DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 02/12/2026. Claims 1-4 and 7 are currently amended. Claims 5 and 10-15 are withdrawn. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 19-25 are new. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 16-25 are pending review in this action.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3 have overcome the objections and 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 22, and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Qian to teach the fluorinated polymers required by the amended and new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A, a machine translation is attached and referenced below) in view of Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Kashiwagi discloses battery cell ([0001]; wound electrode group [0045]), comprising an electrode assembly and an electrolyte ([0013]), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode, [0013]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode, [0013]), and a separator ([0013]), the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate have opposite polarities (positive and negative, [0013]), the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate ([0013]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (lithium-ion conductive resin film is adhered to at least one surface of the electrodes or the separator, [0013]; lithium-ion conductive resin film contains HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]), the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer (HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]), and the fluorinated polymer is a copolymer comprising at least two structural units represented by formula (AI-3), (AI-6), and (AI-7) (HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE, [0015]).
Kashiwagi does not disclose wherein the battery cell satisfies the following formula:
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
, with a unit of g/μm3; and
p1 represents a porosity of the first electrode plate;
v1 represents a total volume of the first electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p2 represents a porosity of the second electrode plate; and
v2 represents a total volume of the second electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p3 represents a porosity of the separator;
v3 represents a total volume of the separator, with a unit of μm3; and
y represents mass of a free electrolyte solution in the battery cell, with a unit of g.
Tanjo teaches a battery cell (secondary battery 1, FIG. 1, [0019]) comprising an electrode assembly (power generating element 4, FIG. 2, [0020]) and an electrolyte (nonaqueous electrolyte, [0018]), wherein the electrode assembly (4) comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode plate 42, FIG. 2, [0020]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode plate 41, FIG. 2, [0020]), and a separator (43, FIG. 2, [0020]), the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41) have opposite polarities, and the separator (43) is disposed between the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41).
Tanjo teaches wherein an amount of the free electrolyte solution (extra electrolyte, [0034]) in the battery cell is related to a total pore volume of the electrode assembly (the ratio between the total volume of electrolyte solution, including extra electrolyte solution, to the total pore volume of the electrode assembly, should be greater than 1 and at most 1.7 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi such that the battery cell satisfies the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 because Tanjo teaches that the battery cell should include enough free electrolyte to sufficiently supply ions to the electrode assembly but not so much as to decrease the efficiency of the battery ([0034]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi to satisfy the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 since it has been held that discovering optimum values of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art; hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the amount of free electrolyte relative to the pore volume of the electrolyte assembly to ensure that the battery cell has adequate free electrolyte to supply ions to the electrode assembly but not enough to decrease the efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo does not teach wherein
0.01
%
≤
y
(
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
)
≤
20
, with a unit of unit of g/μm3.
However, Tanjo teaches wherein an amount of the free electrolyte solution (extra electrolyte, [0034]) in the battery cell is related to a total pore volume of the electrode assembly (the ratio between the total volume of electrolyte solution, including extra electrolyte solution, to the total pore volume of the electrode assembly, should be greater than 1 and at most 1.7 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo such that the battery cell satisfies the formula
0.01
%
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
20
because Tanjo teaches that the battery cell should include enough free electrolyte to sufficiently supply ions to the electrode assembly but not so much as to decrease the efficiency of the battery ([0034]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo to satisfy the formula
0.01
%
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
20
since it has been held that discovering optimum values of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art; hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the amount of free electrolyte relative to the pore volume of the electrolyte assembly to ensure that the battery cell has adequate free electrolyte to supply ions to the electrode assembly but not enough to decrease the efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 3, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo does not teach wherein the battery cell further satisfies the following formula:
100
%
≤
y
+
m
1
-
m
2
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
200
, with a unit of unit of g/μm3 and, wherein
m1 represents mass of the electrode assembly before drying, with a unit of g; and
m2 represents mass of the electrode assembly after drying, with a unit of g.
However, the instant specification teaches that the numerator y+m2-m1 can be considered as the total amount of the electrolyte solution in the battery cell (see [0101] of the originally filed specification).
Tanjo teaches wherein a total amount of the electrolyte solution in the battery cell is related to a total pore volume of the electrode assembly (the ratio between the total volume of electrolyte solution, including extra electrolyte solution, to the total pore volume of the electrode assembly, should be greater than 1 and at most 1.7 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo such that the battery cell satisfies the formula
100
%
≤
y
+
m
1
-
m
2
(
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
)
≤
200
because Tanjo teaches that the battery cell should include enough total electrolyte to fill the electrode assembly and enough free electrolyte to sufficiently supply ions to the electrode assembly, but not so much free electrolyte as to decrease the efficiency of the battery ([0034]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo to satisfy the formula
100
%
≤
y
+
m
1
-
m
2
(
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
)
≤
200
since it has been held that discovering optimum values of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art; hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the amount of free electrolyte relative to the pore volume of the electrolyte assembly to ensure that the battery cell has adequate free electrolyte to supply ions to the electrode assembly but not enough to decrease the efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 6, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches (see Kashiwagi) wherein the separator comprises a substrate (microporous film, [0022]) and a coating (resin film, [0023]) disposed on at least one surface of the substrate; and the lyophilic polymer is distributed in the coating ([0025]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 17, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches a battery (Kashiwagi: [0047]), comprising the battery cell according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches an electrical apparatus (Kashiwagi: [0055]), comprising the battery according to claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches wherein the lyophilic polymer comprises at least one fluorinated polymer selected from a polyvinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (PVDF-HFP) (Kashiwagi: [0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches wherein the fluorinated polymer is derived from at least two monomers selected from vinylidene fluoride (VDF), tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), and hexafluoropropylene (HFP) (Kashiwagi: [0015]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Lee (US 2025/0132340 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo does not teach wherein the amount of a free electrolyte solution per unit capacity of the battery cell is b, with a unit of mg/Ah, and 0≤b≤1400.
Lee teaches a battery cell (electrochemical device, [0006]) comprising an electrolyte ([0029]), wherein the amount of a free electrolyte solution per unit capacity of the battery cell is b, with a unit of mg/Ah, and 0≤b≤1100 (total electrolyte solution injected, which would include free and adsorbed electrolyte solution, is less than 1.1 g/Ah, [0094]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo such that an amount of a free electrolyte solution per unit capacity of the battery cell is b, with a unit of mg/Ah, and 0≤b≤1100, which would read on the claimed range of 0≤b≤1400, because Lee teaches that using small amounts of electrolyte solution improves energy density ([0095]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Wakizaka (US 2012/0189897 A1; previously cited) and Zhang (US 2016/0164060 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches wherein the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer (Kashiwagi: [0026]), but does not disclose wherein a crystallinity of the fluorinated polymer measured by differential scanning calorimetry is Xc1, 0<Xc1≤30%; and a melting temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tm1, with a unit of °C, and 0<Tm1≤140.
Wakizaka teaches a battery cell ([0166]), comprising an electrolyte ([0168]) and a lyophilic polymer (polymer particle B shows swellability to the electrolytic solution, [0048]) wherein a crystallinity of the polymer measured by differential scanning calorimetry is Xc1, 0<Xc1≤30% (overlapping range of 0≤Xc1≤40%, [0049]; crystallinity of a polymer is a material property so should not vary depending on the method of measurement). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to use a fluorinated polymer wherein a crystallinity of the polymer measured by differential scanning calorimetry is Xc1, 0<Xc1≤40%, overlapping the claimed range of 0<Xc1≤30% in the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo, because Wakizaka teaches that doing so increases the affinity of the polymer to the electrolyte, thereby improving oxidation resistance and inhibiting cycle deterioration ([0049]).
Zhang teaches a battery cell ([0054]) comprising an electrolyte ([0057]) and a separator ([0054]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (separator includes a porous substrate and a coating layer formed from PVDF, [0054]; PVDF particles swell in electrolyte, [0073]), wherein the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer (PVDF, [0072]), and a melting temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tm1, with a unit of °C, and 0<Tm1≤100 ([0072]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to use a fluorinated polymer with wherein a melting temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tm1, with a unit of °C, and 0<Tm1≤100, reading on the claimed range of 0<Tm1≤140, in the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo and Wakizaka because Zhang teaches that doing so improves adhesion of the polymer coating to a porous substrate or adhesion of the polymer to a battery electrode ([0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo, Wakizaka, and Zhang does not disclose wherein a glass transition temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tg1, with a unit of °C, and -150≤Tg1≤60.
However, Wakizaka teaches the battery cell as discussed in claim 7, and further teaches wherein a glass transition temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tg1, with a unit of °C, and -150≤Tg1≤60 (overlapping range of -80≤Tg1≤15, [0048]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to use a fluorinated polymer wherein a glass transition temperature of the fluorinated polymer is Tg1, with a unit of °C, and -80≤Tg1≤60, falling within the claimed range of -150≤Tg1≤60, because Wakizaka teaches that doing so improves the flexibility of the polymer, thereby preventing cracks in the substrate on which the polymer is applied ([0048]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Zhang (US 2016/0164060 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo does not teach wherein a molecular weight of the lyophilic polymer is in a range from 1.2×105g/mol to 1×106g/mol.
Zhang teaches a battery cell ([0054]) comprising an electrolyte ([0057]) and a separator ([0054]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (separator includes a porous substrate and a coating layer formed from PVDF, [0054]; PVDF particles swell in electrolyte, [0073]), wherein a molecular weight of the lyophilic polymer is in a range from 1.2×105g/mol to 1×106g/mol (overlapping range of >300,000, [0098]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would find it obvious to modify the lyophilic polymer of Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo to have a molecular weight in a range from 1.2×105g/mol to 1×106g/mol because Zhang teaches that it is known in the art to include a lyophilic polymer with a molecular weight of >300,000 in the separator of a battery cell ([0098]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Katsuda (US 2015/0240039 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Kashiwagi in view of Tanjo teaches wherein the fluorinated polymer is a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride (VDF), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), and tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and that the content of HFP should be between 3 to 20 mol%, (Kashiwagi: [0015]), but does not disclose wherein based on a total mass of VDF, HFP, and TFE, a mass percentage of VDF is 80%, a mass percentage of HFP is 15%, and a mass percentage of TFE is 5%.
Katsuda teaches a battery cell, comprising a separator ([0041]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (protective layer on surface of separator, [0041]; protective layer includes polymer of VDF-TFE-HFP, [0107]), the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer ([0107]), wherein the fluorinated polymer is a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride (VDF), hexafluoropropylene (HFP), and tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) ([0107]), wherein based on a total mass of VDF, HFP, and TFE, a mass percentage of VDF is 80-98%, a mass percentage of HFP is 2-25%, and a mass percentage of TFE is 2-20% ([0107]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used a copolymer wherein based on a total mass of VDF, HFP, and TFE, a mass percentage of VDF is 80%, a mass percentage of HFP is 15%, and a mass percentage of TFE is 5% because Katsuda teaches that such a copolymer is suitable for use in a battery separator ([0107]).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Liu (CN-112072169-A, a machine translation is attached and referenced below) and Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Kashiwagi discloses a battery cell ([0001]), comprising an electrode assembly and an electrolyte ([0013]), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode, [0013]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode, , [0013]), and a separator ([0013]), the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate have opposite polarities (positive and negative, [0013]), the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate ([0013]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (lithium-ion conductive resin film is adhered to at least one surface of the electrodes or the separator, [0013]; lithium-ion conductive resin film contains HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]), and the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer (HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]).
Kashiwagi does not disclose wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises a structural unit represented by formula (AII) or wherein the battery cell satisfies the following formula:
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
, with a unit of g/μm3; and
p1 represents a porosity of the first electrode plate;
v1 represents a total volume of the first electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p2 represents a porosity of the second electrode plate; and
v2 represents a total volume of the second electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p3 represents a porosity of the separator;
v3 represents a total volume of the separator, with a unit of μm3; and
y represents mass of a free electrolyte solution in the battery cell, with a unit of g.
Liu teaches a battery cell ([0002]) comprising a fluorinated polymer (perfluoropolyether, [0018]), wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises a structural unit represented by formula (AII), wherein R11, R12, R13, and R14 each independently comprises a fluorine atom or substituted C1-C3 alkyl, and at least one of R11, R12, R13, and R14 comprises a fluorine atom; when substituted, substitutes comprise a halogen atom (see [0016] and [0018] on p. 4 of the original Liu document).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery cell of Kashiwagi by adding a fluorinated polymer comprising a structural unit represented by formula (AII) with a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve ion conduction in the battery cell by interacting with a HFP-VDF copolymer as taught by Liu ([0018]).
Kashiwagi in view of Liu does not teach wherein the battery cell satisfies the following formula:
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
, with a unit of g/μm3; and
p1 represents a porosity of the first electrode plate;
v1 represents a total volume of the first electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p2 represents a porosity of the second electrode plate; and
v2 represents a total volume of the second electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p3 represents a porosity of the separator;
v3 represents a total volume of the separator, with a unit of μm3; and
y represents mass of a free electrolyte solution in the battery cell, with a unit of g.
Tanjo teaches a battery cell (secondary battery 1, FIG. 1, [0019]) comprising an electrode assembly (power generating element 4, FIG. 2, [0020]) and an electrolyte (nonaqueous electrolyte, [0018]), wherein the electrode assembly (4) comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode plate 42, FIG. 2, [0020]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode plate 41, FIG. 2, [0020]), and a separator (43, FIG. 2, [0020]), the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41) have opposite polarities, and the separator (43) is disposed between the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41).
Tanjo teaches wherein an amount of the free electrolyte solution (extra electrolyte, [0034]) in the battery cell is related to a total pore volume of the electrode assembly (the ratio between the total volume of electrolyte solution, including extra electrolyte solution, to the total pore volume of the electrode assembly, should be greater than 1 and at most 1.7 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Liu such that the battery cell satisfies the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 because Tanjo teaches that the battery cell should include enough free electrolyte to sufficiently supply ions to the electrode assembly but not so much as to decrease the efficiency of the battery ([0034]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Liu to satisfy the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 since it has been held that discovering optimum values of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art; hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the amount of free electrolyte relative to the pore volume of the electrolyte assembly to ensure that the battery cell has adequate free electrolyte to supply ions to the electrode assembly but not enough to decrease the efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 23, Kashiwagi in view of Liu and Tanjo teaches wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises at least one of the structural units represented by Formula (AII-3) and Formula (AII-5) (see [0016] and [0018] on p. 4 of the original Liu document).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwagi (JP-2013084454-A) in view of Tatsuno (US 2019/0148739 A1) and Tanjo (US 2015/0311531 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Kashiwagi discloses a battery cell ([0001]), comprising an electrode assembly and an electrolyte ([0013]), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode, [0013]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode, , [0013]), and a separator ([0013]), the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate have opposite polarities (positive and negative, [0013]), the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate ([0013]), the separator comprises a lyophilic polymer (lithium-ion conductive resin film is adhered to at least one surface of the electrodes or the separator, [0013]; lithium-ion conductive resin film contains HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]), and the lyophilic polymer comprises a fluorinated polymer (HFP-VDF, HFP-TFE, or HFP-VDF-TFE copolymer, [0015]).
Kashiwagi does not disclose wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises a structural unit represented by formula (AIII) or wherein the battery cell satisfies the following formula:
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
, with a unit of g/μm3; and
p1 represents a porosity of the first electrode plate;
v1 represents a total volume of the first electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p2 represents a porosity of the second electrode plate; and
v2 represents a total volume of the second electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p3 represents a porosity of the separator;
v3 represents a total volume of the separator, with a unit of μm3; and
y represents mass of a free electrolyte solution in the battery cell, with a unit of g.
Tatsuno teaches an battery cell ([0010]) comprising a fluorinated polymer ([0278]), wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises a structural unit represented by formula (AIII), wherein R15 comprises a single bond, and substituted C1-C3 alkyl; the substituents comprise a halogen atom; p is selected from positive integers from 1 to 3; and n is selected from positive integers from 1000 to 30000 (perfluro(butenyl vinyl ether), [0278]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the battery cell of Kashiwagi by adding a structural unit represented by formula (AIII) to the fluorinated polymer because Tatsuno teaches that it is known in the art to combine a structural unit represented by formula (AIII) to VDF, TFE, and HFP copolymers ([0278]).
Kashiwagi in view of Tatsuno does not teach wherein the battery cell satisfies the following formula:
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
, with a unit of g/μm3; and
p1 represents a porosity of the first electrode plate;
v1 represents a total volume of the first electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p2 represents a porosity of the second electrode plate; and
v2 represents a total volume of the second electrode plate, with a unit of μm3;
p3 represents a porosity of the separator;
v3 represents a total volume of the separator, with a unit of μm3; and
y represents mass of a free electrolyte solution in the battery cell, with a unit of g.
Tanjo teaches a battery cell (secondary battery 1, FIG. 1, [0019]) comprising an electrode assembly (power generating element 4, FIG. 2, [0020]) and an electrolyte (nonaqueous electrolyte, [0018]), wherein the electrode assembly (4) comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode plate 42, FIG. 2, [0020]), a second electrode plate (negative electrode plate 41, FIG. 2, [0020]), and a separator (43, FIG. 2, [0020]), the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41) have opposite polarities, and the separator (43) is disposed between the first electrode plate (42) and the second electrode plate (41).
Tanjo teaches wherein an amount of the free electrolyte solution (extra electrolyte, [0034]) in the battery cell is related to a total pore volume of the electrode assembly (the ratio between the total volume of electrolyte solution, including extra electrolyte solution, to the total pore volume of the electrode assembly, should be greater than 1 and at most 1.7 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tatsuno such that the battery cell satisfies the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 because Tanjo teaches that the battery cell should include enough free electrolyte to sufficiently supply ions to the electrode assembly but not so much as to decrease the efficiency of the battery ([0034]).
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery cell of Kashiwagi in view of Tatsuno to satisfy the formula
0
≤
y
p
1
*
v
1
+
p
2
*
v
2
+
p
3
*
v
3
≤
23
,
with a unit of g/μm3 since it has been held that discovering optimum values of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art; hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the amount of free electrolyte relative to the pore volume of the electrolyte assembly to ensure that the battery cell has adequate free electrolyte to supply ions to the electrode assembly but not enough to decrease the efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 25, Kashiwagi in view Tatsuno and Tanjo teaches wherein the fluorinated polymer comprises at least one of the structural units represented by formula (AII-1) to (AIII-3) (Tatsuno: [0278]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723