DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on April 24, 2026 has been entered. Claim 1 is amended, claim 3 is cancelled and claims 1, 2, 4 and 6 – 13 are pending. In view of Applicant’s amendment, all previously set forth rejections have been withdrawn. The invention as currently claimed is not found to be patentable for reasons herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the claimed molecular weight. Please see revised rejections below where Kim et al. (US 2017/0179456) addresses motivation for the claimed molecular weight range.
Applicant argues that the claimed porosity and melt index ranges have unexpected results and may be seen by the comparative evidence. The examples show superior thickness reduction rates, resistance increase rates, initial resistance, and/or capacity retention rates compared to the comparative examples. Lee does not disclose these unexpected results. The technical features of the claimed separator can be achieved only when all of the polymer melt index, porosity of the porous polymer substrate, and the porosity of the coating layer are satisfied in combination of which cannot be derived from Lee or the other applied references.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the evidence is not commensurate in scope with the claim. For example, the Example is a narrower embodiment than the claimed invention. Examples 1-4 in Table 1 of the instant specification all use cubic boehmite inorganic particles. Boehmite is not in any of the claims; Next, although the evidence demonstrates improved results, these are not shown to be "surprising" or "unexpected", Counsel stating the improvements are surprising or unexpected is often insufficient. If applicant would like to continue to pursue this argument, the examiner requests a clear and detailed explanation of why meeting the claimed ranges is surprising or unexpected from what is known in the art. The examiner notes that comparative example 1 and 4 show thickness reduction rate % and resistance increase rates % as the same or only a few % off of Examples 1-4. Comparative example 1 shows an initial resistance only 0.1 ohms higher than example 1 and 2 in Table 4. The capacity retention rate % for Comparative example 4 is the same as examples 1 and 2. Therefore, the argument that the combination of the claimed ranges being met leads to unexpected and significant results due to factors such as capacity retention rate and thickness reduction rate, without addressing the closeness in these results, is even more so not persuasive. See MPEP 716.
The Examiner notes that this application is attempting to claims a very well-studied material (porous polymer substrate coated with inorganic particles) and the volumes of prior art, such as those references cited above, speak to the obviousness of the necessity to optimize the variables claimed of porosity and melt index (particularly when the prior art overlaps each and every claimed range of claim 1).
For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0246299 A1) in view of Misawa et al. (US 2025/0286228 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0179456).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a separator (see e.g. the separator in Para. 10-12) for an electrochemical device (see e.g. the electrochemical device in Par. 10) comprising:
a porous polymer substrate (see e.g. the porous polymer substrate in Para. 13); and
a coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer substrate and including inorganic particles (see e.g. the porous coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the porous polymer substrate in Para. 15 of which includes secondary inorganic particles in Para. 15),
wherein the porous polymer substrate has a porosity of 50 vol% or more and 65 vol% or less (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the porous polymer substrate may have a porosity of 10-95% in Para. 41 which overlaps the claimed range of 50-65% in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05)),
the porous polymer substrate includes a polymer having a melt index of 0.0001 g/10 min or more and 0.01 g/10 min or less (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the porous polymer substrate may have a melt index between 0 to 0.2 g/10 min in Para. 42-43 which overlaps the claimed range of the polymer of the porous polymer substrate having a melt index of 0.0001 g/10 min or more and 0.01 g/10 min or less in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05). Each of the core and skin of the porous polymer substrate may fall within this melt index range in Para. 42-43. In Para. 23 it is taught that the core portion substrate and skin portion substrate are polyolefin-based porous polymer substrates and that in Para. 33 the skin does not need to include first inorganic particles. Therefore, lacking anything to the contrary, the skin would reasonably be expected to optionally only comprise the polymer. Therefore, the polymer of the porous polymer substrate, not just the porous polymer substrate as a whole, would reasonably be expected, when the skin does not include first inorganic particles, to be able to have a melt index in the range of 0 to 0.2 g/10 min as noted in Para. 42-43),
the coating layer has a porosity of 40 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the porous coating layer has a porosity preferably of 35-65% in Para. 69 which overlaps the claimed range of 40-70% in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05)).
Lee et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the inorganic particles included in the coating layer have a cubic shape.
However, Misawa et al. teaches a separator for a power storage device of a base material of a polyolefin microporous membrane and a covering layer of an inorganic filler and thermoplastic polymer in Para. 29. Misawa et al. teaches examples of shape of the inorganic filler may be block-like which is preferable to improve the gradient ratio of the covering layer to increase the adhesive strength with the electrodes and it is preferable rather than spherical because if it is too spherical, it may inhibit surface tension and Newtonian fluidity of the coating material which is not preferable in Para. 159.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inorganic coating particles of Lee et al. to be block-like in shape, as taught by Misawa et al., to improve the gradient ratio of the covering layer to increase adhesive strength and ensure surface tension and Newtonian fluidity of the coating material as noted in Para. 159 of Misawa et al.
Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. fail to explicitly teach the polymer in the porous polymer substrate has a weight average molecular weight of 1,800,000 g/mol or more and 2,500,000 g/mol or less.
Kim et al. is directed to a separator and an electrochemical battery, the separator including a porous substrate; and a porous bonding layer on one surface or both surfaces of the porous substrate, wherein the porous bonding layer includes a first polyvinylidene fluoride-based polymer and a second polyvinylidene fluoride-based polymer (Abstract). In the (A) first polyvinylidene fluoride-based polymer, the polyvinylidene fluoride-based homopolymer may have a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of, e.g., greater than or equal to about 1,000,000. In an implementation, the polyvinylidene fluoride-based homopolymer may have a weight average molecular weight of about 1,000,000 to about 2,000,000, e.g., about 1,000,000 to about 1,700,000. Within the ranges, an adhesion force between the bonding layer and the porous substrate may be improved [0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer with a molecular weight between 1,000,000 – 2,000,000 as taught by Kim et al. as a polymer in a porous substrate as taught by Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. motivated by the desire to increase the adhesion force between the bonding layer and the porous substrate (Kim et al, [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the polymer in the porous polymer substrate is one or more selected from polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene terephthalate, polycycloolefin, polyethersulfone, polyamide, polyimide, polyamide imide, nylon, and polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches wherein the polymer in the porous polymer substrate is one or more selected from polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyether sulfone and polyimide in Para. 36-40).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic particles included in the coating layer have an average particle diameter (D50) of 200 nm or more and 1 m or less (see e.g. the average particle diameter of the secondary inorganic particles in the example 1 in Para. 90 of 800 nm. Lee et al. teaches controlling the average particle diameter of the second inorganic particles in Para. 73. Therefore, it would be reasonably expected that the inorganic particles would be 800 nm lacking anything to the contrary).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic particles included in the coating layer are one or more selected from boehmite (γ-AlO(OH)), alumina (Al2O3), BaTiO3, Pb(Zr,Ti)O3 (PZT), Pb1-xLaxZr1-yTiyO3 (PLZT, 0<x<1, 0<y<1), Pb(Mg1/3Nb2/3)O3-PbTiO3 (PMN-PT), hafnia (HfO2), SrTiO3, SnO2, CeO2, MgO, Mg(OH)2, NiO, CaO, ZnO, ZrO2, SiO2, Y2O3, SiC, Al(OH)3, TiO2, aluminum peroxide, zinc tin hydroxide (ZnSn(OH)6), tin-zinc oxide (Zn2SnO4, ZnSnO3), antimony trioxide (Sb2O3), antimony tetroxide (Sb2O4), and antimony pentoxide (Sb2O5) (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches wherein the inorganic particles included in the coating layer are one or more selected from boehmite (γ-AlO(OH)), BaTiO3, MgO, Mg(OH)2, ZnO, and Al(OH)3, the second inorganic particles of the porous coating layer in Para. 15 may be boehmite (AlO(OH)), barium titanate (BATiO3), magnesium oxide (MgO), magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), zinc oxide (ZnO), aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3) in Para. 63).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the porous polymer substrate is 4 m or more and 20 m or less (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches wherein a thickness of the porous polymer substrate is particularly 5-50 µm in Para. 41 which overlaps the claimed range of a thickness of the porous polymer substrate is 4 µm or more and 20 µm or less in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05)).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the coating layer is 0.5 m or more and 4 m or less (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches wherein a thickness of the porous polymer coating layer is particularly 1.5-6 µm in Para. 69 which overlaps the claimed range of 0.5-4 µm in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05)).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. teaches an electrochemical device comprising (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the electrochemical device in Para. 10):
a positive electrode (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the cathode in Para. 80);
a negative electrode (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the anode in Para. 80); and
the separator for an electrochemical device according to the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1 (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the separator described in Para. 10-12, 15, 23, 33, 41-43, and 69 of Lee et al. and in the 103 non-final rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the separator is interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches the separator is described as interposed between the cathode and anode in Para. 80).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0246299 A1) in view of Misawa et al. (US 2025/0286228 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0179456) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tao et al. (US 2023/0303811 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. teach the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1.
Lee et al. teaches the polymer of the porous polymer substrate may be polyethylene in Para. 36-40.
Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the polymer in the porous polymer substrate has a crystallinity of 60% or more and 90% or less.
However, Tao et al. teaches a polyethylene membrane for batteries in Para. 7 for use as a separator in batteries in Para. 13. It may also include an inorganic coating in Para. 85. The crystallinity of the polymers of the polymeric membrane may have a crystallinity of from at least about 40% to 85%. Taio et al. teaches the membrane provides a safety “shutdown effect” and helps to improve either high puncture strength, tensile strength or tensile modulus in Para. 5-6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polyethylene polymeric polymer substrate of Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. to have a crystallinity of about 40 to 85 %, as taught by Tao et al., to improve either high puncture strength, tensile strength or tensile modulus as noted in Para. 5-6 of Tao et al.
This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0246299 A1) in view of Misawa et al. (US 2025/0286228 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0179456) (Kim et al. ‘456) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (WO 2022/045858 A1) (Kim et al. WO‘858). Kim et al. (US 2023/0282939 A1) is used as a translation.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. ‘456 teach the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1.
Lee et al. teaches in Para. 127 in each of the separators according to Examples 1-4 and Comparative Examples 1-18, the weight of the second inorganic particles and the binder coated on the porous polymer substrate per unit weight was measured.
Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. ‘456 fail to explicitly teach wherein a content of the inorganic particles is 90 parts by weight or more based on 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the coating layer. The values in the table were illegible.
However, Kim et al. WO‘858 teaches a separator for an electrochemical device has a structure including a porous polymer film (separator substrate) and an inorganic coating layer formed on at least one surface of the separator substrate in Para. 5. Kim et al. teaches the inorganic coating layer includes a mixture containing a binder resin and inorganic particles in Para. 59. Kim et al. teaches Within the above-defined range, the inorganic particles may also be present in an amount of 95 wt.% or less and 80 wt.% or more based on 100 wt.% of the combined weight of the binder resin and the inorganic particles. The mixture may be present in an amount of 99 wt.% or more, based on 100 wt.% of the inorganic coating layer. Kim et al. teaches in Para. 59 in the inorganic coating layer, the inorganic particles are attached to one another by the binder so that the inorganic particles may retain their binding states.
80
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
99
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
79.2
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
95
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
99
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
94.05
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
80
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
o
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
80
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
95
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
95
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wt.% of the inorganic particles of the inorganic coating layer over the porous polymer substrate of Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al., as taught by Kim et al. WO‘858 to be 80-95 wt.% of the coating at which this mixture is 99% or more of the inorganic coating layer in order to attach the inorganic particles together so that they may retain their binding states as noted in Para. 59 of Kim et al. WO‘858.
This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. WO‘858 teach the separator for an electrochemical device according to claim 1, wherein the coating layer further includes a binder (see e.g. Lee et al. teaches a binder in the porous coating layer in Para. 7 and 27).
Lee et al. teaches in Para. 127 in each of the separators according to Examples 1-4 and Comparative Examples 1-18, the weight of the second inorganic particles and the binder coated on the porous polymer substrate per unit weight was measured.
Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al. and Kim et al. WO‘858 fail to explicitly teach a content of the binder is 1 part by weight or more and 10 parts by weight or less based on 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the coating layer. The values of the table of Lee et al. were illegible.
However, Kim et al. teaches a separator for an electrochemical device has a structure including a porous polymer film (separator substrate) and an inorganic coating layer formed on at least one surface of the separator substrate in Para. 5. Kim et al. teaches the inorganic coating layer includes a mixture containing a binder resin and inorganic particles in Para. 59. Kim et al. teaches Within the above-defined range, the inorganic particles may also be present in an amount of 95 wt.% or less and 80 wt.% or more based on 100 wt.% of the combined weight of the binder resin and the inorganic particles. The mixture may be present in an amount of 99 wt.% or more, based on 100 wt.% of the inorganic coating layer. Kim et al. teaches in Para. 59 in the inorganic coating layer, the inorganic particles are attached to one another by the binder so that the inorganic particles may retain their binding states.
80
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
→
20
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
95
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
→
5
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
20
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
99
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
19.8
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
5
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
99
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
4.95
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
20
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
o
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
20
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
5
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
*
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
+
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
=
5
w
t
%
b
i
n
d
e
r
r
e
s
i
n
100
w
t
%
i
n
o
r
g
a
n
i
c
l
a
y
e
r
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wt.% of the inorganic particles and binder particles of the inorganic coating layer over the porous polymer substrate of Lee et al. in view of Misawa et al., as taught by Kim et al., to be 5-20 wt.% of the coating at which this mixture is 99% or more of the inorganic coating layer in order to attach the inorganic particles together so that they may retain their binding states as noted in Para. 59 of Kim et al.
This overlaps the claimed range in a manner which provides a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786