DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on June 26, 2026.
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. Applicant is encouraged to schedule an interview with the Examiner to try and advance prosecution.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed May 4, 2026 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026, pages 10-11, regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant cites Examiner’s recommendation to include both claims 2 and 3 into claim 1 in order to potentially overcome the rejection; based on claim set filed on September 2, 2025. Applicant then argues that the instant claims are amended accordingly and thus transform any alleged abstract idea into a practical application.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim amendments fail to incorporate all of claims 2-3 into claim 1. Instead a high level approach is made to amend claim 1 to include high level elements directed to user location. The claims fail to include receiving continuous user location from a global positioning system. The claim also fails to include other elements recited still in claims 2-3. As a result, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter because they capture, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, an abstract idea. The abstract idea is characterized under certain methods of organizing human activity. The claims fail to include any additional elements that would render the abstract idea eligible based on amounting to a practical application. The claims recite high level limitations to merely apply the exception on a generic device. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The abstract idea is also as generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use. The claims fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Applicant's arguments, pages 11-16, regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The relied upon references explicitly teach receiving location data of the user including data obtained from a user device to determine whether to advance a transaction. The references also teach that modification of transaction rules are obvious and can include any number of rules. Moritz teaches receiving a second user selection… to activate a geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule [Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15]; and receiving, responsive to activation of the geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule, location data to track a current location of the user device, wherein the processing unit enforces the activated card control rule based at least partially on the tracked current location of the user device [Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz may not explicitly disclose… receiving a second user selection from the card control dashboard to activate a geo-enabled feature…; however, Plymouth teaches … receiving a second user selection from the card control dashboard to activate a geo-enabled feature… [Paragraphs 0118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide which transaction monitoring options should be tracked by the system in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of receiving location data in order to determine a transaction outcome without significantly more.
The abstract idea is categorized under certain methods of organizing human activity, including commercial interaction such as sales activities or behaviors and business relations.
Claim 11, in pertinent part, recites:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computing system, an indication of an attempted electronic transaction involving a merchant and a payment card of a user;
identifying… based on electronic transaction histories of a group of users indicating that the group of users infrequently transacts with the merchant, that the attempted electronic transaction involving the merchant is an out-of-pattern transaction;
generating… a proposed card control rule for the user responsive to identifying that the attempted electronic transaction involving the merchant is an out-of- pattern transaction;
transmitting… the proposed card control rule to a card control dashboard for display on a user device of the user associated with the payment card used to initiate the attempted electronic transaction;
activating… in response to receiving a user selection from the card control dashboard, the proposed card control rule, wherein activating the proposed card control rule restricts the attempted electronic transaction and restricts subsequent electronic transactions that violate the activated card control rule.
receiving… a second user selection from the card control dashboard to activate a geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule; and
receiving… responsive to activation of the geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule, location data to track a current location of the user device, wherein the processing unit enforces the activated card control rule based at least partially on the tracked current location of the user device.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: A computing system, and at best, emphasized above in bold per claim 11 which is selected for analysis. The following additional elements are recited in claims 11, and 16 accordingly: a memory storing instructions and a processing unit executing the instructions stored in the memory, non-transitory computer-readable media with computer-executable instructions embodied thereon, and one or more processors of a computing system. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “a card control dashboard for display on a user device” is not part of the claimed computer system which carries out the claimed scope. Also, limitations including “for display,” “to activate a geo-enable feature,” “to track a current location,” are intended use limitations that do not have to be carried out. Likewise, these limitations are not directed to the claimed system and what it does but instead are directed to what a user’s device does and what a location tracking (i.e. GPS) system does. As a result, the card control dashboard/user device are not deemed as an additional element. However, even if said control dashboard/user device are deemed as an additional element, they fail to positively carry out any functions. The claimed system does not include said device, and simply receives data from the user device, which is different than the user device displaying, receiving selection by the user, activating the rule, and sending the rule to the claimed system. The additional elements are recited at a high level of generality, wherein the claims merely amount to an abstract idea that is implemented using generic computers, performing generic computer functions such as receiving data, identify or analyze data related to the received data, generate data, send the data, and receiving data in order to output a result such as activating a transaction rule. Each of the additional elements/limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components or a generic device. The additional elements are used as a tool to carry out the abstract idea; automate the abstract idea. Accordingly, even in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The abstract idea is also as generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to merely instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The claim limitations do not improve another technology or technical field, improve the functioning of a computer itself, apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (not a generic computer, not adding the words "apply it" or words equivalent to "apply the abstract idea", not mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, adding insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, generally linking the user of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use), effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or adds meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
Dependent claims 2-3 include additional elements such as continuously receiving from a GPS of the user device, user location data comprising GPS coordinates as a result of the activation of the geo-enabled feature and sending of said selection of the feature to the system. Including at least claims 2-3 as a whole into claim 1 would help advance prosecution. The remainder of the dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The remainder of the dependent claims fail to recite additional elements that would amount to a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed above. The dependent claims, overall, further describe the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,516,035 to Moritz et al. (Moritz), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0293363 to Plymouth et al. (Plymouth).
Per claims 1, 11 and 16, Moritz teaches all of the following claim limitations:
A computing system, comprising [Abstract]:
a memory storing instructions and a processing unit executing the instructions stored in the memory that, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform operations comprising [Figure 2]:
receiving an indication for an attempted electronic transaction involving a merchant and a payment card of a user (user tries to carry out a transaction with a seller/merchant using a payment method/account – “The contact may include a request for the user to engage in an activity such as view an account, purchase insurance, file a claim, transfer funds, and the like. The contact with the user may establish a current session with the user. Engaging operation 510 may record, observe, and/or monitor interactions during and after the contact. Usage patterns may be detected during engaging operation 510”) [Col. 23, Ln. 23-40];
identifying, based on electronic transaction histories of a group of users indicating that the group of users infrequently transact with the merchant, that the attempted electronic transaction involving the merchant is an out-of-pattern transaction (information of other users similar to the user based on demographics is collected, analyzed, and used to generate a profile including rules / usage allocation for the user attempting to conduct a transaction and “decide whether user is allowed to engage in the activity…”) [Col. 23, Ln. 43-67; Claim 1, and 9];
generating a proposed card control rule for the user responsive to identifying that the attempted electronic transaction involving the merchant is an out-of-pattern transaction (based on the analysis of other user data, a rule or determination is made on whether to allow the user to engage in the action/transaction) [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 43-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13];
receiving a second user selection… to activate a geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule [Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15]; and
receiving, responsive to activation of the geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule, location data to track a current location of the user device, wherein the processing unit enforces the activated card control rule based at least partially on the tracked current location of the user device [Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose:
Although Moritz teaches sending a notification to a user device regarding a transaction and rule for said transaction and receiving a response from the user, as indicated above and in Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15, Moritz does not explicitly disclose transmitting the proposed card control rule to a card control dashboard.
Plymouth teaches transmitting the proposed card control rule to a card control dashboard for display on a user device of the user associated with the payment card used to initiate the attempted electronic transaction (user receives alert regarding a transaction rule and the user is able to respond to the alert accordingly using their mobile device, transaction rules are based on demographic, historical data, social networking, updated/learning models) [Paragraphs 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 1035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches notifying the user of a transaction rule violation, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly teach notifying the user by sending a proposed card control rule to the user’s device/interface/application in motivation of allowing the user to easily review the issue/alert and determine how to appropriately respond to the alert. The use of a control dashboard/user device for carrying out the claimed displaying is outside the claimed scope, having no patentable weight because the claimed scope is directed to a computing system not including the user device having said dashboard. However, the limitation is rejected based on the above rational to expedite prosecution. For emphasis, the sending of the rule has patentable weight but to where the rule is sent can be regarded as simply another entity, meaning sending the alert by the claimed system to another entity. The specifics of the another entity are not part of the claimed scope so that is the portion that has no function or weight.
Although Moritz teaches receiving a user response regarding the transaction alert, as indicated above, Moritz does not explicitly disclose activating, in response to receiving a user selection from the card control dashboard, the proposed card control rule, wherein activating the proposed card control rule restricts subsequent electronic transactions that violate the activated card control rule.
Plymouth teaches activating, in response to receiving a user selection from the card control dashboard, the proposed card control rule, wherein activating the proposed card control rule restricts subsequent electronic transactions that violate the activated card control rule [Paragraphs 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 1035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches receiving user selection of whether to advance a transaction responsive to a received transaction alert on their device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly teach receiving use selection from their device, which has an interface/application, and the selection including a activation of the rule and thus updating the rules as a whole to include the activation rule received by the user in motivation of enhancing user experience by updating the rules related to future transactions, thus reducing alert notifications sent to the user.
Moritz does not explicitly disclose… receiving a second user selection from the card control dashboard to activate a geo-enabled feature…
Plymouth teaches … receiving a second user selection from the card control dashboard to activate a geo-enabled feature… [Paragraphs 0118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide which transaction monitoring options should be tracked by the system in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity.
Per claims 2, 12, and 17 Moritz teaches wherein… and the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations comprising: continuously receiving, from a global positioning system of the user device responsive to the activation of the geo-enable feature corresponding to the activated card control rule, the location data comprising global positioning coordinates [ Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose…the second user selection is received prior to enforcing the activated card control rule…
Plymouth teaches…the second user selection is received prior to enforcing the activated card control rule… [Paragraphs 0118].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide which transaction monitoring options should be tracked by the system prior to any transaction in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity. The claim is rejected over prior art to advance prosecution.
Per claims 3, Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations comprising: receiving, prior to enforcing the activated card control rule, a third user selection from the card control dashboard to activate an alert feature corresponding to the geo-enable feature and the activated card control rule; and transmitting, to the user device, an alert indicating a first electronic transaction at the current location involving a merchant associated with the first electronic transaction would violate the activated card control rule, wherein the alert is transmitted prior to the first electronic transaction [ Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose… a third user selection from the card control dashboard to activate an alert feature corresponding to the geo-enable feature and the activated card control rule…
Plymouth teaches … a third user selection from the card control dashboard to activate an alert feature corresponding to the geo-enable feature and the activated card control rule… [Paragraphs 0118, 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide any number of modifications to transaction rules before or during a transaction, basically customizing a user preference, in addition to the claimed system performing a standalone transaction rule determination based on collected data in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions/modify the rules. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity. Furthermore, the above limitation amounts to mere duplication of parts. It’s obvious to receive an infinite of rule modifications or decisions once a single rule modification is received by an entity from another entity that the user interacts with.
Per claim 4, Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations comprising: ceasing… enforcement of the activated card control rule [Col. 11, Ln. 5-67 and Col. 23, Ln. 2-67, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose …in response to receiving a third user selection from the card control dashboard…
Plymouth teaches …in response to receiving a third user selection from the card control dashboard… [Paragraphs 0118, 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide any number of modifications to transaction rules before or during a transaction, basically customizing a user preference, in addition to the claimed system performing a standalone transaction rule determination based on collected data in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions/modify the rules such as ceasing a rule. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity. Furthermore, the above limitation amounts to mere duplication of parts. It’s obvious to receive an infinite of rule modifications or decisions once a single rule modification is received by an entity from another entity that the user interacts with.
Per claim 5, 13, and 18, Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations comprising: receiving… to activate an alert feature that transmits an alert to a user device of the user, the alert regarding subsequent electronic transactions that violate the activated card control rule [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose… receiving, a third user selection from the card control dashboard…
Plymouth teaches … receiving, a third user selection from the card control dashboard… [Paragraphs 0118, 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide any number of modifications to transaction rules before or during a transaction, basically customizing a user preference, in addition to the claimed system performing a standalone transaction rule determination based on collected data in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions/modify the rules. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity. Furthermore, the above limitation amounts to mere duplication of parts. It’s obvious to receive an infinite of rule modifications or decisions once a single rule modification is received by an entity from another entity that the user interacts with.
Per claim 6, 14, and 19 Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations comprising: receiving, following transmission of the alert to the user device regarding a first electronic transaction that involves the payment card that violates the activated card control rule, a third user selection… configured to modify the activated card control rule into a modified card control rule [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Moritz does not explicitly disclose …a third user selection from the card control dashboard…
Plymouth teaches …a fourth user selection from the card control dashboard…[Paragraphs 0118, 0011-0012, 0026-0028, 0031, 0084-0085, 0127, 0150, and 103].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moritz, which teaches applying a plurality of transaction rules to monitor transactions, including location, historical data, and much more, and further communicate with a user device, to include the teachings of Plymouth to explicitly disclose that the user can provide any number of modifications to transaction rules before or during a transaction, basically customizing a user preference, in addition to the claimed system performing a standalone transaction rule determination based on collected data in motivation of giving the user the power to choose the rules applicable to transactions/modify the rules. Examiner also notes that the dashboard and user selection are outside the scope of the claims as the claims are directed to the claimed system that monitors and alerts the user of transactions/communicates with another entity. Furthermore, the above limitation amounts to mere duplication of parts. It’s obvious to receive an infinite of rule modifications or decisions once a single rule modification is received by an entity from another entity that the user interacts with.
Per claim 7, 15, and 20 Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations: using, based on the fourth user selection, the modified card control rule for the first electronic transaction; and using the activated card control rule to restrict a second electronic transaction [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Claim amounts to mere duplication of parts.
Per claim 8, Moritz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations: using, based on the fourth user selection, the modified card control rule for the first electronic transaction and for a predetermined number of subsequent transactions Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15.
Claim amounts to mere duplication of parts.
Per claim 9, Mortiz teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing unit to perform further operations: disabling, following transmission of the alert to the user device and based on a fourth user selection from the card control dashboard, the activated card control rule [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Claim amounts to mere duplication of parts.
Per claim 10, Moritz teaches wherein the computing system is operated by a financial institution that maintains at least one financial account of the user associated with the payment card [Col. 2, Ln. 4-67; Col. 23, Ln. 1-67; Claim 1, and 9, and 12-13, Col. 21, Ln. 17-67 and Col. 22, Ln. 1-15].
Claim amounts to mere duplication of parts.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 of the instant Applicant is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of Patents 11869013, 12354111, 11556936, 11875358, 12299691, and 12450613. Although claim 1 of the instant Application is not identical to claim 1 of Patents 11869013, 12354111, 11556936, 11875358, 12299691, and 12450613, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to the same scope of invention. The instant Application recites a broader scope compared to Patents 11869013, 12354111, 11556936, 11875358, 12299691, and 12450613. Removal of the additional limitations in Patents 11869013, 12354111, 11556936, 11875358, 12299691, and 12450613 would amount to the claimed scope of the instant application. Such removal of limitation to amount to the instant claimed scope is obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on for PTO-892.
PGPUB 2017/0011401 to Steinlicht et al. teaches a user selecting, modifying, and managing card control rules including location rules and provisioning these rules to a system that determines whether or not to validate a payment card.
PGPUB 2016/0063497 to Grant et al. teaches user inface at a user device, graphical interface, that allows users to interact with transaction rules to update, modify, alter transaction rules and send said selection to a control system.
PGPUB 2017/0357971 to Pitz teaches transaction authentication based on rules including fraudulent determination using location, activity, and updating said fraudulent determination constantly based on data. Pitz also sending users alerts regarding a transaction and the user providing additional transaction information to settle a transaction.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sincerely,
/EL MEHDI OUSSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409