DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The certified copy of the priority document CN202322470098.4 filed 04/29/2026 is acknowledged and accepted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 04/29/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities.
In Claim 2, the limitation “bending Portion” should read “bending portion” to match previous recitations.
In Claim 9, an “and” should separate the last two limitations; i.e. the last lines should read:
an inner peripheral dimension of the second portion is greater than an inner peripheral dimension of the first portion; and
the bending portion and the bearing portion are connected at a connection surface…
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN-114175371-A; cited in IDS filed 08/29/2025; see English equivalent US-20240014525-A1 for citations) in view of Yue et al. (US-20230378578-A1) and in further view of Nngai et al. (US-20110183195-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses a battery cell (Figs. 1-2) having
a battery housing (corresponds to the combination of the housing 1 and cover 2, see Fig. 2; [0011, 0047, 0052-0053]) wherein a pole assembly (pole 4, Figs. 2, 4-5) is disposed on a first wall (sidewall) of the battery housing [0055-0056],
the pole assembly (pole 4) comprises a pole body (corresponds to a combination of substrate 41 and lead out-portion 42; [0060]), and the pole body comprises:
a bearing portion (first portion 421; [0061-0063]), the bearing portion being inserted through a mounting hole (rivet hole; [0011, 0056]) of the first wall (see Fig. 3; [0060-0065, 0070]); and
a bending portion (second portion 422), the bending portion being connected to one end of the bearing portion in a central axis direction [0062-0064, 0079], bent relative to the bearing portion (see Figs. 3-5; [0011, 0059, 0068, 0070-0072]), and disposed on one side of the first wall (outside of the housing; [0011, 0067]; see Fig. 3).
Guo discloses that the bearing portion (first portion 421) has a greater minimum cross-sectional area than the maximum cross-sectional area of the bending portion (second portion 422), such that the bending portion (second portion) can be more easily riveted [0005-0006, 0030, 0047-0048, 0079, 0092]. Therefore, it is understood that “a bending resistance strength of the bending portion” is “less than a bending resistance strength of the bearing portion” as evidenced by the instant specification [instant specification: 0008-0009, 00123, 00165-00167] since the bearing portion (first portion) has a larger thickness than the bending portion (second portion).
Guo discloses that the pole assembly further comprises a sealing ring (5, Fig. 3; reads on a first insulating member) surrounding an outer side of the pole body (see annotation of Guo Fig. 3, below), and that the pole body is provided with a holding portion (substrate 41; [0060]) at the other end of the bearing portion (first portion 421) in the central axis direction (see Figs. 3-5), and the holding portion (substrate 41) and the bending portion (second portion 422) secure the first wall from two sides (i.e. the top and bottom sides; see annotation of Guo Fig. 3, below; [0067, 0085-0086, 0088]).
Annotation of Guo Fig. 3.
Guo discloses that an object of the invention is to prevent damage to the sealing ring (first insulating member) caused by pole riveting [0004, 0019-0022]. Guo does not teach a sealing member.
Yue teaches a similar battery with excellent sealing performance [0004-0006, 0015-0019]. Yue teaches that battery includes an insulating part (3, Fig. 1; corresponds to first insulating member of Guo) and a press ring (4, Fig. 2) [0035, 0038]. The press ring is provided between the insulating part and a lower portion of the electrode column (see Fig. 2) and, advantageously, provides extra protection [0038].
Additionally, Nngai teaches a similar terminal configuration (see Fig. 3) and that positioning an elastic sealing member (24, Fig. 3) between the lower end of a rivet terminal (31, Fig. 3) and a closing plate (12, Fig. 3) can achieve good sealing [0034, 0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a press ring (reads on sealing member) between the first insulating member and the holding portion of Guo with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful pole assembly with a good sealing effect and extra protection against a short circuit. Accordingly, modified Guo renders obvious that the pole assembly further comprises a sealing member (press ring), wherein the sealing member is disposed between the holding portion and the first wall (see annotation of modified Guo Fig. 3). The limitation “sealing the bearing portion and the first wall” is interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 00182], as indicating that the sealing member is positioned between the holding portion and the first wall. Since modified Guo renders obvious this configuration, the limitation is met.
Annotation of modified Guo, Fig. 3.
Modified Guo renders obvious that the first insulating member is separated from the sealing member (i.e. the structures are not integral; see annotation of modified Guo Fig. 3, above). Modified Guo does not teach that the first insulating member and the sealing member are formed of different materials.
Nngai teaches a similar terminal configuration (see Fig. 3) including an insulating gasket (reads on first insulating member) and a sealing gasket (reads on sealing member) formed of insulating material [0025, 0027-0029]. The insulating gasket (reads on first insulating member) is formed of relatively hard synthetic resin, while the seal gasket (reads on sealing member) is formed of a softer and more deformable material [0029]. Advantageously, forming the seal gasket of a softer material allows for the gasket to be compressed, thereby achieving good sealing [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the first insulating member to be formed of a relatively hard synthetic resin and to have formed the sealing member to be made of a softer and more deformable material with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful first insulating member and a successful sealing member. Accordingly, modified Guo renders obvious that “the first insulating member is made of different material from that of the sealing member”.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above, including that a minimum thickness of the bearing portion (first portion 421) is greater than a minimum thickness of the bending portion (second portion 422) [0005-0006, 0030, 0047-0048, 0079, 0092].
Regarding Claims 3-4, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above, including that the cross-sectional area of the bending portion (second portion 422) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the bearing portion (first portion 421) [0004-0009, 0030, 0079-0082]. Although Guo does not explicitly teach that “a ratio of the maximum thickness of the bending portion to the minimum thickness of the bearing portion is within a range of 0 to 0.85” or that “the ratio of the maximum thickness of the bending portion to the minimum thickness of the bearing portion is within a range of 0.3 to 0.7” as required by Claims 3 and 4, Guo discloses that the bearing portion (first portion 421) is designed such that it provides positioning and support functions during riveting of the bending portion (second portion 422) [0005, 0010], and that the bending portion (second portion 422) is designed such that it can be easily bent during riveting, thereby achieving a secure seal with a sealing member without the use of excessive force, which can damage the sealing member [0003, 0006, 0012, 0014, 0016, 0020, 0030, 0071]. Guo also discloses that reducing the thickness of the riveting end increases the energy density of the battery [0082]
In seeking to make the bending portion as thin as possible to increase energy density while retaining sufficient thickness to achieve a secure seal with the sealing member, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have optimized the thickness of the bending portion in relation to the thickness of the bearing portion, including selecting a ratio of the maximum thickness of the bending portion to the minimum thickness of the bearing portion to be within a range of 0.3 to 0.7 with a reasonable expectation that such a thickness would provide a successful balance between increasing energy density while maintaining the strength of the seal (MPEP 2144.05, II). A range of 0.3 to 0.7 is within the range of 0 to 0.85 recited in Claim 3, and corresponds to the range recited in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses an embodiment (Fig. 4) wherein a thinning groove (stepped structure) is provided on an outer wall of the bending portion, and an embodiment (Fig. 5) wherein a thinning groove (stepped structure) is provided on an inner wall of the bending portion [0079]. Such configurations exemplify structures wherein the cross-sectional area of the bending portion (second portion 422) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the bearing portion (first portion 421) [0079], which enables the bending portion to be easily bent without damaging the sealing member [0030, 0048, 0071]. Guo discloses that the embodiments are not limiting, and that changes can be made within the spirit of the application [0044, 0093].
Although Guo does not teach an embodiment wherein a thinning groove is disposed on both an inner wall and an outer wall of the bending portion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the embodiments (i.e. Figs. 4 and 5; [0079]) taught by the prior art such that a thinning groove (stepped structure) is provided on both the inner and the outer wall of the bending portion in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of forming a successful bending portion capable of being easily bent during riveting, since such a configuration results in a structure wherein the cross-sectional area of the bending portion is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the bearing portion, as desired by Guo. Furthermore, combining prior art elements is normally within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143, A; MPEP 2144.06, I).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses that the first insulating member (sealing member 5, Fig. 3) comprises a first portion and a second portion (see annotation of Fig. 3, below), wherein the first portion is inserted into the mounting hole of the first wall, the second portion is connected to the first portion [0019-0022, 0088], and the second portion is sandwiched between the bending portion (second portion 422) and the first wall (sidewall 1) as required by Claim 9.
Annotation of Guo Fig. 3.
Guo further discloses that an inner peripheral dimension of the second portion is greater than an inner peripheral dimension of the first portion (see annotation of Guo Fig. 2, below) as required by Claim 9. Here the phrase “an inner peripheral dimension” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as referring to the inner diameter of each region, as supported by the instant specification [instant specification: 00130].
Annotation of Guo Fig. 3.
Guo further discloses that the bending portion and the bearing portion are connected at a connection surface (see annotation of Guo Fig. 3, below), and the bending portion abuts against an abutting surface of the second portion as required by Claim 9. Here the term “abuts” is broadly and reasonably interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 0090], as allowing for the presence of intervening structures. Since the connection surface and the abutting surface are located at the same point in the central axis direction (see annotation of Guo Fig. 3, below), modified Guo thereby discloses that “in the central axis direction, a distance between the connection surface and the abutting surface is within a range of – 5mm to +5 mm” as required by Claim 9, and that “the distance between the connection surface and the abutting surface is within a range of -2 mm to +2 mm” as required by Claim 18 (i.e. since they are located at the same position, the distance is 0 mm).
Annotation of Guo Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses that the holding portion (substrate 41) is located inside the battery housing of the battery cell (see Figs. 2-5; [0011, 0019, 0067]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Although Guo contemplates that portions of the sealing ring can be formed separately [0021], modified Guo does not teach a second insulating member.
Yue teaches that the insulating part (3, Fig. 1) comprises a first insulating part (301, Figs. 1-2) and a second insulating part (302, Figs. 1-2) [0035]. Advantageously, by providing the insulating part as separated insulating parts, the assembly efficiency of the housing assembly is improved, the occurrence of a short circuit can be avoided, and air insulation between the electrode column and the metal housing may be avoided so as to avoid the creep-age phenomenon [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the sealing ring of Guo to be formed of two parts (i.e. a first insulating member and a second insulating member) as taught by Yue with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful insulating part capable of improving efficiency and safety. Additionally, absent showings of criticality, making integral parts separable normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, V, C). Accordingly, modified Guo renders obvious a first insulating member and a second insulating member, wherein the second insulating member is disposed between the holding portion and the first wall (see annotation of Yue Fig. 2 as applied to Guo Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Yue Fig. 2 (left) as applied to Guo Fig. 3 (right).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses that the battery cell further comprises an adapter (electrode tab 31, Fig. 2; [0057), the pole body is fixed to the adapter [0057], and the adapter electrically connects the pole body and an electrode assembly (cell 3, Fig. 2) of the battery cell [0011, 0027, 0056-0058].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses that the battery housing comprises a shell (housing 1, Fig. 2) and an end cover (cover 2, Fig. 2) [0051-0053]. The first wall is the shell (see Figs. 1-2; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. A “battery” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as an object that provides electricity, as evidenced by the Cambridge Dictionary. Since Guo discloses that the battery cell according to claim 1 is electrically connected to an electrode assembly (cell 3) to provide electricity [0029, 0047, 0056-0058], the prior art is reasonably interpreted as disclosing a “battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 1”, absent a special definition of “battery” provided in the instant specification.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo further discloses an electric device (electronic device) comprising the battery according to claim 16, wherein the battery is configured to supply power to the electric device [0004, 0047, 0050].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Guo discloses that the sealing member (reads on first insulating member) is designed to fill and seal a gap between the pole and the rivet hole in order to prevent electrolyte from flowing out [0020, 0030, 0070, 0089]. The Examiner notes that any gap is interpreted as reading on the recited limitation of “a gap”. Therefore, any minute gap which exists (e.g. due to slight differences in shape between the space between the pole and rivet hole and the first insulating member, or due to the gap disclosed by Guo not being completely sealed) is interpreted as reading on the recited gap. Since the first portion and the first wall are understood to not be perfectly flush (i.e. at least microscopic differences in shape exist), it is understood that “a gap” inherently exists between the first portion and the first wall, and therefore “the first portion is separated from the first wall by a gap”.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN-114175371-A; cited in IDS filed 08/29/2025; see English equivalent US-20240014525-A1 for citations) in view of Yue et al. (US-20230378578-A1) and in further view of Nngai et al. (US-20110183195-A1) as applied to Claim 1, above, and in view of Sun et al. (CN-219553837-U; cited in IDS filed 08/29/2025; see also English translation provided 02/05/2026 for citations).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Guo discloses that the energy density of the cell can be increased by reducing the thickness of the riveting end of the battery terminal [0082, 0092]. Guo also discloses that the bearing portion (first portion 421) is designed to provide a positioning and support function during riveting of the bending portion (second portion 422) [0005, 0010]. Guo does not teach a bending resistance reinforcement portion disposed on the bearing portion.
Sun teaches a battery terminal (Fig. 3) comprising a groove structure [0023, 0030-0032, 0053]. Specifically, the terminal comprises four conical grooves (first groove 111, second groove 121, third groove 122 and fourth groove 112) which function to reduce the weight of the terminal structure, thereby increasing energy density of a battery cell [0031, 0035-0038, 0044, 0053]. Each of the grooves is formed in a conical shape, [0036, 0038, 0045-0046], thereby improving structural strength, optimizing force transmission, and ensuring uniform force distribution on the groove walls [0032, 0034, 0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the groove structure taught by Sun in the terminal of Guo with a reasonable expectation that the addition of grooves would result in a successful battery terminal with reduced weight and increased structural strength. By providing a groove structure, the resulting terminal has a flange structure (see annotation of Sun Fig. 3, below), which reads on a battery cell wherein “a bending resistance reinforcement portion is disposed on the bearing portion, wherein the bending resistance reinforcement portion comprises a flange portion extending from an inner surface of the bearing portion toward a center of the bearing portion, wherein the flange portion is disposed on the inner surface of the bearing portion in a manner of surrounding an entire circumference, in the central axis direction”.
Annotation of Sun Fig. 3.
The flange portion rendered obvious by modified Guo is near the middle of the bearing portion (see annotation of Sun Fig. 3, above), and therefore is “at a certain distance from an end of the bearing portion away from the bending portion” as required. Furthermore, “at least a part of the flange portion is located within the mounting hole”, since the middle of the bearing portion is within the mounting hole (see Guo Fig. 3). Therefore, the structure of modified Guo is, under broadest reasonable interpretation, understood to meet the limitations of Claim 6, since the last three lines of the claim follow the recitation of “and/or”, and are therefore recited in the alternative.
However, for the sake of compact prosecution, the last three lines of the claim are mapped to the prior art. Guo further discloses that “the pole body further comprises a holding portion connected to the bearing portion, the holding portion and the bending portion are respectively disposed on two sides of the first wall” (see annotation of Guo Fig. 3, below), and modified Guo renders obvious that “the flange portion is spaced apart from the holding portion”.
Annotation of modified Guo Fig. 3.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN-114175371-A; cited in IDS filed 08/29/2025; see English equivalent US-20240014525-A1 for citations) in view of Yue et al. (US-20230378578-A1) and in further view of Nngai et al. (US-20110183195-A1) as applied to Claim 1, above, and in view of Li et al. (WO-2023005005-A1; previously cited; see English equivalent US-20240222825-A1 for citations).
Regarding Claims 16-17, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above. Assuming, arguendo, that Guo does not disclose “A battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 1” with sufficient specificity, such a limitation would still have been obvious over the teaching of Li. Li teaches that battery cells can be assembled into battery modules and used in an electrical device [0071, 0075-0076].
Since Guo desires the battery of claim 1 to power an electronic device [0004, 0047, 0050], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a battery (i.e. a battery module) comprising the battery cell according to Claim 1 with a reasonable expectation that providing a battery (battery module) comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 would result in a successful battery (battery module) capable of powering an electronic device as required by Claim 16, and to have provided an electric device (electronic device) comprising the battery (battery module) according to Claim 16, wherein the battery is configured to supply power to the electric device as required by Claim 17 with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful electric device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN-114175371-A; cited in IDS filed 08/29/2025; see English equivalent US-20240014525-A1 for citations) in view of Yue et al. (US-20230378578-A1) and in further view of Nngai et al. (US-20110183195-A1) as applied to Claim 9, above, and in view of Li et al. (WO-2023005005-A1; previously cited; see English equivalent US-20240222825-A1 for citations) as evidenced by Maeda et al. (US-20180183018-A1) and DeWulf et al. (US-20170117575-A1).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Guo discloses all of the limitations as set forth, above, including that the first insulating member includes a first portion and a second portion (see rejection of Claim 9, above). Guo does not teach that the second portion is formed with a protruding portion which surrounding the bending portion.
Li teaches a terminal configuration wherein each electrode terminal is sheathed with a plastic member (7, Figs. 8-9). Advantageously, such a configuration not only provides an insulating role, but also ensures airtightness between the battery housing and the electrode terminals [0069].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the second portion of the first insulating member of Guo such that it “sheathes” the electrode terminal as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery with an airtight seal between the battery housing and the electrode terminal. In order to “sheath” the battery terminal, the insulating member would necessarily have a protruding portion in order to surround the battery terminal as taught by Li (see annotation of Li Fig. 9, below).
Annotation of Li Fig. 9.
Additionally, Maeda and DeWulf both evidence that an insulating member with a protruding shape is known in the prior art (see Maeda: insulating member 42 in Fig. 5a; DeWulf: insulating member 31 in Fig. 7), thereby further supporting a reasonable expectation of success in providing the second portion of modified Guo with a protruding portion. Accordingly, modified Guo renders obvious the limitation “the second portion is formed with a protruding portion, and the protruding portion surrounds the bending portion”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As an initial matter, the Examiner notes that Claim 2 has not been amended as suggested (Remarks, Pg. 7 of 12), and therefore the claim remains objected to for minor informalities.
Applicant has argued that Guo fails to teach the newly recited limitations of Claim 1 (Remarks, Pgs. 8-10 of 12). The Examiner has carefully considered this argument, but notes that Guo in view of newly cited Yue and Nngai render obvious the newly added limitations. Since Guo is not relied upon for any teaching or matter specifically challenged, arguments directed towards Guo alone not teaching the newly added limitations are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 05/23/2026