DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0223769 A1) in view of Filippov et al. (US 2024/0223772 A1).
Consider claim 8, Zhang teaches a decoder comprising: one or more processors ([0066], [0263], [0353] – [0357]); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ([0066], [0263], [0353] – [0357]), cause the decoder to: receive a first one or more symbols in a bitstream to obtain a prefix of a magnitude of a difference vector for a current block (Video decoder 300 may receive entropy encoded data for the current block, such as entropy encoded prediction information and entropy encoded data for transform coefficients of a residual block corresponding to the current block (370). [0283]); determine, after obtaining the prefix and based on a status of a flag in the received bitstream: whether or not the received bitstream includes a second one or more symbols of a suffix of the magnitude ([0198] – [0228]. the BvdTplValiadationFlag may be indicating whether the suffixBVD is signaled or derived using template-based search. Video encoder 200 may signal and video decoder 300 may parse prefixBvd from the bitstream. In one or more examples, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may derive the search area by finding nextPrefixBVD=prefixBVD+maxPossibleSuffix(prefixBVD)+1. The search area is from prefixBVDx to nextPrefixBVDx horizontally and from prefixBVDy to nextPrefixBVDy vertically. [0199]. If the BvdTplValiadationFlag is equal to zero, video encoder 200 may signal and video decoder 300 may parse the suffixBVD from the bitstream and BVD=prefixBVD+suffixBVD. [0201]. [0210], [0216], [0223]); obtain the suffix based on the determining ([0198] – [0228]); and reconstruct the current block based on the difference vector with the magnitude represented by the obtained prefix and suffix ([0263], Fig. 3, Fig. 19).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach determine, after obtaining the prefix and based on a status of a flag in the received bitstream: whether, when the received bitstream includes the second one or more symbols, the second one or more symbols comprise at least one context-coded symbol; obtain the suffix based on the determining; and reconstruct the current block based on the difference vector with the magnitude represented by the obtained prefix and suffix.
Filippov teaches determine, after obtaining the prefix and based on a status of a flag in the received bitstream: whether, when the received bitstream includes the second one or more symbols, the second one or more symbols comprise at least one context-coded symbol (The decoder may provide the arithmetic code word 1852 to an arithmetic decoder 1854. The indication 1838 may have a non-uniform probability distribution, for example, based on the method of determining the indication 1838 as described herein. The arithmetic decoder 1854 may process the indication 1838 in regular arithmetic decoding mode. For example, the arithmetic decoder 1854 may perform recursive interval subdivision as described herein to decode symbols encoded by the arithmetic code word 1852…. The context modeler 1856 may determine the probability model 1844 for the indication 1838 by a fixed selection from among two or more probability models in the same manner as described herein for the context modeler 1846 as shown in FIG. 18C. The context modeler 1856 may determine the probability model 1844 for the indication 1838 an adaptive selection from among two or more probability models in the same manner as described herein for the context modeler 1846 as shown in FIG. 18C…. An arithmetic decoder (e.g., the arithmetic decoder 1854) may determine a value of a magnitude symbol of a BVD based on the value of a magnitude symbol of a BVD predictor and the value of an indication of whether the value of a magnitude symbol of the BVD matches the value of the magnitude symbol of the BVD predictor. [0198] – [0204]; Context-coding may refer to entropy coding an indication of whether a value of a magnitude symbol of a BVD or MVD matches a value of the magnitude symbol of a BVD or MVD candidate used as a predictor of the BVD or MVD. Context-coding may be further used/applied for/to multiple magnitude symbols of the BVD or MVD in prefix or suffix bins, sign symbols, or other related symbols as further described herein. Context-coding may also be referred to herein as prediction of bins based on performing hypothesis checking. [0321]. See also [0163] – [0164], [0184] – [0197]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of determining whether one or more symbols comprise at least one context-coded symbol because such incorporation would improve the compression efficiency of one or more magnitude symbols of BVD. [0169].
Consider claim 9, Zhang teaches to obtain the suffix based on the determining, the decoder is further caused to: when the flag is present in the received bitstream and the value of the flag is a first value: determine the suffix is absent from the received bitstream ([0198] – [0228]); and determine the suffix based at least on the prefix, wherein the suffix is determined to be one of a range of possible values corresponding to a value of the obtained prefix ([0198] – [0228]); and when the flag is present in the received bitstream and the value of the flag is a second value, entropy decode the second one more symbols comprising the at least one context-coded symbol ([0198] – [0228]).
Consider claim 10, Zhang teaches to determine the suffix when the flag is present in the received bitstream and the value of the flag is the first value, the decoder is further caused to: search, based on a template of the current block, in an area within a picture in which the current block is located for another block corresponding to the current block ([0198] – [0228]), wherein the area is determined according to the value of the prefix and the range of possible values of the suffix ([0198] – [0228]); and determine the suffix based on the selected another block ([0198] – [0228]).
Consider claim 11, Filippov teaches to entropy decode the second one or more symbols to obtain the suffix, the decoder is further caused to: obtain one or more predicted values corresponding to each context-coded symbol in the second one or more symbols and one or more values corresponding to each bypass-coded symbol in the second one or more symbols ([0198] – [0204]. See also [0163] – [0164], [0184] – [0197], [0321]), wherein the each context-coded symbol is an indication of whether a corresponding respective predicted value, of the one or more predicted values, is correct ([0198] – [0204]. See also [0163] – [0164], [0184] – [0197], [0321]); and determine the suffix based on the one or more predicted values and the one or more values corresponding to each bypass-coded symbol in the second one or more symbols ([0335] – [0344], Fig. 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of determining whether one or more symbols comprise at least one context-coded symbol because such incorporation would improve the compression efficiency of one or more magnitude symbols of BVD. [0169].
Consider claim 12, Zhang teaches the determining after the obtaining the prefix and based on the status of the flag is further based on a presence or absence of the flag in the received bitstream, and wherein the entropy decoding the second one or more symbols is based on the flag being absent or the flag being present and the value of the flag being the second value ([0198] – [0228]).
Consider claim 13, Filippov teaches the determining after the obtaining the prefix and based on the status of the flag is further based on a presence or absence of the flag in the received bitstream, and wherein: when the flag is present in the received bitstream and the value of the flag is the first value, the determining the suffix further comprises determining a sign of the difference vector ([0259] – [0270]; [0335] – [0344], Fig. 20B and Fig. 25); and when the flag is absent from the received bitstream or present in the received bitstream and having the second value, the entropy decoding comprises decoding another context-coded symbol in the received bitstream to obtain the sign ([0259] – [0270]; [0335] – [0344], Fig. 20B and Fig. 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of determining whether one or more symbols comprise at least one context-coded symbol because such incorporation would improve the compression efficiency of one or more magnitude symbols of BVD. [0169].
Consider claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 8. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 9. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 3, claim 3 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 11. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 13. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 15, claim 15 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 8 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 16, claim 16 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 9 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 17, claim 17 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 10 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 18, claim 18 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 11 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 19, claim 19 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 13 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0223769 A1) in view of Filippov et al. (US 2024/0223772 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2016/0345014 A1).
Consider claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Filippov teaches all the limitations in claim 8 but does not explicitly teach the determining after the obtaining the prefix and based on the status of the flag is further based on a presence or absence of the flag in the received bitstream, and wherein the presence or absence of the flag is determined based on whether a length of the obtained prefix exceeds a predefined threshold.
Kim teaches the determining after the obtaining the prefix and based on the status of the flag is further based on a presence or absence of the flag in the received bitstream, and wherein the presence or absence of the flag is determined based on whether a length of the obtained prefix exceeds a predefined threshold (The prefix value of num_palette_indices_idc_abs, prefixVal, is derived as follows: prefixVal=Min(cMax, num_palette_indices_idc_abs) [0148] The prefix bin string is specified by invoking the TR binarization process as specified [above] for prefixVal with the variables cMax and cRiceParam as inputs. [0149] When the prefix bin string is equal to the bit string of length 4 with all bits equal to 1, the suffix bin string is present and it is derived as follows: [0150] The suffix value of num_palette_indices_idc_abs, suffixVal, is derived as follows: suffixVal=num_palette_indices_idc_abs−cMax [0151] The suffix bin string is specified by invoking the k-th order EGk binarization process as specified [above] for the binarization of suffixVal with the Exp-Golomb order k set equal to cRiceParam+1. [0140] – [0154], see also [0085] – [0096], [0109] – [0111], [0117] – [0133], [0159] – [0160], Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of determining the presence or absence of the flag based on whether a length of the obtained prefix exceeds a predefined threshold because such incorporation would improve coding efficiency. [0096].
Consider claim 7, claim 7 recites the method implemented by the decoder recited in claim 14. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a decoder to cause the decoder recited in claim 14 to perform operations. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486