This action is in response to the claims filed 8/14/2025. Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1 (a machine), 7 (a method), and 13 (a computer readable medium) are independent.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 (which depend on claims 1, 5, and 9) of U.S. Patent No. 12, 413,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently presented claims recite a subset of the limitations of the claims 4, 8, and 12 of ‘420.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer readable medium of claim 13 is reasonably interpreted as a signal bearing media. Signal bearing media are non-statutory; see MPEP 2106.03.I
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental process.
Exemplary claim 1 states that a node of a cluster should be attested to based on measurements and that an indicator of the attestation should be provided to other nodes. This act is analogous to a human user performing any checking of a device and configuring the network to accept the device; in other words, a long performed IT professional act. Consider a human IT professional receiving a new piece of hardware, accessing the configuration port to ensure the password, network addresses, or other firmware characteristics are as desired, then acting to establish it within the network. These acts having been performed by humans for as long as configurable network devices have existed.
Although the claim purports to automate the human mental process by use of processing circuitry, and sending/receiving data, are instructions to “apply it” and well understood, routine, conventional activities that do not amount to a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)) or significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP2106.05(d)(II)).
Examiner notes that the attestation of measurements is generic and the manner of attestation and the indicator yielded therefrom are also generic. This makes the claim more of an idea than a technical description that might constitute an improvement to a computer or technology. Additionally, although the ‘indicator is broadest’ no use of the indicator is specified; therefore, there is no practical application of the claims.
The dependent claims set forth further properties of the indicator (e.g. claims 2-5) or extra solution activity of selecting certain processor types (claim 6) and do not constitute a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 7-18 are similar to claims 1-6 and are rejected for the reasons noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wentz, US 11,240,025 (filed 2019).
As to claims 1, 7, and 13, Wentz discloses a machine/method/CRM comprising:
initiate attestation of a processing node (“an exemplary embodiment of a method 300 for verifying a remote device joining a network using trusted hardware is illustrated. At step 305, a verifying node receives an authorization request from a remote device 108.” Wentz col. 30, ln. 1) of a cluster of processing nodes; (“any remote device 108 can act as a first verifying node 104; likewise, any device that acts as first verifying node 104 may also be able to act as a remote device 108.” Wentz col. 20, ln. 58. Wentz col. 29, ln. 47, cluster)
receive a first set of measurements associated with the processing node; (“authentication may include verification of a manufacturer or other device signature of a verification datum linked to device identifier, including without limitation a device-specific public key and/or verification datum or a group public key and/or verification datum as described above.” Col. 39, ln. 15. “an output of a PUF 120 may be used to generate a private key for a digital signature as described above. Alternatively or additionally, a PUF 120 output may constitute a secret to be used as a basis for a zero-knowledge proof” Wentz Col. 37, ln. 27)
verify the first set of measurements to obtain an indicator; and (“at step 310 first verifying node 104 authenticates remote device 108.” Wentz col. 38, ln. 59 “at step 315 first verifying node 104 generates an authorization token.” Wentz col. 47, ln. 17)
broadcast the indicator to one or more processing nodes of the cluster. (“sharing may include inserting the authorization token may be recorded in a temporally sequential listing, such as without limitation verified device registry 132.” Wentz col. 52, ln. 63. The sequential listing being a blockchain as illustrated in Wentz Fig. 2. Wentz col. 23, ln. 56. Note that Applicant’s specification ¶ 43 states that publishing is a broadcast.)
As to claims 2, 8, and 14, Wentz discloses the machine/method/CRM of claims 1, 7, and 13 and further discloses:
wherein the indicator indicates passing or failing of the processing node based on results of the attestation, (“the authorization token to prove that a remote device 108 has been verified and/or granted some type of privilege and/or access as to the network.” Wentz col. 52, ln. 57) wherein the first set of measurements are verified based on the results of the attestation process. (“at step 310 first verifying node 104 authenticates remote device 108.” Wentz col. 38, ln. 59 “at step 315 first verifying node 104 generates an authorization token.” Wentz col. 47, ln. 17)
As to claims 4, 10, and 16, Wentz discloses the machine/method/CRM of claims 1, 7, and 13 and further discloses:
wherein broadcasting comprises broadcasting supporting data associated with the indictor (“Such a verification datum may be included in authorization token as described in further detail below, permitting remote device 108 to demonstrate its link to the token by providing a corresponding secure proof on demand.” Wentz col. 37, ln. 49) to the one or more processing nodes of the cluster. (“sharing may include inserting the authorization token may be recorded in a temporally sequential listing, such as without limitation verified device registry 132.” Wentz col. 52, ln. 63. The sequential listing being a blockchain as illustrated in Wentz Fig. 2. Wentz col. 23, ln. 56. Note that Applicant’s specification ¶ 43 states that publishing is a broadcast.)
As to claims 5, 11, and 17, Wentz discloses the machine/method/CRM of claims 4, 10, and 16 and further discloses:
wherein the indicator and the supporting data to promote secure communication between the processing node and the one or more processing nodes, (“a authorization token may contain at least one of the following attributes: a secure timestamp indicating the time that the token was created, a monotonic counter value or other datum unique to the authorization token for this particular remote device 108, and/or a session key conferring access to the network at the time of token creation.” Wentz col. 49, ln. 35. See also Wentz col. 54, ln. 26) wherein the processing nodes comprise computing devices. (“any remote device 108 of plurality of remote devices 108 may be configured to perform any method and/or method steps as disclosed herein, in any order and with any degree of repetition including without limitation performance of secure proofs, storage tasks, authentication tasks, or the like.” Wentz col. 20, ln. 48)
As to claims 6, 12, and 18, Wentz discloses the machine/method/CRM of claims 1, 7, and 13 and further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry comprises one or more of application processing circuitry (“circuits or software besides secure processor. …. a process to digitally sign and/or encrypt using keys may be coded using logic circuits, field-programmable arrays, read-only memory,” Wentz col. 18, ln. 22. Also Fig. 5. see also Applicant’s specification ¶ 39 listing CPU as a processing circuitry.) or graphics processing circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wentz, US 11,240,025 (filed 2019), in view of Le Saint et al., US 2016/0218875 (US 2016/0218875).
As to claims 3, 9, and 15, Wentz discloses the machine/method/CRM of claims 1, 7, and 13 and further discloses:
(“An authentication determination may include a verification datum associated with at least a remote device 108 and/or a group including at least a remote device 108, which may in turn be signed by one or more verifying nodes with an entry one or more authorization and/or authentication rights granted to an associated device;” Wentz col. 40, ln. 6)
Wentz does not disclose:
wherein the processing circuitry is further to obtain a certificate chain associated with the processing node.
Taylor discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry is further to obtain a certificate chain associated with the processing node.
(“The web service 40 optionally staples intermediate authorities of the received signed activity authorisation token at step S216 to establish an uninterrupted chain of certificates to the root of trust (RoT) and to check the RoT of the signed activity authorisation token. This prevents the remote IoT device 50 having to download missing/expired intermediate certificates to verify the certificate chain leading to the root of trust.” Taylor ¶ 34. “The signed authorisation of the management activity verifies that the management activity has been approved by a legitimate operator who is permitted to authorise the management activity and that the identity of the operator has been authenticated by verifying whether the certificate chain of the operator leads to an authorized root of trust known to the device 50.” Taylor ¶ 41)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Wentz with Taylor by including the certificate chain certificates in the token of Wentz for verifying the signature of Wentz col. 40, ln. 6. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wentz with Taylor in order to allow entities to verify the verifying nodes signature of the authorization token without having to separately download chained certificates to validate the chain, Taylor ¶ 34.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly: Cook, US 11,475,726, disclosing End to end verification of an election run over a public network.
Soundararajan et al., US 2020/0044831, discloses using distributed attestation to verify claim of attestation holder.
Hill et al., US 2021/0176255, discloses a method for providing attestation of data integrity.
/MICHAEL W CHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492