DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12420844. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Step 1:
Claim 1 is drawn to a system.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 1 recites “a system, comprising…; one or more processor…; obtain a graph representation of a scene; partition the graph…; generate one or more probability…; generate one or more trajectories….; and output the one or more trajectories….;. As such these recitations are directed to the mathematical concepts grouping within abstract ideas. Accordingly, these claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2:
The claims recite the additional elements “processor, memory”. The additional elements appears to be merely data collection required to perform the abstract idea recited and as such is insignificant extra solution. Accordingly, this additional limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional element do not improve the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. The additional element does not implement the mathematical concept with a particular machine or effect a transformation.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element considered individually or in ordered combination is well-understood, routine and conventional activities.
Therefore claim 1 is not patent eligible.
As per claims 2-24, similar analysis is done as in claim 1 and are not patent eligible for the same reasons above. It is noted that the dependent claims do not include additional limitations that are significantly more than the abstract idea, the dependent claims recite limitations that fall within the mathematical concepts as discussed with the independent claims.
Therefore, claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., US pg. Pub. No. (2019/0072973) referred to hereinafter as Sun.
As per claim 1, Sun teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors to: obtain a graph representation of a scene (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049,); partition the graph representation to generate one or more groups of agents in the scene (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0051); generate one or more probability distributions corresponding to the one or more groups, the one or more probability distributions indicating one or more modes associated with the one or more groups (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051); generate one or more trajectories corresponding to the one or more modes of the one or more probability distributions (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051); and output the one or more trajectories to be used to cause a device to move (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 2, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the graph representation of the scene comprises one or more nodes representing agents and one or more edges representing interactions between the agents (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 3, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more trajectories are generated using a neural network, and the neural network is to perform discrete latent sampling to sample from the one or more probability distributions (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 4, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more trajectories indicate predicted trajectories of the one or more groups of agents through the scene (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 5, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more trajectories includes using a neural network to generate a set of reference trajectories corresponding to at least one of the one or more groups of agents based, at least in part, on a history of the agents in the one or more groups (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 6, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the graph representation comprises nodes that represent agents and edges connecting the nodes, and the edges are to be determined based, at least in part, on a distance-based interaction threshold (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 7, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more probability distributions include a Gibbs distribution (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 8, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more modes are determined based, at least in part, on at least one of positional interactions, directional interactions, or velocity-based interactions between agents in the one or more groups (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 9, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are to train at least one neural network to perform trajectory prediction using conditional value at risk (CVaR) as a loss function (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claim 10, Sun teaches a system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further to cause a vehicle to navigate through the scene to avoid predicted collisions with other agents based, at least in part, on the one or more trajectories (see at least Abstract, Background, Summary, Para 0041, 0049, 0051).
As per claims 11-20, the limitations of claims 11-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-10, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to from 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669