DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims set filed 08/26/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 4, “a first gear portion comprises engaged to the sun gear” should likely read “a first gear portion
Claim 1 line 13, “wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings includes” should likely read “wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing[[s]] assemblies includes”.
Claim 17 line 7, “a first gear portion comprises engaged to the sun gear” should likely read “a first gear portion
Claim 17 line 14, “a carrier supporting rotation of the plurality of intermediate gears” should likely read “a carrier supporting rotation of the plurality of compound intermediate gears”.
Claim 17, line 16, “wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings includes” should likely read “wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing[[s]] assemblies includes”.
Claim 17, 2nd to last line, “and a middle portion.; and” should likely read “and a middle portion[[.]]; and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12429000, herein referenced as ‘000 in view of US 2021/0254659, herein referenced as Brillon. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations required by the instant application claims are taught (rendered obvious) by the claims in US 12429000 in view of Brillon.
Instant claim 1
Claim 1 of ‘000
Explanation if needed
[Instant Claim 1 lines 1-2]
A fan drive gear system for a turbine engine comprising:
a sun gear configured to be driven by an engine shaft rotatable about an axis;
[‘000: Claim 1 preamble and 1st paragraph of claim body]
A fan drive gear system for a turbine engine comprising:
a sun gear configured to be driven by an engine shaft rotatable about an axis;
[Instant Claim 1 lines 3-7]
a plurality of compound intermediate gears, wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears includes a first gear portion [and] a second gear portion, the first gear portion comprises a first diameter, the second gear portion comprises a second diameter [and] the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion and an aft gear portion;
[‘000: Claim 1, 2nd paragraph of claim body]
a plurality of compound intermediate gears, wherein each of the plurality of intermediate gears includes a first gear portion and a second gear portion, wherein the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion and an aft gear portion;
In the plurality of compound intermediate gears of ‘000, due to the shape of gear, the first gear portion would define a first diameter and the second gear portion would define a second diameter. Further, it is known in the art that a compound gear is an integral mechanical part composed of two or more gears with different tooth numbers and outer diameters. These gears are fixed on the same transmission shaft.
[Instant Claim 1 lines 8-10]
a ring gear assembly including a forward ring gear engaged to the forward gear portion of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears and an aft ring gear engaged to the aft gear portion of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears;
[‘000: Claim 1, 3rd paragraph of claim body]
a ring gear assembly including a forward ring gear engaged to the forward gear portion of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears and an aft ring gear engaged to the aft gear portion of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears;
[Instant Claim 1 lines 11]
a carrier supporting rotation of the plurality of compound intermediate gears; and
[‘000: Claim 1, 4th paragraph of claim body]
a carrier supporting rotation of the plurality of intermediate gears; and
[Instant Claim 1 lines 12-15]
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies corresponding with the plurality of compound intermediate gears, wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings includes a forward portion supporting the forward gear portion, an aft portion supporting the aft gear portion, and a middle portion
[‘000: Claim 1, paragraphs 5th to 8th of claim body]
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies corresponding with the plurality of intermediate gears, wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies comprises;
a forward portion supporting the forward gear portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of compound intermediate gears,
an aft portion supporting the aft gear portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of compound intermediate gears,
a middle portion,
However, ‘000 fails to anticipate the first gear portion comprises engaged to the sun gear, the second diameter [of the second gear portion] is less than the first diameter.
Brillon is analogous art since it relates to the field of endeavor of gas turbine engines.
Brillon teaches wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see planet gears 24 fig. 2-3) includes a first gear portion (24a figs. 2-3) comprises engaged to the sun gear (sun gear 21 fig. 2), and a second gear portion (comprised of 24b and 24c in figs. 3 and 7), the first gear portion comprises a first diameter (see diameter of larger planet 24a in figs. 2-3), the second gear portion comprises a second diameter (see diameter of planets 24b and 24c in figs. 2-3 and 7) that is less than the first diameter the second diameter (the diameter of 24b and 24c are shown to be smaller relative to the diameter of larger planet 24a in figs. 2-3 and 7; “a central planet gear 24a positioned between two smaller planet gears 24b, 24c, are arranged along a common shaft 30 and interconnected for concurrent rotation” pr. 21). Brillon further teaches that “an input torque through a sun shaft 20 is rotatably outputted through a sun gear 21 as an output torque through gear carriers 22 via a plurality of planet gears 24 rotatably connected to the gear carriers 22 and ring gears 26” in pr. 15 and that “the larger planet gear 24a may engage sun gear 21, while the smaller planet gears 24b, 24c may engage ring gears 26” in pr. 21.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the claimed structure of ‘000 to have the first gear portion engaged to the sun gear and to have the diameter of the second gear portion be less than the diameter of the first gear portion, as disclosed by Brillon, so as to obtain the benefit of allowing an input to from the sun gear to engage the larger planet gear (or first gear portion) and the smaller planet gears (or second gear portion) to engage with the ring gear assembly, permitting power to transfer in the fan drive gear system from its input of the gear to its power output’ as disclosed by Brillon.
Note: Instant claim 1 can similarly be rejected by claim 15 of ‘000 in view of Brillon as it recites the same structure of claim 1 of ‘000 recited above.
Instant Claims 2-3 and 7-16 are also taught by the combination of ‘000 and Brillon:
Instant Claim 2 is analogous to claim 2 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 3 is analogous to claim 3 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 7 is analogous to claim 5 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 8 is analogous to the last paragraph of claim 1 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 9 is analogous to claim 9 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 10 is analogous to claim 10 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 11 is analogous to claim 11 of ’000; see 2nd to last paragraph of claim 1 of ‘000 and text of claim 11 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 12 is analogous to claim 12 of ’000; see 2nd to last paragraph of claim 1 of ‘000 and text of claim 12 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 13 is analogous to claim 13 of ’000; see 2nd to last paragraph of claim 1 of ‘000 and text of claim 13 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 14 is analogous to claim 6 of ’000; see 2nd to last paragraph of claim 1 of ‘000 and text of claim 6 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 15 is analogous to claim 8 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 16 is analogous to claim 14 of ‘000.
Instant Claim 17 is found obvious over claim 15 of ‘000 in further view of Brillon for the same reason listed above for instant claim 1 being obvious over claim 1 of ‘000 in view of Brillon. Claim 15 of ‘000 lacking the same structure for instant claim 17 that claim 1 of ‘000 lacked for instant claim 1 above.
Instant Claim 18 is taught by the combination of ‘000 in view of Brillon since instant claim 18 is analogous to claim 16 of ‘000.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, the limitation “wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies includes a forward portion supporting the forward gear portion, an aft portion supporting the aft gear portion, and a middle portion” renders the claim indefinite since claim 17, from which claim 20 depends upon, has already previously introduced this limitation. Given this, it is unclear what this limitation is meant to establish in the claim and should likely be removed from claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0254659 (also cited above in the Double Patenting Rejections), herein referenced as Brillon.
Examiner Figure 1 – annotated version of fig. 7 of Brillon
Regarding Claim 1, Brillon discloses a fan drive gear system (see gear assembly 19 figs. 1-2) for a turbine engine comprising:
a sun gear (sun gear 21 fig. 2) configured to be driven by an engine shaft (sun shaft 20 fig. 2, shown to be connected with the low pressure turbine 18 in fig. 2) rotatable about an axis (shown in fig. 1);
a plurality of compound intermediate gears (planet gears 24 fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears includes a first gear portion (24a fig. 3 or fig. 7) comprises engaged to the sun gear (sun gear 21 shown to be engaged with 24a in figs. 2-3) and a second gear portion (comprised of 24b and 24c fig. 3 or fig. 7), the first gear portion comprises a first diameter (see diameter of 24a in fig. 3), the second gear portion comprises a second diameter (see diameter of 24b and 24c in fig. 3, shown to be less than the diameter of 24a in fig. 3) that is less than the first diameter (see fig. 3), and the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion (see 24b fig. 3 or fig. 7) and an aft gear portion (see 24c fig. 3 or fig. 7);
a ring gear assembly (see ring gears 26 fig. 2) including a forward ring gear (see forward ring gear 26 in fig. 2; engages with 24b as reflected in fig. 3 or fig. 7) engaged to the forward gear portion (24b fig. 3) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of gears 24 in fig. 2) and an aft ring gear (aft ring gear 26 in fig. 2; engages with 24c as reflected in fig. 3 or fig. 7) engaged to the aft gear portion (24c fig. 3)of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of planet gears 24 in fig. 2);
a carrier (gear carriers 22 fig. 2) supporting rotation of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (24 fig. 2); and
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies (see journal bearing assemblies 28 fig. 2, details of which are shown in figs. 3-7) corresponding with the plurality of compound intermediate gears (journal bearing assemblies 28 shown to correspond with the gears 24 in fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings (see journal shaft 30 fig. 3 or fig. 7) includes a forward portion (see forward portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the forward gear portion (shown to correspond with 24b in Examiner Figure 1), an aft portion (see rear portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the aft gear portion (shown to corresponds with 24c in Examiner Figure 1 and in fig. 3 or fig. 7), and a middle portion (see middle portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Brillon discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies comprises a ratio of a journal length to a journal diameter that is between 1.5 and 6 (“while the use of journal bearing shafts with length-to-diameter ratios ranging from roughly 0.5 to 1.5 has been put forward, the use of separate contact surfaces 46 taught by the present disclosure may allow for improved performance with longer journal shafts having overall length-to-diameter ratios above 1.5.” pr. 21).
Regarding Claim 10, Brillon discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 8, wherein each of the forward portion and the aft portion (see forward and rear portions of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies (30 in Examiner Figure 1) comprises a gear bearing surface (see contact surfaces 46 in Examiner Figure 1) with an axial width greater than an axial width of the corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion (the axial length of the contact surface 46 of the journal shaft is shown to be greater than axial length of the corresponding 24b or 24c in fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Brillon discloses a turbine engine assembly (10 fig. 1) comprising:
a static engine structure (see engine case in fig. 1);
a fan section (see load 12 with plurality of blades in fig. 1) including a plurality of blades rotatable about an axis (11 fig. 1);
a fan drive gear system (reduction gearbox 19 fig. 1) including:
a sun gear (21 fig. 2) configured to be driven by an engine shaft (see sun shaft 20 fig. 2 and driving shaft from turbine section 18 in fig. 1) rotatable about an axis (11 fig. 1);
a plurality of compound intermediate gears (planet gears 24 fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears includes a first gear portion (24a fig. 3 or fig. 7) comprises engaged to the sun gear (sun gear 21 shown to be engaged with 24a in figs. 2-3) and a second gear portion (comprised of 24b and 24c fig. 3 or fig. 7), the first gear portion comprises a first diameter (see diameter of 24a in fig. 3), the second gear portion comprises a second diameter (see diameter of 24b and 24c in fig. 3, shown to be less than the diameter of 24a in fig. 3) that is less than the first diameter (see fig. 3), and the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion (see 24b fig. 3 or fig. 7) and an aft gear portion (see 24c fig. 3 or fig. 7);
a ring gear assembly (see ring gears 26 fig. 2) including a forward ring gear (see forward ring gear 26 in fig. 2; engages with 24b as reflected in fig. 3 or fig. 7) engaged to the forward gear portion (24b fig. 3) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of gears 24 in fig. 2) and an aft ring gear (aft ring gear 26 in fig. 2; engages with 24c as reflected in fig. 3 or fig. 7) engaged to the aft gear portion (24c fig. 3)of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of planet gears 24 in fig. 2);
a carrier (gear carriers 22 fig. 2) supporting rotation of the plurality of intermediate gears (24 fig. 2); and
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies (see journal bearing assemblies 28 fig. 2, details of which are shown in figs. 3-7) corresponding with the plurality of compound intermediate gears (journal bearing assemblies 28 shown to correspond with the gears 24 in fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings (see journal shaft 30 fig. 3 or fig. 7) includes a forward portion (see forward portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the forward gear portion (shown to correspond with 24b in Examiner Figure 1), an aft portion (see rear portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the aft gear portion (shown to corresponds with 24c in Examiner Figure 1 and in fig. 3 or fig. 7), and a middle portion (see middle portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1).; and
a fan drive shaft (see shaft leading to load 12 from RBG 19 in fig. 1) coupled to the carrier (carrier 22 fig. 2; “output torque through gear carriers 22” pr. 15).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0145806, herein referenced as Beck.
Examiner Figure 2 – annotated version of fig. 7 of Beck
Regarding Claim 1, Beck discloses a fan drive gear system for a turbine engine comprising:
a sun gear (70 fig. 7) configured to be driven by an engine shaft (LP shaft 30 fig. 4; “sun gear 70 comprises internal splines 70 a for coupling with the LP shaft 30 as well as an external toothing 70 b for meshing with the planet gears 80” pr. 79) rotatable about an axis (axis X fig. 6);
a plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of planet gears 80 fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears includes a first gear portion (first toothing 82 fig. 7) comprises engaged to the sun gear (see external toothing 70b of sun gear 70 meshed with first toothing 82 of the planet gears 80 in fig. 6) and a second gear portion (see second toothing 84 fig. 7), the first gear portion comprises a first diameter (see diameter defined by the first toothing 82 in figs. 6-7), the second gear portion comprises a second diameter (see diameter defined by the second toothing 84 in figs. 6-7) that is less than the first diameter (diameter of 84 shown to be smaller than that of 82 in figs. 6-7), and the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion (forward series of teeth 84d1 fig. 7) and an aft gear portion (aft series of 84d2 fig. 7);
a ring gear assembly (see ring gear 90 fig. 6) including a forward ring gear (see forward ring gear in fig. 6; labeled as 90a in similar fig. 5) engaged to the forward gear portion (84d1 of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (shown in figs. 6-7) and an aft ring gear (see aft ring gear in fig. 6; labeled as 90b in similar fig. 5) engaged to the aft gear portion (84d2 of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (shown in figs. 6-7);
a carrier (planet gear carrier 100 fig. 6) supporting rotation of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (80 fig. 6; 100 shown to support rotation of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7); and
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies (hydrodynamic bearings 81 fig. 7, shown to be formed as journal bearings in fig. 7) corresponding with the plurality of compound intermediate gears (“each of the planet gears 80 is guided in rotation by a hydrodynamic bearing 81” pr. 90), wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings (81 fig. 7) includes a forward portion (see forward part in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the forward gear portion (84d1 fig. 7), an aft portion (see aft part in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the aft gear portion (84d2 fig. 7), and a middle portion (see middle part in Examiner Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Beck discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein the ring gear assembly (90 figs. 6-7) is fixed to a static engine structure (“the ring gear is attached to the engine casing or stator 5” pr. 57), and the carrier is rotatable about the axis (“the planet carrier 10 is attached to the fan shaft 4” pr. 57).
Regarding Claim 7, Beck discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see planet gears 80 fig. 6) include at least one lubricant exhaust opening (see plurality of oil passage openings 92 fig. 6) between the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion (oil passage openings 92 shown to be between 84d1 and 84d2 in figs. 6-8).
Regarding Claim 15, Beck discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein the middle portion (see middle part in Examiner Figure 2 above, shown to have an outer diameter) of each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies comprise an outer diameter that is less than each of the forward portion and the aft portion (see outer diameter of forward part and aft part of bearing 81 in Examiner Figure 2; the outer diameter of middle part is shown to be less than the forward and aft parts in Examiner Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Beck discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies (81 fig. 8) includes lubricant supply holes (see plurality of lubricant ducts 81d in fig. 8) that are configured to transfer lubricant to an interface with an inner surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (the ducts 81d are shown to feed oil from an inner surface of bearing 81 to the inner surface of planet gear 80 in fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 17, Beck discloses a turbine engine assembly (1 fig. 1) comprising:
a static engine structure (“the ring gear is attached to the engine casing or stator 5” pr. 57);
a fan section (fan S shown to have plurality of blades fig. 1) including a plurality of blades rotatable about an axis (see axis X fig. 1);
a fan drive gear system (reduction gear 6 fig. 1) including:
a sun gear (70 fig. 7) configured to be driven by an engine shaft (LP shaft 30 fig. 4; “sun gear 70 comprises internal splines 70 a for coupling with the LP shaft 30 as well as an external toothing 70 b for meshing with the planet gears 80” pr. 79) rotatable about an axis (axis X fig. 6);
a plurality of compound intermediate gears (see plurality of planet gears 80 fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears includes a first gear portion (first toothing 82 fig. 7) comprises engaged to the sun gear (see external toothing 70b of sun gear 70 meshed with first toothing 82 of the planet gears 80 in fig. 6) and a second gear portion (see second toothing 84 fig. 7), the first gear portion comprises a first diameter (see diameter defined by the first toothing 82 in figs. 6-7), the second gear portion comprises a second diameter (see diameter defined by the second toothing 84 in figs. 6-7) that is less than the first diameter (diameter of 84 shown to be smaller than that of 82 in figs. 6-7), and the second gear portion comprises a forward gear portion (forward series of teeth 84d1 fig. 7) and an aft gear portion (aft series of 84d2 fig. 7);
a ring gear assembly (see ring gear 90 fig. 6) including a forward ring gear (see forward ring gear in fig. 6; labeled as 90a in similar fig. 5) engaged to the forward gear portion (84d1 of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (shown in figs. 6-7) and an aft ring gear (see aft ring gear in fig. 6; labeled as 90b in similar fig. 5) engaged to the aft gear portion (84d2 of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7) of each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (shown in figs. 6-7);
a carrier (planet gear carrier 100 fig. 6) supporting rotation of the plurality of intermediate gears (80 fig. 6; 100 shown to support rotation of planet gears 80 in figs. 6-7); and
a plurality of journal bearing assemblies (hydrodynamic bearings 81 fig. 7, shown to be formed as journal bearings in fig. 7) corresponding with the plurality of compound intermediate gears (“each of the planet gears 80 is guided in rotation by a hydrodynamic bearing 81” pr. 90), wherein each of the plurality of journal bearings (81 fig. 7) includes a forward portion (see forward part in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the forward gear portion (84d1 fig. 7), an aft portion (see aft part in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the aft gear portion (84d2 fig. 7), and a middle portion (see middle part in Examiner Figure 2).; and
a fan drive shaft (see fan drive shaft 4 fig. 1) coupled to the carrier (see fig. 2; “the planet carrier 10 is attached to the fan shaft 4” pr. 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck, as applied to claims 1 and 17 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Beck discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein the ring gear assembly (90 figs. 6-7) includes a forward web portion (see forward web in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the forward ring gear (84d1 in fig. 7; shown to be supported by forward web in Examiner Figure 2) and an aft web portion (see aft web in Examiner Figure 2)supporting the aft ring gear (84d2 in fig. 7; shown to be supported by aft web in Examiner Figure 2).
However, Beck fails to explicitly anticipate wherein each of the forward web portion and the aft web portion include an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘each of the forward web portion and the aft web portion [including] an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Beck would perform equally well with the forward web and the aft web in Examiner Figure 2 having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Beck such that the axial width of the forward web and the aft web in Examiner Figure 2 is between 10% and 25% of the axial widths of the forward ring gear and aft ring gears. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 18, Beck discloses the turbine engine assembly as recited in claim 17, wherein the ring gear assembly (90 figs. 6-7) includes a forward web portion (see forward web in Examiner Figure 2) supporting the forward ring gear (84d1 in fig. 7; shown to be supported by forward web in Examiner Figure 2) and an aft web portion (see aft web in Examiner Figure 2)supporting the aft ring gear (84d2 in fig. 7; shown to be supported by aft web in Examiner Figure 2).
However, Beck fails to explicitly anticipate wherein each of the forward web portion and the aft web portion include an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘each of the forward web portion and the aft web portion [including] an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Beck would perform equally well with the forward web and the aft web in Examiner Figure 2 having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Beck such that the axial width of the forward web and the aft web in Examiner Figure 2 is 10% between 25% of the axial widths of the forward ring gear and aft ring gears. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 4-6, 9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brillon, as applied to claims 1, 8 and 17 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Brillon discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, an axial clearance between the first gear portion and each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear (see axial clearance between the outer portion 24a and the forward and aft rings 26 in figs. 2-3) but fails to anticipate wherein an axial clearance between the first gear portion and each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear is between 0.08 inches and 0.18 inches.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘having the axial clearance between the first gear portion and each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear be between 0.08 inches and 0.18 inches’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon is capable of being scaled up or down so as to meet the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in size/dimension to modify Brillon such that the axial clearance between the first gear portion and each of the forward ring gear and the aft ring gear is between 0.08 inches and 0.18 inches. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 5, Brillon discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see planet gears 24 in figs. 2-3) includes a web portion (see vertical web of planet gears 24 (best shown in fig. 3), which supports the larger planet gear 24a on the rest the planet gear) supporting the first gear portion (24a fig. 3), and the first web portion includes an axial width (see axial width of vertical web for larger planet 24a in fig. 3), [and] an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion (see axial width of the gear face of larger planet 24a in fig. 3).
However, Brillon fails to anticipate that the axial width of the first web portion is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion.
Since the specification does not discloses that the ‘first web portion includes an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon would perform equally well with the web of planet 24a in fig. 3 having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Brillon such that the axial width of the first web portion for planet 24a in fig. 3 is between 10% and 25% of the axial width of the gear face of planet 24a in fig. 3. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 6, Brillon as modified above comprises the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 5, where the web portion (see vertical web that connects larger planet 24a to the rest of the planet gear 24 in fig. 3) is axially spaced from each of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion a distance (the vertical web for 24a is shown to be axially spaced from each of the smaller planets 24b and 24c by a distance in fig. 3).
However, Brillon as previously modified fails to teach where the web portion is axially spaced from each of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion a distance that is between 0.75 inches and 1.25 inches.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘the distance which the web portion is axially spaced from each of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion being between 0.75 inches and 1.25 inches’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon is capable of being scaled up or down so as to meet the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in size/dimension to modify Brillon such that the distance which the first web portion is axially spaced from each of the forward gear portion and aft gear portion is between 0.75 inches and 1.25 inches. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 9, Brillon discloses the fan drive gear system as recited in claim 8, wherein each of the forward portion and the aft portion (see forward and rear portions of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies (see 28 in fig. 2 and 30 in Examiner Figure 1) comprises a gear bearing surface (see contact surfaces 46 in Examiner Figure 1) with an axial width (see axial width of contact surfaces 46 in Examiner Figure 1) [and] an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion (see axial width of the corresponding 24b or 24c to the contact surfaces 46 in fig. 7; “the journal shaft 30 includes a plurality of contact surfaces or journal lands 46 (illustratively two contact surfaces 46) for supporting the rotating part, illustratively the three planet gears 24 a, 24 b, 24 c” pr. 20).
However, Brillon fails to anticipate wherein [the axial width of the gear bearing surface of] each of the forward portion and the aft portion [matches] an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘the axial width of the gear bearing surface of each of the forward portion and the aft portion matching an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon would perform equally well having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Brillon such the axial width of the gear bearing surface of each of the forward portion and the aft portion matching an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 19, Brillon discloses the turbine engine assembly as recited in claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of compound intermediate gears (see planet gears 24 in figs. 2-3) includes a web portion (see vertical web of planet gears 24 (best shown in fig. 3), which supports the larger planet gear 24a on the rest the planet gear) supporting the first gear portion (24a fig. 3), wherein the first web portion includes an axial width (see axial width of vertical web for larger planet 24a in fig. 3), [and] an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion (see axial width of the gear face of larger planet 24a in fig. 3).
However, Brillon fails to anticipate that the axial width of the first web portion is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion.
Since the specification does not discloses that the ‘first web portion includes an axial width that is between 10% and 25% of an axial width of a gear face of the first gear portion’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon would perform equally well with the web of planet 24a in fig. 3 having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Brillon such that the axial width of the first web portion for planet 24a in fig. 3 is between 10% and 25% of the axial width of the gear face of planet 24a in fig. 3. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 20, Brillon discloses the turbine engine assembly as recited in claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies (see journal shaft 30 fig. 3 or fig. 7) includes a forward portion (see forward portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the forward gear portion (shown to correspond with 24b in Examiner Figure 1), an aft portion (see rear portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) supporting the aft gear portion (shown to corresponds with 24c in Examiner Figure 1 and in fig. 3 or fig. 7), and a middle portion (see middle portion of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) and wherein each of the forward portion and the aft portion (see forward and rear portions of 30 in Examiner Figure 1) includes a gear bearing surface (see contact surfaces 46 in Examiner Figure 1) with an axial width (see axial width of contact surfaces 46 in Examiner Figure 1) [and] an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion (see axial width of the corresponding 24b or 24c to the contact surfaces 46 in fig. 7; “the journal shaft 30 includes a plurality of contact surfaces or journal lands 46 (illustratively two contact surfaces 46) for supporting the rotating part, illustratively the three planet gears 24 a, 24 b, 24 c” pr. 20).
However, Brillon fails to anticipate wherein [the axial width of the gear bearing surface of] each of the forward portion and the aft portion [matches] an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion.
Since the specification does not discloses that ‘the axial width of the gear bearing surface of each of the forward portion and the aft portion matching an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion’ solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the apparatus of Brillon would perform equally well having the claimed dimension, it would have been an obvious matter of changes in dimension to modify Brillon such the axial width of the gear bearing surface of each of the forward portion and the aft portion matching an axial width of a corresponding one of the forward gear portion and the aft gear portion. See section IV. A. “Changes in Size/Proportion” in MPEP 2144.04.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), double patenting rejections and/or claim objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 11-14, no prior art was found which anticipated or rendered obvious the invention of these claims. Particularly, “wherein each of the forward portion and the aft portion of the plurality of journal bearing assemblies comprises an outer undercut and an inner undercut, the outer undercut facing axially outward and the inner undercut facing axially inward toward the middle portion” in context of all preceding limitations. While Brillon does present undercuts, it only provides outer undercuts on the forward and aft portions of the journal bearings. No motivation was found to modify Brillon or Beck to have inner and outer undercuts for both their forward portions and their aft portions without changing the principal structure of operation for these references. While references were found which presented a journal bearing with two outer undercuts (see US 6964155 and US 12084981, US 11592103), they were provided on only one portion which spanned most of the axial length of the bearing. Due to this, it would not have been obvious to have modified the forward and aft portions of a reference to have the inner and outer undercuts. As such, these claims are deemed to contain allowable subject matter over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11209045 and US 11739829 - US patent grants of prior art cited above.
US 20230358178 – goes into different variations for ring design of a ring gear assembly of a planetary gear system.
US 12066095 – discloses a planetary gear system with intermediate component gears supported by journal bearings, the journal bearings having a semi-circular undercut and an annular groove centrally located.
/W.L.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745