Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: OPTICAL SENSING DEVICE WITH ROUNDED CORNER ELECTRODE PATTERN.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,054 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention is anticipated by the allowed Patent claims, as indicated below.
Currently Examined Application: 19/311,549
Issued US Patent No. 12,433,054 B2
1. An electronic device, comprising:
a first substrate;
a semiconductor element disposed on the first substrate;
a first inorganic layer disposed between the first substrate and the semiconductor element, wherein the first inorganic layer has a first surface adjacent to the semiconductor element, a second surface opposite to the first surface and a through-hole penetrating from the first surface to the second surface;
a conductive element disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein, in a cross-sectional view of the electronic device,
a first electrode disposed between the first substrate and the first inorganic layer;
a second electrode having a first portion disposed on the second surface of the first inorganic layer and a second portion disposed in the through-hole of the first inorganic layer; and
the first portion of the second electrode has a rounded corner.
1. A sensing device, comprising:
a driving substrate, comprising a first substrate and a plurality of driving circuits disposed on the first substrate, each of the plurality of driving circuits comprising a plurality of thin-film transistors, wherein a material of the first substrate comprises glass or polyimide;
a sensing module bonded to the driving substrate,
the sensing module comprising a second substrate, a plurality of sensing elements and a passivation layer disposed on the second substrate, wherein the second substrate is an epitaxial substrate;
(noting commonly known structure of penetrating through-hole in the art)
a plurality of bonding pads, wherein the sensing module is bonded to the driving substrate through the plurality of bonding pads; and
a plurality of first electrodes disposed on the driving substrate and
a plurality of second electrodes disposed on the sensing module, wherein the plurality of bonding pads are disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes, wherein each of the plurality of driving circuits is electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of sensing elements, wherein the bonding pad has a first width, the first electrode has a second width, and the second electrode has a third width, and the first width is greater than or equal to the second width, and the first width is greater than or equal to the third width, wherein a pitch between the plurality of sensing elements is greater than or equal to 15 μm and less than or equal to 20 μm, wherein a wavelength of light penetrating the first substrate is greater than or equal to 4 μm and less than or equal to 10 μm, wherein the second electrode has a first portion disposed on a surface of the passivation layer and a second portion disposed in a through-hole of the passivation layer, and both the first portion and the second portion have a rounded corner.
Claim 2
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claim 1
Claim 5 (commonly known material used for semiconductor manufacturing)
Claim 1
Claim 6 (commonly known material used for semiconductor manufacturing)
Claim 1
Claim 7
Claim 1
Claim 8
Claim 1
Claim 9
Claim 1
Claim 10
Claim 1
Claim 11
Claim 1
Claim 12
Claim 1
Claim 13
Claim 1
Claim 14
Claim 2
Claim 15
Claim 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubota et al., US 2022/0037406 A1 (hereinafter “Kubota”).
Regarding claim 1, Kubota discloses an electronic device (FIGS. 12A-B and [0258], display device 100B), comprising:
a first substrate (FIGS. 12A-B and [0264], substate 151);
a semiconductor element disposed on the first substrate (FIGS. 12A-B and [0259]-[0268] semiconductor elements including light-receiving element 110 and light-emitting element 190);
a first inorganic layer (FIGS. 12A-B and [0260]-[0262] insulating layers 211, 213, 215 describing similar layers as being made of inorganic materials and [0228]) disposed between the first substrate and the semiconductor element (FIGS. 12A-B insulating layer 213 is between first substrate 151 and semiconductor elements 110 and 190), wherein the first inorganic layer has a first surface adjacent to the semiconductor element (FIGS. 12A-B and top surface of 213 is adjacent to the semiconductor elements 110 and 190), a second surface opposite to the first surface (FIGS. 12A-B bottom surface of 213) and a through-hole (see FIG. 12A annotated below with through hole labeled) penetrating from the first surface to the second surface (see FIG. 12A annotated below with through hole labeled);
a first electrode (165 and as annotated below) disposed between the first substrate (151) and the first inorganic layer (213 and see annotation of FIG. 12A below);
a second electrode (111) having a first portion (see FIG. 12A annotated below) disposed on the second surface of the first inorganic layer and a second portion (see FIG. 12A annotated below) disposed in the through-hole of the first inorganic layer (see FIG. 12A annotated below with through hole labeled); and
a conductive element (223 and as annotated below, alternatively 242) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (disposition of 223 is between 111 and 165 as annotated below), wherein, in a cross-sectional view of the electronic device, the first portion of the second electrode has a rounded corner (first portion of 165 has a rounded corner as it becomes a part of the through hole as annotated below).
Regarding claim 2, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), wherein the second portion of the second electrode has a rounded corner (FIG. 12A annotated above, with both sides of second electrode entering the through-hole rounded).
Regarding claim 3, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), wherein the first substrate comprises glass ([0245] with substrate 151 comprising glass).
Regarding claim 4, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), wherein the first inorganic layer comprises multiple sub-layers (Kubota at FIG. 11, and [0228] and multiple sublayers including 211 and 213 and 215).
Regarding claim 5, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 4 (see above), wherein at least one of the multiple sub-layers comprises silicon nitride (FIG. 11 and [0228] wherein inorganic insulating films may comprise silicon nitride).
Regarding claim 6, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 4 (see above), wherein at least one of the multiple sub-layers comprises silicon oxide (FIG. 11 and [0228] wherein inorganic insulating films may comprise silicon oxide).
Regarding claim 7, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above) wherein the conductive element is greater than the second electrode in width (FIGS. 11-13B and width between 223 segments would be wider than one segment 111).
Regarding claim 8, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), further comprising an organic layer (FIG. 12A and layer 214 described as organic at least at [0260]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 12A above, layer 214 is between 165 and 111).
Regarding claim 9, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 8 (see above), wherein the organic layer contacts the conductive element (FIG. 13A and [0269]-[0275] with 214 in contact with 223).
Regarding claim 10, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), further comprising a second inorganic layer disposed between the first substrate and the first electrode (FIGS. 12A and 13A and [0269]-[0275] with layer 211 and 215 between 165 and 151).
Regarding claim 11, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 10 (see above), wherein the second inorganic layer has a through-hole (FIGS. 11-13A with through holes such as within 204 penetrating 215), and the conductive element is overlapped with the through-hole of the second inorganic layer (connection layer 242 being formed similar to 223 overlaping the through hole of 204).
Regarding claim 12, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), further comprising a second substrate disposed on the semiconductor element (FIG. 12A and substrate 152 including 195 disposed on the semiconductor elements 110 and 190).
Regarding claim 13, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 12 (see above), wherein the second substrate comprises semiconductor material (FIGS. 12A-13B and [0258]-[0263] substrate 152 including 195 may be an inorganic and organic material or combination thereof, which would constitute a semiconductor material).
Regarding claim 14, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), wherein the semiconductor element is a sensing element ([0170] the light-receiving element 110 is a sensing light element).
Regarding claim 15, Kubota discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (see above), further comprising a transistor (FIGS. 11-13B and 201, 205, 206) disposed between the first substrate and the first electrode, wherein the transistor is electrically connected to the first electrode (FIGS. 12A-13B and structures 201, 205 and 206 being transistors as disclosed at [0225]-[0226] and [0269]-[0275]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nishioka et al., US 5,489,548: Abstract and FIGS. 2-14 illustrating and describing curved electrode structures therein;
Chiang et al., US 10,832,985 B2: Abstract and FIGS. 12-24C illustrating and describing sensor packaging layers with rounded connecting electrodes therein;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629