DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2026, has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claim 1 amended to further limit the first copolymer and the molar percentage of VDF in the first copolymer
Claims 2-3, 10-12, 15 amended consistently with claim 1
New claims 21-22 added
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, by further amending claim 1 to limit the copolymer materials, the previously applied prior art no longer teaches each and every limitation. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1), which teaches ethylene oxide as a desirable component in a copolymer for an electrode binder, and would therefore be obvious to combine with the references used in the previous rejection.
New claims 21 and 22 are rejected in view of Badding (US 20230223518 A1), which teachings both the polymer and oxide based coating layers introduced in the new claims. Thus, there is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN 112768702A) in view of Jeon (US 20230187642 A1) and further in view of Koh (US 20110318638 A1) and Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches the following elements:
A positive electrode plate, (“Positive plate and high-safety lithium ion battery thereof” Ye title)
wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode current collector (“A positive electrode sheet, comprising a current collector,” Ye [9])
and a positive electrode film layer disposed on at least one side of the positive electrode current collector, wherein , on the same side of the positive electrode current collector, the positive electrode film layer comprises one or more first active layers and one or more second active layers arranged along a thickness direction of the positive electrode current collector, (“A positive electrode sheet, comprising a current collector, a first active layer and a second active layer. The first active layer is arranged between the current collector and the second active layer. The first active layer is formed on the On at least one surface of the current collector,” Ye [9])
the first active layers and the second active layers being alternately stacked; (As can be seen below, the positive active layers of Ye are alternately stacked in the same manner as those in the instant application.)
the first active layer comprises a layered oxide active material (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the active material of the second active layer is … lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide or at least one of nickel cobalt manganese lithium oxide and ternary positive electrode active material.” Ye [16]. In this case, the second active layer of Ye corresponds to the first active layer in claim 1.)
and a first binder, (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, both the first active layer and/or the second active layer further contain a conductive agent and/or a binder.” Ye [17])
the first binder comprising a first copolymer; (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the binder is selected from … vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer,” Ye [19])
and the second active layer comprises a phosphate-based positive electrode active material (“The first active layer is formed on the On at least one surface of the current collector, the active material of the first active layer includes lithium iron phosphate (LFP) and oligomers.” Ye [9]. In this case, the first active layer of Ye corresponds to the second active layer of claim 1.)
and a second binder, (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, both the first active layer and/or the second active layer further contain a conductive agent and/or a binder.” Ye [17])
Ye is silent on the following elements of claim 1:
the second binder comprising a fluorinated monomer homopolymer, the fluorinated monomer homopolymer comprises a vinylidene fluoride homopolymer
a molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 95%;
the first copolymer comprises vinylidene fluoride-ethylene oxide copolymer,
Jeon teaches the following elements of claim 1 that are not found in Ye:
the second binder comprising a fluorinated monomer homopolymer the second binder comprising a fluorinated monomer homopolymer, the fluorinated monomer homopolymer comprises a vinylidene fluoride homopolymer (“Meanwhile, the first coating layer 120 is formed on one or both surfaces of the current collector 110, and includes a first positive electrode active material, a first conductive material, and a first binder.” Jeon [0060], “In addition, the first binder may include at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a polyvinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer (PVDF-co-HFP),” Jeon [0068], “Furthermore, the second coating layer 140 is formed on the first coating layer 120 on which the patterned layer 130 is formed, and includes a second positive electrode active material, a second conductive material, and a second binder.” Jeon [0071], and “As an example, the second binder may include polyvinylidene fluoride.” Jeon [0078]. In this case, the second binder comprises a fluorinated monomer homopolymer, which comprises VDF.)
Jeon is considered to be analogous to Ye because they are both within the same field of cathodes for lithium secondary batteries having multiple positive electrode active material layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second layer of Ye to include specifically a PVDF homopolymer as this is a commonly known binder material in the art, and would only require the simple substitution of one commonly used binder for another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Jeon and Ye are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
a molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 95%;
the first copolymer comprises vinylidene fluoride-ethylene oxide copolymer,
Morigaki teaches the following elements of claim 1 that aren’t found in Jeon and Ye. Specifically, Morigaki teaches the desirability of using ethylene oxide in a vinylidene fluoride copolymer. Ye teaches a vinylidene fluoride hexafluoropropylene copolymer (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the binder is selected from … vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer,” Ye [19]), which would be obvious to substitute with the teachings of Morigaki:
the first copolymer comprises vinylidene fluoride-ethylene oxide copolymer, (“The main-chain of the above-mentioned copolymer preferably has a structure of polyvinylidene fluoride, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-chlorotrifluoroethylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-pentafluoropropylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene-tetrafluoroethylene and a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-perfluoromethyl vinyl ether-tetrafluoroethylene. … Examples of the alkylene oxide constituting the side-chain of the above copolymer are ethylene oxide” Morigaki [0033-0034]. In this case, a vinylidene fluoride copolymer with a side-chain of ethylene oxide would meet the limitations of claim 1 not found in Ye.)
Morigaki and Ye are considered to be analogous because they are both within the field of lithium batteries which contain polymer-based electrode binders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ye to substitute the first copolymer, a VDF-HFP copolymer of Ye, with the VDF copolymer of Morigaki which contains ethylene oxide side chains. This would be an obvious modification as it would only require the simple substitution of one copolymer used as an electrode binder for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Morigaki, Ye, and Jeon are silent on the following elements of claim 1:
a molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 95%;
However, Koh teaches all of the elements of claim 1 that are not found in Ye, Morigaki, or Jeon. Specifically, Koh teaches a copolymer including VDF and TFE and/or HFP, where the molar percentage of VDF overlaps the claimed range:
a molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 95%; (“The slurry comprises a positive-electrode active material, a binder, and an organic solvent, … the binder comprises a fluorine-containing polymer represented by Composition Formula: (VDF)m(TFE)n(HFP)I (wherein VDF is a structural unit from vinylidene fluoride; TFE is a structural unit from tetrafluoroethylene; HFP is a structural unit from hexafluoropropylene; and 0.45 ≤ m ≤ 1; 0 ≤ n ≤ 0.5; and 0 ≤ l ≤ 0.1, and m+n+I=1).” Koh abstract. Koh teaches a molar percentage of VDF that is between 45-100%, which encompasses the claimed range.)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 45-100% for the molar percentage of VDF in a copolymer used in a positive electrode binder encompasses the claimed range of 50-95% for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Koh is considered to be analogous to Ye because they are both within the same field of positive electrodes for lithium secondary batteries that contain fluoropolymer copolymer binders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first copolymer of Ye to have the molar percentage of VDF as taught by Koh because this would only require the simple substitution of one known positive electrode binder for another, which one skilled in the art would be capable of doing. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Koh additionally teaches that a positive electrode including its binder has improved characteristics and that the inclusion of TFE in the copolymer improves base resistance (“The inventors conducted further investigations regarding this object, and as a result they found that among VdF copolymers, a VdF/TFE copolymer wherein TFE is copolymerized in a specific quantity with VdF is unexpectedly stable with regard to a basic lithium-containing complex oxide, and that a positive electrode mixture slurry prepared from a mixture thereof is not only homogeneous, but also stable. The inventors also found that a positive electrode that is formed using this positive electrode mixture slurry has excellent flexibility, the positive electrode mixture does not peel off the current collector, and the battery characteristics of a lithium secondary battery are improved thereby.” Koh [0018])
By modifying Ye with Koh and Morigaki, the additional limitations of claims 2, 7-11, 16, 18 would be met without any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein the first copolymer further comprises one or more selected from a group of vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, vinylidene fluoride-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer, vinylidene fluoride-trifluoroethylene copolymer, vinylidene fluoride- trichloroethylene copolymer, vinylidene fluoride-vinyl fluoride copolymer, and vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymer. (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the binder is selected from … vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer,” Ye [19]. In this case, the monomers comprising the first copolymer are vinylidene fluoride and hexafluoropropylene, meeting the limitation of claim 2. Ye teaches a VDF-HFP copolymer, which, if combined with the teachings of Murigaki requiring an ethylene oxide side chain, would meet all of the limitations of claim 2. Murigaki alone also teaches an overlapping selection of VDF-based copolymers, which could be used to meet the above limitation “The main-chain of the above-mentioned copolymer preferably has a structure of polyvinylidene fluoride, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-chlorotrifluoroethylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-pentafluoropropylene, a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene-tetrafluoroethylene and a copolymer of vinylidene fluoride-perfluoromethyl vinyl ether-tetrafluoroethylene.” Morigaki [0033])
Regarding claim 3, modified Ye meets all of the limitations of claim 1, as shown above. Ye is silent on the following elements of claim 3:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein the molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 70%
However, Koh teaches all of the elements of claim 3 that are not found in Ye or Jeon. Specifically, Koh teaches a copolymer including VDF and TFE and/or HFP, where the molar percentage of VDF overlaps the claimed range:
a molar percentage of the vinylidene fluoride in the first copolymer is 50% to 70%; (“The slurry comprises a positive-electrode active material, a binder, and an organic solvent, … the binder comprises a fluorine-containing polymer represented by Composition Formula: (VDF)m(TFE)n(HFP)I (wherein VDF is a structural unit from vinylidene fluoride; TFE is a structural unit from tetrafluoroethylene; HFP is a structural unit from hexafluoropropylene; and 0.45 ≤ m ≤ 1; 0 ≤ n ≤ 0.5; and 0 ≤ l ≤ 0.1, and m+n+I=1).” Koh abstract. Koh teaches a molar percentage of VDF that is between 45-100%, which encompasses the claimed range.)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 45-100% for the molar percentage of VDF in a copolymer used in a positive electrode binder encompasses the claimed range of 50-70% for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein weight-average molecular weights of the first copolymer and the fluorinated monomer homopolymer are each independently 100,000 Da to 1,000,000 Da. (The known weights for PVDF homopolymer is approximately 244,000-670,000 Da, and the known weight for PVDF-HFP copolymer is approximately 400,000-455,000 Da. Both of these fall within the claimed range and therefore meet the limitation of claim 7. VDF-TFE-HFP is also known to usually have a molecular weight of 300,000 Da at least, and therefore would also be within the claimed range.)
Regarding claim 8, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode plate satisfies any one or more of the following conditions:
a mass percentage of the first binder in the first active layer is 0.5% to 2.5%; (“in the second active layer slurry, the solid content contains 97 wt% Of mixed active materials, 2wt% of binder PVDF and 1wt% of conductive carbon black;” Ye [53]. As in claim 1, the second active layer of Ye corresponds to the first layer of the instant application.)
a mass percentage of the second binder in the second active layer is 0.5% to 2.5%; (“In the first active layer slurry, the solid content contains 91wt% of LFP, 5wt% of bismaleimide oligomer, 1.5wt% of binder PVDF and 2.5wt% of conductive carbon black;” Ye [52]. As in claim 1, the first active layer of Ye corresponds to the second layer of the instant application.)
and the first active layer and the second active layer each independently comprise a conductive agent. (Both the first and second active layers of Ye comprise conductive carbon black, meeting this limitation. Ye [52-53])
Regarding claim 9, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mixed slurry with a mass percentage of 10% formed by mixing the layered oxide active material with water has a pH value between 11 and 13. (By using the lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide of Ye, which is the exact same material as claimed in both claims 10-11 and paragraph [0017] of the instant spec, this limitation would be inherently met as by mixing this material with water the pH would be always be the same, or at least cover the same range based on the percentage of active material vs water—the instant claim does not specify how much water is added, and therefore routine experimentation with how much active material vs how much water would inherently meet this pH range.)
Regarding claim 10, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 9, wherein the layered oxide active material comprises a ternary positive electrode material and/or a quaternary positive electrode material. (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the active material of the second active layer is … lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide or at least one of nickel cobalt manganese lithium oxide and ternary positive electrode active material.” Ye [16]. In this case, the second active layer of Ye corresponds to the first active layer in claim 1.)
Regarding claim 11, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein the layered oxide active material comprises one or more selected from a group of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide positive electrode active material, lithium nickel cobalt aluminate positive electrode active material, lithium nickel cobalt manganese aluminate positive electrode active material, doped or coated lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide positive electrode active material, doped or coated lithium nickel cobalt aluminate positive electrode active material, and doped or coated lithium nickel cobalt manganese aluminate positive electrode active material. (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the active material of the second active layer is … lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide or at least one of nickel cobalt manganese lithium oxide and ternary positive electrode active material.” Ye [16]. In this case, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide meets the limitations of claim 11.)
Regarding claim 16, Ye teaches the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein one first active layer and one second active layer are arranged, the first active layer is disposed on the current collector, the second active layer is disposed on the first active layer. (As can be seen below, the positive active layers of Ye are alternately stacked in the same manner as those in the instant application. In this case, there is one first active later and one second active layer arranged on each side of the current collector, forming two positive electrode film layers which both meet the above limitation. This meets the additional limitations of amended claim 16, as the first layer is clearly disposed on the current collector “Coating the above-mentioned first active layer slurry on the positive electrode current collector;” Ye [21] and the second layer is coated on the first active layer “The second active layer material is mixed with a conductive agent and/or a binder and then dispersed in a solvent (such as N-methylpyrrole (NMP)) to obtain a slurry, which is then coated on the first active layer” Ye [22]. Additionally, if applicant were to argue based on the order of layering in Ye, examiner states that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the layer including layered oxides as the first layer, and stack from there, as this is taught by Ko [US 20240234723 A1], who’s relevance is discussed further regarding claim 20 “lithium nickel metal oxides with a layered structure as a positive electrode active material.” Ko [0005] and “The number of positive electrode mixture layers is not particularly limited as long as the positive electrode mixture layer has a structure of two or more layers, but specifically, it may be 2 to 10 layers; 2 to 8 layers; 2 to 6 layers; or 2 to 4 layers.” Ko [0060])
Regarding claim 18, Ye teaches the following elements:
A secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate, wherein the positive electrode plate comprises the positive electrode plate according to claim 1. (“According to an embodiment of the present invention, the method for preparing the lithium ion battery further includes combining the positive electrode sheet, the negative electrode sheet, the electrolyte and the outer shell to form a lithium ion battery.” Ye [35])
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN 112768702A) in view of Jeon (US 20230187642 A1), further in view of Koh (US 20110318638 A1) and Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1), and further in view of Kwon (US 20220271276 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ye teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Ye and Jeon are silent on the following elements of claim 6:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first active layer is 60 μm to 65 μm, a thickness of the second active layer is 60 μm to 65 μm
However, Kwon teaches all of the elements of claim 6 that are not found in Ye or Jeon. Specifically, Kwon teaches a cathode with two positive active material layers, which meet the thickness limitations of claim 6:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first active layer is 60 μm to 65 μm, a thickness of the second active layer is 60 μm to 65 μm (“In the electrode according to embodiments, for example, a thickness of the first electrode active material layer may be about 1% to about 60% of the total thickness of the electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second electrode active material layer may be about 40% to about 99% of the total thickness of the electrode active material layer.” Kwon [0055] and “The total thickness of the electrode active material layer may be, for example, about 20 μm to about 200 μm, about 50 μm to about 150 μm, or about 80 μm to about 120 μm.” Kwon [0056]. Based on the above ranges, if the thickness of both the first and second electrode active material layer were 50% of the total thickness of the electrode active material layer, and the total thickness of the electrode active material were 120 μm, then both the first and second layer would have a thickness of 60 μm, within the claimed range.)
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art ranges of the thickness of the first and second active layer of being between 0.2-120 μm (ranging from 1% thickness of a 20 μm total layer to 60% thickness of a 200 μm total layer) -and 8-198 μm (ranging from 40% thickness of a 20 μm total layer to 99% thickness of a 200 μm total layer) for the first and second electrode active layers, respectively, encompasses the claimed range of 60-65 μm for both the first and second electrode active material layers. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Kwon is considered to be analogous to Ye because they are both within the same field of positive electrodes for secondary batteries having multiple positive electrode active material layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye to use the specific thickness ranges of the first and second positive electrode active material layer, as taught by Kwon, in order to improve performance (“Because the first electrode active material layer and the second electrode active material layer of the electrode have a thickness ratio within these ranges, a lithium battery including the electrode may have further improved performance.” Kwon [0055]). Additionally, the teachings of Kwon demonstrate that altering the thickness of the positive electrode layers as well as the ratio of thickness between them is within the scope of normal optimization in the art, and something that one skilled in the art would be capable of doing.
Regarding claim 17, this is additionally related to modifying the thickness of the layers of Ye based on the teachings of Kwon, and thus the same reasoning as above is applied and no further motivation is required.
Regarding claim 17, modified Ye teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Ye and Jeon silent on the following elements of claim 17:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the first active layer to a thickness of the second active layer is 0.9:1 to 1.1:1.
However, Kwon teaches all of the elements of claim 17 that are not found in Ye or Jeon:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the first active layer to a thickness of the second active layer is 0.9:1 to 1.1:1. (“In the electrode according to embodiments, for example, a thickness of the first electrode active material layer may be about 1% to about 60% of the total thickness of the electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second electrode active material layer may be about 40% to about 99% of the total thickness of the electrode active material layer.” Kwon [0055])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art ranges of the ratio of thickness of the first and second active layer of being between 0.01:1 to 1.5:1 encompasses the claimed range between 0.9:1 to 1.1:1 for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 12-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN 112768702A) in view of Jeon (US 20230187642 A1), further in view of Koh (US 20110318638 A1) and Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1), and further in view of Li (US 20170092943 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ye is silent on the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the layered oxide active material has a first coating layer,
wherein the first coating layer comprises one or more coating layers of carbon, conductive graphene, conductive polymer material, or oxide.
However, Li teaches all of the elements of claim 12 that are not found in Ye:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the layered oxide active material has a first coating layer, (“Preferably, the second positive electrode active material is one or more selected from a group consisting of the following materials: … LiaQz”NiyMny’Co1-y-y’-zO2 and “ 0≦z≦0.25, 0≦z′≦0.25, 0≦z″≦0.25, 0≦z′″≦0.25, 0<y<1, 0<y′<1, 0<y″<1, 0<y′″<1, 0<y+y′+z″<1, 0<y″+y′″+z′″<1, 1≦a≦1.2. Preferably, the element Q′ is one or more selected from a group consisting of Ni, Co, Mn,” Li [0022] and “Preferably, a carbon material or inorganic compound B is selected to coat the above-mentioned lithium cobalt dioxide, lithium nickelate, ternary lithium compounds” Li [0023])
wherein the first coating layer comprises one or more coating layers of carbon, conductive graphene, conductive polymer material, or oxide. (“That is to say, in the coated materials formed after the above-mentioned materials being coated, the coating layer is one or more selected from a group consisting of Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlF.sub.3, AlPO.sub.4, Li.sub.3PO.sub.4, Li.sub.4P.sub.2O.sub.7, ZrO.sub.2, MgO, TiO.sub.2, Y.sub.2O.sub.3, LiAlO.sub.2 and LiNiPO.sub.4; or the coating layer is one or more selected from a group consisting of carbon black Super P, carbon fiber (VGCF), carbon nanotubes (CNTs), graphene, mesoporous ordered carbon (e.g. mesoporous ordered carbon CMK-3) and active carbon.” Li [0023])
Li is considered to be analogous to Ye because they are both within the same field of positive electrodes for lithium secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layered oxide material of Ye to include the coating layer of Li in order to decrease resistance and improve cycle times after nailing test, discharging internal resistance test, and cycle test. (Li table 4 compares batteries 1”-3” with batteries 1-7, where 1”-3” have no coating layer and 1-7 do. “] It can be learned from the relevant data in the above Table 4 that, compared with Batteries 1.sup.#˜3.sup.#, Batteries 1˜7 all possess lower nailing path temperature, no sparking, no fire, smaller discharging internal resistance and more cycle times after the nailing test, discharging internal resistance test and cycle test.” Li [0094])
This same reasoning applies to using the coating layer of Li to meet the limitations of claim 15 as well, and therefore no further modification of motivation is needed to meet the limitations of the claim
Regarding claim 13, Ye is silent on the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mixed slurry with a mass percentage of 10% formed by mixing the phosphate-based positive electrode active material with water has a pH value between 8 and 10.
However, Li teaches all of the elements of claim 13 that are not found in Ye:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a mixed slurry with a mass percentage of 10% formed by mixing the phosphate-based positive electrode active material with water has a pH value between 8 and 10. (By using the lithium iron phosphate salt of Li, which is the same material and has overlapping ranges with claim 14, as well as paragraph [0021] of the instant spec, this limitation would be inherently met as by mixing this material with water the pH would be always be the same, or at least cover the same range based on the percentage of active material vs water—the instant claim does not specify how much water is added, and therefore routine experimentation with how much active material vs how much water would inherently meet this pH range.)
Regarding claim 14, Ye is silent on the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 13, wherein the phosphate- based positive electrode active material comprises at least one of the following materials:LiMni-yFeyPO4, wherein y is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.5; Lii+tMni-cFecPi-zRzO4, wherein t is any value in a range of -0.100 to 0.100, c is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.500, z is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.100, and R comprises one or more elements selected from B, S, Si, and N; and Lii+wAmMni-uEuPi-aRaO4-nDn, wherein A comprises one or more elements selected from Zn, Al, Na, K, Mg, Nb, Mo, and W, E comprises one or more elements selected from Zn, Al, Na, K, Mg, Mo, W, Ti, V, Zr, Fe, Ni, Co, Ga, Sn, Sb, Nb, and Ge, R comprises one or more elements selected from B, S, Si, and N, D comprises one or more elements selected from S, F, Cl, and Br, w is any value in a range of -0.100 to 0.100, m is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.1, u is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.500, a is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.100, n is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.1, and Lii+wAmMni-uEuPi-aRaO4-nDn is electrically neutral.
However, Li teaches all of the elements of claim 14 that are not found in Ye:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 13, wherein the phosphate- based positive electrode active material comprises at least one of the following materials:LiMni-yFeyPO4, wherein y is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.5; Lii+tMni-cFecPi-zRzO4, wherein t is any value in a range of -0.100 to 0.100, c is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.500, z is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.100, and R comprises one or more elements selected from B, S, Si, and N; and Lii+wAmMni-uEuPi-aRaO4-nDn, wherein A comprises one or more elements selected from Zn, Al, Na, K, Mg, Nb, Mo, and W, E comprises one or more elements selected from Zn, Al, Na, K, Mg, Mo, W, Ti, V, Zr, Fe, Ni, Co, Ga, Sn, Sb, Nb, and Ge, R comprises one or more elements selected from B, S, Si, and N, D comprises one or more elements selected from S, F, Cl, and Br, w is any value in a range of -0.100 to 0.100, m is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.1, u is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.500, a is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.100, n is any value in a range of 0.001 to 0.1, and Lii+wAmMni-uEuPi-aRaO4-nDn is electrically neutral. (“Examples of the first positive electrode active material include: … LiMn0.75Fe0.25PO4” Li [0018])
Li is considered to be analogous to Ye for the reasons provided above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phosphate based active material of Ye to substitute it with the phosphate based active material of Li because they are both known materials in the art and it would only require a simple substitution of one phosphate-based cathode active material for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 15, Ye is silent on the following elements:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the phosphate-based positive electrode active material has a second coating layer,
wherein the second coating layer comprises one or more coating layers of pyrophosphate, phosphate, or carbon.
However, Li teaches all of the elements of claim 15 that are not found in Ye:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the phosphate-based positive electrode active material has a second coating layer, (“The material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being doped and/or coated refers to a material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being doped, or a material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being coated, or a material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being doped and then being coated.” Li [0014])
wherein the second coating layer comprises one or more coating layers of pyrophosphate, phosphate, or carbon. (“A carbon material can also be selected to coat the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt, lithium spinel salt and the doped material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being doped. The specific type of the carbon material can be selected according to actual demand, for example, carbon black (e.g. carbon black Super P), carbon fiber (VGCF), carbon nanotubes (CNTs), graphene, mesoporous ordered carbon (e.g. mesoporous ordered carbon CMK-3), active carbon and so on can all be used to coat the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt, lithium spinel salt and the doped material formed after the above-mentioned lithium phosphate salt, lithium silicate salt or lithium spinel salt being doped.” Li [0016])
Regarding claim 19, Ye is silent on the following elements:
An electric apparatus, comprising a secondary battery, wherein the secondary battery comprises the secondary battery according to claim 18.
However, Li teaches all of the elements of claim 19 that are not found in Ye:
An electric apparatus, comprising a secondary battery, wherein the secondary battery comprises the secondary battery according to claim 18. (“The lithium battery may be used in a battery that is used as a power source of a miniaturized device or may be used as a unit battery of a mid or large-sized device battery module including a plurality of batteries.” Li [0131])
Li is considered to be analogous to Ye for the reasons provided above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the secondary battery of claim 18, made from the positive electrode plate of claim 1, in an electric apparatus because not only is this taught explicitly by Li, but is an obvious use of a secondary battery, as the entire purpose of a battery is to be used to power an electric device or apparatus.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN 112768702A) in view of Jeon (US 20230187642 A1), further in view of Koh (US 20110318638 A1) and Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1), and further in view of Ko (US 20240234723 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ye teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Ye is silent on the following elements of claim 20:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein arrangement of the positive electrode film layer comprises any one of the following manners: one first active layer and two second active layers are arranged, with the first active layer disposed between the second active layers;
and two first active layers and one second active layer are arranged, with the second active layer disposed between the first active layers.
However, Ko teaches all of the elements of claim 20 that are not found in Ye or Jeon. Specifically, Ko teaches a positive electrode with two alternative positive electrode active material layers, that can have anywhere between 2 and 10 layers.
The positive electrode plate according to claim 1, wherein arrangement of the positive electrode film layer comprises any one of the following manners: one first active layer and two second active layers are arranged, with the first active layer disposed between the second active layers; (“Specifically, the positive electrode mixture layer has a structure in which n (where n≥2) individual positive electrode mixture layers are stacked on the positive electrode current collector. Here, the positive electrode mixture layer stacked on the surface contacting the positive electrode current collector is a first positive electrode mixture layer, and the second positive electrode mixture layer to the n.sup.th positive electrode mixture layer are sequentially stacked on the first positive electrode mixture layer, so that n individual positive electrode mixture layers are positioned on the positive electrode current collector.” Ko [0059] and “The number of positive electrode mixture layers is not particularly limited as long as the positive electrode mixture layer has a structure of two or more layers, but specifically, it may be 2 to 10 layers; 2 to 8 layers; 2 to 6 layers; or 2 to 4 layers.” Ko [0060])
and two first active layers and one second active layer are arranged, with the second active layer disposed between the first active layers.
Ko is considered to be analogous to Ye because it is within the same field of lithium secondary batteries containing multiple positive electrode active material layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layered structure of Ye to include a third layer, in order to increase energy density of the electrode, among other beneficial effects (“By controlling the number of layers of the positive electrode mixture layer within the above range, the present disclosure may increase the energy density of the electrode while preventing a decrease in the manufacturing efficiency of the positive electrode, and at the same time, heat generated during charging and discharging of the battery can be effectively released to the outside.” Ko [0060]). Ko teaches that continuing to add additional alternating layers can provide positive effects on battery characteristics, and therefore, one skilled in the art would be able to come to the conclusion that adding a third layer (and possibly a 4th and beyond) could be a simple way to improve energy density, and therefore would be an obvious modification.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (CN 112768702A) in view of Jeon (US 20230187642 A1), further in view of Koh (US 20110318638 A1) and Morigaki (US 20020061448 A1), and further in view of Li (US 20170092943 A1), and further in view of Badding (US 20230223518 A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Ye teaches all of the elements of claim 12, as shown above. Ye and Li are silent on the following elements of claim 21:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 12, wherein the first coating layer comprises the conductive polymer material, the conductive polymer material comprises one or more selected from polypyrrole, poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene), and polyamide.
However, Badding teaches all of the elements of claim 21 that are not found in the aforementioned references.
The positive electrode plate according to claim 12, wherein the first coating layer comprises the conductive polymer material, the conductive polymer material comprises one or more selected from polypyrrole, poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene), and polyamide. (“In some embodiments, battery 100 may include a substrate 102 (e.g., a current collector), a cathode 104 disposed on the substrate, an optional coating layer 114 disposed on the cathode,” Badding [0038] and “In some examples, the coating layer 114 may comprise at least one of carbon polysulfides (CS), polyethylene oxides (PEO), polyaniline (PANT), polypyrrole (PPY), poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)” Badding [0044]. In this case, polypyrrole and poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene are both taught as possible coating layers.)
Badding and Li are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of positive electrodes containing coating layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to substitute the cathode coating layer with the cathode coating layer of Badding, as this would only require the simple substitution of one cathode coating layer for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). By using the coating layer of Badding with modified Ye, as opposed to that of Li, all of the above limitations would be met.
By substituting the coating layer of Li with the materials/teachings of Badding, the additional limitations of claim 22 would also be met without requiring any further motivation or modification.
Regarding claim 22, modified Ye teaches all of the elements of claim 12, as shown above. Ye and Li are silent on the following elements of claim 22:
The positive electrode plate according to claim 12, wherein the first coating layer comprises the oxide, the oxide comprises one or more of selected from Li2ZrO3, LiNbO3,Li4TisOi2, Li2TiO3, Li3VO4, LiSnO3, and Li2SiO3.
However, Badding teaches all of the elements of claim 22 that are not found in the aforementioned references.
The positive electrode plate according to claim 12, wherein the first coating layer comprises the oxide, the oxide comprises one or more of selected from Li2ZrO3, LiNbO3,Li4TisOi2, Li2TiO3, Li3VO4, LiSnO3, and Li2SiO3. (“In some examples, the coating layer 114 may comprise a lithium-rich additive (e.g., Li.sub.αZr.sub.βO.sub.γ, 0<α<9, 0<β<3, and 1<γ<10), such as Li.sub.2ZrO.sub.3,” Badding [0045]. The use of Li2ZrO3 would anticipate all limitations of claim 22.)
Conclusion
The following references were considered to be relevant upon updated search, but were not used in the above rejection:
Galiano (US 20130150544 A1)—teaches about the benefits of a copolymer including VDF and EO building blocks/properties (“In both of these cases, the system is complex, since it requires the addition of several ingredients in order to attempt to benefit both from the properties stemming from PVDF and from the properties stemming from the ethylene oxide unit.” Galiano [0016])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752