DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-4 are pending and presented for examination.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 19/396032 in view of Yamasaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0233553). Claims 1 and 4 of Application No. 19/396032 teach an identical process except for failing to teach the slurry including an anode active material. However, Yamasaki teaches forming layers for batteries by mixing all of a solid electrolyte, a conductive additive, a binder, a solvent and anode active material (0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of Application No. 19/396032 by including an anode active material thereby allowing for formation of secondary batteries.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 1 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 19/293841 in view of Yamasaki. Claims 1 and 5 of Application No. 19/293841 teach an identical process to that claimed but teach a cathode active material instead of an anode active material. However, Yamasaki teaches that anodes of batteries can be made by mixing anode active material, solid electrolyte, conductive additive, binder and a solvent (0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute an anode active material for the cathode active material to allow for the process to be applicable to formation of the anode layer of a battery.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "applying the anode slurry that has been determined to be acceptable". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no initial recitation of a step of determining the slurry is acceptable or what would be considered an acceptable slurry. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as “applying the anode slurry after the step of determining the quality of the coating film”. Claims 2-4 depend from claim 1 and are indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0233553) in view of Kume et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2025/0239613).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Yamasaki teaches a method of making an anode active material layer (0015) for a secondary battery (abstract and 0002) comprising: a step of preparing an anode slurry by mixing an anode active material, a solid electrolyte, a conductive additive, a binder and a solvent (0052) and a step of applying the acceptable slurry to form a layer with a thickness of 1-100 microns (0052). Yamasaki fails to teach a step of obtaining a parameter of the anode slurry using a dynamic viscoelasticity measuring device and a step of determining quality of a coating film based on the obtained parameter.
However, Kume teaches providing an anode slurry composition and then obtaining a parameter of the slurry using a rheometer (a type of dynamic viscoelasticity measuring device, see 0229) and then determining the quality of coating based upon the obtained parameter (0229 and 0232). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s process by additionally including a step of measuring the anode slurry using a rheometer and then determining the quality of the coating. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that Yaasaki’s anode slurry composition is in an optimal range for providing a quality coating prior to depositing the slurry and/or allowing for adjustment of the slurry prior to coating to ensure optimal properties.
5. Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki in view of Kume as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (“Complex rheological response of Li-ion battery anode slurries”).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Yamasaki in view of Kume make obvious claim 1, but fail to explicitly teach the parameter that is measured is obtained by a strain sweep measurement where the measurement is a storage elastic modulus and a loss elastic modulus in a range of strain amounts as claimed.
However, Park teaches a step of obtaining a parameter of an anode slurry (abstract) obtained by a strain sweep measurement which is a measurement of a storage elastic modulus and a loss elastic modulus (see Section 3.1 and Figure 2a) in a range of 0.1-2000% which overlaps with the claimed range (Section 3.1, and note that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness). Park further teaches that the results of the measurement can be correlated to coating quality (see Introduction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki in view of Kume’s process by performing a strain sweep measurement as disclosed by Park. One would have been motivated to make this modification to get further data about the anode slurry to guarantee that it has optimal properties prior to deposition and/or allow for adjusting prior to coating to provide optimized electrodes.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Claims 1-4 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
June 29, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717