DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 05/10/2026. Claims 1, 8, and 11-14 are currently amended. Claims 9-10 are canceled. Claims 1-, 4-8, and 11-20 are pending review in this action. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1. New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Examiner’s Note
Claim 20 is a multiple dependent claim which appears to be in proper form according to MPEP 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) further in view of Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Oh discloses a battery apparatus (battery pack), comprising: a plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10), wherein each battery cell unit (battery module, 10) of the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) comprises a housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) and a plurality of pouch battery cells (110) (Figures 3 and 9, [0061, 0063, 0079, 0089]). Oh further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) is internally provided with an accommodating cavity (space wherein battery cells, 110, reside), wherein the plurality of pouch battery cells (110) are disposed in the accommodating cavity (Figures 1 and 2, [0061]). Oh further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) comprises two first walls (end plates, 20) arranged oppositely along a first direction (width direction, see Figure 1) and a second wall (upper cover, 40) located between the two first walls (end plates, 20) (Figures 1 and 3, [0061]). Oh further discloses that the second wall (upper cover, 40) is located at one end (upper end as shown in Figure 1) of the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) along a second direction (height direction, see Figure 1) and is connected to the two first walls (end plates, 20) via a first clamp (51) (Figure 1, [0061]). Oh further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) has a first opening (see Figure 2) formed at another end along the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1), and the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1) is perpendicular to the first direction (width direction, see Figure 1) (Figures 1 and 2). Oh further discloses that the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) are arranged along the first direction (width direction, see Figure 1) to form a unit group (battery module assembly, 80) (Figure 6, [0080]). Oh further discloses that two battery cell units (battery module, 10) of the unit group (battery module assembly, 80) along the first direction (width direction, see Figure 1) are respectively a first battery cell unit (battery module, 10, at one end of battery module assembly, 80) and a second battery cell unit (battery module, 10, at opposite end of battery module assembly, 80) (Figure 6, [0080]). Oh further discloses that the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) of the unit group (battery module assembly, 80) are connected to one another by aligning and fastening the battery cell units (battery module, 10) using a fastening member (65) (Figure 6, [0080, 0082]). Oh further discloses that the battery apparatus (battery pack) further comprises a case (900), wherein the case (900) comprises an inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) (Figure 9, [0087-0088]). Oh further discloses that an end (lower end) of the first wall (end plates, 20) of the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) facing away from the second wall (upper cover, 40) is provided with a first connecting portion (see annotated Figure 4 below) (Figure 4, [0077]). Oh further discloses that the first connecting portion (see annotated Figure 4 below) of the first wall (end plates, 20) is connected to a cover (60) of the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) via a bolt (21) (Figure 4, [0077]). Oh further discloses that the cover (60) is connected to the inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) via a nut(65)/bolt(902) configuration (Figure 11, [0097-0098]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing 1) a limiting member, wherein the limiting member is located on a side of the second walls of at least some battery cell units in the unit group facing away from the first opening, and the limiting member is configured to provide a constraining force along the first direction to the battery cell units; and a first structural member and a second structural member, wherein the first structural member and the second structural member are respectively a first beam and a second beam, the first beam and the second beam both extend in a third direction, the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction, the first beam and the second beam are respectively located at two opposite ends of the unit group along the first direction and are respectively connected to the first battery cell unit and the second battery cell unit, wherein the limiting member is connected to the first beam and the second beam and limits a relative position between the first beam and the second beam in the first direction, thereby limiting a relative position between the first battery cell unit and the second battery cell unit in the first direction; 2) the limiting member is connected to the second walls of the at least some battery cell units in the unit group; and 3) that an adhesive is applied to a surface of the inner bottom wall facing the battery cell units, the first connecting portions of the plurality of battery cell units are bonded to the surface of the inner bottom wall facing the plurality of battery cell units through the adhesive.
Regarding 1), Choi discloses a battery unit group (battery module assembly, 20) comprising a plurality of battery cell units (battery modules, 10) (Figure 4, [0053]). Choi further discloses that each battery cell unit (battery modules, 10) comprises a housing (module frames, 12) which accommodates a plurality of pouch battery cells (secondary battery cells, 11) (Figure 10, [0044, 0071-0072]). Choi further discloses that within the battery unit group (battery module assembly, 20), the plurality of battery cell units (battery modules, 10) are arranged along a first direction (stacking direction, see Figure 12) and that at a first end (front end, see Figure 12) and a second end (back end, see Figure 12) of the battery unit group (battery module assembly, 20) in the first direction (stacking direction, see Figure 12), there is a first structural member (end plate, 21) and a second structural member (end plate, 21), respectively (Figure 12, [0079]). Choi further discloses a limiting member (tension bars, 30) which is fixed to the first structural member (end plate, 21) and a second structural member (end plate, 21) and is in contact with a top end of the battery cell units (battery modules, 10) (Figure 13, [0082]). Choi further discloses that the first structural member (end plate, 21) and the second structural member (end plate, 21) are respectively a first beam and a second beam, each beam extending in a third direction (left to right of battery module assembly, 20, as shown in Figure 13) (Figure 13). Choi further discloses that the limiting member (tension bars, 30) provides a constraining force (supporting force) in the first direction (stacking direction, see Figure 12) such that that the battery unit group (battery module assembly, 20) may be coupled in a firm state (Figure 13, [0082-0083]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery apparatus of Oh to include the limiting member and the structural members in the configuration taught by Choi, such that structural members are located on the sides of the unit group in the first direction and the limiting member is connected to each structural member such that the limiting member is in contact with the tops of the battery cell units, as taught by Choi. Upon such a modification, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring that the battery cell units within the unit group are securely fixed to one another in a firm state, as taught by Choi, thus improving the safety and reliability of the battery apparatus. Additionally, the skilled artisan would be motivated to make such a modification as Oh discloses that the battery cell units within the unit group are connected to one another through a fastening means (as detailed above), thus demonstrating that the secure connection of the battery cell units to one another within the unit group is a desired feature of the battery apparatus of Oh. Furthermore, the selection of a known apparatus based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the limiting member is in contact with the tops of the battery cell units, the limiting member would indeed be in contact with the second walls of the battery cell units in the unit group facing away from the first opening, as the second wall of battery cell units is located at the top of the battery cell units. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the structural member located on a first side of the unit group in the first direction may be considered a first structural member, and the structural member located on a second side of the unit group in the first direction may be considered a second structural member. The skilled artisan would further appreciate that the first structural member and second structural member of modified Oh are respectively a first beam and a second beam, which extend in a third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1 of Oh) perpendicular to the first direction (width direction, see Figure 1 of Oh) and the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1 of Oh). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the first beam and the second beam are respectively located at two opposite ends of the unit group along the first direction and are thus respectively connected to the first battery cell unit and the second battery cell unit. The skilled artisan would further appreciate that the limiting member is connected to the first beam and the second beam in the first direction, and as such would necessarily provide a constraining force along the first direction to the battery cell units, as well as limit a relative position between the first beam and the second beam, and the first battery cell unit and the second battery cell unit in the first direction. Thus, upon the above modification, the limitations of Claim 1 detailed under “1)” above, are met.
Regarding 2), Keum discloses a battery pack (40) comprising a plurality of battery cells (610) accommodated in a pack case (305) (Figure 14, [0117, 0119]). Keum further discloses that the pack case (305) is provided with an adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) on an inner surface such that the plurality of battery cells (610) are connected to the pack case (305) through the adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) (Figure 14, [0075, 0118]). Keum further discloses that the adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) may be a waterproof potting resin such as an epoxy resin and may include a phase-change material, thus having both cooling and adhesive properties (Figure 14, [0077-0078, 0118]). Keum further discloses that by using such a potting resin with a phase-change material, the cooling performance of the battery cells is improved [0078].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify the battery apparatus of Oh to utilize the adhesive of Keum to connect the limiting member to the battery cell units, as it is known in the art that such an adhesive is useful for forming a reliable structural connection between battery units and a support structure, as taught by Keum. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a secure connection between the limiting member and the battery cell units, while also providing an additional feature of improving the cooling performance of the battery cell units, as taught by Keum, thus enhancing the overall safety of the battery apparatus. Upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 1 requiring that the limiting member is connected to the second walls of the at least some battery cell units in the unit group, is met.
Regarding 3), Shin discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (secondary batteries, 100) and a housing (cooling plate, 200) (Figure 2, [0061]). Shin further discloses that the housing (cooling plate, 200) consists of an inner bottom wall (surface on which secondary batteries, 100, are placed), and that the plurality of battery cells (secondary batteries, 100) are fixed to the inner bottom wall (surface on which secondary batteries, 100, are placed) via an adhesive (Figures 1 and 6, [0079]). Shin further teaches that by using an adhesive to fix the plurality of battery cells (secondary batteries, 100) to the housing (cooling plate, 200), the assembly and structure of the battery module may be simplified as required components may be reduced (Figure 1, [0079]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the means of connecting the battery cell units to the housing, an adhesive, as it is known in the art that the use of an adhesive is a suitable means of connecting a plurality of battery cells to a housing, as taught by Shin. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of success in providing a reliable connection between the plurality of battery cell units and the housing while also simplifying the assembly and structure of the battery, as taught by Shin. Upon all of the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 4 (Oh US 2022/0190430 A1)
Regarding Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Oh discloses that the limiting member is in connected to the second walls (upper cover, 40) of the battery cell units (battery module, 10) via an adhesive, and that the limiting member is connected to each of the first structural member and the second structural member such that the battery cell units (battery module, 10) within the unit group (battery module assembly, 80) are securely fixed to one another in a firm state.
As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that each region where the limiting member is in contact with the second walls (upper cover, 40) of the battery cell units (battery module, 10) via the adhesive may be considered a connecting portion protruding from a surface of the limiting member facing the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) along the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1). Furthermore, as there are a plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10), there are necessarily a plurality of connecting portions. Therefore, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Regarding Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 4):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 4 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, modified Oh discloses that the limiting member is connected to the at least some battery cell units (battery module, 10) through an adhesive. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Regarding Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that each of the plurality of pouch battery cells (110) in one battery cell unit (battery module, 10) of the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) comprises multiple pouch battery cells (110) accommodated in the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) (Figure 2, [0061]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 20 (Dependent Upon Claim 1 OR Claim 19):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses an electric apparatus (vehicle), comprising the battery apparatus (battery pack) according to Claim 1, wherein the battery apparatus (battery pack) is configured to store and provide electrical energy (Figure 17, [0006-0008, 0114-0115]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 20 are met.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, further in view of Shin et al. (US 2022/0302491 A1) (hereafter referred to as “Shin (2022)” to distinguish from Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1)).
Regarding Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 5 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 5, the limiting member of modified Oh is connected to the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) through the adhesive.
As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the region of the housing (end plates, 20, and upper cover, 40) where the limiting member is connected to the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) through the adhesive may be considered an adhesive region. The skilled artisan would further appreciate that the adhesive region would be formed on the second walls (upper cover, 40) of the battery cell units (battery module, 10), as the limiting member of modified Oh contacts the battery cell units (battery module, 10) at the second wall.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the housing of the battery cell unit is provided with an insulating layer, and that the insulating layer is provided with a window in the adhesive region to allow the adhesive to connect the limiting member and the housing of the battery cell unit through the window.
The examiner notes that the Shin (2022) disclosure shares common Applicants and Inventors with the Oh disclosure. Furthermore, as can be seen from the disclosures of Shin (2022) and Oh, particularly in the figures thereof, the disclosed inventions are analogous.
Shin (2022) discloses a battery cell unit (battery module, 10) comprising a housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) and a battery cell (110) (Figure 3, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) is internally provided with an accommodating cavity (space wherein battery cells, 110, reside), the battery cell (110) is disposed in the accommodating cavity (Figures 1 and 2, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) comprises two first walls (end plates, 20) arranged oppositely along a first direction (x direction, see Figure 1) and a second wall (first cover, 40) located between the two first walls (end plates, 20) (Figures 1 and 3, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the second wall (first cover, 40) is located at one end (upper end as shown in Figure 1) of the housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) along a second direction (z direction, see Figure 1) and connected to the two first walls (end plates, 20) via a first clamp (51) (Figure 1, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the first walls (end plates, 20) may include an outer plate (201) and an inner plate (202) (Figure 7, [0065]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the inner plate (202) may be formed of an insulation material and may have a higher rigidity than the outer plate (201) in order to protect the battery cells upon external impact (Figure 7, [0026, 0066]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the end plate portions of the housing of Oh to have the configuration of the end plates of Shin (2022), such that the end plates each comprise an inner plate and an outer plate, wherein the inner plate is formed from an insulation material and has a higher rigidity than the outer plate, as taught by Shin (2022). By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving the insulation of the battery cell unit and of protecting the battery cell unit from damage in the case of external impact, as taught by Shin (2022).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the housing of the battery cell unit is provided with an insulating layer (i.e., the inner plates). Furthermore, as the upper cover (40) portion of the housing does not comprise the insulating layer (inner plates), the skilled artisan would appreciate that the upper cover (40) portion of the housing may be considered “a window” as it is between the insulating layer (inner plates). As such, the adhesive region is necessarily within the window, as the adhesive region is located on the second walls (upper cover, 40) of the battery cell units (battery module, 10), and therefore the adhesive connects the limiting member and the housing of the battery cell unit through the window. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1) Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1) and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, with evidentiary support from Master Bond Adhesives (Webpage).
Regarding Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 5):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 5 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 5, modified Oh discloses that the limiting member is connected to the at least some battery cell units (battery module, 10) using the adhesive of Keum. Keum discloses that the adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) may be a waterproof potting resin such as an epoxy resin [0077].
Although Keum does not explicitly disclose that the adhesive is an insulating adhesive, Master Bond Adhesives teaches that epoxy resins are widely used as insulating materials for electrical and electronic applications (p.1, Optimizing Electrical & Electronic Insulation Properties for Epoxies). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the adhesive of modified Oh is an insulating adhesive. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Regarding Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Modified Oh is silent to the type of adhesive used to bond the plurality of battery cell units (battery module, 10) and the inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) to one another (i.e., Shin is silent to the type of adhesive used).
As disclosed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Keum discloses that the pack case (305) is provided with an adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) on an inner surface such that the plurality of battery cells (610) are connected to the pack case (305) through the adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) (Figure 14, [0075, 0118]). Keum further discloses that the adhesive (waterproof adhesive, 400) may be a waterproof potting resin such as an epoxy resin and may include a phase-change material, thus having both cooling and adhesive properties (Figure 14, [0077-0078, 0118]). Keum further discloses that by using such a potting resin with a phase-change material, the cooling performance of the battery cells is improved [0078].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to use the adhesive of Keum as the adhesive which bonds the plurality of battery cell units and the inner bottom wall, as such an adhesive is known in the art as suitable for use within a battery module, as taught by Keum, and also as upon the modification detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 is would be used within the battery module of modified Oh already and thus would be readily available for use in other regions of the battery module of modified Oh. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, although Keum does not explicitly disclose that the adhesive is an insulating adhesive, Master Bond Adhesives teaches that epoxy resins are widely used as insulating materials for electrical and electronic applications (p.1, Optimizing Electrical & Electronic Insulation Properties for Epoxies). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the adhesive of modified Oh is an insulating adhesive. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Eftekhari et al. (US 2025/0193979 A1).
Regarding Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the case comprises a heat exchange plate, wherein the inner bottom wall is a side surface of the heat exchange plate facing the battery cell unit, and the first connecting portion is connected to the inner bottom wall through a thermally conductive adhesive.
Eftekhari discloses a battery pack (traction battery pack, 18) comprising a plurality of battery modules (cell stack, 22) accommodated within a case (enclosure assembly, 24) (Figure 2, [0036]). Eftekhari further discloses that the case (enclosure assembly, 24) comprises a lower portion (enclosure tray, 28) which includes a heat exchanger plate (40) on the lower inner surface (floor) (Figure 2, [0041, 0047]). Eftekhari further disclose that the battery modules (cell stack, 22) are located on the heat exchanger plate (40) such that an interface is formed between the battery modules (cell stack, 22) and the heat exchanger plate (40) (Figure 2, [0041, 0047]). Eftekhari further discloses that the battery pack (traction battery pack, 18) further includes a lower interfacing structure (58) which is located between the battery modules (cell stack, 22) and is fixed to a floor (lower enclosure structure, 48) of the battery modules (cell stack, 22), thus increasing the overall rigidity of the battery pack (traction battery pack, 18) (Figure 3, [0052, 0055]). Eftekhari further discloses that the lower interfacing structure (58) may be fixed to the floor (lower enclosure structure, 48) of the battery modules (cell stack, 22) via an adhesive (thermal interface material, 69) (Figure 3, [0055]). Eftekhari further discloses the adhesive (thermal interface material, 69) is capable of facilitating heat transfer and may further provide sealing properties [0055].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the case of Oh to include a heat exchanger plate as the inner bottom wall, as it is known in the art as a useful configuration for a bottom portion of a case for a battery pack, as taught by Eftekhari. Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would expect that the battery pack would have improved cooling functionality, thus improving the safety of the battery pack. By such a modification, the limitation of Claim 12 requiring that the case comprises a heat exchange plate, wherein the inner bottom wall is a side surface of the heat exchange plate facing the battery cell unit, is met.
It would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to attach the first walls of the battery cell units to the inner bottom wall of the case using the adhesive of Eftekhari, as such an adhesive is known in the art as suitable for securely fixing a structural support in a battery pack to a floor of a casing, as taught by Eftekhari. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in improving heat transfer in the area of the first walls and providing additional sealing properties to the battery cell units, as taught by Eftekhari. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that in the case that the connection between the cover (60) of and the inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) of Oh is compromised, the connection provided between the first walls (end plates, 20) and the inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) would allow the battery cell units to remain securely fixed to the battery apparatus case.
Upon the above modification, the first connecting portion (see annotated Figure 4 above) is connected to the inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) via a thermally conductive adhesive as the first connecting portion (see annotated Figure 4 above) is integral with first walls (end plates, 20) (Figure 4 of Oh). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Bloder (US 2025/0323373 A1).
Regarding Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the inner bottom wall comprises a second connecting portion, and the first connecting portion is snap-fitted with the second connecting portion.
Bloder discloses a battery system (100) comprising a battery cell stack (10) including a plurality of battery cells (12) and a housing (cell stack frame, 20) accommodating the battery cell stack (10) (Figure 1, [0054-0055]). Bloder further discloses that the housing (cell stack frame, 20) comprises end plates (22) on either side of the battery cell stack (10), side walls (24/25), a top cover, and a bottom cover (Figure 1, [0043, 0055]). Bloder further discloses that the end plates (22) may include first interlocking elements (230) on all four sides which form a snap-fit connection with second interlocking elements (232) formed on the side walls (24/25), the top cover, and the bottom cover (Figure 1, [0017, 0055, 0057]). Bloder further discloses that attaching the various components of the housing (cell stack frame, 20) via a snap-fit mechanism allows the desired compression to be achieved on the battery cell stack (10) while also being easy to manufacture and simple to assemble [0046].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery apparatus of Oh to include on the lower end of the first connecting portion and on corresponding locations on the inner bottom wall, a first interlocking element and a second interlocking element, respectively, as such a snap-fit configuration is known in the art as suitable for forming a reliable connection between end plates of a battery cell stack and a bottom cover, as taught by Bloder. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a simple and efficient way of attaching the battery cell units to the case. Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2024/0396158 A1).
Regarding Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) further comprises electrode lead-out portions (extension part, 32) located on the two end surfaces (surfaces at which covers, 60, are located) of the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) along the third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1) (Figure 1 and 4, [0067, 0071, 0075]). Oh further discloses that electrode connection portions (electrodes) of the at least one pouch battery cell (110) are located at two ends of the pouch battery cell (110) along the third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1) (Figures 1 and 3, [0063]). Oh further discloses that the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) comprises a busbar (busbar assembly, 30) at both ends of the pouch battery cell (110) along a third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1), wherein the busbars (busbar assembly, 30) are connected to the electrodes of the pouch battery cell (110) (Figure 3, [0067]). Oh further discloses that the electrode lead-out portions (extension part, 32) are integrally formed with the busbar (busbar assembly, 30), thus the busbar (busbar assembly, 30) is connected to the electrode lead-out portions (extension part, 32) (Figures 3 and 4, [0075]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the electrode lead out portions are a positive electrode lead-out portion and a negative electrode lead-out portion located on the second wall, wherein when projected along the second direction toward the second wall, a projection of the limiting member is completely offset from a projection of the positive electrode lead-out portion and a projection of the negative electrode lead-out portion, that the electrode connecting portions and the busbars are arranged to have positive electrode connecting portions and positive electrode busbars at one end in the third direction and negative electrode connecting portions and negative electrode busbars at the other end in the third direction.
Kwon discloses a battery cell unit (battery cell assembly, 100) comprising a plurality of pouch battery cells (110) surrounded by a housing (cell cover, 120) (Figure 1, [0058]). Kwon further discloses that the pouch battery cells (110) comprise a positive electrode connecting portion (positive electrode lead, 111) protruding from one end of the pouch battery cell (110) in the length direction (L) and a negative electrode connecting portion (negative electrode lead, 111) protruding from the other end of the pouch battery cell (110) in the length direction (L) (Figure 1, [0058-0059]). Kwon further discloses that a bus bar (130) is provided at each end of the pouch battery cell (110) in the length direction (L) and that the bus bar (130) is connected to the respective electrode leads (111) (Figure 1, [0058, 0060]). Kwon further discloses that each bus bar (130) may include an electrode lead-out portion (terminal portion, 160) which is located on the outermost edges of an upper surface of the housing (cell cover, 120) (Figure 6, [0078]). Kwon further discloses that having the electrode lead-out portion (terminal portion, 160) be located on the upper surface of the housing (cell cover, 120) allows adjacent battery cell units (battery cell assembly) to be readily connected to one another via an inter-bus bar (K1) (Figure 6, [0078]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the electrode lead-out portions of Oh to be located on the outermost edges of the second wall (upper surface) of the housing of the battery cell units, as it is known in the art that such a location is suitable for an electrode lead-out portions for a battery cell unit, as taught by Kwon. Selecting such a location for the electrode lead-out portions of Oh would allow adjacent battery cell units to be easily electrically connected through a bridge bus bar, as taught by Kwon. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
It would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to implement the polarity arrangement of Kwon in the battery cell units of Oh, such that the positive electrode connecting lead, positive electrode busbar, and positive electrode lead-out portion are located on one side of the pouch battery cell in the third direction, and the negative electrode connecting lead, negative electrode busbar, and negative electrode lead-out portion are located on the opposite side of the pouch battery cell in the third direction, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for connecting electrical components of an assembly of pouch battery cells, as taught by Kwon. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the positive and negative electrode lead-outs, and their respective projections in the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1 of Oh) are located on the outermost edges of the second wall of the battery cell units. Upon the modification detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, the limiting member of modified Oh is adapted with the configuration taught by Choi. Choi discloses that the limiting members are not located at the outermost edges of the tops of the battery modules (see Figure 13 of Choi). Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the projection of the limiting member in the second direction would be completely offset from the projection of the electrode lead-outs in the second direction. Upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Shin et al. (US 2022/0302491 A1) (hereafter referred to as “Shin (2022)” to distinguish from Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1)).
Regarding Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) comprises two end surfaces (surfaces at which covers, 60, are located) along the third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1), (Figure 1, [0060]). Oh further discloses that the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) comprises electrode lead-out portions (extension part, 32) located on the two end surfaces (surfaces at which covers, 60, are located) of the battery cell unit (battery module, 10) along the third direction (longitudinal direction, see Figure 1) (Figure 1 and 4, [0067, 0071, 0075]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the electrode lead-out portions comprise a positive electrode lead-out portion and a negative electrode lead-out portion arranged on the two end surfaces along the third direction.
The examiner notes that the Shin (2022) disclosure shares common Applicants and Inventors with the Oh disclosure. Furthermore, as can be seen from the disclosures of Shin (2022) and Oh, particularly in the figures thereof, the disclosed inventions are analogous.
Shin (2022) discloses a battery cell unit (battery module, 10) comprising a housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) and a battery cell (110) (Figure 3, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) is internally provided with an accommodating cavity (space wherein battery cells, 110, reside), the battery cell (110) is disposed in the accommodating cavity (Figures 1 and 2, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the housing (end plates, 20, and first cover, 40) comprises two first walls (end plates, 20) arranged oppositely along a first direction (x direction, see Figure 1) and a second wall (first cover, 40) located between the two first walls (end plates, 20) (Figures 1 and 3, [0052]). Shin (2022) further discloses that the battery cell (110) comprises a positive electrode (111a) and a negative electrode (111) located on opposite ends of the of the battery cell (110) along a third direction (y direction, see Figure 1) (Figures 1 and 4, [0056]). Shin (2022) further discloses that electrode lead-outs (bus bars, 32) are located adjacent to the positive electrode (111a) and the negative electrode (111) and are electrically connected to the positive electrode (111a) and the negative electrode (111), respectively (Figure 11, [0077]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to apply the polarity configuration of Shin (2022) to the battery cell unit of Oh, such that the electrode lead-out portion on one side of the battery cell unit in the third direction is a positive electrode lead-out portion and the electrode lead-out portion on the opposite side of the battery cell unit in the third direction is a negative electrode lead-out portion, as taught by Shin (2022). Such a modification would be obvious to the skilled artisan as such an arrangement is known in the art as a suitable and safe polarity configuration for a battery cell unit, as taught by Shin. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Hong et al. (US 2023/0128563 A1).
Regarding Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the housing is further provided with a pressure relief structure, wherein the pressure relief structure is located on the second wall, and when projected along the second direction toward the second wall, a projection of the limiting member is completely offset from a projection of the pressure relief structure.
Hong discloses a battery module comprising a cell stack (200) and a housing (protective case, 100) which is comprised of a lower cover (110), an upper cover (120), and a pair of side covers (130) (Figure 1, [0061-0062]). Hong further discloses that the upper cover (120) includes a pressure relief structure (second perforated portions, 121) in the middle of the upper cover (120) (Figure 1, [0063]). Hong further discloses that when a thermal runaway event occurs the pressure relief structure (second perforated portions, 121) allows heat and vent gas to be discharged from the battery module, thus preventing the outbreak of a fire (Figure 1, [0015,0063]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to include on the second wall (analogous to the upper cover of Hong) of the battery cell units of Oh, the pressure relief structure of Hong, such that the pressure relief structure is arranged in a middle portion of the second wall. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a way for heat and vent gas to be discharged from the housing in the case of thermal runaway, thus preventing the outbreak of a fire, as taught by Hong.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the pressure relief structure and the projection thereof in the second direction (height direction, see Figure 1 of Oh), are located in a middle portion of the second wall. Upon the modification detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, the limiting member of modified Oh is adapted with the configuration taught by Choi. Choi discloses that the limiting members are not located at the middle of the tops of the battery modules (see Figure 13 of Choi). Thus, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the projection of the limiting member in the second direction would be completely offset from the projection of the pressure relief structure in the second direction. Thus, upon the above modifications, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Loacker (US 2021/0057696 A1).
Regarding Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses that the battery apparatus (battery pack) further comprises a case (900), wherein the case (900) comprises an inner bottom wall (horizontal member, 930) (Figure 9, [0087-0088]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the battery apparatus comprises an upper cover, and a compressible member, wherein the upper cover covers the case, and the compressible member abuts against both the limiting member and the upper cover, so that the upper cover presses against the battery cell unit through the compressible member.
Loacker discloses a battery apparatus (battery pack, 1) comprising a stack of battery modules (8), a case (box-shaped outer housing, 2), an upper cover (top, 4), and a compressible member (support member, 11) (Figure 1, [0050, 0052, 0054]). Loacker further discloses that the upper cover (top, 4) covers the case (box-shaped outer housing, 2) and the compressible member (support member, 11) is located between the upper cover (top, 4) and the stack of battery modules (8) (Figure 1, [0054]). Loacker further discloses that the compressible member (support member, 11) is formed from an elastic foam in order to provide a shock absorbing and vibration damping function for the battery apparatus (battery pack, 1) (Figure 1, [0055]). Loacker further teaches that the configuration of the case (box-shaped outer housing, 2) and the upper cover (top, 4) forms an environmentally sealed compartment, thus protecting the stack of battery modules (8) from environmental conditions [0006].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the battery apparatus of Oh to include an upper cover and a compressible member such that the upper cover covers the case and the compressible member is located on the inner side of the upper cover, as taught by Loacker. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in further protecting the battery cell units from environmental damage and would further mitigate damage to the battery cell units by providing a shock absorbing and vibration damping feature, as taught by Loacker.
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that as the limiting member is located on an upper surface of the unit group, when the upper cover (with compressible member located on an inner surface) is applied over such an upper surface to cover the case, that the compressible member would indeed abut both the limiting member and the upper cover such that the upper cover presses against the battery cell unit through the compressible member. As such, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Yoshitake et al. (US 2012/0052359 A1).
Regarding Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Oh is deficient in disclosing that the limiting member is made of a metal material, the housing is made of a metal material, and the limiting member is welded to the housing of the battery cell unit.
Yoshitake discloses a battery assembly comprising a plurality of battery cells (1) stacked in a first direction (front/rear direction as shown in Figure 1), and end plates (metal plates, 51/61) located at each end of the stack of battery cells (1) in the first direction (front/rear direction as shown in Figure 1) (Figure 1, [0043, 0051, 0053]). Yoshitake further discloses that the end plates (metal plates, 51/61) are formed of metal (Figure 1, [0051, 0053]). Yoshitake further discloses that a metal limiting member (metal bands) run between the end plates (metal plates, 51/61) and are welded to the end plates (metal plates, 51/61) in order to securely fix the battery assembly in a clamped manner [0064].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the material of the first walls and the limiting member of modified Oh, a metal material, as it is known in the art that metal is a suitable material for a clamping means and for housing components of a battery cell configuration, as taught by Yoshitake. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
It would be further obvious to the skilled artisan to select for the means of connecting the limiting member to the housing of Oh, welding, as such a method of connection is known in the art as suitable for connecting a clamping component to a housing component of a battery cell configuration, as taught by Yoshitake. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a battery apparatus wherein the various components are securely fixed with one another. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1) as modified by Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), and Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Mori (US 2009/0075174 A1).
Regarding Claim 19 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, and Shin discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Oh further discloses an electric apparatus (vehicle), comprising the battery apparatus (battery pack) according to Claim 1, wherein the battery apparatus (battery pack) is configured to store or provide electrical energy (Figure 17, [0006-0008, 0114-0115]).
Oh is deficient in disclosing an energy storage apparatus, comprising multiple battery apparatuses according to Claim 1.
Mori discloses an energy storage apparatus for a vehicle system, the energy storage apparatus comprising multiple battery apparatuses (first and second battery packs) [0027]. Mori further discloses that the multiple battery apparatuses (first and second battery packs) are connected in series in order to output a prescribed voltage [0027].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize the battery apparatuses of Oh in an energy storage apparatus as taught by Mori, wherein multiple battery apparatuses are connected to one another to provide increased battery capacity, as it is known in the art as a common method of scaling the output capacity of a battery for use in a vehicle, as taught by Mori. Furthermore, it has been held that merely scaling up a prior art process capable of being scaled up, does not alone hold patentable weight (MPEP 2144.04 IV A). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Regarding Claim 20 (Dependent Upon Claim 1 OR Claim 19):
Oh as modified by Choi, Keum, Shin, and Mori discloses the battery apparatus of Claim 19 as set forth above. Oh further discloses an electric apparatus (vehicle), comprising the battery apparatus (battery pack) according to Claim 1, wherein the battery apparatus (battery pack) is configured to store or provide electrical energy (Figure 17, [0006-0008, 0114-0115]). Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 19, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the electric apparatus (vehicle) may comprise an energy storage apparatus which is made up of multiple of the battery apparatuses of Claim 1. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 20 are met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1 and 4-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Oh et al. (US 2022/0190430 A1), Choi et al. (US 2016/0141712 A1), Keum et al. (US 2023/0275285 A1), Shin et al. (US 2018/0375077 A1), Shin et al. (US 2022/0302491 A1), Eftekhari et al. (US 2025/0193979 A1), Bloder (US 2025/0323373 A1), Kwon et al. (US 2024/0396158 A1), Hong et al. (US 2023/0128563 A1), Loacker (US 2021/0057696 A1), Yoshitake et al. (US 2012/0052359 A1), Mori (US 2009/0075174 A1), and with evidentiary support from Master Bond Adhesives (Webpage).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724