DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/264173, filed on 08/03/2023.
Claims 3 and 7 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " wherein the controller comprises a switch electrically connected to opposite ends of each of the second electrodes " in lines 1-2. The claim is indefinite because it is not specifically clear switch in claim 9 is the same switch in claim 5 or different one.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " wherein the controller comprises a switch electrically connected to opposite ends of each of the second electrodes " in lines 1-2. The claim is indefinite because it is not specifically clear switch in claim 10 is the same switch in claim 5 or different one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUGIRANEZA et al (US Pub 2020/0042118) in view of KURASAWA et al (US Pub 2018/0348935).
With respect to claim 1, MUGIRANEZA discloses a sensor, (fig. 1; touch panel 1) comprising: a plurality of first electrodes, each extending in a first direction (fig. 1; plurality of first electrodes 4 extending in the first direction X); and a plurality of second electrodes, each intersecting the plurality of first electrodes and having a " C "-shaped or "U"-shaped configuration (fig. 1; discloses plurality of second electrodes 7 extending in the second direction Y and have a U shape; par 0031; discloses Each of the proximity sense electrodes 7 is arranged in a U-shape);
MUGIRANEZA doesn’t expressly disclose wherein opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are electrically connected to respective terminals of a switch, and the opposite ends are configured to be electrically connected to or electrically isolated from each other based on a switching operation of the switch;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are electrically connected to respective terminals of a switch, and the opposite ends are configured to be electrically connected to or electrically isolated from each other based on a switching operation of the switch (fig. 34; discloses each of the signal lines SGL are connected to respect to switches SW3; par 0196; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 24, during the display period Pd, the switches SW3 are turned off in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the signal lines SGL1, SGL2, SGL3, and SGL4 are uncoupled from one another; par 0197; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 25, during the first sensing period Pem, the switches SW3 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the pair of the signal lines SGL1 and SGL3 are coupled to each other through the wiring L3a);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the same electrodes for touch sensing as well as display driving. Hence the modification would allow same electrode for multiple purposes, reducing the need for separate electrodes for touch sensing and display driving.
With respect to claim 2, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein adjacent second electrodes among the plurality of second electrodes are electrically isolated from each other (MUGIRANEZA; fig. 1; discloses plurality of second electrodes 7 are electrically isolated from each other).
With respect to claim 4, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose wherein a width of the second electrode in the first direction corresponds to a width of the first electrode in a direction perpendicular to the first direction;
KURASAWA further discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein a width of the second electrode in the first direction corresponds to a width of the first electrode in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (par 0125; discloses the width of the first electrodes 25C is the length of the first electrodes 25C in the second direction Dy. As illustrated in FIG. 19, the width of the first electrodes 25C is substantially equal to that of the second electrodes 26 in the second direction Dy);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to form the first electrodes and second electrode to have equal width such that capacitance between the first touch electrode and second touch electrode is improved while increasing resolution for touch detection.
With respect to claim 5, MUGIRANEZA discloses an electronic device, comprising: a sensor, (par 0034; discloses an electrostatic capacitive touch panel is a general user interface in an electronic appliance, such as a smartphone, a tablet PC, or another portable medium,) comprising: a plurality of first electrodes, each extending in a first direction (fig. 1; plurality of first electrodes 4 extending in the first direction X);; a plurality of second electrodes, each intersecting the plurality of first electrodes and having a " E "-shaped or "U"-shaped configuration (fig. 1; discloses plurality of second electrodes 7 extending in the second direction Y and have a U shape; par 0031; discloses Each of the proximity sense electrodes 7 is arranged in a U-shape); and a controller electrically connected to the sensor and configured to control the sensor (fig. 4; touch panel controller 17; par 0044; discloses the touch panel system 14 includes the touch panel 1 and a touch panel controller 17 (controller) that controls the touch panel 1);
MUGIRANEZA doesn’t expressly disclose wherein opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are electrically connected to respective terminals of a switch, and the opposite ends are configured to be electrically connected to or electrically isolated from each other based on a switching operation of the switch;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are electrically connected to respective terminals of a switch, and the opposite ends are configured to be electrically connected to or electrically isolated from each other based on a switching operation of the switch (fig. 34; discloses each of the signal lines SGL are connected to respect to switches SW3; par 0196; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 24, during the display period Pd, the switches SW3 are turned off in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the signal lines SGL1, SGL2, SGL3, and SGL4 are uncoupled from one another; par 0197; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 25, during the first sensing period Pem, the switches SW3 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the pair of the signal lines SGL1 and SGL3 are coupled to each other through the wiring L3a);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the same electrodes for touch sensing as well as display driving. Hence the modification would allow same electrode for multiple purposes, reducing the need for separate electrodes for touch sensing and display driving.
With respect to claim 6, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein adjacent second electrodes among the plurality of second electrodes are electrically isolated from each other (MUGIRANEZA; fig. 1; discloses plurality of second electrodes 7 are electrically isolated from each other).
With respect to claim 8, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein at least one end of each of the first electrodes is electrically connected to the controller, (MUGIRANEZA; fig. 4; discloses one end of the first electrode 4 is connected to the touch panel controller 17) and opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are respectively electrically connected to the controller (MUGIRANEZA; fig. 4; discloses both ends of the second electrodes7 is connected to the touch panel controller 17 via frequency modulator 18).
With respect to claim 9, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller comprises a switch electrically connected to opposite ends of each of the second electrodes, and the controller is configured to control the switch to electrically connect the opposite ends; (KURASAWA; fig. 24; discloses each of the signal lines SGL are connected to respect to switches SW3 ; par 0196; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 24, during the display period Pd, the switches SW3 are turned off in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the signal lines SGL1, SGL2, SGL3, and SGL4 are uncoupled from one another; 0108; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 9, the switches S1 and S7 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11);
With respect to claim 10, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller comprises a switch electrically connected to opposite ends of each of the second electrodes, (KURASAWA fig. 24; discloses each of the signal lines SGL are connected to respect to switches SW3 ; par 0196; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 24, during the display period Pd, the switches SW3 are turned off in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the signal lines SGL1, SGL2, SGL3, and SGL4 are uncoupled from one another;) and the controller is configured to control the switch to electrically isolate the opposite ends (KURASAWA; 0108; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 9, the switches S1 and S7 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11);
With respect to claim 11, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to apply a first driving signal for touch detection to at least one of the plurality of first electrodes (MUGIRANEZA; par 0046; discloses The touch panel controller 17 has a drive circuit 17a that applies drive voltage signals S1 (drive voltages) to the plurality of drive electrodes 4 for a touch detection period T1 in which a touch to the touch panel 1 is detected, and applies touch panel transmitter (Tx) signals S2 (coil detection voltages) to the plurality of drive electrodes 4 for an RFID apparatus detection period T2 in which proximity of the RFID apparatus 9 is detected);
MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose to electrically connect the opposite ends of the second electrodes so as to detect signals received from the plurality of second electrodes;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses controller to electrically connect the opposite ends of the second electrodes so as to detect signals received from the plurality of second electrodes (fig. 24; discloses each of the signal lines SGL are connected to respect to switches SW3 ; par 0196; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 24, during the display period Pd, the switches SW3 are turned off in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, the upper ends of the signal lines SGL1, SGL2, SGL3, and SGL4 are uncoupled from one another; 0108; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 9, the switches S1 and S7 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the same electrodes for touch sensing as well as display driving. Hence the modification would allow same electrode for multiple purposes, reducing the need for separate electrodes for touch sensing and display driving.
With respect to claim 12, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to electrically connect the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a first driving signal for touch detection is applied to at least one of the plurality of second electrodes, and to detect signals received from the plurality of first electrodes;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to electrically connect the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a first driving signal for touch detection is applied to at least one of the plurality of second electrodes, (par 0113; discloses during a first sensing period Pem in which the electromagnetic induction touch detection is performed, the switches S5 are turned off and some of the switches S6 and S10 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, some of the common electrodes COML are electrically coupled to some of the signal lines SGL overlapping with such common electrodes COML. Such signal lines SGL are supplied with the same signal as the first drive signal VTP that is supplied to the common electrodes COML through the wiring L14) and to detect signals received from the plurality of first electrodes (par 0118; discloses During the first sensing period Pem, the wiring L11 is grounded, and a ground voltage GND is supplied to the left end of the first electrode 24(1) and the left end of the first electrode 24(3). The switches S11 coupled to the respective left ends of the first electrodes 24(2) and 24(4) are turned off, and the switches S12 coupled thereto are turned on. As a result, the left end of the first electrode 24(2) and the left end of the first electrode 24(4) are coupled to the first AFE 47A through the corresponding switches S12. As a result, a pair of the first electrodes 24(1) and 24(2) is provided as a receiving coil CRx (refer to FIG. 3). A pair of the first electrodes 24(3) and 24(4) is also provided as a receiving coil CRx. The electromotive force based on the electromagnetic induction is generated in the first electrodes 24. A current corresponding to the electromotive force is supplied to the first AFE 47A. As a result, the electromagnetic induction touch detection is performed. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the same electrodes for inductive touch sensing as well as display driving.
With respect to claim 13, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to electrically isolate the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen is applied to the second electrodes;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to electrically isolate the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen is applied to the second electrodes (par 0113; discloses during a first sensing period Pem in which the electromagnetic induction touch detection is performed, the switches S5 are turned off and some of the switches S6 and S10 are turned on in response to the control signal from the controller 11. As a result, some of the common electrodes COML are electrically coupled to some of the signal lines SGL overlapping with such common electrodes COML. Such signal lines SGL are supplied with the same signal as the first drive signal VTP that is supplied to the common electrodes COML through the wiring L14; par 0114; as well);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the second electrodes for inductive touch sensing to drive the stylus coil such that receiving coil may detect the magnetic field generated by the stylus.
With respect to claim 14, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to apply a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen to at least two of the plurality of first electrodes (MUGIRANEZA; par 0045; discloses The touch panel controller 17 has a drive circuit 17a that applies drive voltage signals S1 (drive voltages) to the plurality of drive electrodes 4 for a touch detection period T1 in which a touch to the touch panel 1 is detected, and applies touch panel transmitter (Tx) signals S2 (coil detection voltages) to the plurality of drive electrodes 4 for an RFID apparatus detection period T2 in which proximity of the RFID apparatus 9 is detected; fig. 10; discloses RFID apparatus 9 may be a stylus).
With respect to claim 15, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose wherein the controller is configured to electrically isolate the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a stylus pen signal emitted from a stylus pen is received by the plurality of second electrodes;
In the same field of endeavor, KURASAWA discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to electrically isolate the opposite ends of the second electrodes so that a stylus pen signal emitted from a stylus pen is received by the plurality of second electrodes (par 0197; discloses The upper ends of the pair of the signal lines SGL2 and SGL4 are coupled to each other through the wiring L3b. The switches S5 are turned off, and the switches SW4a and SW4b are turned on. As a result, each of the lower ends of the signal lines SGL1 and SGL2 is coupled to the first AFE 47A. Each of the lower ends of the signal lines SGL3 and SGL4 is coupled to the ground potential GND; par 0198; discloses the signal lines SGL1 and SGL3 are coupled together so as to form a loop, and are provided as a receiving coil CRx. In addition, the signal lines SGL2 and SGL4 are coupled together so as to form a loop, and are formed as another receiving coil CRx. The receiving coils CRx are provided so as to overlap with the detection region Aem provided by the common electrodes COMLA. Par 0199; discloses When the magnetic field M2 from the touch pen 100 (refer to FIG. 4) passes through a region surrounded by the pair of the signal lines SGL1 and SGL3 and the wiring L3a or a region surrounded by the pair of the signal lines SGL2 and SGL4 and the wiring L3b, an electromotive force corresponding to a variation in the magnetic field M2 is generated in a corresponding one of the receiving coils CRx. The first detection signal Vdet1 corresponding to the electromotive force is supplied to the first AFE 47A. Thus, the touch pen 100 can be detected.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to connect/disconnect adjacent second electrodes via switch in order to use the second electrodes for inductive touch sensing for sensing the magnetic field generated by the stylus.
With respect to claim 18, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly disclose wherein a width of the second electrode in the first direction corresponds to a width of the first electrode in a direction perpendicular to the first direction;
KURASAWA further discloses display device comprising touch sensor (see abstract); KURASAWA discloses wherein a width of the second electrode in the first direction corresponds to a width of the first electrode in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (par 0125; discloses the width of the first electrodes 25C is the length of the first electrodes 25C in the second direction Dy. As illustrated in FIG. 19, the width of the first electrodes 25C is substantially equal to that of the second electrodes 26 in the second direction Dy);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of KURASAWA to form the first electrodes and second electrode to have equal width such that capacitance between the first touch electrode and second touch electrode is improved while increasing resolution for touch detection.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUGIRANEZA et al (US Pub 2020/0042118) in view of KURASAWA et al (US Pub 2018/0348935) and Katsurahira et al (US Pub 2020/0371625).
With respect to claim 16, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly discloses wherein the controller is configured to: perform a first switching operation to apply a first driving signal for touch detection to at least one of the plurality of first electrodes and at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a first time period; and perform a second switching operation to apply a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen to at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a second time period different from the first time period;
In the same field of endeavor, Katsurahira discloses touch sensing device and control method (see abstract); Katsurahira discloses wherein the controller is configured to: perform a first switching operation to apply a first driving signal for touch detection to at least one of the plurality of first electrodes and at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a first time period (par 0049; discloses the process control circuitry 26, using the mode switch signal MD, controls the mode switch circuitry 23 to enter a state in which the movable terminal of each of the change switch circuits 23XA, 23XB, 23YA, and 23YB is connected to the fixed terminal P in the period having the predetermined time length, and controls the pen signal reception circuitry 24 to be driven to make a switch to the electromagnetic induction mode. Then, in this period of the electromagnetic induction mode, the process control circuitry 26 controls the multiplexers 211 and 212 of the selection circuitry 21 to select the loop electrodes X one by one from the X loop electrode group 12 such that all the loop electrodes X are selected sequentially, and controls the multiplexers 221 and 222 of the selection circuitry 22 to select the loop electrodes Y one by one from the Y loop electrode group 13 such that all the loop electrodes Y are selected sequentially; see par 0050-0053 as well); and perform a second switching operation to apply a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen to at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a second time period different from the first time period (fig. 3; par 0054; discloses As illustrated in FIG. 3, in the position detection device 1 in this capacitive coupling mode, a signal having the predetermined frequency is sequentially supplied from the oscillator circuit 253 through the transmission output driver 252 of the touch detection control circuitry 25 to each one of the loop electrodes Y which is selected by the selection circuitry 22 and acts as a single electrode wire with the common terminal YA, to which the winding start terminal is connected, and the common terminal YB, to which the winding end terminal is connected, connected to each other. In addition, each one of the loop electrodes X which is selected by the selection circuitry 21 and acts as a single electrode wire with the common terminal XA, to which the winding start terminal is connected, and the common terminal XB, to which the winding end terminal is connected, connected to each other is connected to the inverting input terminal of the touch signal detection amplifier 251 in the touch detection control circuitry 25);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of Katsurahira to drive the touch electrode in inductive mode and capacitive mode in order to detect finger touch inputs from user using capacitive mode while being able to detect two-dimensional coordinates of the stylus using the same touch electrodes.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUGIRANEZA et al (US Pub 2020/0042118) in view of KURASAWA et al (US Pub 2018/0348935), Katsurahira et al (US Pub 2020/0371625) and LEE et al (US Pub 2014/0078104).
With respect to claim 17, MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA don’t expressly discloses wherein the controller is configured to: perform a first switching operation to apply a first driving signal for touch detection to at least one of the plurality of first electrodes and at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a first time period;
In the same field of endeavor, Katsurahira discloses touch sensing device and control method (see abstract); Katsurahira discloses wherein the controller is configured to: perform a first switching operation to apply a first driving signal for touch detection to at least one of the plurality of first electrodes and at least one of the plurality of second electrodes during a first time period (par 0049; discloses the process control circuitry 26, using the mode switch signal MD, controls the mode switch circuitry 23 to enter a state in which the movable terminal of each of the change switch circuits 23XA, 23XB, 23YA, and 23YB is connected to the fixed terminal P in the period having the predetermined time length, and controls the pen signal reception circuitry 24 to be driven to make a switch to the electromagnetic induction mode. Then, in this period of the electromagnetic induction mode, the process control circuitry 26 controls the multiplexers 211 and 212 of the selection circuitry 21 to select the loop electrodes X one by one from the X loop electrode group 12 such that all the loop electrodes X are selected sequentially, and controls the multiplexers 221 and 222 of the selection circuitry 22 to select the loop electrodes Y one by one from the Y loop electrode group 13 such that all the loop electrodes Y are selected sequentially; see par 0050-0053 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA to incorporate the teachings of Katsurahira to drive the touch electrode in inductive mode and capacitive mode in order to detect finger touch inputs from user using capacitive mode while being able to detect two-dimensional coordinates of the stylus using the same touch electrodes;
MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA and Katsurahira don’t expressly disclose perform a second switching operation to apply a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen to at least two of the plurality of first electrodes during a second time period different from the first time period;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE discloses touch display device and driving method (see abstract); LEE discloses perform a second switching operation to apply a second driving signal for driving a stylus pen to at least two of the plurality of first electrodes during a second time period different from the first time period (par 0147; discloses The touch panel operated in the first mode and shown in FIG. 6 calculates the is coordinate information of the input position in the same way as an electrostatic capacitive type touch panel. The first to fourth scan line groups TG10, TG20, TG30, and TG40 correspond to input touch electrodes of the electrostatic capacitive type touch panel, and the first to fourth source line groups RG10, RG20, RG30, and RG40 correspond to output touch electrodes of the electrostatic capacitive type touch panel; par 0148; discloses he first to fourth scan line groups TG10, TG20, TG30, and TG40 receive scan signals TS1-1 to TS1-4 (hereinafter, referred to as first scan signals), respectively, in different periods from each other. The first to fourth scan line groups TG10, TG20, TG30, and TG40 sequentially receive the first scan signals TS1-1 to TS1-4. The first to fourth source line groups RG10, RG20, RG30, and RG40 output sensing signals SS1-1 to SS1-4 (hereinafter, referred to as first sensing signals), respectively.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA as modified by KURASAWA and Katsurahira to incorporate the teachings of LEE to group the drive electrode of the touch sensor such that each group is driven with same signal in order perform faster scanning of the touch sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 and 5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and do not put the application in condition for allowance.
With respect to claims 1 and 5, applicant’s representative argued that the cited references fail to disclose wherein opposite ends of each of the second electrodes are electrically connected to respective terminals of a switch, and the opposite ends are configured to be electrically connected to or electrically isolated from each other based on a switching operation of the switch;
Applicant’s representative argued that the cited references teaches against any modification; However examiner respectfully disagrees, Both MUGIRANEZA and KURASAWA’s inventions are directed toward electronic device capable of detecting touch inputs and proximity inputs; further MUGIRANEZA discloses the invention may be modified in various manner (par 0138);
Further applicant’s representative argued that Kurasawa fails to disclose switch configuration on a “C” or “U” shape;
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
MUGIRANEZA discloses a second electrodes having “C” or “U” shape (see fig. 1; electrode 7); MUGIRANEZA discloses the second electrode formed in a loop shape having ends that are already connected to each other (see fig. 1 below);
KURASAWA discloses signal lines SGL (i.e. second electrodes) where opposite ends are connected to form a loop via a switch, allowing them to form loop when needed by closing the switch and not forming the loop by opening the switch (see fig. 34 below).
Being selectively able to form loop by closing the switch and not forming the loop by opening the switch provides advantage that same electrode may by used for multiple purposes. During the sensing period, closed loop is formed in order to detect external input such as input from stylus or external device, while during the display period, loop may not be formed such that same electrode may be used for supplying voltage to the pixels; (see par 0234-0245);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by MUGIRANEZA with the teaching of KURASAWA to include a switch at the opposite ends of the electrode such that switch may be used to selectively form the loop based on the display mode or sensing mode, the modification would allow the same electrode to be used for different purposes, hence preventing the need for separate electrodes.
Furthermore, applicant’s representative argued that the modification may yield unexpected results, however examiner respectfully disagrees, KURASAWA discloses same electrode is used for different purposes by selectively closing and opening the switches based on the display period and sensing period and allows one to detect external inputs from stylus and also allows to use the same electrode for display purposes. Hence the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624