DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2025, 01/23/2026, and 03/10/2026 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hathaway et al. (Hathaway – US 2016/0304028 A1) in view of Sarda Vallduvi Rafel (Rafel – FR 3002361 A1). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of FR 3002361 A1 publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Hathaway a collision avoidance and mitigation system (CAMS), the CAMS comprising:
a deployable CAMS module supported on a base (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit may be mounted onto a construction vehicle to monitor nearby traffic and send a warning signal if hazardous conditions exist) or a stand and including at least one of a first sensor (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line)) or a first camera (Hathaway: [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0052], [0061], and FIG. 2-5) that has a first field of view (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], and FIG. 2-5: The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110), the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera configured to acquire first CAMS data (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line));
a CAMS module (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit) including:
a housing (Hathaway: FIG. 8); and
at least one of a second sensor or a second camera that is supported by the housing and has a second field of view (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit), the at least one of the second sensor (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line)) or the second camera configured to acquire second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0052], [0061], and FIG. 2-5), wherein the second field of view is outside of a vision range of the first field of view (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit); and
one or more processing circuits (Hathaway: [0032], [0056], [0067], and FIG. 4-5: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may include a control device for interfacing with the radar and controlling the warning device 116. In such embodiments, the risk evasion system 100 may be utilized to warn only those drivers exhibiting dangerous behaviors and tailoring the warning to those behaviors, resulting in a more effective warning that is less intrusive to the general public. In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be operated as a stand-alone warning system, for example, a single vicinity monitoring unit 102 mounted to a moving vehicle, or may be operated as part of larger system where one or more vicinity monitoring units 102 may be disposed at various locations and in communication with each other and/or with other sub-components of the advance warning system 100) configured to:
transmit an alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to at least one of an alert system (Hathaway: FIG. 2 the warning device 116) associated with the CAMS module (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or a portable device associated with the CAMS module (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the threat level exceeding a threat threshold (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
Hathaway does not explicitly disclose one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning devices to implement one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data, as suggested by Rafel, which discloses one or more processing circuits (Rafel: Abstract and FIG. 1 the control unit 4) configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals);
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals); and
transmit an alert signal (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
Therefore, in view of Hathaway and Rafel, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway to include one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data, as suggested by Rafel. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative warning system for a vehicle for monitoring oncoming vehicles.
As to claim 2, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the deployable CAMS module is mounted on a mounting plate that is supported by the base or the stand (Hathaway: [0050] and FIG. 12: a typical vehicle or piece of equipment 200 is shown wherein the vicinity monitoring unit 102 mounted thereon (not shown) determines the radar heading based on one or more of the following: RTK GPS heading; single GPS heading; radar offset distance; radar offset angle; and vehicle heading. The Radar Offset Distance 216 may be measured during the installation process, and the mounting bracket for the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be adjusted to set the Radar Offset Angle 212 to zero degrees, but the other measurements may be taken by the vicinity monitoring unit 102 in close to realtime and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 4, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the CAMS module is configured to be mounted on a blocker vehicle (Hathaway: Abstract, [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0055], [0058], [0060]-[0062], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: In the embodiment of FIG. 2, two vicinity monitoring units 102 are shown, one mounted to the back of a construction vehicle 110, such as a paint striping vehicle, and one placed near a construction worker 114. The warning devices 116 may be configured to send an alert, such as an audible or visible message to an oncoming vehicle 112 to warn the approaching vehicle of the slow moving construction vehicle 110 and/or the presence of construction worker 114 and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 5, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the CAMS of claim 4, wherein the alert system includes at least one of a light, a speaker, or a display on the blocker vehicle (Hathaway: [0007], [0031]-[0033]: warning mechanisms (horn, voice, lights), [0056], [0058]-[0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: The warning devices 116 may be configured to send an alert, such as an audible or visible message to an oncoming vehicle 112 to warn the approaching vehicle of the slow moving construction vehicle 110 and/or the presence of construction worker 114 and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button).
As to claim 6, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the CAMS of claim 5, wherein the alert signal is configured to activate or cause a change to the alert system (Hathaway: [0010], [0031]-[0032], [0056], [0058]-[0060], [0064], [0067], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: The warning devices 116 may be configured to send an alert, such as an audible or visible message to an oncoming vehicle 112 to warn the approaching vehicle of the slow moving construction vehicle 110 and/or the presence of construction worker 114 and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button).
As to claim 8, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button); and
escalate or deescalate the threat level to a final threat level (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
As to claim 9, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the CAMS of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the alert signal to the at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the final threat level escalating above the threat threshold (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
As to claim 10, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data is a preliminary threat level, and the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button);
evaluate a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle); and
transmit the alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to the at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the preliminary threat level or the final threat level exceeding the threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
As to claim 11, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data is a preliminary threat level, and the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
determine that the preliminary threat level exceeds a preliminary threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present);
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033], [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9); and
prioritize, based on the preliminary threat level exceeding the preliminary threat threshold, an evaluation of a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 12, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the CAMS of claim 11, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the alert signal to the at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the final threat level exceeding the threat threshold (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
As to claim 13, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data is a preliminary threat level, and the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit a pre-alert signal to at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button), the approaching vehicle, or the portable device in response to the preliminary threat level exceeding a preliminary threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 14, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the CAMS of claim 13, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button);
evaluate a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle); and
transmit the alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to the at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the final threat level exceeding the threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button).
As to claim 15, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to transmit the alert signal to at least two of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units).
As to claim 16, Hathaway discloses a collision avoidance and mitigation system (CAMS), the CAMS comprising:
a deployable CAMS module supported on a base or a stand (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit may be mounted onto a construction vehicle to monitor nearby traffic and send a warning signal if hazardous conditions exist) and including at least one of a first sensor (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8) or a first camera (Hathaway: [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0052], [0061], and FIG. 2-5) that has a first field of view (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], and FIG. 2-5: The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110), the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera configured to acquire first CAMS data (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line));
a blocker vehicle including a frame, a body assembly supported on the frame, an alert system ((Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line)), and a second CAMS module (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit), the second CAMS module including:
a housing (Hathaway: FIG. 8); and
at least one of a second sensor or a second camera that is supported by the housing and has a second field of view (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit), the at least one of the second sensor (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line)) or the second camera configured to acquire second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0052], [0061], and FIG. 2-5), wherein the second field of view is outside of a vision range of the first field of view (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit); and
one or more processing circuits (Hathaway: [0032], [0056], [0067], and FIG. 4-5: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may include a control device for interfacing with the radar and controlling the warning device 116. In such embodiments, the risk evasion system 100 may be utilized to warn only those drivers exhibiting dangerous behaviors and tailoring the warning to those behaviors, resulting in a more effective warning that is less intrusive to the general public. In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be operated as a stand-alone warning system, for example, a single vicinity monitoring unit 102 mounted to a moving vehicle, or may be operated as part of larger system where one or more vicinity monitoring units 102 may be disposed at various locations and in communication with each other and/or with other sub-components of the advance warning system 100) configured to:
transmit an alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: FIG. 2 the warning device 116) associated with the blocker vehicle (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or a portable device configured to be worn or carried by a user associated with the blocker vehicle (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the threat level exceeding a threat threshold (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
Hathaway does not explicitly disclose one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle;
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on at least one of the first CAMS data or the second CAMS data.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning devices to implement one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle;
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on at least one of the first CAMS data or the second CAMS data, as suggested by Rafel, which discloses one or more processing circuits (Rafel: Abstract and FIG. 1 the control unit 4) configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals);
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: when the warning device is activated, the control unit compares the speed measured by the speed sensors 2 and 3 with a predetermined speed limit and, in the case where the measured speed is greater than the predetermined limit, it modifies the mode of operation of the lighting means of the light bar 5, which can also activate the siren of the vehicle 1); and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on at least one of the first CAMS data or the second CAMS data (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals); and
transmit an alert signal (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
Therefore, in view of Hathaway and Rafel, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway to include one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire the first CAMS data regarding an approaching vehicle;
acquire the second CAMS data regarding the approaching vehicle; and
evaluate a threat level of the approaching vehicle based on at least one of the first CAMS data or the second CAMS data, as suggested by Rafel. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative warning system for a vehicle for monitoring oncoming vehicles.
As to claim 18, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the CAMS of claim 16, wherein the threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data is a preliminary threat level (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button), and wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to: evaluate a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle); and
transmit the alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to the at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or the portable device (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the preliminary threat level or the final threat level exceeding the threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 19, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the CAMS of claim 16, wherein the threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data is a preliminary threat level, and the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
determine that the preliminary threat level exceeds a preliminary threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle; and
prioritize, based on the preliminary threat level exceeding the preliminary threat threshold, an evaluation of a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0008], [0010], [0030]-[0033]: In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configurable to perform many functions. For example, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may detect and track vehicles, such as vehicle 112, approaching a worksite, record relevant data and communicate the data back to the base station 108, monitor the internal health of the unit 102, and/or communicate with other vicinity monitoring units to assist in proper setup. In some embodiments, the software modules performing one or more of these tasks may include: a threat estimation engine to examine tracks developed by radar and estimate threat probability based on actual versus ideal path locations and speeds; an event management engine to record all radar and video data for a set period of time and record all data permanently; give accident or close call event and send warnings to a management unit, appropriate personnel, and other units; a configuration manager to control parameters (if any) such as radar/camera FOV, WiFi connections, cellular plan, etc.; a BITS and maintenance manager; a setup planning and assistance tool to display a map of a site, assist in simulation of threat parameters to be adjusted (max speed, level of path deviation for threat, etc.), and analysis of data collected and any real-world tests run, such as driving a “test car” with GPS through a work zone on a predetermined path at predetermined speeds, [0064]-[0065], [0067], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 8-9: the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
As to claim 20, Hathaway discloses a collision avoidance and mitigation system (CAMS), the CAMS comprising:
a deployable CAMS module supported on a base (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit may be mounted onto a construction vehicle to monitor nearby traffic and send a warning signal if hazardous conditions exist) or a stand and including at least one of a first sensor (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8) or a first camera (Hathaway: [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0052], [0061], and FIG. 2-5);
a blocker vehicle including an alert system (Hathaway: Abstract, [0029], [0032]-[0036], [0049], FIG. 4-5, and FIG. 8: In the embodiment shown, a vicinity monitoring unit 102 has been positioned at an entrance to a construction site with a radar detection zone directed towards oncoming traffic to monitor for vehicles veering into a predetermined safety zone (shown as a dashed line) and a second CAMS module (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit), the second CAMS module including:
a housing (Hathaway: FIG. 8); and
at least one of a second sensor or a second camera that is supported by the housing (Hathaway: [0029], [0035], [0053]-[0055], and FIG. 4-5: The second construction vehicle 110b may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, a first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. The third construction vehicle 110c may have two vicinity monitoring units mounted thereon, first forward facing unit and a second rearward facing unit. In such an embodiment, each of the vicinity monitoring units could be configured to monitor oncoming traffic and construction vehicles in close proximity thereto. In the embodiment shown, each construction vehicle 110a-c may include a vicinity monitoring unit and/or may include a vehicle monitoring unit); and
one or more processing circuits (Hathaway: [0032], [0056], [0067], and FIG. 4-5: In some embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may include a control device for interfacing with the radar and controlling the warning device 116. In such embodiments, the risk evasion system 100 may be utilized to warn only those drivers exhibiting dangerous behaviors and tailoring the warning to those behaviors, resulting in a more effective warning that is less intrusive to the general public. In various embodiments, the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be operated as a stand-alone warning system, for example, a single vicinity monitoring unit 102 mounted to a moving vehicle, or may be operated as part of larger system where one or more vicinity monitoring units 102 may be disposed at various locations and in communication with each other and/or with other sub-components of the advance warning system 100) configured to:
acquire, in a location upstream of the blocker vehicle, first CAMS data via the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera regarding an approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site);
evaluate a preliminary threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the first CAMS data (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present);
acquire second CAMS data via the at least one of the second sensor or the second camera regarding the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters and Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The light ramp 5 also comprises a siren 7 adapted to transmit signals sound and lighting means, not shown in the figure, adapted to emit visual signals. The control block 4 comprises a CAN bus connection through which it is connected to the lighting means and to the siren 7 of the light ramp 5, as well as to other devices of the police vehicle 1, for example, to the control button);
evaluate a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle); and
transmit an alert signal (Hathaway: Abstract and FIG. 2 the warning signal) to at least one of the alert system (Hathaway: FIG. 2 the warning device 116) associated with the blocker vehicle (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033]: Major subcomponents of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 include the radar and the warning device 116, such as, for example, an LRAD acoustic warning system. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 would only be triggered when a collision is imminent. The radar of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 has a field of view 102a that may be configurable to monitor a user-selected area, such as the space adjacent to or directly behind construction vehicle 110, [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9), the approaching vehicle (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033] and FIG. 2 the oncoming vehicle 112: the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present), or a portable device configured to be worn or carried by a user associated with the blocker vehicle (Hathaway: [0007], [0032]-[0033], [0056], [0058], [0060], FIG. 2-5 the visual and acoustic alerts 116, and FIG. 8-9: the vicinity monitoring units 102 may send a warning signal to the oncoming vehicle 112a to alert the driver to change course and/or may send a signal to the construction workers 114a located in the path of the oncoming vehicle 112a either by sending an audible and/or visual warning signal to the construction workers 114a and/or transmitting a signal to their personnel tracking units) in response to the preliminary threat level or the final threat level exceeding a threat threshold (Hathaway: [0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters…In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be configured to send directional warnings 116a to vehicles 112 approaching a protected area. In various embodiments, the warning device 116 may be an LRAD capable of providing an audible directional warning 116a to oncoming hazards over 3000 meters away, given line of site. In operation, the LRAD focuses acoustic energy into a very tight beam and specialized drivers allow for high acoustic energy without distortion. In various embodiments, the LRAD (such as for example, the LRAD 1000X) focused on an oncoming vehicle 112 85 meters away may be able to deliver an audible siren with the windows up, stereo on, air-conditioner running, and other the background noise present. In a preferred embodiment, the sound would be alerting, but not startling or intolerable, and, thereafter, a verbal command would issue that would be clearly decipherable over the din. Such an audible warning may provide an effective countermeasure, enabling prevention of accidents before they even happen. In a preferred embodiment, the warning would be loud enough to be heard and not ignored, without disrupting work within the worksite or too far beyond the offending vehicle).
Hathaway does not explicitly acquire, first CAMS data via the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera regarding an approaching vehicle; and
acquire second CAMS data via the at least one of the second sensor or the second camera regarding the approaching vehicle.
However, it has been known in the art of vehicle warning devices to implement one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire, first CAMS data via the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera regarding an approaching vehicle; and
acquire second CAMS data via the at least one of the second sensor or the second camera regarding the approaching vehicle, as suggested by Rafel, which discloses one or more processing circuits (Rafel: Abstract and FIG. 1 the control unit 4) configured to:
acquire, first CAMS data via the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera regarding an approaching vehicle (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals);
acquire second CAMS data via the at least one of the second sensor or the second camera regarding the approaching vehicle (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: when the warning device is activated, the control unit compares the speed measured by the speed sensors 2 and 3 with a predetermined speed limit and, in the case where the measured speed is greater than the predetermined limit, it modifies the mode of operation of the lighting means of the light bar 5, which can also activate the siren of the vehicle 1); and
evaluate a final threat level of the approaching vehicle based on the second CAMS data (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals); and
transmit an alert signal (Rafel: page 3 lines 20-39, page 4 lines 14-37, page 5 lines 10-page 6 lines 6, FIG. 1-4 the speed detectors 2-3: The warning device is integrated with a vehicle, preferably a police vehicle, and the controller is connected to visual and / or audio means of the same vehicle. The detector means measures the speed of the vehicles approaching the vehicle in which the warning device is integrated and the controller compares the measured speed with a predetermined speed limit. If the measured speed exceeds said limit, the controller activates the visual and / or sound means of the vehicle to emit warning signals).
Therefore, in view of Hathaway and Rafel, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway to include one or more processing circuits configured to:
acquire, first CAMS data via the at least one of the first sensor or the first camera regarding an approaching vehicle; and
acquire second CAMS data via the at least one of the second sensor or the second camera regarding the approaching vehicle, as suggested by Rafel. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative warning system for a vehicle for monitoring oncoming vehicles.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hathaway et al. (Hathaway – US 2016/0304028 A1) in view of Sarda Vallduvi Rafel (Rafel – FR 3002361 A1) and further in view of Nicholson et al. (Nicholson – US 2018/0144628 A1).
As to claim 3, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 2 except for the claimed limitations of the CAMS of claim 2, wherein a telescoping shaft extends between the mounting plate and the base or the stand, and wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate.
However, it has been known in the art of message boards design to implement wherein a telescoping shaft extends between the mounting plate and the base or the stand, and wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate, a suggested by Nicholson, which discloses wherein a telescoping shaft extends between the mounting plate and the base or the stand, and wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate (Nicholson: Abstract, [0041], [0060], and FIG. 1, and FIG. 7: a mast 116 may couple the sign portion 110 to the base portion 120. As shown in FIG. 1B, in some embodiments, the mast 116 may have an outer sheath portion 117 configured to receive an inner post portion 118. The outer sheath portion 117 may be coupled to the sign portion 110, for example, and the inner post portion 118 may be coupled to the base 120. In some embodiments, the outer sheath portion 117 and inner post portion 118 may be configured to manually or automatically telescope, such that the outer sheath portion may be raised or lowered over the inner post portion, thus allowing the sign portion 110 to be raised or lowered to different heights).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hathaway, Rafel, and Nicholson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway and Rafel to include wherein a telescoping shaft extends between the mounting plate and the base or the stand, and wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate, a suggested by Nicholson. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for a warning system for a vehicle for oncoming vehicles.
As to claim 17, Hathaway and Rafel disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the CAMS of claim 16, wherein the deployable CAMS module is mounted on a mounting plate that is supported on the base or the stand, wherein a telescoping shaft extends between the mounting plate and the base or the stand (Hathaway: [0050] and FIG. 12: a typical vehicle or piece of equipment 200 is shown wherein the vicinity monitoring unit 102 mounted thereon (not shown) determines the radar heading based on one or more of the following: RTK GPS heading; single GPS heading; radar offset distance; radar offset angle; and vehicle heading. The Radar Offset Distance 216 may be measured during the installation process, and the mounting bracket for the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be adjusted to set the Radar Offset Angle 212 to zero degrees, but the other measurements may be taken by the vicinity monitoring unit 102 in close to realtime), except for the claimed limitations of wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate.
However, it has been known in the art of message boards design to implement wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate, a suggested by Nicholson, which discloses wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate (Nicholson: Abstract, [0041], [0060], and FIG. 1, and FIG. 7: a mast 116 may couple the sign portion 110 to the base portion 120. As shown in FIG. 1B, in some embodiments, the mast 116 may have an outer sheath portion 117 configured to receive an inner post portion 118. The outer sheath portion 117 may be coupled to the sign portion 110, for example, and the inner post portion 118 may be coupled to the base 120. In some embodiments, the outer sheath portion 117 and inner post portion 118 may be configured to manually or automatically telescope, such that the outer sheath portion may be raised or lowered over the inner post portion, thus allowing the sign portion 110 to be raised or lowered to different heights).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hathaway, Rafel, and Nicholson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway and Rafel to include wherein the telescoping shaft is selectively adjustable to adjust a height of the mounting plate, as suggested by Nicholson. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for a warning system for a vehicle for oncoming vehicles.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hathaway et al. (Hathaway – US 2016/0304028 A1) in view of Sarda Vallduvi Rafel (Rafel – FR 3002361 A1) and further in view of Hoetzer (Hoetzer – US 2010/0063736 A1).
As to claim 7, Hathaway and Rafel discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the CAMS of claim 1, wherein the one or more processing circuits are configured to:
acquire the second CAMS data ([0032]-[0033], [0053]-[0054], [0058], [0065]-[0066], FIG. 2-5: In the embodiment shown, the radar sensor of the vicinity monitoring unit 102 may be configured to provide dual detection zones, a close range FOV 102a and a far range FOV 102b. In some embodiments, the close range FOV 102a may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 45 degrees up to a distance of approximately 60 meters and the far range FOV may include a field of view of approximately plus or minus 10 degrees up to a distance of approximately 174 meters); except for the claimed limitations of
identify, via the first CAMS data, the approaching vehicle in the second CAMS data.
However, it has been known in the art of collision avoidance system to implement identify, via the first CAMS data, the approaching vehicle in the second CAMS data, as suggested by Hoetzer, which discloses identify, via the first CAMS data, the approaching vehicle in the second CAMS data (Hoetzer: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], and FIG. 3: If a primary critical situation is detected (step 110), the controller initiates a warning signal to the driver or operator to indicate the detection of the primary critical situation (step 115). The driver is warned by, for example, an audible warning, a visible warning, a tactile warning, or a combination thereof. The second sensor is then protracted (moved upward or extended) from the top of the vehicle 10 (step 120). After the second sensor 20 has been protracted, a 360-degree scan of the area surrounding the vehicle 10 is executed (step 125). The second sensor 20 detects the presence of zero or more secondary critical situations (step 130), such as, for example, a vehicle traveling in an adjacent lane of traffic, cross traffic (such as in an intersection), a pole, or a tree.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hathaway, Rafel, and Hoetzer, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the warning system of Hathaway and Rafel to include identify, via the first CAMS data, the approaching vehicle in the second CAMS data, as suggested by Hoetzer. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for determining a threat situation using multiple sensors.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Schraga, US 2013/0242103 A1, discloses vehicle-mounted transducer.
Nelson et al., US 7,230,546 B1, discloses roadway incursion alert system.
Jarratt et la., US 2020/0327805 A1, discloses governing the operation of an asset within a geo-zone.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685