DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 19/301188 filed 8/15/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/15/25 has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the legal phrase “comprising” in line 1 and the implied phrase “is provided” in line 2 should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 1, 9, 10 and 11 recite the limitation “adapted to”. Please clarify where in the written description it is made clear that adapted to has a narrower meaning outside of just being an “optional” or “suggestive” type of limitation. See MPEP 2111.04.
-Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11 and 13 recite the term “assume” followed by limitations. For example, claim 9 recites, “issuing transmission ratio shift preparation information to the vehicle indicative of that the vehicle should assume a transmission ratio engagement enabling condition in which engagement of the selected transmission ratio is enabled but the selected transmission ratio remains disengaged”). It is unclear as to what the term is referring to in scope of claims.
-Claims 3, 9 and 13 recite the term “preferably” followed by limitations. The term renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
-Claim 8 recites the limitation “or a combination thereof”. Please clarify if the limitation is covering all the limitations recited or just “the characteristics of the vehicle or the transmission” limitations.
-Claim 9 recites the phrase “as well as” followed by limitations. The phrase renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
-Claim 10 recites the limitation “the vehicle comprising and/or is configured to be controlled by the computer system of claim 1.”. The scope of the invention covers the vehicle comprising the computer system and configured to be controlled by computer system, there seems to be no “alternative” for one or the other within scope of invention for the use of the term “or”, please clarify or amend accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 4467375 (IDS cited art with machine translation). As to claim 1, JP discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to issue information to a vehicle (obvious based on use of fuzzy inference, page 4, lines 35-36) comprising a transmission adapted to assume each one of a plurality of different transmission ratios (stages), the processing circuitry being configured to: receive a first request for a transmission ratio shift operation indicative of a selected transmission ratio (Figure2 via 21); issue transmission ratio shift preparation information to the vehicle indicative of that the vehicle should assume a transmission ratio engagement enabling condition in which engagement of the selected transmission ratio is enabled (Figure 2 via 21 is when downshift control is started) but wherein the selected transmission ratio remains disengaged (shift isn’t performed unit 28 or 29 in Figure 2); select a target transmission ratio on the basis of the selected transmission ratio and any set of second requests for a transmission ratio shift operation received during a transmission ratio shift request time range after the issuance of the transmission ratio shift preparation information (Figure 2 via 23, select between first or second speed shift based on delay time control), and after the transmission ratio shift request time range (delay time control), issue transmission ratio engagement information to the vehicle to engage the target transmission ratio (Figure 2 via 28 or 29).
As to claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry further is configured to :in response to receiving one or more requests for a transmission ratio shift operation during the transmission ratio shift request time range, extend the transmission ratio shift request time range (page 4, lines 13-17 and page 14, lines 41-42).
As to claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, after the transmission ratio shift request time range and in response to determining that the vehicle is not correctly configured to engage the target transmission ratio, issue re-adjustment information to the vehicle indicative of that the vehicle should assume a transmission ratio engagement enabling condition in which engagement of the target transmission ratio is enabled (Figure 3, page 5, lines 10-32; describes multiple parameters that determine if shift will be performed).
As to claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the requests for a transmission shift operation by detecting an input to a user interface (Figure 19).
As to claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive the requests for a transmission shift operation by detecting an input to a user interface comprising one or more buttons for incrementing or decrementing a current transmission ratio of the transmission, and where the processing circuitry is configured to receive a respective request for a respective transmission ratio shift operation indicative of a selected transmission ratio by receiving a signal from one of the one or more buttons (Figure 19).
As to claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine at least part of the transmission ratio shift preparation information based on any one of: a preset configuration indicative of preparatory operations to be performed by the vehicle (Figures 3 and 4), the request for a transmission shift operation indicative of a selected transmission ratio (Figure 2 via 21, a current transmission ratio (gear engaged during shift request), characteristics of the vehicle or the transmission, or a combination thereof (Figures 3 and 4).
As to claim 9, JP discloses a control assembly (Figure 1) configured to issue information to a vehicle comprising a transmission adapted to assume each one of a plurality of different transmission ratios, the control assembly comprising a computer system of claim 1 as well as a user interface preferably comprising one or more buttons (Figure 19) for incrementing or decrementing a current transmission ratio of the transmission, the control assembly being adapted to issue a transmission ratio shift operation to the computer system in response to a detected operation of the user interface.
As to claim 10, JP discloses a vehicle comprising a transmission adapted to assume each one of a plurality of different transmission ratios, the vehicle comprising and/or is configured to be controlled by the computer system of claim 1 (page 2, lines 38-39).
As to claim 11, JP discloses a computer-implemented method for issuing information to a vehicle (obvious based on use of fuzzy inference, page 4, lines 35-36) comprising a transmission adapted to assume each one of a plurality of different transmission ratios, the method comprising: by processing circuitry of a computer system, receiving a first request for a transmission ratio shift operation indicative of a selected transmission ratio (Figure 2 via 21); by the processing circuitry, issuing transmission ratio shift preparation information to the vehicle indicative of that the vehicle should assume a transmission ratio engagement enabling condition in which engagement of the selected transmission ratio is enabled (Figure 2 via 21) but the selected transmission ratio remains disengaged (shift isn’t performed unit 28 or 29 in Figure 2); by the processing circuitry, selecting a target transmission ratio on the basis of the selected transmission ratio and any set of second requests for a transmission ratio shift operation received during a transmission ratio shift request time range after the issuance of the transmission ratio shift preparation information (Figure 2 via 23, select between first or second speed shift based on delay time control), and by the processing circuitry, after the transmission ratio shift request time range (delay time control), issuing transmission ratio engagement information to the vehicle to engage the target transmission ratio (Figure 2 via 28 or 29).
As to claim 12, further comprising: by the processing circuitry, in response to receiving one or more requests for a transmission ratio shift operation during the transmission ratio shift request time range, extending the transmission ratio shift request time range (page 4, lines 13-17 and page 14, lines 41-42).
As to claim 14, JP discloses a computer program product (obvious based on use of fuzzy inference, page 4, lines 35-36) comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 11.
As to claim 15, JP discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (obvious based on use of fuzzy inference, page 4, lines 35-36), which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP in view of Tabata et al 20090029819. JP discloses a gearbox, but doesn’t disclose the gearbox having two or more portions with further limitations as recited in claims 3 and 13 and preparation information pertaining to a clutch and engine torque as recited in claim 7.
Tabata discloses a computer system (54) for a transmission (similar automatic and manual mode type as in JP) and shows that it is well known in the art to have a gearbox (10) and wherein each one of the different transmission ratios corresponds to a gear of the gearbox, and preferably wherein the gearbox comprises two or more gearbox portions (16, 20) together achieving the gear of the gearbox and the transmission ratio shift preparation information comprises information indicative of that at least one gearbox portion should assume a gearbox portion gear ([0167], lines 9-20 describe preparing shifting maps), and preferably wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to predict the gearbox portion gear of said at least one gearbox portion gear based on a current gear of the gearbox and based on the first request (via prepared shifting maps). Tabata further shows that it is well known in the art to provide transmission preparation information indicative of that ([0167]): the vehicle should disengage a clutch connected to a gearbox of the transmission (via released side coupling), and/or the vehicle should adjust a torque of an engine of the vehicle for allowing to shift a transmission ratio of the transmission (via different torque values).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide JP with the gearbox having two or more portions and preparation information pertaining to a clutch and engine torque in view of Tabata to avoid engine drag and provide high power transmitting efficiency during shifting operation of vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-The EPO office action has been considered and the examiner agrees that the prior art cited meets the limitations of at least claim 1 and 9-11.
- Kim 20020087246 discloses a transmission control system and shows that it is well known in the art to hold a current gear shift operation for a time period to determine if another gear shift is performed during the current gear shift (abstract and Figure 2).
-Ore 6327529 discloses a transmission system and shows that it is well known in the art to use delay time shifting to prevent further shifting in a gearbox having two or more gearbox portions (claims 11 and 12).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 June 12, 2026