DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 13-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN217405571U, see Machine Translations for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on August 29th, 2025) in view of Wang (CN209344191U, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on August 29th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a case (battery box, [003]), comprising:
A frame (box frame-1, [0033]); and
An end plate connection to the frame (liquid cooling plate-2 and protective shell-5 form end plate, Fig. 4, [0040]), wherein the end plate comprises a first connecting portion (connection member-3 acts as first connecting portion, Fig. 4, [0038]) and a second connecting portion both facing the frame (end plate portion above sealing member-6 acts as second connecting portion, Fig. 3); a circumferential edge of the first connecting portion and a circumferential edge of the second connecting portion are both connected to the frame; and an entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner (Fig. 4), wherein
The end plate comprises a first plate and a second plate stacked in a first direction, the first connection portion is disposed on the first plate, and the second connection portion is disposed on the second plate (second plate-22 acts as first plate, protective shell-5 acts as second plate, Fig. 4, connecting member-3 acts as first connecting portion, portion above sealing member-6 acts as second connecting portion, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specifications, the first connection portion being disposed on the first plate can be interpreted to mean that the first connecting portion has a connecting structure to the first plate, and that the second connection portion has a connecting structure to the second plate, and therefore Chen discloses this limitation),
The frame is disposed around a circumferential outer edge of the first plate and further comprises a first limiting portion and a first extension portion (box frame-5, connecting member-3 portion has first extending portion that is between second plate-22 acting as first plate, and protective shell-5 acting as second plate, Fig. 4), the first limiting portion and the first extension portion together form a step-shaped structure (the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “a step-shaped structure” can be interpreted to be any structure that has an elevated level and a less elevated level, and therefore Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above),
The first extension portion is extending between the first plate and the second plate, a side of the first extension portion facing away from the second plate is connection to the first connecting portion I s continuous and sealing manner (connecting member top portion of inclined portion of connecting member, Fig. 4, top of connecting member-3 that abuts against vertical box frame-1 acts as first limiting portion, formed from second plate-22 Fig. 4),
The first limiting portion is disposed on a side of the first extension portion facing away from the second plate, and the first limiting portion abuts against the circumferential outer edge of the first plate, a side of the first limiting portion facing from the second plate is flush with a side of the first plate facing away from the second plate (top of connecting member-3 that abuts against vertical box frame-1 acts as first limiting portion, formed from second plate-22 Fig. 4).
Choi further discloses wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction by which the second plate exceeds the first plate (protective sheel-5 acting as second plate, second plate-22 acting as first plate, Fig. 4, [0033]). Choi further discloses wherein the wide side length can be adjusted ([0038]), but does not directly disclose wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
The examiner notes that the range of the projection of the second plate is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, since Choi’s second plate and first plate function the same as the instant, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Choi to have wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
Chen further discloses wherein the end plate further comprises an intermediate member disposed between the first pate and the second plate, the intermediate member connects the first plate and the second late, such that a spacing is formed between the first plate and the second plate (first plate-21 acts as intermediate member forming space, Fig. 4).
Choi does not directly disclose wherein the intermediate member is configured as a honeycomb structure, the intermediate members comprise a first component and a second component, the first component is configured as a honeycomb structure, and the second component forms at least one flow channel between the first component and the first plate or the second plate, and extending direction of the flow channel intersects the first direction.
Wang discloses a battery pack box that is formed of a frame with a bottom plate connected to the frame ([009]). Wang further discloses wherein the bottom frame comprises a first plate a second plate a porous plate interposed between the first and second plate ([0011-0014]). Wang further discloses wherein the porous plate has a honeycomb plate structure ([0019]). Wang further discloses cooling channels that run along a first direction that is placed between the first and second plate (Fig. 4, cooling channel-50, the reinforcement beam-50 comprises a cold plate. cold plate is provided with a cooling flow passage for the cooling medium to pass through; first plate-30 and second plate-60, [0121]). Wang teaches that this structure provides a battery with reduced weight while maintaining energy density of the battery ([008]).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are not on the same plane (Fig. 4 shows wherein the connecting member-3 acting as the first connecting portion and the portion above sealing member-6 acting as the second connecting portion are not on the same plane).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the first connecting portion is positioned closer to an internal space of the case than the second connecting portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner (Fig. 4 shows that first connecting portion and second connecting portion are connected to frame in continuous and sealing manner).
Chen discloses bolts that are screwed into the first fixing hole and second fixing hole to the protecting shell and the box frame (protective shell-5, box frame-1, which squeezes the second sealing member-6 to the protective shell-5 which forms a sealing effect, [0042]). It is the examiner’s position that the bolts are connecting members.
Therefore, Chen discloses wherein the second connecting portion is connected to the frame via at least two connecting members.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner by friction stir welding (connecting portion 3 and first plate-21 which is part of liquid cooling plate are welded by friction stir welding, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein an entire circumferential edge of one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner (first connecting portion is connected to frame in a continuous and sealing manner, Fig. 4).
Chen discloses bolts that are screwed into the first fixing hole and second fixing hole to the protecting shell and the box frame (protective shell-5, box frame-1, which squeezes the second sealing member-6 to the protective shell-5 which forms a sealing effect, [0042]). It is the examiner’s position that the bolts are connecting members.
Therefore, Chen discloses wherein the second connecting portion is connected to the frame via at least two connecting members.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein a projection range of the second connecting portion in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection range of the first connecting portion in the first distance (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the specifications, the examiner is interpreting projection range to mean the distance the projection range’s structure, second connecting portion or first connecting portion, extends in a first direction, therefore since the second connecting portion extends further in a first direction than the first connecting portion, Fig. 4, Chen discloses the limitation wherein a projection range of the second connecting portion in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection range of the first connecting portion in the first distance); the frame is disposed on a side of the second plate adjacent to the first plate (box-frame-1, Fig. 3),
A projection range of the first connecting portion in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection range of an intermediate member in the first direction (Fig. 4, first plate-21 acts as intermediate member, first connecting member exceeds further in first direction than first plate-21);
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein a projection range of the intermediate member in the first direction covers and exceeds the projection range of the first connecting portion the first direction (first plate-21 acting as intermediate member extends past connecting member-3 acting as first connecting portion).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses a battery comprising the case of claim 1 (battery pack, [0054], see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Chen does not directly disclose an electric device, comprising the battery according to claim 15 (see claim 15 rejection above).
Chen discloses wherein the battery technology can be applied to a wide application of scenarios ([002]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Chen to have wherein an electric device, comprising the battery according to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen discloses an assembly method for a case, comprising the following:
Providing frames (box frame-1, [0033]); and
Providing an end plate, wherein the end plate comprises a first connecting portion and a second connecting portion both facing the frame (liquid cooling plate-2 and protective shell-5 form end plate, Fig. 4, [0040], connection member-3 acts as first connecting portion, Fig. 4, [0038], end plate portion above sealing member-6 acts as second connecting portion, Fig. 3); and
Connecting both a circumferential edge of the first connecting portion and a circumferential edge of the second connecting portion are both connected to the frame; and an entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner (Fig. 4), and wherein
The end plate comprises a first plate and a second plate stacked in a first direction, the first connection portion is disposed on the first plate, and the second connection portion is disposed on the second plate (second plate-22 acts as first plate, protective shell-5 acts as second plate, Fig. 4, connecting member-3 acts as first connecting portion, portion above sealing member-6 acts as second connecting portion, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specifications, the first connection portion being disposed on the first plate can be interpreted to mean that the first connecting portion has a connecting structure to the first plate, and that the second connection portion has a connecting structure to the second plate, and therefore Chen discloses this limitation),
The frame is disposed around a circumferential outer edge of the first plate and further comprises a first limiting portion and a first extension portion (box frame-5, connecting member-3 portion has first extending portion that is between second plate-22 acting as first plate, and protective shell-5 acting as second plate, Fig. 4), the first limiting portion and the first extension portion together form a step-shaped structure (the examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “a step-shaped structure” can be interpreted to be any structure that has an elevated level and a less elevated level, and therefore Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above),
The first extension portion is extending between the first plate and the second plate, a side of the first extension portion facing away from the second plate is connection to the first connecting portion I s continuous and sealing manner (connecting member top portion of inclined portion of connecting member, Fig. 4, top of connecting member-3 that abuts against vertical box frame-1 acts as first limiting portion, formed from second plate-22 Fig. 4),
The first limiting portion is disposed on a side of the first extension portion facing away from the second plate, and the first limiting portion abuts against the circumferential outer edge of the first plate, a side of the first limiting portion facing from the second plate is flush with a side of the first plate facing away from the second plate (top of connecting member-3 that abuts against vertical box frame-1 acts as first limiting portion, formed from second plate-22 Fig. 4).
Choi further discloses wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction by which the second plate exceeds the first plate (protective sheel-5 acting as second plate, second plate-22 acting as first plate, Fig. 4, [0033]). Choi further discloses wherein the wide side length can be adjusted ([0038]), but does not directly disclose wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
The examiner notes that the range of the projection of the second plate is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, since Choi’s second plate and first plate function the same as the instant, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Choi to have wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
Chen further discloses wherein the end plate further comprises an intermediate member disposed between the first pate and the second plate, the intermediate member connects the first plate and the second late, such that a spacing is formed between the first plate and the second plate (first plate-21 acts as intermediate member forming space, Fig. 4).
Choi does not directly disclose wherein the intermediate member is configured as a honeycomb structure, the intermediate members comprise a first component and a second component, the first component is configured as a honeycomb structure, and the second component forms at least one flow channel between the first component and the first plate or the second plate, and extending direction of the flow channel intersects the first direction.
Wang discloses a battery pack box that is formed of a frame with a bottom plate connected to the frame ([009]). Wang further discloses wherein the bottom frame comprises a first plate a second plate a porous plate interposed between the first and second plate ([0011-0014]). Wang further discloses wherein the porous plate has a honeycomb plate structure ([0019]). Wang further discloses cooling channels that run along a first direction that is placed between the first and second plate (Fig. 4, cooling channel-50, first plate-30 and second plate-60, [0121]). Wang teaches that this structure provides a battery with reduced weight while maintaining energy density of the battery ([008]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the first connecting portion is positioned closer to an internal space of the case than the second connecting portion (Fig. 4;
Connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion is connected to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner comprises: connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner, (Fig. 4 shows that first connecting portion and second connecting portion are connected to frame in continuous and sealing manner) and connecting the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to eh frame via at least two connecting members (Chen discloses bolts that are screwed into the first fixing hole and second fixing hole to the protecting shell and the box frame (protective shell-5, box frame-1, which squeezes the second sealing member-6 to the protective shell-5 which forms a sealing effect, [0042]). It is the examiner’s position that the bolts are connecting members. Therefore, Chen discloses wherein the second connecting portion is connected to the frame via at least two connecting members).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the end plate comprises a first plate and second plate stacked in a first direction; the first connecting portion is disposed on the first plate, and the second connecting portion is disposed on the second plate (second plate-22 acts as first plate, Fig. 4, [0038], protective shell-5 acts as second plate, Fig. 4, [0039]).
Chen discloses placing the frame on a side of the second plate adjacent to the first plate, wherein the frame is disposed around a circumferential outer edge of the first plate, and a first extension portion on the frame extends between the first plate and the second plate (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, box frame-1, second plate-2 part of liquid cooling plate-2 ); connecting the entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner comprises: connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the first extension portion in a continuous and sealing manner (Fig. 4 shows that the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the first extension portion in a continuous and sealing manner); and connecting the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame via at least two connecting members (Chen discloses bolts that are screwed into the first fixing hole and second fixing hole to the protecting shell and the box frame protective shell-5, box frame-1, which squeezes the second sealing member-6 to the protective shell-5 which forms a sealing effect, [0042]).
Chen does not directly disclose wherein prior to connecting both the circumferential edge of the first connecting portion and the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame, the assembly method further comprises: placing the frame on a side of the second plate adjacent to the first plate, wherein the frame is disposed around a circumferential outer edge of the first plate, and a first extension portion on the frame extends between the first plate and the second plate; connecting the entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner comprises: connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the first extension portion in a continuous and sealing manner; and connecting the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame via at least two connecting members.
However, Chen discloses wherein the liquid cooling plate acting as the end plate and the box frame are welded together ([0032]), where the weld process further includes welding the second plate-22, acting as the first plate, to the connecting part-3, acting as the first connection portion ([0039]). Chen further discloses a weld process to form the connection part-3 to the second plate-22 ([0038]) that is separate from the welding process of the protective shell-5, which forms the end plate and the box frame-1 ([0042]).
Therefore it is the examiner’s position, that since these welding processes are separate, that one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Chen to have wherein prior to connecting both the circumferential edge of the first connecting portion and the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame, the assembly method further comprises: placing the frame on a side of the second plate adjacent to the first plate, wherein the frame is disposed around a circumferential outer edge of the first plate, and a first extension portion on the frame extends between the first plate and the second plate; connecting the entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner comprises: connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the first extension portion in a continuous and sealing manner; and connecting the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame via at least two connecting members.
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses providing the frame comprises: placing the frame and allowing an end portion of the frame to be connected to the end plate to be positioned above a cavity enclosed by the frame (Fig. 4 and Fig. 3 show that box frame has cavity formed above the end plate and connecting portion structures that is enclosed by box frame-1);
connecting the entire circumferential edge of at least one of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion to the frame in a continuous and sealing manner comprises: placing the first plate into an end portion of the frame and supporting the first plate by a second extension portion on the frame; and connecting the entire circumferential edge of the first connecting portion to the second extension portion in a continuous and sealing manner (first connecting portion is connected to frame in a continuous and sealing manner, Fig. 4, second plate-22 acts as first plate placed on end plate structure formed from liquid cooling plate-2, connecting member-3 acts as first connecting portion, inclined portion of connecting member-3 acts a second extension portion);
and disposing the second plate on a side of the first plate facing away from the frame, wherein the second plate covers the frame, and connecting the circumferential edge of the second connecting portion to the frame via at least two connecting members (protective shell-5 defines second plate, Chen discloses bolts that are screwed into the first fixing hole and second fixing hole to the protecting shell and the box frame protective shell-5, box frame-1, which squeezes the second sealing member-6 to the protective shell-5 which forms a sealing effect, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the frame further comprises a second extension portion, the second extension portion is disposed on a side of the first plate facing away from the second plate, a side of the second extension portion adjacent to the second plate is connection the first connection portion in a continuous and sealing manner (Fig. 4, second plate-22 acts as first plate placed on end plate structure formed from liquid cooling plate-2, connecting member-3 acts as first connecting portion, inclined portion of connecting member-3 acts a second extension portion),
The frame further comprises a second limiting portion, the second limiting portion is disposed on a side of the second extension portion adjacent to the second plate, and the second limiting portion abuts against a circumferential outer edge of the first plate, the side of the second limiting portion adjacent to the second plate is flush with a side of the first plate adjacent to the second plate (portion of connecting member-3 that is elevated over the second plate-22 acting s as first plate acts as second extension portion, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN217405571U, see Machine Translations for citations) in view of in view of Wang (CN209344191U, see Machine Translation for citations) further in view of Zhang (US20190207281).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Chen does not directly disclose wherein the connecting member comprises a hot-met self-tapping screw.
Zhang discloses a battery with a housing structure (housing-12, [009]), which uses a fixed hole to seal the housing (fixed hole-h, [0030]). Zhang further discloses wherein the fixed hole is sealed using a hot melt nut or self-tapping ([0030]). Zhang teaches that this structure provided improved side edge strength of the battery ([0032]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen with the teachings of Zhang to have wherein the connecting member comprises a hot-met self-tapping screw. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved side edge strength of the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed April 27th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 17 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Choi in view of Wang under 35 USC 103.
Applicant's arguments filed April 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Choi does not disclose a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
Choi discloses wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction by which the second plate exceeds the first plate (protective sheel-5 acting as second plate, second plate-22 acting as first plate, Fig. 4, [0033]). Choi further discloses wherein the wide side length can be adjusted ([0038]), but does not directly disclose wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
The examiner notes that the range of the projection of the second plate is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, since Choi’s second plate and first plate function the same as the instant, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Choi to have wherein a projection of the second plate in the first direction covers and exceeds a projection of the first plate in the first direction, a dimension L1, by which the second plate exceeds the first plate, ranges from 10 mm to 50mm.
Applicant further argues that Wang does not disclose a honeycomb structure and instead discloses a first plate, second plate and perforated plate that can be a honeycomb plate, and that Wang does not disclose that the plate comprises a first component and a second component.
The examiner notes that Wang is brought in only to teach the use of honeycomb structure for a first component of the intermediate member.
Wang discloses a battery pack box that is formed of a frame with a bottom plate connected to the frame ([009]). Wang further discloses wherein the bottom frame comprises a first plate a second plate a porous plate interposed between the first and second plate ([0011-0014]). Wang further discloses wherein the porous plate has a honeycomb plate structure ([0019]). Wang further discloses cooling channels that run along a first direction that is placed between the first and second plate (Fig. 4, cooling channel-50, the reinforcement beam-50 comprises a cold plate. cold plate is provided with a cooling flow passage for the cooling medium to pass through; first plate-30 and second plate-60, [0121]). Wang teaches that this structure provides a battery with reduced weight while maintaining energy density of the battery ([008]).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language “honeycomb structure” can be interpreted to include a honeycomb plate. Furthermore, Wang discloses a honeycomb structure and a flow channel structure which act as the first and second component of the intermediate member respectively.
Therefore applicant’s arguments regarding the Choi in view of Wang combination are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728