20, engine control unit (ECU) - 24, body control module (BCM) - 26, processor-34, memory-36, and vehicle system module (VSM) - 42);
an external environment acquisition section configured to acquire external environment information of the vehicle (paragraphs [0010] and [0078-0080]); and
wherein when determining whether a comfort function for making an internal environment of a vehicle comfortable can be enabled, the alternative authentication section performs alternative authentication by adding the external environment information of the vehicle to a determination condition for enabling the billing system function (paragraphs [0085] and [0101-0106]; and FIG. 1, remote computer-78, and remote facility-80).
Cermak teaches that vehicle-related services should be provided based on a user’s subscription (paragraph [0103]). Cermak further teaches that vehicle starting, windshield defogger functions, seat heating and/or steering wheel heating should be remotely engaged based on environmental conditions determined by a digital thermometer and/or a precipitation sensor (paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the user subscription for remote engagement of passenger comfort features of Cermak into the vehicle which communicates with a server to enroll in a subscription service for a music delivery system of Shibasaki. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of expediting enrollment in services which make vehicle travel more comfortable.
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667