DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the application filed on 8/29/2025.
Claims 1-11 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is improper and will not be recognized. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
This application is claiming the benefit of prior-filed application No. 18/377,995 under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c). Copendency between the current application and the prior application is required at least at the time of filing the continuation in part. Since the applications were not copending, the benefit claim to the prior-filed application is improper. Applicant is required to delete the claim to the benefit of the prior-filed application, unless applicant can establish copendency between the applications. Applicant needs to correct the ADS to remove the priority claim because the continuity is not being recognized.
Applicant allowed application 18/377,995 to go abandoned on 6/24/2025. This application was filed on 8/29/2025. Therefore, the applications were not copending at the time the invention was filed. Therefore, applicant cannot claim continuity from application 18/377,995. As a result, this application is not being treated as a CIP and is instead being treated as a new application filed on 8/29/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “CMS.” While it is clear that CMS refers to the casino management system, the abbreviation should be initiated by placing it next to the term before using it. For example, “casino management system (CMS)” effectively associates the abbreviation with the term and allows for its subsequent use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recite “a transaction database” and “a transaction information database.” It is believed that these databases are one and the same. The examiner recommends making the language consistent if they are in fact meant to be the same database. See 112 rejection of claim 5 below. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the transaction database.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which it depends recites “a transaction information database.” Thus, it is unclear as to whether the applicant has included a typo, in which case it should have been “a transaction database” or if it is referring to the transaction information database of claim 1. For purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as referring to the transaction information database of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11 are directed to a method. Claim 12 is directed to a system. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 1:
initiating a transaction by using a banking entity;
using the banking entity to compute a financial transaction fee amount associated with a transaction;
using the banking entity to connect to a casino management entity via a gateway entity;
using the gateway entity to request information from the casino management entity, wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account;
if the patron account exists and is active, using the gateway entity to request a location of the bank entity and a conversion value associated with the location;
using the gateway entity to convert the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value;
using the gateway entity to send a request to the casino management entity to retrieve a current reward point balance associated with the patron account;
using the gateway entity to request from the CM entity the deduction of the reward point amount from the current reward point balance to result in an updated reward point balance;
using the gateway entity to record transaction information.
Examiner Comment:
The following limitations have no patentable weight:
“if the patron account exists and is active, using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location;”
They have little to no patentable weight because they use optional language in a method claim. The limitation is not positively recited and thus does not have to occur. (See MPEP 2111.04 | “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.”) This is not an issue in claim 12 because claim 12 is an apparatus claim. (See MPEP 2111.04 Il... The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed. The examiner will treat them as though they were positively recited for purposes of compact prosecution. The examiner recommends removing “if the patron account exists and is active” and including a limitation that positively recites the step, for example “determining the patron account exists and is active.”
Claim 12:
a banking entity located at the casino;
a gateway entity connected to the banking entity;
a casino management entity connected to the gateway entity, wherein the casino management entity comprises the following data stores:
a location data store, wherein the location data store contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate;
a transaction data store, wherein the transaction data store contains at least one of the following information fields: transaction ID, patron account number, fee cash value, number of points used, amount of comp dollars used, cash remainder used, status, date;
wherein the banking entity is configured to perform the following actions:
providing a user interface to enable a customer to initiate a transaction;
computing a financial transaction fee amount associated with a transaction;
connecting to the gateway entity;
receiving information from the gateway entity;
wherein the gateway entity is configured to perform the following actions:
requesting information from the casino management entity, wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account;
if the patron account exists and is active, requesting a location of the banking entity and a conversion value associated with the location;
converting the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value;
sending a request to the casino management entity to retrieve a current reward point balance associated with the patron account;
sending a request to the casino management entity to deduct the reward point amount from the current reward point balance to result in an updated reward point balance;
recording the transaction information in a transaction information data store.
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 2:
if the patron account does not exist, using the banking entity to display an invalid account status;
if the patron account is inactive or banned, using the banking entity to display an invalid account status.
Examiner Comment:
Claim 2 has no patentable weight for substantially the same reasons described above with regard to claim 1. The limitation is not positively recited and thus does not have to occur. (See MPEP 2111.04 | “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.”) The examiner will treat them as though they were positively recited for purposes of compact prosecution.
Claim 4:
wherein the step of using the gateway entity to request a location of the banking entity and a conversion value associated with the location comprises inquiring in a location data store,
wherein the location data store contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate,
comp dollars exchange rate.
Claim 5:
wherein the transaction data store contains at least one of the following information fields: transaction ID, patron account number, fee cash value, number of points used,
amount of comp dollars used, cash remainder used, status, date.
Claim 6:
wherein the transaction is a debit card transaction.
Claim 7:
wherein the transaction is a credit card transaction.
Claim 8:
wherein the transaction is a check cashing transaction.
Claim 9:
wherein the transaction is a cryptocurrency transaction.
The claims provide a manner of allowing a user to pay for fees incurred during a transaction using reward points. Specifically, a user can perform a transaction and based on the location the users reward points are converted into an amount to cover the fee charged by the bank for performing the transaction. The points are then deducted from the user’s point balance. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: computing device (claim 1-4, 10-12); casino management system (claim 1, 3, 4, 12); gateway (claim 1, 3, 4, 12); API method (claim 1, 12), wherein the gateway, computing device, and casino management system communicate with each other through REST API methods. (claim 3); transaction information database/ transaction database (claim 1, 5, 12); location database (claim 4, 12); wherein the computing device is a kiosk. (claim 10); wherein the computing device is an ATM. (claim 11);
The computing device, casino management system, gateway, ) transaction information database/ transaction database, and location database are recited at a high level of generality and merely “apply it” (the abstract idea) using generic computing components (see spec [0027]-[0029]). The devices merely send and receive data (request, send, communicate, providing, computing, receiving), process data (initiating, connect, convert, record), and generic displaying (display). The devices do little more than represent the parties involved in the transaction. Nothing in the claims improves upon computing devices, technology, or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Additionally, further defining the computing device as a kiosk or ATM does not go beyond the “apply it” level if implementation. Nothing in the claims improves kiosk or ATM technology or a technical field.
The use of an API method and wherein the gateway, computing device, and casino management system communicate with each other through REST API methods do not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. They are recited at a high level of generality and merely amount to sending and receiving data over a computing network. Nothing in the claims provide any meaningful detail regarding the API’s and thus there is nothing that can be considered an improvement to API technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea.
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al (US 2024/0119433) in view of Elliott et al (US 9,972,047) in view of Chandrasekaram et al (US 2012/0095820)
As per claim 1:
Gordon teaches:
A method, comprising:
initiating a transaction by using a computing device; ([0023] FIG. 1 shows a flowchart of an embodiment of the method of the present invention for use in an ATM transaction. A customer initiates an ATM transaction using their debit card. At that point, the customer is offered the choice to use cash for the transaction fee or to use their points.)
using the computing device to compute a financial transaction fee amount associated with a transaction; ([0023] If the customer chooses cash, they complete the transaction and pay the appropriate fee. If the customer chooses points/comps, the fee is increased by $2 and the casino receives a commission, plus $0.25. The remainder of the fee is split between the bank and the technology service provider, and the customer completes the transaction.)
using the computing device to connect to a casino management system via a gateway; ([0028] The casino management system server is also connected to the gateway server. [0029] The database stored on the gateway server preferably comprises information related to each customer's profile, play history, point balances, point expiration dates, and other variables relevant to a customer's use of points. [0053] The kiosk of the present invention may be an ATM or may be another kiosk designed for providing automated financial transactions to a customer. As shown in the Figure, the kiosk is connected to the server that stores the database, as well as to a bank or other financial server that provides the financial information to complete the transaction.)
using the gateway to request information from the casino management system using an API method, ([0052] he database and any applications used with it may reside on one server or multiple servers—for example, database servers, web servers, and network attached storage. The server or servers preferably communicates with the rest of the system through Origins API.)
using the gateway to send a request to the casino management system to retrieve a current reward point balance associated with the patron account; ([0055] In an embodiment of the invention, when a customer decides to use their point balance or comp balance to pay a financial services fee, the kiosk accesses the database and retrieves the customer's identifying information and point balance. See also claim 11)
using the gateway to request from the CMS the deduction of the reward point amount from the current reward point balance to result in an updated reward point balance; ([0055] If that is true, the kiosk deducts the appropriate number of points from the customer's point balance and updates the database accordingly. See also claim 11)
using the gateway to record transaction information in a transaction information database. ([0055] If that is true, the kiosk deducts the appropriate number of points from the customer's point balance and updates the database accordingly. See also claim 11)
Gordon does not expressly teach wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction}; using the gateway to convert the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value;
Elliott teaches:
wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; ([C7L15-21] To make a purchase, the customer may, for example and without limitation, swipe his or her credit card in person at the location of a merchant using a register, card payment terminal, ATM, or point of sale (POS) system, which may read the account identifier from the magnetic stripe on the card. [C10L25-53] Returning to FIG. 2, request module 108 may receive a purchase request for a purchase using a particular account. Determination module 109 may then determine whether the account is associated with a rewards program with accumulated rewards points. To do so, merchant computer system 102 may access rewards program participation data 115. Rewards program participation data 115 may include various account numbers or identifiers (e.g., BINs) and an indication as to what rewards program they are associated with (if any). FIG. 20 depicts exemplary rewards program participation data. Rewards program participation data 920 may comprise entries 909-912 for particular stored identifiers (e.g., BINs) and associated lookup information, as described herein, wherein each is given an entry number 921. It will be recognized that any type of identifier may be used to determine if the customer has any associated rewards program(s). The identifier may be associated with a payment type, such as a credit card or debit card. [C11L5-17] Again returning to FIG. 2, if merchant computer system 102 determines that the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has no associated rewards program (e.g., there is no corresponding entry in rewards program participation data 115), it may complete the customer's desired purchase transaction as requested (e.g., through well-known authorization and settlement procedures for credit cards). If, however, the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has one or more associated rewards programs (e.g., there is at least one corresponding entry in rewards program participating data 115), transaction module 111 may provide the option to pay for the transaction with the provided account or with rewards points accumulated in the associated rewards program.)
if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction} ([C11L5-17] Again returning to FIG. 2, if merchant computer system 102 determines that the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has no associated rewards program (e.g., there is no corresponding entry in rewards program participation data 115), it may complete the customer's desired purchase transaction as requested (e.g., through well-known authorization and settlement procedures for credit cards). If, however, the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has one or more associated rewards programs (e.g., there is at least one corresponding entry in rewards program participating data 115), transaction module 111 may provide the option to pay for the transaction with the provided account or with rewards points accumulated in the associated rewards program.) The {…} indicate a modification to the claim language to show what is expressly taught by Elliot. Limitations regarding conversions of reward points based on location will be addressed below.)
using the gateway to convert the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value; ([C11L67-C12L24] Merchant computer system 102 may also calculate the number of rewards points necessary to buy the requested item using conversion data, as described above, and display that information as well. For example, merchant computer system 102 may calculate the amount of rewards points that are the cash equivalent of a purchase amount based on a ratio or formula in the conversion data and display that information to the customer. [C12L47-52] Merchant computer system 102 may then process the information by determining whether the provided account has an associated rewards program with rewards points, as described herein, and provide the option to pay for the transaction with the account or with rewards points.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction}; using the gateway to convert the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value as taught by Elliot with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in order to use their reward points as currency ([C1L25-28])
Gordon in view of Elliott does not expressly teach using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location.
Chandrasekaram teaches:
using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location; ([0053] In one embodiment, the redemption rate database stores multiple redemption rates for a loyalty point. For example, the redemption rate database 402 can have one redemption rate if the loyalty point is used for goods, and another redemption rate is the loyalty point is used for services. Thus, having multiple redemption rates allow rewards program providers 110 to discharge loyalty points liability at a variable rate. For example, a rewards program provider 110 can provide a more favorable redemption rate at the end of its fiscal year if it needs to remove outstanding rewards points from its balance sheets. In one embodiment, the redemption rate database contains a different redemption rate based on the geographic location of the customer or the currency requested to redeem the loyalty points. [0063] In other embodiments, the process verifies the customer identity by retrieving user data from the data engine 318 or the accounts engine 412. For example, if a user is typically associated with a particular IP address or a geo tagging location, the user can be validated.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location as taught by Chandrasekaram with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in view of Elliott in order to increase customer engagement with a reward program and retain a customer base ([0006]) and to account for disparities in the value of currencies in different countries or regions ([0053]).
As per claim 12:
Gordon teaches:
A system for managing a financial transaction for a customer at a casino through a bank, comprising:
a computing device located at the casino; ([0003] When a customer needs to withdraw cash or to perform another financial transaction at a casino, they typically use a kiosk such as an ATM. [0005] An object of the present invention is to provide a frictionless way for customers to make cash withdrawals at a casino.)
a gateway connected to the computing device; ([0028] The casino management system server is also connected to the gateway server. [0029] The database stored on the gateway server preferably comprises information related to each customer's profile, play history, point balances, point expiration dates, and other variables relevant to a customer's use of points. [0053] The kiosk of the present invention may be an ATM or may be another kiosk designed for providing automated financial transactions to a customer. As shown in the Figure, the kiosk is connected to the server that stores the database, as well as to a bank or other financial server that provides the financial information to complete the transaction.)
a casino management system connected to the gateway, wherein the casino management system comprises the following databases ([0028] The casino management system server is also connected to the gateway server. [0029] The database stored on the gateway server preferably comprises information related to each customer's profile, play history, point balances, point expiration dates, and other variables relevant to a customer's use of points.):
a transaction database, wherein the transaction database contains at least one of the following information fields: transaction ID, patron account number, fee cash value, number of points used, amount of comp dollars used, cash remainder used, status, date; ([0029] The database stored on the gateway server preferably comprises information related to each customer's profile, play history, point balances, point expiration dates, and other variables relevant to a customer's use of points. In an embodiment, the database stores the following data for each customer: [0030] a. First Name [0031] b. Last Name [0032] c. Date of Birth [0033] d. Gender [0034] e. Address [0035] f. E-mail [0036] g. Home Phone [0037] h. Cell Phone [0038] i. Driver's License Number [0039] j. Unique Player ID [0040] k. PIN [0041] l. Interests [0042] m. Slot statistical detail [0043] n. Table game statistical detail [0044] o. Resort stay detail [0045] p. Points [0046] q. Comps [0047] r. Tier Level [0048] s. Point expiry [0049] t. Comp expiry [0050] u. Groups)
wherein the computing device is configured to perform the following actions:
providing a user interface to enable a customer to initiate a transaction; ([0023] FIG. 1 shows a flowchart of an embodiment of the method of the present invention for use in an ATM transaction. A customer initiates an ATM transaction using their debit card. At that point, the customer is offered the choice to use cash for the transaction fee or to use their points.)
computing a financial transaction fee amount associated with a transaction; ([0023] If the customer chooses cash, they complete the transaction and pay the appropriate fee. If the customer chooses points/comps, the fee is increased by $2 and the casino receives a commission, plus $0.25. The remainder of the fee is split between the bank and the technology service provider, and the customer completes the transaction.)
connecting to the gateway; ([0053] The kiosk of the present invention may be an ATM or may be another kiosk designed for providing automated financial transactions to a customer. As shown in the Figure, the kiosk is connected to the server that stores the database, as well as to a bank or other financial server that provides the financial information to complete the transaction.)
receiving information from the gateway; ([0055] In an embodiment of the invention, when a customer decides to use their point balance or comp balance to pay a financial services fee, the kiosk accesses the database and retrieves the customer's identifying information and point balance.)
requesting information from the casino management system using an API method, ([0052] The server or servers preferably communicates with the rest of the system through Origins API.)
sending a request to the casino management system to retrieve a current reward point balance associated with the patron account; ([0055] In an embodiment of the invention, when a customer decides to use their point balance or comp balance to pay a financial services fee, the kiosk accesses the database and retrieves the customer's identifying information and point balance. See also claim 11)
sending a request to the casino management system to deduct the reward point amount from the current reward point balance to result in an updated reward point balance; ([0055] If that is true, the kiosk deducts the appropriate number of points from the customer's point balance and updates the database accordingly. See also claim 11)
recording the transaction information in a transaction information database. ([0055] If that is true, the kiosk deducts the appropriate number of points from the customer's point balance and updates the database accordingly. See also claim 11)
Gordon does not expressly teach wherein the gateway is configured to perform the following actions: wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction}, converting the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value.
Elliott teaches:
wherein the gateway is configured to perform the following actions:
wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; ([C7L15-21] To make a purchase, the customer may, for example and without limitation, swipe his or her credit card in person at the location of a merchant using a register, card payment terminal, ATM, or point of sale (POS) system, which may read the account identifier from the magnetic stripe on the card. [C10L25-53] Returning to FIG. 2, request module 108 may receive a purchase request for a purchase using a particular account. Determination module 109 may then determine whether the account is associated with a rewards program with accumulated rewards points. To do so, merchant computer system 102 may access rewards program participation data 115. Rewards program participation data 115 may include various account numbers or identifiers (e.g., BINs) and an indication as to what rewards program they are associated with (if any). FIG. 20 depicts exemplary rewards program participation data. Rewards program participation data 920 may comprise entries 909-912 for particular stored identifiers (e.g., BINs) and associated lookup information, as described herein, wherein each is given an entry number 921. It will be recognized that any type of identifier may be used to determine if the customer has any associated rewards program(s). The identifier may be associated with a payment type, such as a credit card or debit card. [C11L5-17] Again returning to FIG. 2, if merchant computer system 102 determines that the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has no associated rewards program (e.g., there is no corresponding entry in rewards program participation data 115), it may complete the customer's desired purchase transaction as requested (e.g., through well-known authorization and settlement procedures for credit cards). If, however, the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has one or more associated rewards programs (e.g., there is at least one corresponding entry in rewards program participating data 115), transaction module 111 may provide the option to pay for the transaction with the provided account or with rewards points accumulated in the associated rewards program.)
if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction} ([C11L5-17] Again returning to FIG. 2, if merchant computer system 102 determines that the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has no associated rewards program (e.g., there is no corresponding entry in rewards program participation data 115), it may complete the customer's desired purchase transaction as requested (e.g., through well-known authorization and settlement procedures for credit cards). If, however, the provided identifier (e.g., BIN) has one or more associated rewards programs (e.g., there is at least one corresponding entry in rewards program participating data 115), transaction module 111 may provide the option to pay for the transaction with the provided account or with rewards points accumulated in the associated rewards program.) The {…} indicate a modification to the claim language to show what is expressly taught by Elliot. Limitations regarding conversions of reward points based on location will be addressed below.)
converting the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value; ([C11L67-C12L24] Merchant computer system 102 may also calculate the number of rewards points necessary to buy the requested item using conversion data, as described above, and display that information as well. For example, merchant computer system 102 may calculate the amount of rewards points that are the cash equivalent of a purchase amount based on a ratio or formula in the conversion data and display that information to the customer. [C12L47-52] Merchant computer system 102 may then process the information by determining whether the provided account has an associated rewards program with rewards points, as described herein, and provide the option to pay for the transaction with the account or with rewards points.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gateway is configured to perform the following actions: wherein the information comprises the existence and active status of a patron account; if the patron account exists and is active, {proceeding with the transaction}, converting the financial transaction fee amount to a reward point amount using the conversion value as taught by Elliot with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in order to use their reward points as currency ([C1L25-28])
Gordon in view of Elliott does not expressly teach a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate; requesting a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location.
Chandrasekaram teaches:
a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate; ([0053] In one embodiment, the redemption rate database stores multiple redemption rates for a loyalty point. For example, the redemption rate database 402 can have one redemption rate if the loyalty point is used for goods, and another redemption rate is the loyalty point is used for services. Thus, having multiple redemption rates allow rewards program providers 110 to discharge loyalty points liability at a variable rate. For example, a rewards program provider 110 can provide a more favorable redemption rate at the end of its fiscal year if it needs to remove outstanding rewards points from its balance sheets. In one embodiment, the redemption rate database contains a different redemption rate based on the geographic location of the customer or the currency requested to redeem the loyalty points.)
requesting a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location; ( [0053] In one embodiment, the redemption rate database stores multiple redemption rates for a loyalty point. For example, the redemption rate database 402 can have one redemption rate if the loyalty point is used for goods, and another redemption rate is the loyalty point is used for services. Thus, having multiple redemption rates allow rewards program providers 110 to discharge loyalty points liability at a variable rate. For example, a rewards program provider 110 can provide a more favorable redemption rate at the end of its fiscal year if it needs to remove outstanding rewards points from its balance sheets. In one embodiment, the redemption rate database contains a different redemption rate based on the geographic location of the customer or the currency requested to redeem the loyalty points. [0063] In other embodiments, the process verifies the customer identity by retrieving user data from the data engine 318 or the accounts engine 412. For example, if a user is typically associated with a particular IP address or a geo tagging location, the user can be validated.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate; requesting a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location as taught by Chandrasekaram with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in view of Elliott in order to increase customer engagement with a reward program and retain a customer base ([0006]) and to account for disparities in the value of currencies in different countries or regions ([0053]).
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 4:
Gordon in view of Elliott does not expressly teach wherein the step of using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location comprises inquiring in a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate,comp dollars exchange rate.
Chandrasekaram teaches:
wherein the step of using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location comprises inquiring in a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate. ([0053] In one embodiment, the redemption rate database stores multiple redemption rates for a loyalty point. For example, the redemption rate database 402 can have one redemption rate if the loyalty point is used for goods, and another redemption rate is the loyalty point is used for services. Thus, having multiple redemption rates allow rewards program providers 110 to discharge loyalty points liability at a variable rate. For example, a rewards program provider 110 can provide a more favorable redemption rate at the end of its fiscal year if it needs to remove outstanding rewards points from its balance sheets. In one embodiment, the redemption rate database contains a different redemption rate based on the geographic location of the customer or the currency requested to redeem the loyalty points.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the step of using the gateway to request a location of the computing device and a conversion value associated with the location comprises inquiring in a location database, wherein the location database contains at least one of the following information fields: location ID, location name, casino management system end points and credentials, reward points exchange rate, comp dollars exchange rate as taught by Chandrasekaram with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in view of Elliott in order to increase customer engagement with a reward program and retain a customer base ([0006]) and to account for disparities in the value of currencies in different countries or regions ([0053]).
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 5:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the transaction database contains at least one of the following information fields: transaction ID, patron account number, fee cash value, number of points used, amount of comp dollars used, cash remainder used, status, date. ([0029] The database stored on the gateway server preferably comprises information related to each customer's profile, play history, point balances, point expiration dates, and other variables relevant to a customer's use of points. In an embodiment, the database stores the following data for each customer: [0030] a. First Name [0031] b. Last Name [0032] c. Date of Birth [0033] d. Gender [0034] e. Address [0035] f. E-mail [0036] g. Home Phone [0037] h. Cell Phone [0038] i. Driver's License Number [0039] j. Unique Player ID [0040] k. PIN [0041] l. Interests [0042] m. Slot statistical detail [0043] n. Table game statistical detail [0044] o. Resort stay detail [0045] p. Points [0046] q. Comps [0047] r. Tier Level [0048] s. Point expiry [0049] t. Comp expiry [0050] u. Groups)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 6:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the transaction is a debit card transaction. ([0009] The transaction could be a debit card withdrawal, a credit card withdrawal, a check cashing transaction, or a cryptocurrency transaction.)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 7:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the transaction is a credit card transaction. ([0009] The transaction could be a debit card withdrawal, a credit card withdrawal, a check cashing transaction, or a cryptocurrency transaction.)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 8:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the transaction is a check cashing transaction. ([0009] The transaction could be a debit card withdrawal, a credit card withdrawal, a check cashing transaction, or a cryptocurrency transaction.)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 9:
wherein the transaction is a cryptocurrency transaction. ([0009] The transaction could be a debit card withdrawal, a credit card withdrawal, a check cashing transaction, or a cryptocurrency transaction.)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 10:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the computing device is a kiosk. ([0053] The kiosk of the present invention may be an ATM or may be another kiosk designed for providing automated financial transactions to a customer.
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 11:
Gordon teaches:
wherein the computing device is an ATM. [0053] The kiosk of the present invention may be an ATM or may be another kiosk designed for providing automated financial transactions to a customer.)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al (US 2024/0119433) in view of Elliott et al (US 9,972,047) in view of Chandrasekaram et al (US 2012/0095820) in view of Hessburg et al (US 2003/0225618)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 2:
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram does not expressly teach further comprising:
if the patron account does not exist, using the computing device to display an invalid account status;
if the patron account is inactive or banned, using the computing device to display an invalid account status.
Hessburg teaches:
further comprising if the patron account does not exist, using the computing device to display an invalid account status; if the patron account is inactive or banned, using the computing device to display an invalid account status. ([0053] Exchange system 130 may then verify qualification for payment with loyalty points (step 386). For example, exchange system 130 is configured to receive messages in response to entry of an account number/identifier. If the messages received indicate that loyalty point exchange is not qualified, the exchange request is rejected and, for example, a report is generated (steps 387 and 388). The messages that may result in a rejected request include "Invalid Account Number", "No Loyalty Data Found For The Account Number", "Inactive", or similar messages. Loyalty accounts system 140 may further provide information such as the tier status of the participant, the number of linked cards, number of miles, and/or the like for use by exchange system 130.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising if the patron account does not exist, using the computing device to display an invalid account status; if the patron account is inactive or banned, using the computing device to display an invalid account status as taught by Hessburg with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram in order to facilitate an expedited method for purchasing items with loyalty points ([0005]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al (US 2024/0119433) in view of Elliott et al (US 9,972,047) in view of Chandrasekaram et al (US 2012/0095820) in view of Moshkovich (US 2024/0054521)
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As pre claim 3:
Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram does not expressly teach wherein the gateway, computing device, and casino management system communicate with each other through REST API methods.
Moshkovich teaches:
wherein the gateway, computing device, and casino management system communicate with each other through REST API methods. ([0032] In various embodiments, the container orchestration system 15 may include a business website server 20, an administrative website server 25, an identity server 30 and a RESTful (REST) API 35. The customer device 5 may access, through the firewall 10, the identity server 30 to authenticate the customer device 5. The customer device 5 may access, through the firewall 10, the business website 20 and the administrative website 25. Each of the business website 20, the administrative website 25 and the REST API 35 may interface with the identity server 30 for authentication. Each of the business website 20 and the administrative website 25 may interface with the REST API 35.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gateway, computing device, and casino management system communicate with each other through REST API methods as taught by Moshkovich with the payment of a transaction fee using reward points of Gordon in view of Elliott in view of Chandrasekaram in order to allow different computer systems, applications, or devices to securely and efficiently exchange information over the internet.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621