Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12430994. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current set of claims contains limitations that are also recited in Patent ‘994 and differ only by wording arrangements.
Current application
Patent No. 12430994
1. An automatic teller machine (ATM), comprising: a first cash rack; a second cash rack; and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from each of the first cash rack and the second cash rack,
wherein the ATM is configured to move an amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack in response to:
(i) a request to hold cash for later withdrawal received from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM; and(ii) an approval of the request by a generative adversarial network (GAN), the approval being based on an output of a multi-head attention module,
wherein one head of the multi-head attention module is associated with the first cash rack, and wherein another head of the multi-head attention module is associated with the second cash rack.
2. The ATM of claim 1, wherein the ATM is configured to return the amount of cash from the second cash rack to the first cash rack in response to an event.
3. The ATM of claim 2, wherein the event includes an elapsing of a predefined period of time since the request to hold cash was received.
4. The ATM of claim 1, wherein the GAN is configured to pit a predicted cash supply of the first cash rack against a predicted cash supply of the second cash rack.
5. The ATM of claim 1, wherein the approval is valid for a period of time defined by the GAN.
6. The ATM of The ATM of wherein the ATM is configured to move the amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack further in response to:(iii) an output from a support vector machine (SVM).
7. The ATM of claim 6, wherein the output from the SVM is constrained by a rule defining a range of a gap that must be maintained between a first amount of cash held in the first cash rack and a second amount of cash held in the second cash rack.
8. The ATM of claim 1, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on contextual data associated with the request.
9. The ATM of claim 8, wherein the contextual data indicates an occurrence of an event associated with a predicted cash withdrawal demand that is in excess of a predefined threshold cash withdrawal demand.
10. The ATM of claim 1, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on a profile of a customer.
11. A system for dispensing cash, comprising: an automatic teller machine (ATM) holding a total amount of cash, the ATM including:
a first cash rack; a second cash rack; and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from each of the first cash rack and the second cash rack;
at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable storage encoding instructions which,
when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to:
receive an input from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM, the input including a request to hold for later withdrawal another amount of cash and metadata associated with the request, the metadata including a time that the request was made, a location of the electronic computing device, and a profile of a customer of a financial institution that operates the ATM;
select from a plurality of ATMs, based on the metadata and the total amount of cash, the ATM as a selected ATM to hold the another amount of cash;
feed the request and the metadata to a generative adversarial network (GAN); and
determine, by the GAN, whether to approve the request.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on: the metadata; the total amount of cash; and the another amount of cash.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on an output generated by a multi-head attention module.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein one head of the multi-head attention module is configured to process data associated with the first cash rack and another head of the multi-head attention module is configured to process other data associated with the second cash rack.
15. The system of claim 11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN approves the request: generate a token; and send the token to the electronic computing device.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: send signals to the ATM that cause the ATM to prevent the another amount of cash from moving out of the second cash rack until: i) the token is scanned by the ATM; or ii) a predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapsed.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined by the GAN.
18. The system of claim 11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN approves the request: move the another amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack based on another output from a support vector machine (SVM).
19. The system of claim 18, wherein the another output is constrained by a rule defining a range of a gap that must be maintained between a first amount of the total amount of cash held in the first cash rack and a second amount of the total amount of cash held in the second cash rack.
20. The system of claim 11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN does not approve the request to withdraw the another amount of cash, send a message to the electronic computing device indicating that the request to withdraw the another amount of cash is denied.
1. A system for dispensing cash, comprising:
an automatic teller machine (ATM), including: at least one cash rack including a total amount of cash held by the ATM; and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from the at least one cash rack; at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable storage encoding instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to:
receive an input from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM, the input including a request to hold for later withdrawal another amount of cash and metadata associated with the request; feed the request and the metadata to a generative adversarial network (GAN);
determine, by the GAN, and based on the metadata, the total amount of cash, and the another amount of cash, whether to approve the request; when the GAN approves the request: generate a token; and send the token to the electronic computing device; and send signals to the ATM that cause the ATM to prevent the total amount of cash held by the ATM to drop below the another amount of cash until: i) the token is scanned by the ATM; or ii) a predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapsed; and when the GAN does not approve the request to withdraw the another amount of cash, send a message to the electronic computing device indicating that the request to withdraw the another amount of cash is denied, wherein the total amount of cash is held by at least two cash racks of the ATM: wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on an output generated by a multi-head attention module; wherein one head of the multi-head attention module processes data associated with one of the at least two cash racks; and wherein another head of the multi-head attention module processes other data associated with another one of the at least two cash racks.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to move cash from one of the at least two cash racks to another of the at least two cash racks based on an output from a support vector machine (SVM), the output being constrained by a rule defining a range of a gap that must be maintained between a first amount of cash held in one of the at least two cash racks of the ATM and a second amount of cash held in another of the at least two cash racks of the ATM.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to, when the GAN approves the request, move the another amount of cash from one of the at least two cash racks to another of the at least two cash racks.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the metadata indicates that the request is associated with a transaction account of a customer of a financial institution that operates the ATM.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the metadata includes one or more of: a time of day that the request was made, a day of a week that the request is made, a calendar date that the request is made, a location of the electronic computing device, and a profile of the customer.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on contextual data associated with the request.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the contextual data includes data indicating an occurrence of an event associated with a predicted cash withdrawal demand that is in excess of a predefined threshold cash withdrawal demand.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the token is configured as a quick response (QR) code.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the QR code is configured to expire when the predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapsed.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to select the ATM from a plurality of ATMs.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the ATM is selected based on a location of the electronic computing device provided in the metadata.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the ATM is selected based on the another amount of cash.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the GAN determines whether to approve the request based on a profile of a customer associated with another request to hold some amount of cash for later withdrawal from the ATM, the another request pending when the request is received.
14. A system for dispensing cash, comprising:
an automatic teller machine (ATM) holding a total amount of cash, the ATM including:
a first cash rack; a second cash rack; and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from each of the first cash rack and the second cash rack; at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable storage encoding instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: receive an input from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM, the input including a request to hold for later withdrawal another amount of cash and metadata associated with the request, the metadata including a time that the request was made, a location of the electronic computing device, and a profile of a customer of a financial institution that operates the ATM; select from a plurality of ATMs, based on the metadata and the total amount of cash, the ATM as a selected ATM to hold the another amount of cash; feed the request and the metadata to a generative adversarial network (GAN); determine, by the GAN, whether to approve the request based on: the metadata; the total amount of cash; the another amount of cash; and an output generated by a multi-head attention module, wherein one head of the multi-head attention module processes data associated with the first cash rack and another head of the multi-head attention module processes other data associated with the second cash rack; when the GAN approves the request: generate a token; send the token to the electronic computing device; move the another amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack based on another output from a support vector machine (SVM), the another output being constrained by a rule defining a range of a gap that must be maintained between a first amount of the total amount of cash held in the first cash rack and a second amount of the total amount of cash held in the second cash rack; send signals to the ATM that cause the ATM to prevent the another amount of cash from moving out of the second cash rack until: i) the token is scanned by the ATM; or ii) a predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapsed; when the token is scanned by the ATM before the predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapse, cause the ATM to dispense the another amount of cash from the second cash rack via the cash dispensing device; when the predefined amount of time has elapsed: move the another amount of cash from the second cash rack back to the first cash rack; and and disable the token; and when the GAN does not approve the request to withdraw the another amount of cash, send a message to the electronic computing device indicating that the request to withdraw the another amount of cash is denied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 20080091601) in view of Chaturvedi (US 20180285843)
Green discloses
1. An automatic teller machine (ATM) 10, comprising:
a first cash rack (Fig. 2, par. 73-74: racks are used to support functional devices 34 such as currency dispenser);
a second cash rack (Fig. 2, par. 73-74); and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from each of the first cash rack and the second cash rack (par. 73-74, 145),
wherein the ATM is configured to move an amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack in response to: (i) a request to hold cash for later withdrawal received from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM (Green discloses that cash items can be moved from one rack, i.e. rack 1, to another, i.e. rack 2, par. 89; Green is silent to a request to hold cash for later withdrawal received from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM; Chaturvedi discloses an ATM system comprising a mobile device 200 used by a user for requesting to hold cash for later withdrawal, par. 23; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chaturvedi to enable a user or another entity to pick up the needed cash at a time of convenience; it would have also been obvious that rack 2 can be used as a cash holding rack for later pick up) ; and
(ii) an approval of the request by a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Chaturvedi, Fig. 1-6, par. 44-46: the request is sent to a network as GAN comprising at least a processor 60/100; Fig. 3, par. 37-38: GAN approves the request when receiving the request, checking for sufficient balance, and generates a transaction data including the request and an authentication data in the form of a QR code),
the approval being based on an output of a multi-head attention, wherein one head of the multi-head attention module is associated with the first cash rack, and wherein another head of the multi-head attention module is associated with the second cash rack (Green, Figs. 27-30, par. 110: each ATM object 712 includes a plurality of methods or functions related to the capabilities of underlying transaction function devices 724 and 726; Green is silent to a multi-head attention module; Chaturvedi, par. 74: a multi-head module in the form of “processor 102 may be implemented as one or more CPU chips. Various modules or components for performing various operations or steps of the method 300 / 400 / 500 / 600”; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chaturvedi by implementing software modules in a processor or multi-head module such that each software module being associated with each function device in each rack for more control on each function devices).
2.1, wherein the ATM is configured to return the amount of cash from the second cash rack to the first cash rack in response to an event (this feature is an obvious extension of Green’s teachings since the ATM system is configured to move cash from one rack to another, par. 89; thus, for any reason in an event including previous inadvertent action, user no-show, redistribution of item by management, etc.)
3.2, wherein the event includes an elapsing of a predefined period of time since the request was received (it would have been obvious that if the user does not show up to pick up the cash; see Chaturvedi, par. 42; the cash can be transferred back to rack 1).
4.1, wherein the GAN is configured to pit a predicted cash supply of the first cash rack against a predicted cash supply of the second cash rack (Chaturvedi, par. 72: “These statistics can be used by the at least one server 100/transaction processors 60 to determine or at least estimate the rate of cash replenishments, rate of cash withdrawals, and cash balances at each ATM 40”; thus, it would have been obvious that the cash supply or amount in each rack can be predicted)
5.1, wherein the approval is valid for a period of time defined by the GAN (par. 42).
6.1, wherein the ATM is configured to move the amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack further in response to:(iii) an output from a support vector machine (SVM) (Green discloses that cash items can be moved from one rack, i.e. rack 1, to another, i.e. rack 2, par. 89, in response to an output or command/request considered as SVM).
8.1, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on contextual data associated with the request (Chaturvedi, par. 35-42).
9.8, wherein the contextual data indicates an occurrence of an event associated with a predicted cash withdrawal demand that is in excess of a predefined threshold cash withdrawal demand (Chaturvedi, par. 43: if total cash reversed by other users and requested by a current user exceeds the balance of the ATM, the requested cash is unavailable)
10.1, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on a profile of a customer (Chaturvedi, par. 26, 37, 43).
Green discloses
11. A system for dispensing cash, comprising:
an automatic teller machine (ATM) holding a total amount of cash, the ATM including:
a first cash rack (Fig. 2, par. 73-74: racks are used to support functional devices 34 such as currency dispenser);
a second cash rack (Fig. 2, par. 73-74); and
a cash dispensing device configured to dispense cash from each of the first cash rack and the second cash rack (par. 73-74, 145);
at least one processor; and non-transitory computer-readable storage encoding instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to:
receive an input from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM, the input including a request to hold for later withdrawal another amount of cash and metadata associated with the request, (Green discloses that cash items can be moved from one rack, i.e. rack 1, to another, i.e. rack 2, par. 89; Green is silent to a request to hold cash for later withdrawal received from an electronic computing device that is remote from the ATM; Chaturvedi discloses an ATM system comprising a mobile device 200 used by a user for requesting to hold cash for later withdrawal, par. 23; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chaturvedi to enable a user or another entity to pick up the needed cash at a time of convenience; it would have also been obvious that rack 2 can be used as a cash holding rack for later pick up), the metadata including a time that the request was made, a location of the electronic computing device, and a profile of a customer of a financial institution that operates the ATM (Chaturvedi, par. 33-34, 61-62);
select from a plurality of ATMs, based on the metadata and the total amount of cash, the ATM as a selected ATM to hold the another amount of cash (Chaturvedi, par. 33-34, 61-62);
feed the request and the metadata to a generative adversarial network (GAN) (Chaturvedi, Fig. 1-6, par. 44-46: the request is sent to a network comprising at least a processor 60/100); and
determine, by the GAN, whether to approve the request (Chaturvedi, Fig. 3, par. 37-38: GAN approves the request when receiving the request, checking for sufficient balance, and generates a transaction data including the request and an authentication data in the form of a QR code).
12.11, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on: the metadata; the total amount of cash; and the another amount of cash (Chaturvedi, Fig. 3, par. 37-38: GAN approves the request when receiving the request, checking for sufficient balance, and generates a transaction data including the request and an authentication data in the form of a QR code).
13.12, wherein the GAN is configured to determine whether to approve the request based on an output generated by a multi-head attention module (Green, Figs. 27-30, par. 110: each ATM object 712 includes a plurality of methods or functions related to the capabilities of underlying transaction function devices 724 and 726; Green is silent to a multi-head attention module; Chaturvedi, par. 74: a multi-head module in the form of “processor 102 may be implemented as one or more CPU chips. Various modules or components for performing various operations or steps of the method 300 / 400 / 500 / 600”; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Chaturvedi by implementing software modules in a processor or multi-head module such that each software module being associated with each function device in each rack for more control on each function devices.
14.13, wherein one head of the multi-head attention module is configured to process data associated with the first cash rack and another head of the multi-head attention module is configured to process other data associated with the second cash rack (see discussion regarding claim 13 above).
15.11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN approves the request: generate a token; and send the token to the electronic computing device (Chaturvedi, QR token; par. 36-37, 39, 45, 68).
16.15, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: send signals to the ATM that cause the ATM to prevent the another amount of cash from moving out of the second cash rack until: i) the token is scanned by the ATM; or ii) a predefined amount of time since the token was generated has elapsed (Chaturvedi, par. 41-44, 53, 62).
17.16, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined by the GAN (Chaturvedi, par. 42).
18.11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN approves the request: move the another amount of cash from the first cash rack to the second cash rack based on another output from a support vector machine (SVM) (Green discloses that cash items can be moved from one rack, i.e. rack 1, to another, i.e. rack 2, par. 89, in response to an output considered as SVM).
20.11, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage encodes further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to: when the GAN does not approve the request to withdraw the another amount of cash, send a message to the electronic computing device indicating that the request to withdraw the another amount of cash is denied (Chaturvedi, (Fig. 3, 6).
Claim(s) 7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 20080091601)/Chaturvedi (US 20180285843) in view of JP763 (JP 2011107763 A)
Re claim 7.6, Green is silent to wherein the output from the SVM is constrained by a rule defining a range of a gap that must be maintained between a first amount of cash held in the first cash rack and a second amount of cash held in the second cash rack
Chaturvedi is silent to rule defining a range of a gap maintained between amounts of cash;
JP763 discloses it is well known to move cash from one rack/cassette to another to manage a certain level of denomination;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of JP763 to manage the level of cash within each rack
Re claim 19.18, see discussion regarding claims above.
Conclusion
/Thien T Mai/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2887