DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Currently, the pending Claims are 1-6, 8-18. The examined Claims are 1-6, 8-18, with Claim 1 being amended, and Claim 18 being newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent Claim 1 to require that “at least one of R1 or R2 is C1-C5 haloalkyl,” and newly presents Claim 18 which requires, among other limitations generally recited in Claim 1, that the additive comprises “vinyl sulfite.”
Applicant argues that the prior art references of record, alone or in combination, neither teach nor suggest the limitations of Claims 1 and 18 as instantly presented (Pages 8-11 of Remarks).
Applicant’s amendments and corresponding arguments are acknowledged, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims. It is noted that all previous prior art rejections of record are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 states that the first solvent comprises at least one of the instantly claimed compounds. Claim 1, from which Claim 5 depends, states that the first solvent has a general structural formula of R1-COO-R2, wherein at least one of R1 or R2 is C1-C5 haloalkyl. Therefore Claim 5 is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear how the first solvent can comprise, for example, one of compounds (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), or (8) given that neither R1 nor R2 in said compounds is C1-C5 haloalkyl (and given that compound (1) does not include an R1 and R2 which is C1-C5 alkyl, let alone at least of said R1 and R2 being C1-C5 haloalkyl).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0014061), and further in view of Deng et al. (WO 2023045948, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Matsuoka et al. (US 2014/0255796) and Tang et al. (US 2021/0408601) and Jiang et al. (US 2022/0123366).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a secondary battery (“secondary battery”) (Abstract). Wang teaches that the battery comprises a negative electrode plate (“negative electrode sheet”) and an electrolyte (“electrolyte”), wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative current collector (“negative electrode current collector”) and a negative film (“negative electrode active layer”) comprising negative active material, wherein the negative film is on at least one surface of the negative current collector ([0006], [0042]). Wang teaches that the negative film comprises graphite ([0044]-[0045]). Wang teaches that the electrolyte comprises, as a first solvent, a carboxylic ester such as methyl acetate, ethyl acetate, ethyl propionate, propyl propionate, and ethyl butyrate ([0060]). Wang teaches that the electrolyte further comprises a functional additive (“additive”), wherein the functional additive includes vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, and propane sultone (“the electrolyte further comprises an additive, at least a part of which reacts prior to the first solvent at the time of forming a solid electrolyte (SEI) film”) (it is noted that Applicant’s Specification as filed, at least based on [0064] and [0066], indicates each of said functional additives of Wang as an example of an additive which reacts, at least in part, prior to the claimed “first solvent” at a time of forming a solid electrolyte interface on the negative film) ([0060]).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the areal density of the negative film is in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, Deng teaches a secondary battery (Abstract). Deng teaches that the secondary battery comprises a negative electrode having a negative electrode material layer on a surface of a negative electrode current collector, wherein the negative electrode material layer comprises graphite ([0073]-[0074], [0088]). Deng teaches that the areal density of the negative electrode material layer is 5-150 g/m2 (i.e. 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2), wherein Deng teaches that an areal density in accordance with said range improves the dynamic performance of the battery while taking into account a higher energy density and helps ensure for control of negative electrode slurry coating processes ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, ensure that the areal density of the negative film is within a range of 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2, as taught by Deng, given that an areal density in accordance with said range would help improves the dynamic performance of the secondary battery while taking into account a higher energy density, and help ensure for control of negative electrode slurry coating processes. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Wang, as modified by Deng, does not explicitly teach that the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte at 25°C is in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, Matsuoka teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (Abstract). Matsuoka teaches that the battery comprises an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte exhibits a lithium ion conductivity, at 25°C, of 15-50 mS/cm ([0058]). Matsuoka teaches that a lithium ion conductivity in accordance with said range helps enable a high rate performance, enables charging and discharging at a large current, and helps suppress battery degradation due to elution or peeling phenomena ([0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, as modified by Deng, ensure that the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte at 25°C is within a range of 15-50 mS/cm, as taught by Matsuoka, given that a lithium ion conductivity in accordance with said range would help enable a high rate performance, help enable charging and discharging at a large current, and help suppress battery degradation due to elution or peeling phenomena. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka, does not explicitly teach that the first solvent (i.e. carboxylic ester) has a general structural formula as instantly claimed with at least one of R1 or R2 being C1-C5 haloalkyl.
However, Tang teaches an electrolyte for a battery (Abstract, [0002]-[0003]). Tang teaches that the electrolyte includes a fluorinated additive therein, wherein the fluorinated additive is a carboxylic ester such as fluorinated methyl acetate or fluorinated ethyl acetate ([0015]). Tang teaches that the fluorinated additive is present in an amount of 1-20 wt% based on the weight of the electrolyte ([0014]). Tang teaches that the fluorinated additive helps reduce side reactions from occurring within the electrolyte during cycling ([0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would use, as the first solvent in Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka, a carboxylic ester such as fluorinated methyl acetate or fluorinated ethyl acetate in an amount of 1-20 wt% based on the weight of the electrolyte, as taught by Tang, given that such an amount of such a carboxylic acid ester would help reduce side reactions from occurring within the electrolyte during cycling. It is noted that both fluorinated methyl acetate and fluorinated ethyl acetate are described by the instantly claimed general formula with at least one of R1 or R2 being C1-C5 haloalkyl (i.e. fluoroalkyl).
Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang, does not explicitly teach a mass of the first solvent, a mass of the functional additive, the areal density of the negative film (in mg/mm2), a porosity of the negative film, and a compacted density of the negative film (in g/cm3) satisfy the instantly claimed inequality.
However, and as previously described, the areal density of the negative film is within a range of 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2, and the fluorinated methyl acetate or fluorinated ethyl acetate is present in an amount of 1-20 wt%. In addition, Wang teaches that the negative film exhibits a pressing density (“compacted density”) within a range of 0.8-2.0 g/cm3 ([0055]).
Furthermore, Matsuoka teaches that the lithium ion secondary battery, as previously described, comprises a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer thereon ([0127]-[0128]). Matsuoka teaches that the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer is within a range of 20-45% in order to provide for smooth lithium ion diffusion characteristics, suppress peeling degradation, suppress drying out of the electrolyte, and enhance durability ([0146]).
Furthermore, Jiang teaches a secondary battery (Abstract). Jiang teaches that the electrolyte comprises an additive therein such as vinylene carbonate or fluoroethylene carbonate ([0037]). Jiang teaches that the additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 wt% or less (i.e. 10 mass% or less, given that an unduly small amount of the additive will lead to incomplete film formation at an electrode interface and unstable structure, whereas an excessively large amount of the additive will increase film formation resistance ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang, (1) ensure that the porosity of the negative film is within a range of 20-45%, as taught by Matsuoka, given that such a porosity would help provide for smooth lithium ion diffusion characteristics, suppress peeling degradation, suppress drying out of the electrolyte, and enhance durability, and (2) ensure that the functional additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 mass% or less, as taught by Jiang, given that such an amount of functional additive would help prevent incomplete film formation at an electrode interface while ensuring its stable structure, and help prevent increases in film formation resistance..
The aforementioned ranges of the mass of the first solvent (i.e. fluorinated methyl acetate or fluorinated ethyl acetate), the mass of the functional additive, the areal density of the negative film (in mg/mm2), the porosity of the negative film, and the compacted density of the negative film (in g/cm3) of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, provide for values which result in at least an overlap with the applicable values of the instantly claimed inequality (Applicant is welcome, however, to provide explicit evidence that said aforementioned ranges would not provide for such overlapping values). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte is, at 25°C, a range of 15-50 mS/cm. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte is, at 25°C, a range of 15-50 mS/cm. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the areal density of the negative film is within a range of 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the first solvent is fluorinated methyl acetate or fluorinated ethyl acetate (i.e. instantly claimed compounds (9) and (10)).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 1-20%. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), wherein the functional additive includes vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, and propane sultone (i.e. the functional additive satisfies at least “(2) the additive comprises one or more of vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, vinyl sulfate, vinyl sulfite, 1,3-propane sultone, and 1,3-propene sultone).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 1-20%, and the functional additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 mass% or less.
Assuming (1) a basis of, for example, 100 g of electrolyte, (2) 10 mass% or less of functional additive in the electrolyte (i.e. 10 g of functional additive), and (3) 1-20 mass% of first solvent (i.e. 1-20 g of first solvent), then the “d2/d1” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, overlaps the instantly claimed range (e.g. the “d2/d1” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, includes the value 1). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 1-20%, and the functional additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 mass% or less. Furthermore, Wang teaches that m/Cap (where “m” represents the total mass of the electrolyte with a unit of g, and where “Cap” represents the rated capacity of the battery with a unit of Ah) is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah ([0031]).
Assuming (1) a basis of, for example, 100 g of electrolyte, (2) 10 mass% or less of functional additive in the electrolyte (i.e. 10 g of functional additive), (3) 1-20 mass% of first solvent (i.e. 1-20 g of first solvent), and (4) m/Cap is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah (i.e. Cap = 16.67-50 Ah), then the “(d1 + d2)/A” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, overlaps the instantly claimed range (e.g. the “(d1 + d2)/A” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, includes the value 0.5 g/Ah). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 1-20%, and the functional additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 mass% or less. Furthermore, Wang teaches that m/Cap (where “m” represents the total mass of the electrolyte with a unit of g, and where “Cap” represents the rated capacity of the battery with a unit of Ah) is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah ([0031]). Wang also teaches that the graphite is artificial graphite ([0044]).
Assuming (1) a basis of, for example, 100 g of electrolyte, (2) 10 mass% or less of functional additive in the electrolyte (i.e. 10 g of functional additive), (3) 1-20 mass% of first solvent (i.e. 1-20 g of first solvent), and (4) m/Cap is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah (i.e. Cap = 16.67-50 Ah), then the “(d1 + d2)/A” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, overlaps the instantly claimed range (e.g. the “(d1 + d2)/A” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, includes the value 0.5 g/Ah). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 1-20%, and the functional additive is present in the electrolyte in an amount of 10 mass% or less. Furthermore, Wang teaches that m/Cap (where “m” represents the total mass of the electrolyte with a unit of g, and where “Cap” represents the rated capacity of the battery with a unit of Ah) is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah ([0031]). Wang also teaches that the graphite is natural graphite ([0044]).
Assuming (1) a basis of, for example, 100 g of electrolyte, (2) 10 mass% or less of functional additive in the electrolyte (i.e. 10 g of functional additive), and (3) 1-20 mass% of first solvent (i.e. 1-20 g of first solvent), then the “d2/d1” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, overlaps the instantly claimed range (e.g. the “d2/d1” of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, includes the value 1). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the porosity of the negative film is within a range of 20-45%, and the negative film exhibits a pressing density (“compacted density”) within a range of 0.8-2.0 g/cm3. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Wang teaches that in addition to the carboxylic ester (See Claim 1 in context of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang), the electrolyte further comprises, as a “second solvent,” at least one of a cyclic carbonate and a linear carbonate ([0060]).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Wang teaches that m/Cap (where “m” represents the total mass of the electrolyte with a unit of g, and where “Cap” represents the rated capacity of the battery with a unit of Ah) is within a range of 2-6 g/Ah ([0031]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Wang further teaches that the battery comprises a positive electrode plate (“positive electrode sheet”), wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive current collector (“positive electrode current collector”) and a positive film (“positive electrode active layer”) on at least one surface of the positive current collector ([0006]-[0007]). Wang teaches that the positive film comprises LiFe1-yMnyPO4 (0 ≤ y ≤ 1) (“olivine-structured lithium-containing phosphate”) ([0033], [0037]).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, does not explicitly teach an electric device comprising the secondary battery.
However, Wang further teaches that secondary batteries are utilized in portable electronic products and automotives as power sources ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Tang and Jiang, incorporate the secondary battery into a portable electronic product or automotive (“electric device comprising the secondary battery”), as taught by Wang, given that such devices are taught by Wang to specifically use/include secondary batteries as power sources therein.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0014061), and further in view of Deng et al. (WO 2023045948, using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes) and Matsuoka et al. (US 2014/0255796) and Zou et al. (US 2021/0119258) and Wei et al. (CN 112768769, using the provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches a secondary battery (“secondary battery”) (Abstract). Wang teaches that the battery comprises a negative electrode plate (“negative electrode sheet”) and an electrolyte (“electrolyte”), wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative current collector (“negative electrode current collector”) and a negative film (“negative electrode active layer”) comprising negative active material, wherein the negative film is on at least one surface of the negative current collector ([0006], [0042]). Wang teaches that the negative film comprises graphite ([0044]-[0045]). Wang teaches that the electrolyte comprises, as a “first solvent,” a carboxylic ester which is one or more of methyl formate, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate, ethyl propionate, propyl propionate, and ethyl butyrate (wherein each of said carboxylic acid esters has a “general structural formula of R1-COO-R2” as instantly claimed ([0060]). Wang teaches that the electrolyte further comprises a functional additive ([0060]).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the areal density of the negative film is in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, Deng teaches a secondary battery (Abstract). Deng teaches that the secondary battery comprises a negative electrode having a negative electrode material layer on a surface of a negative electrode current collector, wherein the negative electrode material layer comprises graphite ([0073]-[0074], [0088]). Deng teaches that the areal density of the negative electrode material layer is 5-150 g/m2 (i.e. 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2), wherein Deng teaches that an areal density in accordance with said range improves the dynamic performance of the battery while taking into account a higher energy density and helps ensure for control of negative electrode slurry coating processes ([0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, ensure that the areal density of the negative film is within a range of 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2, as taught by Deng, given that an areal density in accordance with said range would help improves the dynamic performance of the secondary battery while taking into account a higher energy density, and help ensure for control of negative electrode slurry coating processes. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Wang, as modified by Deng, does not explicitly teach that the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte at 25°C is in accordance with the instantly claimed range.
However, Matsuoka teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (Abstract). Matsuoka teaches that the battery comprises an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte exhibits a lithium ion conductivity, at 25°C, of 15-50 mS/cm ([0058]). Matsuoka teaches that a lithium ion conductivity in accordance with said range helps enable a high rate performance, enables charging and discharging at a large current, and helps suppress battery degradation due to elution or peeling phenomena ([0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, as modified by Deng, ensure that the lithium ion conductivity of the electrolyte at 25°C is within a range of 15-50 mS/cm, as taught by Matsuoka, given that a lithium ion conductivity in accordance with said range would help enable a high rate performance, help enable charging and discharging at a large current, and help suppress battery degradation due to elution or peeling phenomena. It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka, does not explicitly teach that the functional additive comprises vinyl sulfite.
However, Wei teaches an electrolyte for a lithium ion battery ([0001]). Wei teaches that the electrolyte comprises 0.1-15 wt% a high-voltage additive therein, wherein the high voltage additive is conventionally utilized and may specifically be vinyl sulfite ([0013]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would use vinyl sulfite in an amount of 0.1-15 wt% based on the total weight of the electrolyte, as taught by Wei, as the functional additive in Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka, given that such a functional additive is both conventionally utilized in electrolytes and would help enhance the high voltage characteristics of the electrolyte.
Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Wei, does not explicitly teach a mass of the first solvent, a mass of the functional additive, the areal density of the negative film (in mg/mm2), a porosity of the negative film, and a compacted density of the negative film (in g/cm3) satisfy the instantly claimed inequality.
However, and as previously described, the areal density of the negative film is within a range of 0.005-0.15 mg/mm2, and the vinyl sulfite is present in an amount of 0.1-15 wt%. In addition, Wang teaches that the negative film exhibits a pressing density (“compacted density”) within a range of 0.8-2.0 g/cm3 ([0055]).
Furthermore, Matsuoka teaches that the lithium ion secondary battery, as previously described, comprises a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer thereon ([0127]-[0128]). Matsuoka teaches that the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer is within a range of 20-45% in order to provide for smooth lithium ion diffusion characteristics, suppress peeling degradation, suppress drying out of the electrolyte, and enhance durability ([0146]).
Furthermore, Zou teaches a lithium ion battery (Abstract). Zou teaches that the battery comprises an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte comprises a low viscosity solvent ([0074]-[0075]). Zou teaches that the solvent comprises a carboxylic ester such as methyl formate, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate, ethyl propionate, and ethyl butyrate ([0075]). Zou teaches that in order to achieve an electrolyte having good wettability and improve the infiltration rate characteristics of the electrolyte, Zou teaches that the low viscosity solvent should be present in an amount of 10-80 wt% (i.e. a mass percentage of 10-80%) ([0074], [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, with respect to Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Wei, (1) ensure that the porosity of the negative film is within a range of 20-45%, as taught by Matsuoka, given that such a porosity would help provide for smooth lithium ion diffusion characteristics, suppress peeling degradation, suppress drying out of the electrolyte, and enhance durability, and (2) ensure that the mass percentage of the first solvent in the electrolyte is within a range of 10-80%, as taught by Zou, given that such an amount of the first solvent would help ensure that the electrolyte has good wettability and help improve the infiltration rate characteristics of the electrolyte.
The aforementioned ranges of the mass of the first solvent, the mass of the functional additive, the areal density of the negative film (in mg/mm2), the porosity of the negative film, and the compacted density of the negative film (in g/cm3) of Wang, as modified by Deng and Matsuoka and Wei and Zou, provide for values which result in at least an overlap with the applicable values of the instantly claimed inequality (Applicant is welcome, however, to provide explicit evidence that said aforementioned ranges would not provide for such overlapping values). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728