DETAILED ACTION
The response dated 1/14/2026 has been entered and is treated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0395007 to Galluzzo (citations below to 11,945,649 for column and line numbering).
Regarding claim 1 Galluzzo discloses a transport apparatus, comprising: a vehicle body (900); and a handling module (642 and connected components), arranged on the vehicle body, and comprising a base (640/642), an insertion arm (see 602/603 in figure 2) extendably/retractably arranged on the base, and a limiting member (604), wherein the insertion arm is provided with a connecting segment (602) and an insertion and pickup segment (603) opposite to each other in an extension/retraction direction of the insertion arm, the connecting segment is extendably/retractably connected to the base (see figure 2), and the insertion and pickup segment is located at a front end of the connecting segment in an extension direction (see figure 2), and the limiting member is arranged on a surface of the insertion arm facing away from the base; wherein the limiting member is located between the connecting segment and the insertion and pickup segment, and a carrying space for placing a material is defined between the limiting member and the insertion and pickup segment (see 604b in figure 3), the carrying space is located on an outer side of an extension/retraction direction of the insertion arm and is positioned such that, when the insertion and pickup segment extends into a bottom space of the material and carries the material, the material gradually enters the carrying space and approaches the limiting member (see 604b in figure 3, when 604a is not deployed and is moved into position to pick up a container this language is met as the container enters 603 and approaches 604b).
Regarding claim 6 Galluzzo discloses the handling module further comprises an extension/retraction obstacle avoidance sensor (607), the extension/retraction obstacle avoidance sensor being arranged on the insertion arm and configured to detect whether an obstacle is present on an extension path of the insertion arm (col. 11 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 7 Galluzzo discloses the extension/retraction obstacle avoidance sensor is an optical sensor, configured to emit light along the extension path of the insertion arm, and further configured to receive reflected light reflected by an obstacle on the extension path of the insertion arm (col. 3 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 8 Galluzzo discloses the handling module further comprises a material placement detection sensor (607), the material placement detection sensor being arranged on the insertion arm and configured to detect whether the carrying space is aligned with a material placement position during an extension/retraction process of the insertion arm (607 and col. 11 lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 9 Galluzzo discloses the material placement detection sensor is an optical sensor, and the material placement detection sensor is configured to emit detection light, and is further configured to receive reflected light reflected by a mating member at the material placement position when the carrying space is aligned with the material placement position.
Regarding claim 11 Galluzzo discloses several ground obstacle avoidance sensors, all the ground obstacle avoidance sensors being arranged on the vehicle body and configured to detect whether an obstacle is present within a moving range of the vehicle body (922, col. 17 lines 15-20 and col. 3 lines 35-45).
Claim(s) 1, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,396,424 to Cheng.
Regarding claim 1 Cheng discloses a transport apparatus, comprising: a vehicle body (10); and a handling module (30), arranged on the vehicle body, and comprising a base (31), an insertion arm (32) extendably/retractably arranged on the base, and a limiting member (see plate at rear part of 362 in figure 7), wherein the insertion arm is provided with a connecting segment (360) and an insertion and pickup segment (37) opposite to each other in an extension/retraction direction of the insertion arm, the connecting segment is extendably/retractably connected to the base (see figure 7), and the insertion and pickup segment is located at a front end of the connecting segment in an extension direction (see figure 7), and the limiting member is arranged on a surface of the insertion arm facing away from the base; wherein the limiting member is located between the connecting segment and the insertion and pickup segment, and a carrying space for placing a material is defined between the limiting member and the insertion and pickup segment (see figure 7), the carrying space is located on an outer side of an extension/retraction direction of the insertion arm and is positioned such that, when the insertion and pickup segment extends into a bottom space of the material and carries the material, the material gradually enters the carrying space and approaches the limiting member (see vertical portion at right side of 37 in figure 7, when 37 is moved into position to pick up a container this language is met as the container enters 37 and approaches the rear vertical wall).
Regarding claim 12 Cheng discloses the base is liftable along a first direction (see 40 and figure 5) and is rotatably arranged on the vehicle body around the first direction (see 33), and the insertion arm is extendably/retractably arranged on the base along a direction intersecting the first direction (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 13 Cheng discloses a lifting driving member (420) and a rotation driving member (331), the lifting driving member being arranged on the vehicle body, the rotation driving member being arranged on the lifting driving member and being driven by the lifting driving member to ascend/descend along the first direction, and the base being arranged on the rotation driving member and rotating around the first direction under an action of the rotation driving member (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 14 Cheng discloses a goods shelf (26), the goods shelf being arranged on the vehicle body and provided with a plurality of layers of storage positions along the first direction (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicants’ admitted prior art (APA) in view of either Galluzzo or Cheng.
APA discloses a battery test module, comprising a battery test apparatus and A battery production system, comprising the battery test module (para 0003-0004).
APA does not disclose the transport apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transport apparatus is configured to transfer the material to the battery test apparatus as it discusses the use of manual loading and unloading.
Both Galluzzo and Cheng teach the transport apparatus according to claim 1 (see discussion above) in order to provide automated article handling and retrieval (see abstract of each).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified APA to include the transport apparatus according to claim 1, as taught by Galluzzo or Cheng, in order to provide automated article handling and retrieval. Additionally, it is noted that automating a manual activity does not generally provide a patentable distinction over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of US 11,449,059 to Arandorenko.
Cheng discloses all the limitations of the claim except a top obstacle avoidance sensor, the top obstacle avoidance sensor being arranged at a top end of the goods shelf and configured to detect whether an obstacle is present on a forward path of the goods shelf.
Arandorenko teaches a top obstacle avoidance sensor (218 or 220-1), the top obstacle avoidance sensor being arranged at a top end of the goods shelf (see figure 2) and configured to detect whether an obstacle is present on a forward path of the goods shelf (col. 6 lines 50-60) in order to provide obstacle avoidance for the device during movement (col. 6 lines 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Cheng to include a top obstacle avoidance sensor, the top obstacle avoidance sensor being arranged at a top end of the goods shelf and configured to detect whether an obstacle is present on a forward path of the goods shelf., as taught by Arandorenko, in order to provide obstacle avoidance for the device during movement
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galluzzo in view of CN 213386553 to Wuxi.
Galluzzo discloses all the limitations of the claim except the limiting member is provided with a limiting surface facing the carrying space, and an end of the limiting surface distal to the insertion arm is obliquely arranged toward a direction facing away from the carrying space.
Wuxi teaches the limiting member is provided with a limiting surface facing the carrying space, and an end of the limiting surface distal to the insertion arm is obliquely arranged toward a direction facing away from the carrying space (see para 0049 of supplied machine translation) in order to facilitate material entering the storage space (para 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Galluzzo to include the limiting member is provided with a limiting surface facing the carrying space, and an end of the limiting surface distal to the insertion arm is obliquely arranged toward a direction facing away from the carrying space, as taught by Wuxi, in order to facilitate material entering the storage space.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galluzzo in view of US 2022/0259023 to Iwamoto.
Galluzzo discloses the handling module further comprises a material pickup detection sensor configured to detect whether the material reaches a designated position of the carrying space (col. 11 lines 33-40), but does not disclose the material pickup detection sensor being arranged on the insertion arm and the material pickup detection sensor is an optical sensor, and the material pickup detection sensor is configured to emit detection light, and is further configured to receive reflected light reflected by the material after the material at a material storage position is inserted into the carrying space and the material pickup detection sensor is arranged corresponding to the limiting member, and at least a portion of the material pickup detection sensor faces the carrying space.
Iwamoto teaches a material pickup detection sensor (150a-c) being arranged on the article receiving surface and the material pickup detection sensor is an optical sensor, and the material pickup detection sensor is configured to emit detection light, and is further configured to receive reflected light reflected by the material after the material at a material storage position is inserted into the carrying space (para 0042) and the material pickup detection sensor is arranged corresponding to the limiting member, and at least a portion of the material pickup detection sensor faces the carrying space (para 0065) in order to ensure the article is loaded and unloaded reliably and to control the extension/retraction process (para 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Galluzzo to the material pickup detection sensor being arranged on the insertion arm and the material pickup detection sensor is an optical sensor, and the material pickup detection sensor is configured to emit detection light, and is further configured to receive reflected light reflected by the material after the material at a material storage position is inserted into the carrying space and the material pickup detection sensor is arranged corresponding to the limiting member, and at least a portion of the material pickup detection sensor faces the carrying space, as taught by Iwamoto, in order to ensure the article is loaded and unloaded reliably and to control the extension/retraction process.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galluzzo in view of US 12,145,827 to Faimali.
Galluzzo discloses all the limitations of the claim except the material placement detection sensor is arranged on an outer side wall of the connecting segment.
Faimali teaches a material placement detection sensor is arranged on an outer side wall of the connecting segment (31) to ensure proper alignment during the loading and unloading (col. 4 lines 38-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claims to have modified Galluzzo to include the material placement detection sensor is arranged on an outer side wall of the connecting segment, as taught by Faimali, to ensure proper alignment during the loading and unloading.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that neither Galluzzo or Cheng disclose “the carrying space is located on an outer side of an extension/retraction direction of the insertion arm and is positioned such that, when the insertion and pickup segment extends into a bottom space of the material and carries the material, the material gradually enters the carrying space and approaches the limiting member” as now present in claim 1. Examiner disagrees and contends (as set forth in detail above) that both references teach this limitation as both references include a limiting member at an inboard end of the insertion and pickup segment such that an item will approach the limiting member as it enters a carrying space outboard of the limiting member.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652