DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2025 the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being participated by Guo et al. (CN113595057).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches An energy storage apparatus (see figures 1-11 and par. [n0043-n0044] and [n0048-n0078]), characterized in that the energy storage apparatus is connected between a positive direct-current bus (see figure 1 on top positive bus) and a negative direct-current bus (see figure 1 on bottom negative bus) of a receiving-end converter of a flexible direct-current power transmission system (see figure 1 and par. [n0048]; a direct current side controllable energy storage device for flexible direct current system, the device applied to the flexible direct current transmission system, connected in parallel between the transmitting end converter station and the receiving end converter station) and comprises an energy storage battery (fig. 2@ energy storage submodule B1), wherein the energy storage battery charges and/or discharges at a first power during normal operation of the flexible direct-current power transmission system (par. [n0043] and [n0076]; during steady-state operation, peak clipping and valley filling are performed by means of charging and discharging of an energy storage device to stabilize fluctuations in renewable energy output (i.e. the energy storage battery performing charging and/or discharging at a first power during normal operation of the flexible direct-current power transmission system)), and the energy storage battery charges and/or discharges at a second power when a transmission fault occurs at the receiving-end converter and results in surplus power in the flexible direct-current power transmission system (par. [n0044] and [n0077]; when a fault occurs in a receiving-end alternating-current system, surplus power is absorbed by means of the energy storage device, thereby effectively suppressing a direct-current overvoltage (i.e. the energy storage battery performing charging and/or discharging at a second power when an outgoing fault occurs in the receiving-end converter and results in a surplus power of the flexible direct-current power transmission system)), wherein the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]; when a fault occurs in the receiving-end alternating-current system, surplus power occurs and a direct-current voltage rises; and by reducing the number of active submodules, a current flows into the storage device, placing the storage device in a charging state. That is to say, when a fault occurs in the receiving-end alternating-current system, the power that was supposed to be used for the receiving-end alternating-current system is used to charge the energy storage device, and in this case, it is common general knowledge in the art that the charging power of the energy storage device is greater than charging power during normal working condition).
Regarding claim 8, Guo teaches wherein the energy storage apparatus (see figures 1-2) comprises a plurality of energy storage modules (fig. 1@ several serially connected sub-modules SM) connected in series between the positive direct-current bus (see figure 1 on top positive bus) and the negative direct-current bus (see figure 1 on bottom negative bus), a first lead terminal of a first energy storage module (SM) is connected to the positive direct-current bus (see figure 1), a first lead terminal of each remaining energy storage module is connected to a second lead terminal of a preceding energy storage module (see figure 1), a second lead terminal of a last energy storage module (SM) is connected to the negative direct-current bus (see figure 1), and each energy storage module comprises the energy storage battery (fig. 2@ B1) and a switch circuit (fig. 2@ S1 and S2), wherein the switch circuit (S1 and S2) is for connecting the energy storage battery (B1) between a first lead terminal and a second lead terminal within a same energy storage module in a first state, and short-circuiting a first lead terminal and a second lead terminal within a same energy storage module in a second state (see par. [n0061-n0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Guo teaches wherein the switch circuit (S1, S2) comprises a first switch module (S1) and a second switch module (S2), wherein a first connection terminal of the first switch module (S1) is connected to a positive electrode of the energy storage battery (B1), a second connection terminal of the first switch module (S1) is connected to a first connection terminal of the second switch module (S2), a second connection terminal of the second switch module (S2) is connected to a negative electrode of the energy storage battery (B1), the first lead terminal is connected between the second connection terminal of the first switch module (see figure 2) and the first connection terminal of the second switch module (S2), and the second lead terminal is connected between the second connection terminal of the second switch module (S2) and the negative electrode of the energy storage battery (B1), (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Guo teaches wherein the first switch module (S1) comprises a first IGBT (fig. 2@ IGBT1) and a first diode (fig. 2@ VD1), the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal of the first switch module (S1) correspond to a collector and an emitter of the first IGBT (IGBT1) respectively, a negative electrode of the first diode (VD1) is connected to the first connection terminal of the first switch module (S1), and a positive electrode of the first diode (VD1) is connected to the second connection terminal of the first switch module (S1); and the second switch module (S2) comprises a second IGBT (fig. 2@ IGBT2) and a second diode (fig. 2@ VD2), the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal of the second switch module (S2) correspond to a collector and an emitter of the second IGBT (IGBT2) respectively, a negative electrode of the second diode (VD2) is connected to the first connection terminal of the second switch module (S2), and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to the second connection terminal of the second switch module (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Guo teaches wherein each energy storage module (SM) further comprises a buffer circuit (fig. 2@ capacitor C1), and the buffer circuit (C1) is configured to filter current within the energy storage module (SM).
Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches wherein the energy storage apparatus comprises a smoothing reactor (fig. 1@ inductor) connected in series with the plurality of energy storage modules (SM), (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Guo teaches A flexible direct-current power transmission system, wherein the flexible direct- current power transmission system comprises the energy storage apparatus (see figures 1-11 and par. [n0048-n0078]; a direct-current-side controllable energy storage device for a flexible direct-current system)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN113595057) in view of Qiao (US 2021/0197690).
Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]; when a fault occurs in the receiving-end alternating-current system, surplus power occurs and a direct-current voltage rises; and by reducing the number of active submodules, a current flows into the storage device, placing the storage device in a charging state. That is to say, when a fault occurs in the receiving-end alternating-current system, the power that was supposed to be used for the receiving-end alternating-current system is used to charge the energy storage device, and in this case, it is common general knowledge in the art that the charging power of the energy storage device is greater than charging power during normal working condition), except for wherein the first power is less than or equal to a rated power of the energy storage battery, and the second power is greater than the rated power of the energy storage battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the first power is less than or equal to a rated power of the energy storage battery, and the second power is greater than the rated power of the energy storage battery, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having the first power is less than or equal to a rated power of the energy storage battery, and the second power is greater than the rated power of the energy storage battery in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]), except for wherein the second power is not less than 5 times the first power, and the second power is not greater than 7 times the first power. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the second power is not less than 5 times the first power, and the second power is not greater than 7 times the first power, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having the second power is not less than 5 times the first power, and the second power is not greater than 7 times the first power in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Regarding claim 4, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]), except for wherein discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 1 minute. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 1 minute, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 1 minute in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]), except for wherein the discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 2 hours. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 2 hours, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having the discharge duration in which the energy storage battery discharges at the first power is not less than 2 hours in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]), except for wherein when a sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not less than 200 milliseconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to when a sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not less than 200 milliseconds, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having when a sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not less than 200 milliseconds in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Regarding claim 7, Guo teaches the second power is greater than the first power (par. [n0077]), except for wherein when the sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, the charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not greater than 500 milliseconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to when the sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, the charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not greater than 500 milliseconds, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, Qiao teaches a discharge rated power and a charge rated power; and obtaining rated powers of the battery and a current actual power of the battery; and adjusting the actual power according to a difference between the rated powers and the current actual power when the current actual power is greater than or equal to the rated powers (see Abstract; par. [0006] and [0040-0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo with the teachings of Qiao by having when the sending-end converter of the flexible direct-current power transmission system is capable of performing voltage regulation in response to the transmission fault, the charge duration in which the energy storage battery charges at the second power is not greater than 500 milliseconds in order to allow the battery to act efficiently during normal conditions while outputting short, powerful bursts when critical demand spikes.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836