DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
2a. Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,585,303. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims has already been encompassed by those of the patent. Specifically:
Claim 1 has already been encompassed by claims 1 and 5 of the patent.
Claim 2 has already been encompassed by claims 2 and 5 of the patent.
Claim 3 has already been encompassed by claims 3 and 6 of the patent.
Claim 4 has already been encompassed by claim 4 of the patent.
2b. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,304,361. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims has already been encompassed by those of the patent. Specifically:
Claim 1 has already been encompassed by claims 1 and 2 of the patent.
Claim 2 has already been encompassed by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 3 has already been encompassed by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 4 has already been encompassed by claim 1 of the patent.
2c. Claims 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,389,820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims has already been encompassed by those of the patent. Specifically:
Claim 6 has already been encompassed by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 8 has already been encompassed by claim 3 of the patent.
Claim 7 has already been encompassed by claim 5 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wagers (US 2014/0277959).
Regarding claim 1, Wagers discloses a method (seed plater control system and method; Wagers at title) comprising:
Adjusting a changeable component of a seed planting machine when switching from a first variety of seed to a second variety of seed during planting (row unit components adjusted according to seed type being planted; Wagers at 0007, 0025).
Wherein the adjusting is based on a location of the planting machine (seed type will be planted according to location of the implement in the working area; Wagers at 0025).
Regarding claim 3, Wagers discloses wherein the seed planting machine comprises a vacuum seed meter, and wherein adjusting the changeable component comprises adjusting a
vacuum level applied to the vacuum seed meter (vacuum level on metering disc adjusted according to seed type; Wagers at 0006, 0007).
Regarding claim 5, Wagers discloses wherein adjusting configures the seed planting machine to maximize performance of planting of the one of the first variety of seed and the
second variety of seed (row unit adjusted to optimize planting of the seed according to type of seed; Wagers at 0007).
Regarding claim 6, Wagers discloses a multiple variety planter (farming system configured to plant a plurality of types of seeds; Wagers at title, abstract, Fig. 1) comprising:
Planting machine comprising an adjustable component, the adjustable component being adjustable between a first configuration and a second configuration, the first configuration set to maximize planting efficiency of a first variety of seed relative to other varieties of seeds, the second configuration set to maximize planting efficiency of a second variety of seed relative to other varieties of seeds (row units on implement adjustable to optimize planting of variety of seeds contained in the plurality of hoppers; Wagers at 0007, 0008, 0026)
A controller in communication with the planting machine (controller 402 communicatively connected to row units; Wagers at 0036), the controller configured to automatically adjust the adjustable component between the first configuration and the second configuration based on a particular location of the planting machine in a field of land comprising a plurality of different locations that include the particular location (based on location of the planter, row units will be configured to dispense seed at an optimal level according to seed type; Wagers at 0036, 0037).
Regarding claim 10, Wagers discloses wherein the planting machine comprises a planter having a plurality of row units (Wagers at Fig. 1, 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagers, as applied above, and further in view of Garner (US 2012/0240838).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Wagers is silent as to wherein the component comprises
a double eliminator configured to prevent multiple seeds from being planted at a particular location.
Garner, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor, teaches utilizing a doubles eliminator in the row unit for the elimination of excess seeding (Wagers at abstract 0035).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention into augment the row unit of Wagers with the doubles eliminator of Garner. Doing so would cut down on seed costs due to overplanting.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the seed planting machine comprises a double eliminator and a vacuum seed meter (Garner at 0007, 0008, 0045, 0052), and wherein adjusting comprises: changing the double eliminator to prevent multiple seeds from being planted at a particular location; and adjusting a vacuum level applied to the vacuum seed meter (controlled based on discharge location; Garner at 0058, 0066).
Regarding claim 8, Wagers discloses wherein the adjustable component comprises a vacuum control system configured to control a vacuum level applied to a vacuum seed meter configured to dispense seeds during a given planting operation (vacuum level on metering disc adjusted according to seed type; Wagers at 0006, 0007).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the adjustable component further comprises a double eliminator configured to prevent multiple seeds from being planted in the particular location during a given planting operation (Garner at abstract), and wherein both the double eliminator and the vacuum control system are configured to be adjusted as part of the adjustable component being adjusted (row unit components adjusted due to planting location; Garner at 0058, 0066, Wagers at abstract).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M DAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663 04 September 2026