CTNF 19/311,921 CTNF 84794 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipate by Singh et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0386718) Regarding claim 1, Singh et al disclose an ultrasonic detector for a photoacoustic imaging system [see 0055]; the ultrasonic detector [see 0085] comprising: a micro-ring resonator array (230) configured to receive light emitted by a driving light source [see 0058]; the micro-ring resonator array comprising a plurality of micro-ring resonators (224a, 224b, and 224c) [see 0055, figs 2A-2D]; each respective micro-ring resonator having a respective radius that corresponds to a driving wavelength of the respective micro-ring resonator [see 0058, fig 2A], wherein the respective radius of each respective micro-ring resonator (as shown in fig 2A, resonators 224A, 22b and 225c have different radius, emphasis added) is different than the respective radii of the other micro-ring resonators [see 0055, 0058 and fig 2A] by disclosing ring resonators 224 may have equal radii, to couple light 201 of the same wavelength to their respective output couplers 220, or different radii, to couple light 201 of different wavelengths to the different output couplers 220 [see 0058]. Regarding claim 2, Singh et al disclose wherein each micro-ring resonator is configured to deform in the presence of ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from a sample [see 0050]. Regarding claim 3, Singh et al disclose a bus waveguide (bus waveguide 232) that connects each respective micro-ring resonator of the plurality of micro-ring resonators in series [see fig 2A, 0055]. Regarding claim 4, Singh et al disclose a plurality of bus waveguides, wherein each respective bus waveguide of the plurality of bus waveguides (222a, 222b, and 222c) connects, in series [see figs 2A-D, 0055]; a respective subset of micro-ring resonators of the plurality of micro-ring resonators wherein the plurality of subsets of micro-ring resonators (230a, 230b, and 230c) are connected in parallel [see fig 2A]. Regarding claim 5, Singh et al disclose wherein at least one respective bus waveguide of the plurality of bus waveguides includes an optical delay line [see fig 2A]. Regarding claim 6, Singh et al disclose an ultrasonic detection system for a photoacoustic imaging system, the ultrasonic detection system including: the ultrasonic detector (photoacoustic transducer) of claim 1 [see 0085]; a driving light source (tunable laser) [see 0052, 0058, 0085]. Regarding claim 11, Singh et al disclose a photodetector (microscale photoacoustic sensor) configured to convert optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array into electrical signals [see 0060]; processing circuitry configured to receive the electrical signals and reconstruct two-dimensional and/or three-dimensional images of a sample [see 0060]. Regarding claim 18, Singh et al disclose a pulsed laser configured to illuminate a sample with laser pulses [see 0058, 0052]; the ultrasonic detection system (photoacoustic transducer) according to claim 6, wherein the ultrasonic detector is configured to detect ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from the sample [see 0085]. Regarding claim 19, Singh et al disclose a method for photoacoustic imaging of a sample, the method comprising: providing an ultrasonic detector according to claim 1 [see 0085]; detecting, by the ultrasonic detector, ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from a sample [see 0085]; processing, by processing circuitry, electrical signals corresponding to the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array to reconstruct a two-dimensional and/or a three-dimensional image of the sample [see 0060]. Regarding claim 20, Singh et al disclose wherein the ultrasonic detector is configured to detect the ultrasonic pressure waves via intensity-based detection; or phase-based detection [see 0053] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0386718) in view of Cunningham et al (Pub. No.: US 2004/0223881) . Regarding claim 7, Singh et al disclose wherein the driving light source is a tunable light source [see 0052] or a broadband laser source comprising a wavelength filter. Singh et al don’t disclose a wavelength filter. Nonetheless, Cunningham et al disclose wavelength filter [see 0001, 0022, 0046, 0080, 0083]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Singh et al and Peled et al by using a wavelength filter; to measure the radiation spectrum reflected from a biosensor. Regarding claim 8, Singh et al disclose wherein the driving light source is a swept source laser [see 0052] configured to output a laser beam having a wavelength that varies across a range of wavelengths as a function of time [see 0052, 0058, 0076-0077]; wherein the range of wavelengths extends from a first wavelength to a second wavelength, wherein the first wavelength is at (by matching the different wavelengths; see 0052) or below a wavelength that corresponds to a shortest driving wavelength of the plurality of micro-ring resonators [see 0052, 0059, fig 16]; wherein the second wavelength is at (by matching the different wavelengths; see 0052) or above a longest driving wavelength of the plurality of micro-ring resonators [see 0052, 0059, fig 16]. Regarding claim 9, Singh et al disclose wherein the swept laser source is configured to vary the wavelength of the laser beam between respective driving wavelengths of the plurality of micro-ring resonators [see 0052. 0059, fig 16]; wherein the wavelength of the laser beam is varied (by sweeping) such that it occupies one or more off-resonance wavelengths between different respective driving wavelengths [see 0052, 0059, fig 16]. Regarding claim 10, Singh et al disclose wherein the swept laser source is a pulsed laser source configured to emit a series of pulses [see 0052. 0059, fig 16]; wherein every other pulse has a wavelength that corresponds to a driving wavelength of the plurality of micro-ring resonators [see 0052. 0059, fig 16]; wherein the swept laser source is configured to emit, between pulses that correspond to a driving wavelength of the plurality of micro-ring resonators, a pulse having a wavelength that is equal to one or more off-resonance wavelengths [see 0052. 0059, fig 16] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0386718) in view of Daryoush et al (Pub. No.: US 2024/0267001) Regarding claim 12, Singh et al don’t disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to use electrical signals corresponding to optical signals output by the micro-ring resonator array at points in time at which the wavelength of the laser beam occupies one of the one or more off-resonance wavelengths as a clock signal. Nonetheless, Daryoush et al disclose use electrical signals corresponding to optical signals output by the micro-ring resonator array at points in time at which the wavelength of the laser beam occupies one of the one or more off-resonance wavelengths as a clock signal [see 0008, 0060] Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Singh et al and Daryoush et al by using electrical signals corresponding to optical signals output by the micro-ring resonator array at points in time at which the wavelength of the laser beam occupies one of the one or more off-resonance wavelengths as a clock signal; This can improve signal uniformity across different sample regions and reduce sensitivity to small variations in sample composition or environment; off-resonance excitation can help avoid strong saturation effects that occur near resonance. This can lead to more consistent nonlinear responses across different experimental conditions. Regarding claim 13, Singh et al don’t disclose wherein the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array are modulated by photoacoustic signals emitted by a sample, wherein the photodetector converts the modulation in the optical signals into the electrical signals. Nonetheless, Daryoush et al disclose wherein the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array are modulated by photoacoustic signals emitted by a sample [see 0062, 0075] wherein the photodetector converts the modulation in the optical signals into the electrical signals [see 0062, 0075] Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Singh et al and Daryoush et al by having the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array are modulated by photoacoustic signals emitted by a sample and wherein the photodetector converts the modulation in the optical signals into the electrical signals; This allows the signal to be transmitted efficiently over long distances and through various media; Modulated signals can travel much farther without significant attenuation or distortion Regarding claim 14, Singh et al don’t disclose wherein the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator are a time-sequence of pulsed optical signals that exhibit a time-sequence of modulation with alternating high and low optical power wherein the photodetector converts the time-sequence of pulsed optical signals into the electrical signals, wherein the electrical signals are time-modulated pulsed electric signals that are used as an internal clock, by the processing circuitry, to accurately assign a component of the electrical signals to a deformation of a corresponding micro-ring resonator to the micro-ring resonator array. Nonetheless, Daryoush et al disclose wherein the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator are a time-sequence of pulsed optical signals that exhibit a time-sequence of modulation with alternating high and low optical power [see 0008, 0050]; wherein the photodetector converts the time-sequence of pulsed optical signals into the electrical signals [see 0008]; wherein the electrical signals are time-modulated pulsed electric signals that are used as an internal clock, by the processing circuitry, to accurately assign a component of the electrical signals to a deformation of a corresponding micro-ring resonator to the micro-ring resonator array [see 0008]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Singh et al and Daryoush et al by that exhibiting a time-sequence of modulation with alternating high and low optical power and converting the time-sequence of pulsed optical signals into the electrical signals; for accuracy purposes. Regarding claim 15, Singh et al don’t disclose detect phase variations in the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array, wherein the phase variations result from deformations caused by the presence of ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from a sample. Nonetheless, Daryoush et al disclose detect phase variations in the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array [see 0060]; wherein the phase variations result from deformations caused by the presence of ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from a sample [see 0060]. Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Singh et al and Daryoush et al by detecting phase variations in the optical signals output through the micro-ring resonator array and the phase variations result from deformations caused by the presence of ultrasonic pressure waves emitted from a sample; for compensation purposes. Regarding claim 16, Singh et al disclose a first photodetector port configured to receive the optical signals output by the micro-ring resonator array [see 0055, fig 2A]; wherein the ultrasonic detector further comprises a coupler waveguide configured to receive the light emitted by the driving light source and to guide the light emitted by the driving light source to a second photodetector port [see 0055, figs 2A-D]. Regarding claim 17, Singh et al disclose wherein the photodetector is a balanced photodetector including the second photodetector port, the photodetector being further configured to output second electrical signals, or the ultrasonic detector further comprises a second photodetector comprising the second photodetector port, the second photodetector being configured to output second electrical signals [see fig 2A-D]; wherein the second electrical signals correspond to second optical signals provided to the second photodetector port [see fig 2A-D]; wherein the balanced photodetector increases a signal-to-noise ratio to enhance detection sensitivity [see 0082]; further comprising processing circuitry configured to receive the electrical signals and the second electrical signals and to detect variations in the respective radius of each respective micro-ring resonator resulting from deformations caused by the presence of ultrasonic pressure wave emitted from the sample [see 0058]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOEL F BRUTUS whose telephone number is (571)270-3847. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Sat, 11:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anne Kozak can be reached at 571-270-0552. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 2 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 3 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 4 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 5 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 6 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 7 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 8 Art Unit: 3797 Application/Control Number: 19/311,921 Page 9 Art Unit: 3797