DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-20 are pending; claims 1 and 11 are independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 12/31/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0201727 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki (US 2015/0261257).
Regarding claim 11, Yamazaki teaches an electronic device (figs 1A-C, figs figs 2A-C and fig. 4, fig. 14B a data processing device 100) comprising:
a display device configured to display an image (figs 1A-C, fig. 4, a display portion 130 and Paras 0077-0078);
an image signal processor configured to control an image display timing of the display device (fig. 4, an arithmetic device 110 and Para 0069); and
a power module configured to provide a power signal to the display device (fig. 7B, fig. 14, a battery 110B and Para 0213),
wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel a display panel (figs 1A-C and a display panel 130P) comprising a first display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_13), a second display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) that is folded with the first display unit in an in-folding manner (fig. 1B and Para 0051), and a third display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_11) that is folded with the second display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) in an out-folding manner (fig. 1B/C and Para 0051);
a touch sensing unit arranged on a front surface of the first to third display units and configured to sense a user touch (1A-C and Para 0064, wherein the touch sensor may be placed on the display surface side of the display panel 130P, or the touch sensor and the display panel 130P may be integrated into one unit. In other words, either of an on-cell touch panel or an in-cell touch panel may be employed); and
a display driving circuit configured to control an image display operation of pixels arranged in the first to third display units (fig. 1A-C and Paras 0038-0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 2015/0261257), and further in view of Kim (US 2016/0140887).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a display device (figs 1A-C, fig. 4 and a display portion130) comprising:
a display panel (figs 1A-C and a display panel 130P) comprising a first display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_13), a second display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) that is folded with the first display unit in an in-folding manner (fig. 1B and Para 0051), and a third display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_11) that is folded with the second display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) in an out-folding manner (fig. 1B/C and Para 0051);
a touch sensing unit arranged on a front surface of the first to third display units and configured to sense a user touch (1A-C and Para 0064, wherein the touch sensor may be placed on the display surface side of the display panel 130P, or the touch sensor and the display panel 130P may be integrated into one unit. In other words, either of an on-cell touch panel or an in-cell touch panel may be employed); and
a display driving circuit configured to control an image display operation of pixels arranged in the first to third display units (fig. 1A-C and Paras 0038-0040),
wherein each of the second display unit and the third display unit comprises a front surface and a rear surface through which light is transmitted visible temporarily and permanently through each of the first region 131_11, (a third display unit, as claimed), the first bendable region 131_21, the second region 131_12 (a second display unit, as claimed), the second bendable region 131_22).
Yamazaki does not expressly disclose light is transmitted based on a number and a size of light transmissive holes formed in a corresponding display area.
However, Kim “light is transmitted based on a number and a size of light transmissive holes formed in a corresponding display area”, see fig. 5 and Paras 0091-0092.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified a display device of Yamazaki with the teaching of Kim to form a plurality of through-holes in the black matrix area and may be disposed in the space between two respective pixels, so a light entering one surface of the OLED panel may be transmitted straight to an opposite side of the OLED panel through the plurality of through-holes in order for the user to be able to see objects located in front of the user when the OLED panel is present in front of user's eyes.
Claim(s) 2-7 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 2015/0261257), in view of Kim (US 2016/0140887), and further in view of Liu (US 2023/0307426).
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display unit is configured to display an image through a first display area extending in one direction of the first display area (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_13, Para 0051 and 0053, Yamazaki),
wherein the second display unit extends in one direction of the first folding area, and is configured to display an image through a second display area through which light is transmitted to the front and rear surfaces of the second display unit, and a second folding area extending in one direction of the second display area (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_12, Paras 0046, 0051 and 0053, Yamazaki), and
wherein the third display unit extends in one direction of the second folding area, and is configured to display an image through a third display area through which light is transmitted to the front and rear surfaces of the third display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_11, Paras 0046, 0051 and 0053, Yamazaki).
Yamazaki in view of Kim does not expressly disclose the first display unit is configured to display an image through a first display area through which external light is not transmitted.
However, Liu discloses “external light is not transmitted”, or opaque display panel , see fig. 2 and para 0060 a display panel 10 includes a substrate 100 which may be opaque (fig. 2 and para 0060).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim with the teaching of Liu to substitute a substrate of display panel with opaque substrate to prevent the external light to transmit through the display panel , as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first folding area is formed in an in-folding structure in which the first display area of the first display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_13) and the second display area of the second display unit (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) are inwardly arranged to face each other (fig. 1B and Para 0051, Yamazaki) and
wherein the second folding area is formed in an out-folding structure in which the second display area (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_12) and the third display area (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_11) are outwardly arranged so that the rear surfaces of the second display area and the third display area face each other (fig. 1B/C and Para 0051, Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first display area comprises a plurality of first unit pixels arranged in a matrix structure, comprising first to third subpixels or first to fourth subpixels, and is configured to display an image through the plurality of first unit pixels arranged in the matrix structure (Paras 0062-0063, wherein 1080.times.1920 pixels may be arranged in a matrix in the short side and long side directions of the display region 131 such that an image that conforms to the standard of full high vision broadcast can be displayed. Each of the pixels 302 includes a sub-pixel 302R, a sub-pixel 302G, and a sub-pixel 302B (fig. 9C and Paras 00257-0258, Yamazaki),
wherein the second and third display areas comprise a plurality of second unit pixels arranged in a matrix structure, comprising first to third subpixels and wherein the plurality of second unit pixels are configured to display an image through the first to third subpixels (Paras 0062-0063, wherein 1080.times.1920 pixels may be arranged in a matrix in the short side and long side directions of the display region 131 such that an image that conforms to the standard of full high vision broadcast can be displayed. Each of the pixels 302 includes a sub-pixel 302R, a sub-pixel 302G, and a sub-pixel 302B (fig. 9C and Paras 00257-0258, Yamazaki), and
at least one light transmissive hole, and to transmit light in front and rear directions through the light transmissive hole (fig. 5 and Paras 0091-0092, Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein each of the second and third display units comprises a transparent substrate, through which light is transmitted, as a base substrate (fig. 1A and Para 0031, Yamazaki), and
wherein the first display unit comprises an opaque substrate, through which external light is not transmitted, as a base substrate (fig. 2 and para 0060, Liu).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the display driving circuit is configured to: arrange first image data to display a first image according to a light non-transmissive area through the first display area and the first folding area (fig. 5, step 6, step 7 and Paras 014-012, wherein in the case where transparent display is not performed and the image data V by which the second image fits the first region 131_11 is generated. In Para 0149, wherein the second image may be displayed on the region other than the first region 131_11 (FIG. 3C) based on the number of the folded state for example the third region 131_13 Yamazaki),
arrange second image data to display a second image according to a light transmissive area through the second display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded, align image data in at least one frame unit by arranging third image data to display a third image according to a light transmissive area through the third display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded (fig. 5, step 8 and Para 0146, wherein the third image is displayed on the first region 131_11 (the third display area, as claimed) and the second region 131_12 (the second display area, as claimed). Here, the image on the second region 131_12 is visible through the first region 131_11. However, in this case, the image on the second region 131_12 is viewed from the side opposite to the side on which the first display is performed, Yamazaki),
modulate a portion of the image data aligned in at least one frame unit, comprising the first to third image data, which corresponds to at least one horizontal line, into analog data voltages, and sequentially supply the analog data voltages to first to third subpixels of the first display area, the first folding area, the second display area, and the third display area (fig. 5, step 5 and Para 0139, wherein the first image is displayed on the first region 131_11, the second region 131_12, the third region 131_13, the first bendable region 131_21, and the second bendable region 131_22, Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the display driving circuit arranges first image data to display a first image according to a light non-transmissive area through the first display area and the first folding area (fig. 5, step 6, step 7 and Paras 014-012, wherein in the case where transparent display is not performed and the image data V by which the second image fits the first region 131_11 is generated. In Para 0149, wherein the second image may be displayed on the region other than the first region 131_11 (FIG. 3C) based on the number of the folded state for example the third region 131_13 Yamazaki),
arranges second image data to display a second image according to a light transmissive area in the second display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded, and aligns image data in at least one frame unit by arranging third image data to display a background image of a preset low gray scale or a background image of a black gray scale as a third image in the third display area or a preset partial area of the third display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded (fig. 5, step 8 and Para 0146, wherein the third image is displayed on the first region 131_11 (the third display area, as claimed) and the second region 131_12 (the second display area, as claimed). Here, the image on the second region 131_12 is visible through the first region 131_11. However, in this case, the image on the second region 131_12 is viewed from the side opposite to the side on which the first display is performed. Paras 0167-0170, wherein the image data V by which the fourth image containing text data is displayed outside the first image or the second image may be generated and displayed. Text data or the like may be superimposed on the first image or the second image, Yamazaki),
modulates a portion of the image data aligned in at least one frame unit, comprising the first to third image data, which corresponds to at least one horizontal line, into analog data voltages, and sequentially supplies the analog data voltages to first to third subpixels of the first display area, the first folding area, the second display area, and the third display area (fig. 5, step 5 and Para 0139, wherein the first image is displayed on the first region 131_11, the second region 131_12, the third region 131_13, the first bendable region 131_21, and the second bendable region 131_22, Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein each of the second display unit and the third display unit comprise a front surface and a rear surface through which light is transmitted visible temporarily and permanently through each of the first region 131_11, (a third display unit, as claimed), the first bendable region 131_21, the second region 131_12 (a second display unit, as claimed), the second bendable region 131_22),
wherein the first display unit is configured to display an image through a first display area Yamazaki),
wherein the second display unit extends in one direction of the first folding area, and is configured to display an image through a second display area through which light is transmitted to the front surface and a rear surface of the second display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_12, Paras 0046, 0051 and 0053, Yamazaki), and
a second folding area extending in one direction of the second display area, and wherein the third display unit extends in one direction of the second folding area, and is configured to display an image through a third display area through which light is transmitted to the front surface and a rear surface of the third display unit (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_11, Paras 0046, 0051 and 0053, Yamazaki).
Yamazaki does not expressly disclose light is transmitted based on a number and a size of light transmissive holes formed in a corresponding display area.
However, Kim “light is transmitted based on a number and a size of light transmissive holes formed in a corresponding display area”, see fig. 5 and Paras 0091-0092.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki with the teaching of Kim to form a plurality of through-holes in the black matrix area and may be disposed in the space between two respective pixels, so a light entering one surface of the OLED panel may be transmitted straight to an opposite side of the OLED panel through the plurality of through-holes in order for the user to be able to see objects located in front of the user when the OLED panel is present in front of user's eyes.
Yamazaki in view of Kim does not expressly disclose the first display unit is configured to display an image through a first display area through which external light is not transmitted.
However, Liu discloses “external light is not transmitted”, or opaque display panel , see fig. 2 and para 0060 a display panel 10 includes a substrate 100 which may be opaque (fig. 2 and para 0060).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim with the teaching of Liu to substitute a substrate of display panel with opaque substrate to prevent the external light to transmit through the display panel , as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first folding area (figs 1A-C, a third region 131_13) is formed in an in-folding structure in which the first display area of the first display unit and the second display area (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) of the second display unit are inwardly arranged to face each other (fig. 1B and Para 0051, Yamazaki) and
wherein the second folding area (figs 1A-C, a second region 131_12) is formed in an out-folding structure in which the second display area and the third display area(figs 1A-C, a second region 131_11) are outwardly arranged so that the rear surfaces of the second display area and the third display area face each other (fig. 1B/C and Para 0051, Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the first display area comprises a plurality of first unit pixels arranged in a matrix structure, comprising first to third subpixels or first to fourth subpixels, and is configured to display an image through the plurality of first unit pixels arranged in the matrix structure (Paras 0062-0063, wherein 1080.times.1920 pixels may be arranged in a matrix in the short side and long side directions of the display region 131 such that an image that conforms to the standard of full high vision broadcast can be displayed. Each of the pixels 302 includes a sub-pixel 302R, a sub-pixel 302G, and a sub-pixel 302B (fig. 9C and Paras 00257-0258, Yamazaki),
wherein the second and third display areas comprise a plurality of second unit pixels arranged in a matrix structure, comprising first to third subpixels, and wherein the plurality of second unit pixels are configured to display an image through the first to third subpixels (Paras 0062-0063, wherein 1080.times.1920 pixels may be arranged in a matrix in the short side and long side directions of the display region 131 such that an image that conforms to the standard of full high vision broadcast can be displayed. Each of the pixels 302 includes a sub-pixel 302R, a sub-pixel 302G, and a sub-pixel 302B (fig. 9C and Paras 00257-0258, Yamazaki), and.
at least one light transmissive hole, and to transmit light in front and rear directions through the light transmissive hole (fig. 5 and Paras 0091-0092, Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein each of the second and third display units comprises a transparent substrate, through which light is transmitted, as a base substrate (fig. 1A and Para 0031, Yamazaki), and
wherein the first display unit comprises an opaque substrate, through which external light is not transmitted, as a base substrate (fig. 2 and para 0060, Liu).
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the display driving circuit is configured to: arrange first image data to display a first image according to a light non-transmissive area through the first display area and the first folding area (fig. 5, step 6, step 7 and Paras 014-012, wherein in the case where transparent display is not performed and the image data V by which the second image fits the first region 131_11 is generated. In Para 0149, wherein the second image may be displayed on the region other than the first region 131_11 (FIG. 3C) based on the number of the folded state for example the third region 131_13 Yamazaki),
arrange second image data to display a second image according to a light transmissive area through the second display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded, align image data in at least one frame unit by arranging third image data to display a third image according to a light transmissive area through the third display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded (fig. 5, step 8 and Para 0146, wherein the third image is displayed on the first region 131_11 (the third display area, as claimed) and the second region 131_12 (the second display area, as claimed). Here, the image on the second region 131_12 is visible through the first region 131_11. However, in this case, the image on the second region 131_12 is viewed from the side opposite to the side on which the first display is performed, Yamazaki),
modulate a portion of the image data aligned in at least one frame unit, comprising the first to third image data, which corresponds to at least one horizontal line, into analog data voltages, and sequentially supply the analog data voltages to first to third subpixels of the first display area, the first folding area, the second display area, and the third display area (fig. 5, step 5 and Para 0139, wherein the first image is displayed on the first region 131_11, the second region 131_12, the third region 131_13, the first bendable region 131_21, and the second bendable region 131_22, Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 17, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the display driving circuit arranges first image data to display a first image according to a light non-transmissive area through the first display area and the first folding area (fig. 5, step 6, step 7 and Paras 014-012, wherein in the case where transparent display is not performed and the image data V by which the second image fits the first region 131_11 is generated. In Para 0149, wherein the second image may be displayed on the region other than the first region 131_11 (FIG. 3C) based on the number of the folded state for example the third region 131_13 Yamazaki),
arranges second image data to display a second image according to a light transmissive area in the second display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded, aligns image data in at least one frame unit by arranging third image data to display a background image of a preset low gray scale or a background image of a black gray scale as a third image in the third display area or a preset partial area of the third display area among the second and third display areas that overlap each other and are folded (fig. 5, step 8 and Para 0146, wherein the third image is displayed on the first region 131_11 (the third display area, as claimed) and the second region 131_12 (the second display area, as claimed). Here, the image on the second region 131_12 is visible through the first region 131_11. However, in this case, the image on the second region 131_12 is viewed from the side opposite to the side on which the first display is performed. Paras 0167-0170, wherein the image data V by which the fourth image containing text data is displayed outside the first image or the second image may be generated and displayed. Text data or the like may be superimposed on the first image or the second image, Yamazaki),
modulates a portion of the image data aligned in at least one frame unit, comprising the first to third image data, which corresponds to at least one horizontal line, into analog data voltages, and sequentially supplies the analog data voltages to first to third subpixels of the first display area, the first folding area, the second display area, and the third display area (fig. 5, step 5 and Para 0139, wherein the first image is displayed on the first region 131_11, the second region 131_12, the third region 131_13, the first bendable region 131_21, and the second bendable region 131_22, Yamazaki).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 2015/0261257), in view of Kim (US 2016/0140887), in view of Liu (US 2023/0307426), and further in view of Seong (US 2024/0215404).
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, but Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu does not expressly wherein at least one reflective electrode is further formed at an outmost portion of the second and third display areas, at each subpixel being arranged adjacent to the outmost portion in a preset number unit, and at a side adjacent to each subpixel, and wherein a portion of the reflective electrode overlaps a pixel electrode formed in a light emission area of each subpixel or surrounds at least one outer side of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area, thereby reflecting light emitted from the light emission area in front and side directions.
However, Seong discloses wherein at least one reflective electrode is further formed at an outmost portion of the second and third display areas, at each subpixel being arranged adjacent to the outmost portion in a preset number unit, and at a side adjacent to each subpixel, and wherein a portion of the reflective electrode overlaps a pixel electrode formed in a light emission area of each subpixel or surrounds at least one outer side of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area, thereby reflecting light emitted from the light emission area in front and side directions, see fig. 3, the reflective electrode 117, Paras 0106 and Paras 0120-0122.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu with the teaching of Seong to include a reflective electrode overlapping a pixel electrode, wherein the light directed toward the reflective portion can be reflected by the reflective electrode disposed in the first area and emitted to the light emission area of the subpixel for emitting light. Therefore, the display can further increase light efficiency in the light emission area (Para 0110), as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki in view of Kim, in view of Liu and in view of Seong teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the at least one reflective electrode comprises a metal material that is the same as that of the pixel electrode (fig. 3 and Para 0113, wherein the pixel electrode 114 can be made of at least one of a transparent metal material and in Para 0123, the reflective electrode 117 can be made of a metal material, Seong), and
wherein the at least one reflective electrode is arranged to partially overlap the pixel electrode and a pixel defining layer in a front direction of the pixel electrode, or is formed and arranged to surround at least one outer side and front surface of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area on the front surface of the light emission area (fig. 3, the reflective electrode 117, Paras 0106 and Paras 0120-0122, Seong).
Regarding claim 18, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 12, but Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu does not expressly wherein at least one reflective electrode is further formed at an outmost portion of the second and third display areas, at each subpixel being arranged adjacent to the outmost portion in a preset number unit, and at a side adjacent to each subpixel, and wherein a portion of the reflective electrode overlaps a pixel electrode formed in a light emission area of each subpixel or surrounds at least one outer side of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area, thereby reflecting light emitted from the light emission area in front and side directions.
However, Seong discloses “wherein at least one reflective electrode is further formed at an outmost portion of the second and third display areas, at each subpixel being arranged adjacent to the outmost portion in a preset number unit, and at a side adjacent to each subpixel, and wherein a portion of the reflective electrode overlaps a pixel electrode formed in a light emission area of each subpixel or surrounds at least one outer side of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area, thereby reflecting light emitted from the light emission area in front and side directions”, see fig. 3, the reflective electrode 117, Paras 0106 and Paras 0120-0122.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu with the teaching of Seong to include a reflective electrode overlapping a pixel electrode, wherein the light directed toward the reflective portion can be reflected by the reflective electrode disposed in the first area and emitted to the light emission area of the subpixel for emitting light. Therefore, the display can further increase light efficiency in the light emission area (Para 0110), as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 19, Yamazaki in view of Kim, in view of Liu and in view of Seong teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the at least one reflective electrode comprises a metal material that is the same as that of the pixel electrode (fig. 3 and Para 0113, wherein the pixel electrode 114 can be made of at least one of a transparent metal material and in Para 0123, the reflective electrode 117 can be made of a metal material, Seong), and
wherein the at least one reflective electrode is arranged to partially overlap the pixel electrode and a pixel defining layer in a front direction of the pixel electrode, or is formed and arranged to surround at least one outer side and front surface of the light emission area while partially overlapping the light emission area on the front surface of the light emission area (fig. 3, the reflective electrode 117, Paras 0106 and Paras 0120-0122, Seong).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 2015/0261257), in view of Kim (US 2016/0140887), in view of Liu (US 2023/0307426), and further in view of Radivojevic (US 2013/0106758).
Regarding claim 10, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the touch sensing unit further comprises a pressure sensing element (fig. 4 and para 0098, wherein the sensor portion 150 may sense a pressure, Yamazaki),
Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu does not expressly a pressure sensing element comprising first and second electrodes arranged to face each other with a touch insulating layer interposed between the first and second electrodes, and wherein the display driving circuit is configured to supply a vibration driving signal to a vibration generating module in response to a pressure sensing signal from the pressure sensing element.
However, Radivojevic discloses “a pressure sensing element comprising first and second electrodes arranged to face each other with a touch insulating layer interposed between the first and second electrodes, and wherein the display driving circuit is configured to supply a vibration driving signal to a vibration generating module in response to a pressure sensing signal from the pressure sensing element”, fig. 2a and Paras 0104-0106.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu with the teaching of Radivojevic to include an electro tactile system. The device comprises an electronic display 203, an electrically conducting layer, an electrically insulating layer 205 and a power supply 206, the electrically insulating layer 205 positioned between a user of the device and the electro tactile layer 204. The electrostatic force generated by the charge on the electro tactile layer 204 attracts the charge on the user 207 causing movement of the user's skin, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 20, Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the touch sensing unit further comprises a pressure sensing element (fig. 4 and para 0098, wherein the sensor portion 150 may sense a pressure, Yamazaki),
Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu does not expressly a pressure sensing element comprising first and second electrodes arranged to face each other with a touch insulating layer interposed between the first and second electrodes, and wherein the display driving circuit is configured to supply a vibration driving signal to a vibration generating module in response to a pressure sensing signal from the pressure sensing element.
However, Radivojevic discloses “a pressure sensing element comprising first and second electrodes arranged to face each other with a touch insulating layer interposed between the first and second electrodes, and wherein the display driving circuit is configured to supply a vibration driving signal to a vibration generating module in response to a pressure sensing signal from the pressure sensing element”, fig. 2a and Paras 0104-0106.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display device of Yamazaki in view of Kim and in view of Liu with the teaching of Radivojevic to include an electro tactile system. The device comprises an electronic display 203, an electrically conducting layer, an electrically insulating layer 205 and a power supply 206, the electrically insulating layer 205 positioned between a user of the device and the electro tactile layer 204. The electrostatic force generated by the charge on the electro tactile layer 204 attracts the charge on the user 207 causing movement of the user's skin, as a known technique to yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
King (US 2010/0066643), related to indicating direction and location of graphical user interface elements. An electronic device includes a second display surface separated from the first display surface by a gap. The method also includes determining that at least a portion of the graphical user interface element is to be moved beyond an edge of the first display surface into the gap such that the at least a portion of the graphical user element will not be displayed at the first display surface.
Matsumoto (US 10,452,104), relates to an object, a method, or a manufacturing method. In addition, the present invention relates to a process, a machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter. In particular, the present invention relates to, for example, a human interface, a semiconductor device, a display device, a light-emitting device, a power storage device, a driving method thereof, or a manufacturing method thereof.
/S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 8/3/2026
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625