Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, B1, and D in the reply filed on 12/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 – 5, 11, 14 – 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A,C, and B2 there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/06/2025.
In light of the search uncovering prior art directed to nonelected Species A {i.e. housing with two end covers}, the examiner partially withdraws the species restriction mailed 10/21/2025. As such claims 4 – 5, and 17 are no longer considered withdrawn and are considered in the current Office action as rejoined. Claims 11 and 14 – 16 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1) in view of Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1, foreign priority date of 12/17/2021) and Hwangbo (KR20220105118A, Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claims 1 – 3, Qiu discloses a battery cell (toroidal unit cell, Fig. 1, 1; [0010];[0047 – 0048]) comprising a housing (Refer to housing formed by cover plate 7, cover plate 8 and shell 4, Figs. 1 and 2b; [0047];[0050 – 0051]) and an electrode assembly accommodated in the housing (cell core 6, Fig. 2a and 2b; [0048 – 0049]), wherein the housing is cylindrical (Refer to cylindrical shape of housing shown in Fig. 1 and 2b) and comprises a first end wall (top cover plate 7, Fig. 2b; [0051]), a second end wall (bottom cover plate 8, Fig. 2b; [0051]) and a side wall (shell 4, Fib. 2b; [0051]); the first end wall and the second end wall are oppositely disposed along a height direction of the housing (Refer to upper and lower positions of top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8 in Figs. 1 and 2b); and the side wall connects the first end wall and the second end wall (Refer to how the top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8 are included on the ends of shell 4 to enclose the electrode assembly in Fig. 1 and 2b).
Qiu does not explicitly disclose a height, H1, of the housing, a radius, R1, of the housing, a sum, a, of thicknesses of the first end wall and the second end wall, and a thickness, b, of the side wall satisfying: (R1-b)2*(H1-a)/R12*H1) ≥ 96%; however, Qiu does explicitly disclose example unit cells having a radius and height within the ranges claimed/disclosed by the applicant to be capable of satisfying the claimed equation (Refer to claims 2 – 3 and instant specification: [0090 – 0100]).
Specifically Qiu discloses Unit Cells 1B and 1C (Refer to Fig. 3a) which have a height of 180 mm ([0056]), which is within the claimed range of 100 mm ≤ H1 ≤ 400 mm (Claim 3), and radii of 107.5 mm and 152.5 mm, respectively ([0056]), which are both within the claimed range of 100 mm ≤ R1 ≤ 400 mm (Claim 2) {Examiner Note: The corresponding radii of the disclosed examples are determined from the outer unit cell diameters disclosed by Qiu as the outer diameter of the unit cell corresponds to diameter of the unit cell housing and thus correspond to the claimed radius}.
Qiu does not explicitly disclose the thicknesses of the cover plates and shells of the unit cell examples; however, and therefore does not particularly disclose thicknesses that satisfy the claimed equation: (R1-b)2*(H1-a)/R12*H1) ≥ 96%; wherein ((R1-b)/R1 ≥ 99% and a sum of thicknesses of the first end wall and second end wall being 0.2 mm ≤ b ≤ 2 mm (Claim 2); or wherein ((H1-b)/H1 ≥ 96% and a thickness of the side wall being 2 mm ≤ a ≤ 7 mm (Claim 3).
Lentz, directed to cylindrical battery cell structures having an outer diameter of preferably more than 22 mm, teaches that greater wall thicknesses for the cylindrical cell casing are necessary because larger diameter cell have higher mechanical requirements ([0002];[0082]). Lentz further teaches that such battery cell housings will preferably have a wall thickness between 0.5 mm – 2.5mm which and that wall thicknesses above and below the taught range are conceivable depending on the cell diameter due to the radius and wall thickness having a direct effect on the allowable stress of the housing in the circumferential direction (Refer to Equation (1) and [0083];[0100]). Increases in wall thickness are also taught by Lentz to reduce the energy capacity of the cell housing ([00082]).
Since the unit cell examples of Qiu are large diameter cylindrical-shaped cells and since Qiu is also concerned with maximizing cell capacity/energy density (Qiu: Fig. 1, [0010];[0056]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the shell thickness of the unit cell examples be within the range taught by Lentz, and thus overlapping the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success in having a suitable thickness for the diameter sizes disclosed by Qiu.
Hwangbo, also directed to cylindrical battery cell structures and enhancing spatial utilization of such battery cell cans (Refer to abstract), teaches, in the area forming the closed portion of the battery cell can {i.e. would correspond to end cover} having the thickness be within the range of 0.4 – 1.2 and more preferably 0.6 – 1.0 mm ([0169]). Hwangbo further teaches that if the closure part is too thin there is greater risk for battery deformation during pressure increase/welding and if the closure part is too thick a loss in energy density can occur ([0169]).
Since Qiu teaches welding the cover plates to the shell and since Qiu is also concerned with maximizing cell capacity/energy density (Qiu: [0049];[0056]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the thicknesses of the cover plates in the unit cell examples be within the range taught by Hwangbo, and thus obtain thicknesses that would provide a sum encompassing the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining cover plates with a thickness suitable for welding.
Selection of shell thickness within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and taught range, cover plate thicknesses that provide a sum within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and taught, and further selection of thicknesses within such ranges that would allow the example unit cells of Qiu to satisfy the claimed equation of (R1-b)2*(H1-a)/R12*H1) ≥ 96%, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of maximizing the energy capacity of the battery, as desired by Qiu, while ensuring that the mechanical requirements of the larger diameter batter are met, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (shell 4, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]) and two end covers (Top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]), wherein the housing body has two opposite disposed openings (Refer to top and bottom openings of shell 4 in Fig. 2b; [0051]), and the two end covers respectively cover the corresponding openings (Refer to Figs. 1 and 2b; [0051]); and the housing body serves as the side wall (Refer to how the shell makes up the outermost side surfaces of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b) and the two end covers serve as the first wall and the second end wall, respectively (Refer to how the top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8 make up the top and bottom of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu exemplifies Unit Cells 1B and 1C (Refer to Fig. 3a) which have a height of 180 mm and radii of 107.5 mm and 152.5 mm, respectively ([0056]); therefore, Qiu further discloses unit cells that provide a volume {i.e. π*R12*H1} of ≈ 0.007 mm3 {i.e. π*(107.5)2*180} and 0.013 mm3 {i.e. π*(152.5)2*180} respectively, which are within the claimed range of 0.001 mm3 ≤ π*R12*H1 ≤ 0.015 mm3.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses a battery (Refer to lithium-ion assembled power battery in Fig. 3a which includes the unit cells 1A, 1B, and 1C; [0056] and the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1) and Hwangbo (KR20220105118A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto (US PG Pub. 2020/0020897 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. The electrode assembly of Qiu’s unit cell is a wound electrode assembly ([0048]).
Qiu does not explicitly disclose a first insulating member and a second insulating member, wherein the first insulating member is disposed between the first end wall and the electrode assembly and abuts against the first end wall, and the second insulating member is disposed between the second end wall and the electrode assembly and abuts against the second end wall.
Enomoto, directed toward cylindrical battery cell structures, teaches including an insulating plate above and below the electrode assembly in the cylindrical cell housing (Refer to 20 and 19 in Fig. 7)
, and further teaches that a high strength insulating plate reduces inhibition of discharge through the discharge valve of the sealing body (Fig. 7; [0031];[0033 – 0034];[0077 – 0078]). Enomoto further teaches controlling the strength of the insulating plate by controlling the thickness of the insulating plate, and particularly teaches using insulating plates with a thickness of 0.1 mm or more ([0006];[0008]).
Since Qiu appears to include a gas discharge structure on the top cover plate 7 of the unit cell (Refer to the small hole shown on top cover plate 7 in Figs. 1 and 2b) and further is concerned with achieving a high safety battery, It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include insulating plates, as taught by Enomoto, and thus obtain the claimed first and second insulating member disposed between the electrode assembly and first and second end wall, respectively, with a reasonable expectation of success in maintaining insulation between the electrode groups and leads extending from the electrode groups and also reducing inhibition of discharge from the battery (Enomoto: [0002];[0033 – 0034]).
As established above, modified Qiu’s unit cells include a first and second insulating member having a thickness of 0.1 mm or more, which encompasses the claimed ranges of 2 mm ≤d1≤ 6mm and 2 mm ≤d2≤ 6mm. The unit cells also have a height of 180 mm (Refer to Qiu: Unit Cells 1B and 1C in Fig. 3a; [0056]).
Modified Qiu does not disclose a maximum dimension, d1, of the first insulating member in the height direction and a maximum dimension of the of the second insulating member in the height direction satisfying (H1-a-d1-d2)/H1 ≥ 90%,
Enomoto further teaches that when the battery has a large outer diameter the insulating plate is large so as to be sized to the outer diameter ([0006]). Enomoto teaches having the ratio of the thickness to a diameter of the insulating plate (T/D) be 0.016 of less to ensure the strength of the insulating plate ([0035]). Smaller thicknesses are taught by Enomoto to result in lower strengths and larger thicknesses, since the insulating plates do not contribute to capacity of the battery, are taught to reduce battery capacity ([0033];[0085]).
As established above, Hwangbo teaches, in the area forming the closed portion of the battery cell can {i.e. would correspond to end cover} having the thickness be within the range of 0.4 – 1.2 and more preferably 0.6 – 1.0 mm ([0169]). Hwangbo further teaches that if the closure part is too thin there is greater risk for battery deformation during pressure increase/welding and if the closure part is too thick a loss in energy density can occur ([0169]).
Selection of insulating member thicknesses within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and taught range and further selection of insulating member thicknesses and end wall thicknesses that would allow the example unit cells of Qiu to satisfy the claimed equation of (H1-a-d1-d2)/H1 ≥ 90%, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of maximizing the energy capacity of the battery, as desired by Qiu, while also ensuring that thicknesses are suitable for the large diameter unit cells of Qui, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1) and Hwangbo (KR20220105118A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN114937808A, Machine translation provided) and Enomoto (US PG Pub. 2020/0020897 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 – 7, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (shell 4, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]) and an end cover (Refer to top cover plate 7 or bottom cover plate 8, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]), wherein the housing body has an opening (Refer to top or bottom opening of shell 4 in Fig. 2b; [0051]), and the end cover covers the opening (Refer to Figs. 1 and 2b; [0051]); and the housing body serves as the side wall (Refer to how the shell makes up the outermost side surfaces of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b) (Claim 6).
Furthermore, since Qiu discloses the unit cell including a top cover plate, Qiu further discloses wherein the end cover serves as a first end wall (Refer to how the top cover plate 7 makes up the top of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b) (Claim 6 cont.)
The unit cells of Qiu includes a second end wall {i.e. bottom cover plate 8}, but the cover plate is not integrally formed with the unit cell shell; therefore modified Qiu does not explicitly disclose the housing body comprising the second end wall and the side wall that are integrally formed (Claim 6 cont.).
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the bottom cover plate of Qiu’s unit cells integral to the shell, and thus obtain the claimed structure, because the use of one end cover and an integral bottom wall would be a matter of obvious engineering choice that, as shown by Zhang, directed to large cylindrical battery cells housed in a casing formed from an iron alloy, is known in the art for cylindrical type batteries and would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing the desired end wall for housing with greater processing/manufacturing efficiency (Zhang: Fig. 1, [0002];[0080]) [See MPEP 2144.04(V)].
Qiu does not explicitly disclose a third insulating member, wherein the third insulating member is disposed between the first end wall and the electrode assembly and abuts against the first end wall; or the third insulating member is disposed between the second end wall and the electrode assembly and abuts against the second end wall (Claim 7)
Enomoto, directed toward cylindrical battery cell structures, teaches including an insulating plate above and below the electrode assembly in the cylindrical cell housing (Refer to 20 and 19 in Fig. 7)
, and further teaches that a high strength insulating plate reduces inhibition of discharge through the discharge valve of the sealing body (Fig. 7; [0031];[0033 – 0034];[0077 – 0078]). Enomoto further teaches controlling the strength of the insulating plate by controlling the thickness of the insulating plate, and particularly teaches using insulating plates with a thickness of 0.1 mm or more ([0006];[0008]).
Since Qiu appears to include a gas discharge structure on the top cover plate 7 of the unit cell (Refer to the small hole shown on top cover plate 7 in Figs. 1 and 2b) and further is concerned with achieving a high safety battery, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an insulating plate at least between the top cover plate and electrode assembly, as taught by Enomoto, and thus obtain the claimed third insulating member structure, with a reasonable expectation of success in maintaining insulation between the electrode assembly and leads extending from the electrode assembly and also reducing inhibition of discharge from the battery (Enomoto: [0002];[0033 – 0034]).
As established above, modified Qiu’s unit cells includes a third insulating member having a thickness of 0.1 mm or more, which encompasses the claimed ranges of 2 mm ≤d3≤ 6mm (Claim 7 cont.). The unit cells also have a height of 180 mm (Refer to Qiu: Unit Cells 1B and 1C in Fig. 3a; [0056]).
Modified Qiu does not disclose a maximum dimension, d3, of the third insulating member in the height direction satisfying (H1-a-d3)/H1 ≥ 92% (Claim 7 cont.).
Enomoto further teaches that when the battery has a large outer diameter the insulating plate is large so as to be sized to the outer diameter ([0006]). Enomoto teaches having the ratio of the thickness to a diameter of the insulating plate (T/D) be 0.016 of less to ensure the strength of the insulating plate ([0035]). Smaller thicknesses are taught by Enomoto to result in lower strengths and larger thicknesses, since the insulating plates do not contribute to capacity of the battery, are taught to reduce battery capacity ([0033];[0085]).
As established above Hwangbo teaches, in the area forming the closed portion of the battery cell can {i.e. would correspond to end cover} having the thickness be within the range of 0.4 – 1.2 and more preferably 0.6 – 1.0 mm ([0169]). Hwangbo further teaches that if the closure part is too thin there is greater risk for battery deformation during pressure increase/welding and if the closure part is too thick a loss in energy density can occur ([0169]).
Selection of an insulating member thickness within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and taught range and further selection of insulating member thickness and end wall thicknesses that would allow the example unit cells of Qiu to satisfy the claimed equation of (H1-a-d3)/H1 ≥ 92%, would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of maximizing the energy capacity of the battery, as desired by Qiu, while also ensuring that thicknesses are suitable for the large diameter unit cells of Qui, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 9 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1) and Hwangbo (KR20220105118A), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Okuda (US PG Pub. 2021/0376391 A1).
Regarding Claims 9 – 10, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses wherein the electrode assembly is a wound structure and wherein the electrode assembly is cylindrical (Refer to cell core 6 shown in Figs. 2a – 2b; [0048 – 0050]) (Claim 9).
Qiu teaches controlling the maximum thickness of the cell core to better facilitate heat dissipation via the thermal conductive surface of side wall that forms parts of the cell shell ([0023]). Qiu exemplifies Unit Cells 1B and 1C (Refer to Fig. 3a) which have a height of 180 mm and radii of 107.5 mm and 152.5 mm, respectively ([0056]). Qiu further teaches assembling the shell and cell core so that the cell core is abut against the shell tightly with more uniform stress distribution when the core expands after absorbing electrolyte ([0027]).
As such, since Qiu suggests that the cell core is assembled such that the core abuts against the shell tight and further since the cell core is shown to be enclosed entirely in the shell, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the unit cells of Qiu to have a diameter and height that is relatively close to the shell diameter and height, and thus capable of providing ratios within/at least overlapping (R22*H2)/(R12*H1) ≥ 85% (Claim 9 cont.) and wherein R2/(R1-b) ≥ 85% and H2/(H1-a) ≥ 92.5% (Claim 10).
Okuda, directed to fitting wound electrode assemblies into cylindrical cell case bodies, teaches having the ratio of the of the diameter of the electrode assembly (L1) to the inner diameter of the case body (L2) be most preferably in the range of 0.97 to 1.03 to achieve high energy density and reduce stress on the electrode assembly in the case (Fig. 2; [0014 – 0016];[0027]).
As established above, Hwangbo teaches, in the area forming the closed portion of the battery cell can {i.e. would correspond to end cover} having the thickness be within the range of 0.4 – 1.2 and more preferably 0.6 – 1.0 mm ([0169]). Hwangbo further teaches that if the closure part is too thin there is greater risk for battery deformation during pressure increase/welding and if the closure part is too thick a loss in energy density can occur ([0169]).
Furthermore, Lentz teaches that greater wall thicknesses for the cylindrical cell casing are necessary because larger diameter cell have higher mechanical requirements ([0002];[0082]). Lentz further teaches that such battery cell housings will preferably have a wall thickness between 0.5 mm – 2.5mm which and that wall thicknesses above and below the taught range are conceivable depending on the cell diameter due to the radius and wall thickness having a direct effect on the allowable stress of the housing in the circumferential direction (Refer to Equation (1) and [0083];[0100]). Increases in wall thickness are also taught by Lentz to reduce the energy capacity of the cell housing ([00082]).
Selection of electrode assembly dimensions, end wall thicknesses {i.e. “a”}, and a side wall thickness {i.e. “b”} that would allow the example unit cells of Qiu to satisfy the claimed equations would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, for the purpose of maximizing the energy capacity of the battery, as desired by Qiu, while also ensuring that cell core dimensions and thicknesses are suitable for the large diameter unit cells of Qui {i.e. meet desired mechanical requirements and heat dissipation capability}, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1), Hwangbo (KR20220105118A) and Okuda (US PG Pub. 2021/0376391 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Nono (JP6037084B2, Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu teaches using aluminum or stainless steel for the unit cell shells ([0050]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that stainless steel is an iron-based alloy.
Modified Qiu does not disclose an embodiment; however, wherein materials of the first end wall, the second end wall, and the side wall all comprise an iron alloy particularly comprising: iron≥98%, and 0.15%≤carbon≤2%; and the iron alloy further containing manganese, silicon, sulfur, phosphorus, and the like, with each individual element component≤0.05% and total components≤0.2%.
Nono, directed toward steel sheets battery cans, teaches using a steel sheet having a chemical compositions, in mass, C: more than 0.150 to 0.250%; Sol. Al: 0.005 to 0.100%, B: 0.0005 to 0.02%, Si: 0.50% or less, Mn: 0.70% or less, P: 0.070% or less, S: 0.05% or less, N: 0.0080% or less, Nb: 0.003% or less, Ti: 0.003% or less, with the balance consisting of Fe and impurities ([0001 – 002];[0015];[0016]). As such, Nono teaches an iron-based alloy comprising carbon that overlaps in compositional scope with the claimed iron alloy. By using the such material, Nono teaches obtaining a cold-rolled steel sheet for can drawing which has high strength, excellent press formability, excellent non-St-St properties {i.e. absence of stretcher strain after drawing}, and excellent shape fixability ([0006];[0015];[0115]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the steel taught by Nono for the end walls and side walls of Qiu’s example unit cells, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a suitable battery housing with high strength.
By including the iron-based alloy taught by Nono, modified Qiu’s includes an iron alloy comprising, by mass 0.150 to 0.250% of carbon, which is within the claimed range of 0.15%≤carbon≤2%, and an amount of iron and manganese, silicon, sulfur, phosphorous, and the like in amount overlapping/encompassing the claimed range.
The silicon, manganese, phosphorous, sulfur and nitrogen contained in the steel are impurities that are taught by Nono to preferably be set as low as possible ([0046 – 0049];[0051]). Silicon reduces plating adhesion, manganese reduces press-formability, sulfur causes brittle cracks during hot rolling, and nitrogen reduces press-formability and causes stretcher strain ([0046 – 0047];[0049];[0051]). Phosphorous, while capable of increasing the strength of the steel, reduces the press-formability and can cause embrittlement cracking when the content is too high ([0048]). The sol. aluminum deoxidizes the steel and improve the surface quality of the steel during casting, but, at higher concentrations the effects of the aluminum saturate and manufacturing cost increases ([0050]). The boron is included in the steel to reduce the amount of nitrogen and improves the earring properties of the steel, but at concentrations exceeding 0.02% the earring properties are reduced ([0052]).
Selection of mass percentages for the iron and the other individual element component {i.e. manganese, silicon, sulfur, phosphorous, and the like} within the overlapping portion of the claimed range and taught range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to minimize the content of impurities while also optimizing the effects of the aluminum, boron, and carbon, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1), Hwangbo (KR20220105118A) and Okuda (US PG Pub. 2021/0376391 A1), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN114937808A) and Lee (KR20170072525A, Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (shell 4, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]) and an end cover (Refer to top cover plate 7 or bottom cover plate 8, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]), wherein the housing body has an opening (Refer to top or bottom opening of shell 4 in Fig. 2b; [0051]), and the end cover covers the opening (Refer to Figs. 1 and 2b; [0051]); and the end cover is connected to the housing body through welding ([0051]).
Furthermore, since Qiu discloses the unit cell including a top cover plate, Qiu further discloses wherein the end cover serves as a first end wall (Refer to how the top cover plate 7 makes up the top of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b) (Claim 6 cont.)
The unit cells of Qiu includes a second end wall {i.e. bottom cover plate 8 }, but the cover plate is not integrally formed with the unit cell shell; therefore modified Qiu does not explicitly disclose the housing body comprising the second end wall and the side wall that are integrally formed (Claim 6 cont.).
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the bottom cover plate of Qiu’s unit cells integral to the shell, and thus obtain the claimed structure, because the use of one end cover and an integral bottom wall would be a matter of obvious engineering choice that, as shown by Zhang {i.e. directed to large cylindrical battery cells housed in a casing formed from an iron alloy}, is known in the art for cylindrical type batteries and would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing the desired end wall for housing with greater processing/manufacturing efficiency (Zhang: Fig. 1, [0002];[0080]) [See MPEP 2144.04(V)].
Qiu further discloses the electrode assembly comprising a positive tab and negative tab (Fig. 2a and 2b; [0048]),
Qiu further appears to teach/show a negative terminal post and positive terminal post included on top cover plate 7 ([0056]), but does not disclose the particulars of the tab and terminal structure. Therefore, modified Qiu does not explicitly disclose the battery cell comprising a positive electrode terminal that is insulatively disposed on the second end wall, the positive tab being electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal, and the negative tab is electrically connected to the second end wall.
Zhang further teaches forming cylindrical battery cells having full-tab structures at both ends of the battery cell core, where one full tab structure is electrically connected to the cap of cell and the other full tab is electrically connected to the casing, to allow for rapid heat dissipation and reduced internal resistance (Fig. 2, [0061];[0134]). Zhang further teaches insulatively connecting the positive tab structure to the cap to prevent short circuiting ([0093]).
Since Qiu is concerned with achieving efficient heat dissipation (Qiu: [0010]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tab and terminal structure of Qiu’s example unit cells by implementing the tab connection structure taught by Zhang, and thus obtaining the claimed structure of a positive tab electrically connected to the positive electrode terminal and a negative tab is electrically connected to the second end wall, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a tab configuration that allows for rapid heat dissipation and reduced internal resistance.
It would have been further obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the positive electrode terminal disposed on the second end wall {i.e. integrally formed bottom cover plate} of modified Qiu, and thus obtain the claimed structure of a positive electrode terminal disposed on the second end wall, because such a modification would be an obvious rearrangement of parts with respect to the terminal position, that, as shown by Lee, is known in art to be a viable position for a positive electrode terminal included on cylindrical battery cell that has an negative electrode electrically connected to the battery cell can, that is in Figs. 6 – 8 and 13 Lee shows including a terminal 40 on the end wall of the battery cell housing and opposite to the welded cap plate of the housing ([0178];[0200];[0268];[0341 – 0342]) [See MPEP 2144.04(VI)].
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1), Hwangbo (KR20220105118A) and Okuda (US PG Pub. 2021/0376391 A1), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (US6521374B1) and Zhang (CN114937808A).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Qiu further discloses wherein the housing comprises a housing body (shell 4, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]) and two end covers (Top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8, Fig. 2b; [0050 – 0051]), wherein the housing body has two oppositely disposed openings (Refer to top and bottom openings of shell 4 in Fig. 2b; [0051]), and the two end covers respectively cover the corresponding openings (Refer to Figs. 1 and 2b; [0051]); and the housing body serves as the side wall (Refer to how the shell makes up the outermost side surfaces of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b); the two end covers serve as the first wall and the second end wall, respectively (Refer to how the top cover plate 7 and bottom cover plate 8 make up the top and bottom of the unit cell in Fig. 1 and 2b); and the two end covers are connected to the housing body through welding ([0051]).
Qiu further discloses the electrode assembly comprising a positive tab and negative tab (Fig. 2a and 2b; [0048]).
Qiu further appears to teach/show a negative terminal post and positive terminal post included on top cover plate 7 (Refer to post structures that correspond to the position of the electrode tabs in Figs. 2a – 2b; [0056]), and thus further discloses the battery cell further comprising a positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal.
Even though not explicitly disclosed, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect positive electrode tab and negative electrode tab of Qiu’s example unit cells to be electrically connected to the positive electrode and negative electrode terminal respectively, because in Figs. 2a – 2b, the terminals are shown to correspond to the position of the electrode tabs, and Nakanashi, which teaches a similar tab and terminal structure for a cylindrical battery, explicitly teaches the electrode assembly being electrically connected to the terminal by the tabs (Fig. 1; Col, 4, lines 50 – 61).
The terminals in Qiu are shown to be included on the same cover plate; therefore, modified Qiu does not explicitly disclose the positive electrode terminal disposed on the first end wall and the negative electrode terminal disposed on the second end wall.
Zhang further teaches forming cylindrical battery cells having full-tab structures at both ends of the battery cell core and that the presence of full-tab structures at both ends reduce the internal resistance of the battery cell core (Fig. 2; [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the unit cell examples of Qiu by having the negative electrode tabs and negative electrode terminal disposed on a bottom end of the cell, and thus obtain the claimed terminal structure of a positive electrode terminal disposed on the first end wall and a negative electrode terminal disposed on the second end wall, because such a modification would be a rearrangement of parts with respect to the tab and terminal, that, as taught by Zhang, would allow for reduced internal resistance and, as shown by Nakanashi, would be a suitable and known position for negative electrode terminals and tabs in the cylindrical battery art (Refer to Figs. 1 – 2; Col. 4, lines 62 – 67; Col. 5, lines 1 – 8; Col. 5, lines 28 – 31) [See MPEP 2144.04(VI)].
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US PG Pub. 2012/0114995 A1), Lentz (US PG Pub. 2024/0332679 A1) and Hwangbo (KR20220105118A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of He (US PG Pub. 2022/0102787 A1).
Regarding Claims 19 – 20, modified Qiu discloses all limitations as set forth above. The power batteries formed from Qiu’s unit cells are taught to have application in an electric vehicle ([0001]).
Modified Qiu does not disclose an energy storage apparatus comprising an energy storage box, wherein the energy storage box has battery compartment; and a plurality of battery cells according to claim 1 disposed within the battery compartment (Claim 19) or further wherein a sum, V1, of volumes of the housings of the plurality of battery cells and a volume, V2, of the battery compartment satisfying: 0.5 ≤ V1/V2 ≤ 0.95.
He, teaches with respect to electric vehicle power battery packs, teaches, when implementing the battery cells in a vehicle, mounting the battery cells inside of a housing that can accommodate and protect the cells as well as support the cells to improve the overall load-bearing capacity of the power battery pack (Figs. 1 and 7 – 8; [0003];[0049 – 0050];[0083]).
Since Qiu teaches that battery cells having application in an electric vehicle , it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the power batteries comprising the unit cells of claim 1 in vehicle, and further to house the batteries is a housing, as taught by He, with a reasonable expectation of success in applying the batteries in a vehicle and ensuring that the batteries are protected.
He further teaches having the sum V1 of the volumes of the plurality of cells and the volume V2 of the power battery pack satisfy 55% ≤ V1/V2 ≤ 80 % in order to improve the space utilization of the battery pack ([0051 – 0052]).
It would have been further obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to house the battery cells such that a sum V1 of the volumes of the plurality of cells and the volume V2 of the power battery pack satisfies 55% ≤ V1/V2 ≤ 80 %, as taught by He, and thus obtain a V1/V2 ratio within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery pack with a maximized amount of energy supply structures arranged in the unit space, and thus increased energy density and battery life (He: [0052]).
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/29/2026