Claim Interpretation
Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id.
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream, which is generated by steps outlined in the claim. These steps are not actively performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. (US 20260222559 A1).
Re claim 1, Chuang discloses a method of video processing, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, a set of samples neighboring to the video unit are available (Chuang: paragraphs [0122]-[0127]; paragraphs [0113]-[0116]);
determining a prediction of the video unit by applying a cross-component prediction (CCP) to the video unit based on the set of samples (Chuang: paragraphs [0158]-[0166]); and
performing the conversion based on the prediction (Chuang: Fig. 18, encoding; Fig. 19, decoding).
Re claim 2, Chuang discloses
wherein if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of the left samples neighboring to the video unit is greater than a threshold, a CCP method using the left samples neighboring to the video unit is allowed to be applied to the video unit (Chuang: paragraphs [0134]-[0135]; Equation 8), and/or
wherein if above samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of the above samples neighboring to the video unit is greater than a threshold, a CCP method using the above samples neighboring to the video unit is allowed to be applied to the video unit (Chuang: paragraphs [0134]-[0135]; Equation 8), and/or
wherein if above or left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of the above or left samples neighboring to the video unit is greater than a threshold, a CCP method using the left and above samples neighboring to the video unit is allowed to be applied to the video unit (Chuang: paragraphs [0134]-[0135]; Equation 8).
Re claim 3, Chuang discloses
wherein the CCP method using the left samples comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model left (CCLM_L) mode or a multi-model linear model left (MMLM_L) mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]), and/or
wherein the CCP method using the above samples comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model top (CCLM_T) mode or a multi-model linear model top (MMLM_T) mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]), and/or
wherein the CCP method using the left and above samples comprises at least one of: a cross-component linear model top left (CCLM_TL) mode or a multi-model linear model top left (MMLM_TL) mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]).
Re claim 4, Chuang discloses
wherein the CCLM_L mode is a regular CCLM_L mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_L mode is a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) based CCLM_L mode (Chuang: paragraph [0160]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_T mode is a regular CCLM_T mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_T mode is a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) based CCLM_T mode (Chuang: paragraph [0160]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_L mode is a gradient linear model (GLM) based CCLM_L mode (Chuang: paragraph [0161]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_T mode is a gradient linear model (GLM) based CCLM_T mode (Chuang: paragraph [0161]), and/or
wherein the GLM based CCLM_T mode comprises one of: GLM with luma gradient only, or GLM with both luma gradient and luma value, and/or
wherein the CCLM_TL mode is a regular CCLM_TL mode (Chuang: paragraph [0159]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_TL mode is a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) based CCLM_TL mode (Chuang: paragraph [0160]), and/or
wherein the CCLM_TL mode is a gradient linear model (GLM) based CCLM_TL mode (Chuang: paragraph [0161]).
Re claim 5, Chuang discloses
wherein the CCCM based CCLM_L mode comprises one of: CCCM without downsampling, CCCM with downsampling, or a gradient linear (GL)-CCCM (Chuang: paragraph [0194]), and/or
wherein the GLM based CCLM_L mode comprises one of: GLM with luma gradient only, or GLM with both luma gradient and luma value, and/or
wherein the CCCM based CCLM_T mode comprises one of: CCCM without downsampling, CCCM with downsampling, or a gradient linear (GL)-CCCM (Chuang: paragraph [0194]), and/or
wherein the CCCM based CCLM_TL mode comprises one of: CCCM without downsampling, CCCM with downsampling, or a gradient linear (GL)-CCCM, and/or
wherein the GLM based CCLM_TL mode comprises one of: GLM with luma gradient only, or GLM with both luma gradient and luma value.
Re claim 6, Chuang discloses
wherein if a CCP mode is allowed to be applied to the video unit, a corresponding mode index or a syntax element is indicated in the bitstream (Chuang: paragraph [0191]), and/or
wherein whether a CCP mode is allowed is not dependent on at least one of: an availability of left or above samples neighboring to the video unit, or the number of left or above samples neighboring to the video unit, and/or
wherein a relationship between an allowance of an LM mode and an availability or the number of neighboring samples is used to regulate a signalling rule for at least one of regular CCLM mode, CCCM based CCLM mode, or GLM based CCLM mode (Chuang: paragraph [0194]), and/or
wherein an indication of at least one of: CCLM_L, CCLM_T, MMLM_L, or MMLM_T mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples.
Re claim 7, Chuang discloses
wherein if the corresponding mode index or the syntax element is not indicated in the bitstream, it is inferred to that CCP mode is not used, and/or
wherein a CCP mode index or a syntax element is indicated in the bitstream, regardless of the availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein if neighboring samples are not available or the number of neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a padding process or a filling process is applied (Chuang: paragraph [0150]), and/or
wherein if a neighboring sample is not available or the number of neighboring samples is less than a threshold, it is filled with a pre-defined value, and/or
wherein if a neighboring sample is not available or the number of neighboring samples is less than a threshold, it is filled with an available decoded sample, and/or
wherein samples not neighboring to the video unit are used instead to derive model coefficients or model parameters, and/or
wherein if both left and above neighboring samples are not available or the numbers of both left and above neighboring samples are less than a threshold, CCLM_TL mode is allowed to be used, and CCCM based CCLM_TL mode is not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if top neighboring samples are not available or the number of top neighboring samples is less than a threshold, all of regular CCLM_T mode, CCCM based CCLM_T mode, and GLM based CCLM_T mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if top neighboring samples are not available or the number of top neighboring samples is less than a threshold, regular CCLM_T mode is allowed to be used, and CCCM based CCLM_T mode and GLM based CCLM_T mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if left neighboring samples are not available or the number of left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, all of regular CCLM_L mode, CCCM based CCLM_L mode, and GLM based CCLM_L mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if left neighboring samples are not available or the number of the left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, regular CCLM_L mode is allowed to be used, but CCCM based CCLM_L mode and GLM based CCLM_L mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if both top and left neighboring samples are not available or the number of top and left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, all of regular CCLM_TL mode, CCCM based CCLM_TL mode, and GLM based CCLM_TL mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if both top and left neighboring samples are not available or the number of top and left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, regular CCLM_TL mode is allowed to be used, but CCCM based CCLM_TL mode and GLM based CCLM_TL mode are not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein only if left samples neighboring to the current video unit are available or the number of left samples is greater than a threshold, an index or a syntax element for CCLM_L or MMLM_L is indicated, and/or
wherein only if above samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of above samples is greater than a threshold, an index or a syntax element for CCLM_T or MMLM_T is indicated, and/or
wherein only if the number of left samples neighboring to the video unit is greater than a threshold, an LM index for CCLM_L or MMLM_L is indicated, and/or
wherein only if the number of above samples neighboring to the video unit is greater than a threshold, an LM index for CCLM_T or MMLM_T is indicated.
Re claim 8, Chuang discloses
wherein it is filled based on bit depth of a video content, and/or
wherein it is filled with a nearest sample adjacent to it, and/or
wherein a GLM based CCLM_TL mode is not allowed to be used (Chuang: paragraph [0153], two flags are signaled separately for Cb and Cr components to indicate whether GLM is enabled to each component), and/or
wherein a CCCM based CCLM_TL mode and a GLM based CCLM_TL mode are allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if left neighboring samples are not available or the number of left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a CCLM_L mode is allowed to be used, and a CCCM based CCLM_L mode is not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if left neighboring samples are not available or the number of left neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a CCCM based CCLM_L mode and a GLM based CCLM_L mode are allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if above neighboring samples are not available or the number of above neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a CCLM_T mode is allowed to be used, and a CCCM based CCLM_T mode is not allowed to be used, and/or
wherein a GLM based CCLM_T mode is not allowed to be used, and/or wherein if above neighboring samples are not available or the number of above neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a CCCM based CCLM_L mode and a GLM based CCLM_L mode are allowed to be used, and/or
wherein if no index or no syntax element for CCLM_L or MMLM_L is indicated, the CCLM_L or MMLM_L is inferred to be not used to the video unit, and/or
wherein only if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of left samples is greater than a threshold, a CCCM based CCLM_L or MMLM_L is indicated or used, and/or
wherein only if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of left samples is greater than a threshold, a GLM based CCLM_L or MMLM_L is indicated or used, and/or
wherein CCLM_T or MMLM_T is inferred to be not used to the video unit, and/or
wherein only if left samples neighboring to the current video unit are available or the number of left samples is greater than a threshold, a CCCM based CCLM_T or a MMLM_T is indicated or used, and/or
wherein only if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of left samples is greater than a threshold, a GLM based CCLM_T or MMLM_T is indicated or used.
Re claim 9, Chuang discloses
wherein an indication of at least one of: a CCCM based CCLM_L, CCLM_T, MMLM_L, or MMLM_T mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein an indication of at least one of: a GLM based CCLM_L, CCLM_T, MMLM_L, or MMLM_T mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein an indication of at least one of: a regular CCLM_TL or MMLM_TL mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein an indication of at least one of: of a CCCM based CCLM_TL or MMLM_TL mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein an indication of at least one of: a GLM based CCLM_TL or MMLM_TL mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein at least one bin is used to indicate whether it is a single or multi-model based CCP mode, and/or
wherein at least one bin is used to indicate whether it is T only or L only based CCP mode (Chuang: paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein for a directional CCP mode, at least one bin is further used to indicate whether it is a single or multi-model based directional CCP mode and whether it is T only or L only based directional CCP mode, and/or
wherein at most four bins is binarized for a CCP mode index.
Re claim 10, Chuang discloses
wherein for a directional CCP mode, one bin is further used to indicate whether it is a single or multi-model based directional LM mode, and/or
wherein for a directional CCP mode, one bin is further used to indicate whether it is a T only or L only based directional LM mode (Chuang: paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein a first bin of the CCP mode index is used to indicate whether CCLM_TL mode is used or not (Chuang: paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein a second bin of the CCP mode index is used to indicate whether MMLM_TL mode is used or not, and/or wherein a third bin of the CCP mode index is used to indicate whether it is single model based directional LM mode or multi-model based directional LM mode, and/or
wherein a fourth bin of the CCP mode index is used to indicate whether it is a T only based directional LM mode or a L only based directional LM mode.
Re claim 11, Chuang discloses
wherein a binarization of CCP mode index is based on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein at least one of: a syntax element, a bin, a flag or an index is coded with at least one arithmetic coding context, and/or
wherein at least one of: a syntax element, a bin, a flag or an index is coded with bypass coding (Chuang: paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein at least one of: allowance, enabling, usage, or application of a coding tool is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein an indication of a coding tool is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein if neighboring samples are not available or the number of neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a coding tool is not allowed to be used (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]), and/or
wherein if neighboring samples are not available or the number of neighboring samples is less than a threshold, a coding tool is allowed to be used.
Re claim 12, Chuang discloses
wherein a binarization of MMLM_TL mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein a binarization of CCLM_TL mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein a binarization of at least one of: CCLM_L, CCLM_T, MMLM_L, or MMLM_T mode is dependent on an availability or the number of neighboring samples, and/or
wherein the coding tool is inferred to be not used, and/or
wherein a padding process is applied to pad neighboring samples, or a filling process is applied to fill neighboring samples (Chuang: paragraph [0150]).
Re claim 13, Chuang discloses
wherein if both above and left samples neighboring to the video unit are not available or the number of above and left samples is less than a threshold, a mode index of MMLM_TL is binarized to one bin, and/or
wherein if above or left samples neighboring to the video unit are available or the number of above or left samples is greater than a threshold, a mode index of MMLM_TL is binarized to two bins (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]; paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein if above samples neighboring to the video unit are available but left samples neighboring to the video unit are not available, or if the number of above samples is greater than a threshold but the number of left neighbors is less than a threshold, a mode index of CCLM_T or MMLM_T is binarized to three bins (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]; paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available but above samples neighboring to the video unit are not available, or if the number of left samples is greater than a threshold but the number of above samples is less than a threshold, a mode index of CCLM_L or MMLM_L is binarized to three bins, and/or
wherein if both above and left samples neighboring to the current video unit are available or the number of above and left samples is greater than a threshold, a mode index of at least one of: CCLM_L, CCLM_T, MMLM_L, or MMLM_T is binarized to four bins, and/or
wherein samples not neighboring to the video unit is used instead to derive model coefficients or model parameters.
Re claim 14, Chuang discloses
wherein a third bin is used to signal whether to use single model or multi-model, and/or
wherein a directional LM mode is inferred to be T only (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]; paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein if above samples neighboring to the video unit are available but left samples neighboring to the video unit are not available, or if the number of above samples is greater than a threshold but the number of left samples is less than a threshold, at least one of: CCLM_L or MMLM_L is not allowed to be used to the video unit, and/or
wherein a third bin is used to signal whether to use single model or multi-model, and/or
wherein a directional LM mode is inferred to be L only (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]; paragraph [0129]), and/or
wherein if left samples neighboring to the video unit are available but above samples neighboring to the video unit are not available, or if the number of left samples is greater than a threshold but the number of above samples is less than a threshold, at least one of CCLM_T or MMLM_T is not allowed to be used to the video unit (Chuang: paragraphs [0113]-[0116]), and/or
wherein a fourth bin is used to signal whether to use T only or L only.
Re claim 15, Chuang discloses wherein there is no bin to indicate T or L only, and/or wherein there is no bin to indicate T or L only (Chuang: paragraph [0129], T or L indicated by third bin).
Re claim 16, Chuang discloses
wherein the coding tool comprises at least one of: a linear method, a nonlinear mode or a model based method, wherein model coefficients or parameters are solved based on neighboring samples, and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises at least one of: an intra coding mode, an intra coding tool, an intra coding method, an intra coding technique, an inter coding mode, an inter coding tool, an inter coding method, an inter coding technique, an IBC coding mode, an IBC coding tool, an IBC coding method, or an IBC coding technique, and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises an intra chroma fusion mode, and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises a cross-component chroma mode (Chuang: paragraph [0160]), and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises an intraTMP mode, and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises a fusion mode, and/or
wherein the coding tool comprises a local illumination compensation (LIC) mode.
Re claim 17, Chuang discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Chuang: Fig. 18, encoding; Fig. 19, decoding).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jhu et al. (US 20250330626 A1).
Re claim 20, Jhu discloses a computer readable medium storing a bitstream (Jhu: paragraphs [0024] and [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20260222559 A1) in view of Jhu et al. (US 20250330626 A1).
Claim 18 recites the corresponding apparatus for implementing the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 18.
Chuang does not specifically disclose a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform a method. However, Jhu discloses a method and apparatus for cross-component prediction for video coding, wherein there is provided a computer readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a computing device having one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the decoding or encoding method (Jhu: paragraphs [0022]-[0023]). Since Chuang and Jhu relate to cross-component prediction coding, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the processing architecture of Jhu with the system of Chuang in order to improve the coding efficiency of the image/video blocks which applies cross-component prediction technology (Jhu: paragraph [0004]).
Claim 19 recites the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 19.
Chuang does not specifically disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform a method. However, Jhu discloses a method and apparatus for cross-component prediction for video coding, wherein there is provided a computer readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a computing device having one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the decoding or encoding method (Jhu: paragraphs [0022]-[0023]). Since Chuang and Jhu relate to cross-component prediction coding, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the processing architecture of Jhu with the system of Chuang in order to improve the coding efficiency of the image/video blocks which applies cross-component prediction technology (Jhu: paragraph [0004]).
Contact
/CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482