Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 05/11/2026. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment {i.e. the limitation “wherein the orthographic projection of the first connecting portion does not overlap an orthographic projection of the second connection portion” was not previously required and thus changed the scope of the claimed invention in a manner that was not previously considered}. A new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment is presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 5, 7, 11 – 12, and 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1, effective filing date of 06/15/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses a battery cell (cylindrical battery 62, Figs 1 – 2; [0057]) comprising: a shell (housing 1, Figs. 1 – 2; [0057]) having a first wall (top cover 3, Figs, 1 – 2; [0057]); an electrode terminal mounted on the first wall in an insulated manner (terminal 4, Figs. 1 – 2; [0057]); an electrode assembly accommodated in the shell (cell 2, Figs. 1 – 2; [0057]), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a main body part (main body portion 21, Figs. 1 – 2; [0057];[0066]), a first tab (second tab unit 23; [0057]), and a second tab (first tab unit 22; [0057], the first tab and the second tab have opposite polarities ([0057]), and in a thickness direction of the first wall, the first tab and the second tab are both arranged at one end of the main body part facing the first wall (Refer to how in Fig. 2, in a vertical direction of the cell and thus in a thickness direction of the first wall, the first tab unit 22 and second tab unit 23 are arranged on upper end of the cell 2 that faces top cover 3; [0057];[0062]); a first adapter (second current collector member 52, Figs. 2 and 12; [0057 – 0058], wherein the first adapter comprises a first connecting portion (second welding portion 521, Fig. 12; [0078]) and a second connecting portion (second connection portion 522, Fig. 12; [0078]), the first connecting portion {i.e. second welding portion 521} is connected to the first wall {i.e. top cover 3} ([0078]), and the second connecting portion {i.e. second connection portion 522} is connected to the first tab {i.e. second tab unit 23} ([0078]); and a second adapter (first current collecting member 51, Fig. [0057 – 0058]), wherein the second adapter connects the electrode terminal and the second tab {i.e. first tab unit 22} ([0062];[0068]); and, wherein in the thickness direction of the first wall, an orthographic projection of the first adapter {i.e. second current collector member 52} does not overlap an orthographic projection of the second adapter {i.e. first current collector member 51} (Refer to the shape and positions of the current collecting members 51 and 52 in Figs. 2 and 12), and in the thickness direction of the first wall, an orthographic projection of the first connecting portion {i.e. second welding portion 521} does not overlap an orthographic projection of the second tab {i.e. first tab unit 22} (Refer to how in Figs. 2 – 3 the second current collector member 52, and thus by extension the second welding portion 521, does not overlap the area of the electrode assembly including first tab unit 22; [0069]), wherein the orthographic projection of the first connecting portion {i.e. second welding portion 521} does not overlap an orthographic projection of the second connection portion {i.e. second connection portion 522} (Refer to the how in Fig. 12 the 521 and 522 do not overlap).
Regarding Claim 4, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the first adapter {i.e. second current collector member 52} further comprises a transition portion, that is Li teaches that the second welding portion 521 and the second connection portion 522 both arc-shaped plate structures and further that the second connection portion 522 is inclined arc-shaped plate structure integrally molded to the second welding portion 521, as such, based on the shape of the two portions and the fact that the two portions are integrally molded, the second current collecting member oof Li would necessarily and inherently include an transition portion {i.e. an edge} that extends from an edge of the second connecting portion in a direction approaching in first wall {i.e. vertical direction} and connects the first and second connecting portion.
Regarding Claim 5, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses in a thickness direction of the first wall, the orthographic projection of the first connecting portion second welding portion 521 (Refer to shape of the corresponding 521 portion of the second current collecting member 52 shown in Figs. 2 and 12; [0080]).
Regarding Claim 7, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Li the corresponding first connecting portion is second welding portion 521 and it has an arc-shape ([0080]). Additionally, Li teaches configuring the shape of the entire second current collecting member 52 to be of the same shape as the shape of the side of the second tab unit 23 facing the cover, which, as shown in Fig. 2 is an arc-shape that appears smaller than a semi-circle ([0069]). Therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, due to the second welding portion {i.e. corresponds to claimed having an arc shape that is smaller than a semi-circle {i.e. semi-circles have central angle of 180°}, to, in a peripheral direction of the electrode assembly, provide a central angle within the claimed range of 0 < α ≤ 180°.
Regarding Claim 11, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses an insulating member (insulating part 53; [0057]), the insulating member is located between the electrode assembly and the first wall (Refer to position of insulating part 53 shown in Figs. 2 and 3; [0088]), and the insulating member insulates and isolates the first adapter {i.e. second current collecting member 52} from the second adapter {i.e. first current collecting member} ([0086]), wherein the insulating member comprises an insulating body (Refer to corresponding insulating body shown in annotated Fig. 12 below) that insulates and isolates the second adapter {i.e. first current collecting member 51} from the shell {i.e. housing 1} ([0087]) and a partitioning portion (Refer to corresponding partitioning portion shown in annotated Fig. 12 below) that insulates and isolates the first adapter {i.e. second current collecting member 52} from the second adapter {i.e. first current collecting member 51} ([0086]).
Annotated Figs. 2 and 12 showing corresponding insulating body and partitioning portion in Li.
Li further teaches that subpart 5121 of the first current colleting member {i.e. corresponds to claimed second adapter} is ringed-shaped and in Fig. 12 the insulating part 53 is shown to be included on the ring-shaped part of the current collecting member ([0086 – 0087]). Furthermore, in Fig. 12, Li shows the insulating part surrounding inner circular protruding structure 510 of the first current collector, and in Fig. 2, the insulating part 53 is shown as one integral structure ([0084 – 0087]). Therefore, since the corresponding insulating body of Li (Refer to annotated Figs. 2 and 12 above) is included on a ring shaped structure and further the corresponding portioning portion is connected to an inner surface of the body (Refer to 53 in Fig. 2 and annotated Fig. 12 above), Li further includes the claimed structure of wherein the insulating wherein the insulating body is arranged a ring-shaped structure arranged in a peripheral direction of the electrode assembly and the partitioning portion is connected to an inner ring surface if the insulating body.
Regarding Claim 12, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode plate; [0066]) and a second electrode plate (negative electrode plate; [0066]) and the electrode assembly is a wound electrode assembly ([0066]); the first electrode plate comprises a plurality of first sub-tabs that form the first tab (Fig. 2, 231; [0066 – 0067]); and the second electrode plate comprises a plurality of second sub-tabs that form the second tab (Fig. 2, 221; [0066 – 0067]).
In Fig. 2, Li does not show tabs included at an innermost portion of the wound electrode assembly; therefore, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the wound cell of Li to have at least one innermost turn of the first electrode plate not include a first-sub tab and at least one innermost turn of the second electrode plate not include a second sub-tab , and thus have a tab configuration within the claimed scope of wherein the first electrode plate of the innermost n1 turn is not provided with the first sub-tab, and n1 ≥ 1 ; and the second electrode plate of the innermost n2 turn not provided with the first sub-tab, and n2 ≥ 1.
Regarding Claim 16, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the first tab has a fifth surface facing the first wall (Refer to the top surface of second tab unit 23), and the fifth surface is sector-shaped (Refer to the shape formed by the tabs of second tab unit 23 and how it is similar to the sector-shape surface 1310 shown in Fig. 15 of the instant application).
Regarding Claim 17, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses , in a peripheral direction of the main body part, the fifth surface (Refer fifth surface show in annotated Fig. 2 below) having a first edge and a second edge that are far away from each other (Refer to edges shown annotated Fig. 2 below) .
Annotated Fig. 2 showing corresponding first and second edges of Li’s fifth surface.
Furthermore, since the fifth surface is sector-shaped and further is of a sector-shape that makes up an area that is less than an area of a semi-circle, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect an angle between the first edge and the second edge β1 to provide an angle within the claimed ranged of 0 < β1 ≤ 180 °.
Regarding Claim 18, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses the second tab having a sixth surface facing the first wall (Refer to corresponding sixth surface shown in annotated Fig. 2 below), the sixth surface being sector-shaped (Refer to the shape of the corresponding sixth surface shown below and how it is similar to the sector-shape surface 1310 shown in Fig. 15 of the instant application), and, in a peripheral direction of the main body part, the sixth surface (Refer sixth surface show in annotated Fig. 2 below) having a third edge and a fourth edge that are far away from each other (Refer to edges shown annotated Fig. 2 below).
Annotated Fig. 2 showing corresponding sixth surface and edges of Li’s sixth surface.
Furthermore, since the sixth surface is sector-shaped, and further is of a sector-shape that makes up an area that is less than an area of a semi-circle, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect an angle between the third edge and the fourth edge β2 to provide an angle within the claimed ranged of 0 < β2 ≤ 270 °.
Regarding Claim 19, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses a battery comprising the battery cell (battery module 6, Fig. 13; [0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further below, or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hisai (US PG Pub 2002/0061435 A1).
Regarding Claims 14 – 15, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the electrode assembly is a wound electrode assembly (Refer to Fig. 2; [0066]); the first tab comprises a plurality of first sub-tabs (Refer to second tabs 231, Fig. 2; [0066]) and the second tab comprises a plurality of second sub-tabs (Refer to first tabs 221, Fig. 2; [0066])
Furthermore, in Fig. 2, from the innermost portion to the outermost portion of cell 2, Li appears to show the sizes of the sub-tabs gradually increasing; therefore, based on the tab configuration shown, it appears that Li further discloses the sizes of the plurality of first sub-tabs and second sub-tabs gradually increasing in the winding direction of the electrode assembly [See MPEP 2125] (Claims 14 and 15 cont.).
Assuming, arguendo, applicant is able to provide persuasive evidence showing a critical difference such that Li does not necessarily possess this limitation, it still would have been obvious to have the sizes of the sub-tabs increase in the winding direction of the electrode assembly for the following reasons:
Hisai, directed toward wound electrode assemblies for cylindrical battery cells, also teaches a tab configuration where both the negative electrode tabs and positive electrode tabs {i.e. lugs 12a and 11a} are included on the same side of the wound electrode assembly ([0002 – 0003]). Hisai further teaches having the width of the current collecting lugs {i.e. tabs} gradually change in size from an inner side to an outer side of the wound electrode assembly, specifically the size of the lugs increase from the inner to outer side (Fig. 1; [0012 – 0015]). The increase in size is taught to provide a battery in which the electricity-generating element as a whole can have an even distribution of the reaction of each active material ([0011];[0015]).
Since Li also teaches a wound electrode assembly with a similar tab configuration, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tabs of Li to increase in size from an inner to an outer side of the wound electrode assembly, as taught by Hisai, and thus obtain the claimed tab configuration, with a reasonable expectation of success in achieving even distribution of the reaction of each active material of the electrode assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (CN105226209A, cited in previous O.A. mailed 02/12/2026).
Regarding Claims 2 – 3, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the first connecting portion {i.e. second welding portion 521} has a first surface in contact with the first wall (Refer to corresponding first surface shown in annotated Fig. 12 below and Fig.3; [0078]), and the second connecting portion {i.e. second connecting portion 522} has a second surface in contact with the first tab (Refer to corresponding second surface shown in in annotated Fig. 12 below and Fig.3; [0078]).
Annotated Fig. 12 showing corresponding first and second surfaces in Li.
Based on the positions of the corresponding surfaces shown in annotated Fig. 12 above, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, in a thickness direction of the first wall, there to be some height difference h1 between the first and second surface; however, Li does not explicitly disclose the height difference meeting h1 ≤ 3 mm.
Yang teaches a cylindrical battery cell having an ultra-thin cap and the cap includes a cover, an explosion-proof sheet, an insulating ring, a connecting piece and a sealing ring (Fig. 1; [0031]). Yang further teaches having a height from the highest point of the top cover to the lowest point of the connecting piece h2 be less than or equal to 3.0 mm for purpose of increasing the internal space of the battery and improving battery capacity without changing the external dimensions of the battery ([0008];[0016]).
Since Li teaches a similar cylindrical cell cap structure {i.e. cover with current collecting structure and insulating structure} and already teaches a desire to reduce the space occupation of the current collector component (Li: [0033]), it have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a height difference h1 the between the first and second surface of Li’s connecting portions be within the claimed range of ≤ 3 mm in order to obtain a cap height within the range taught by Yang {i.e. less than or equal to 3mm}, with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing the internal space of Lai’s the battery and improving battery capacity.
In Li, the cross-sectional area of the main body part is the circular area of the entire top surface of cell 2 (See Fig. 2). As established above, the corresponding first surface in Li is the top surface of second welding portion 521 and the corresponding second surface is the underside of second connecting portion 522 (Refer to annotated Fig. 12 above). Based on the relative sizes of the components {i.e. the second current collecting member is shaped and sized to be the same as that of second unit tab 23 (Li: [0069])} and surfaces shown in Fig. 2, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the a cross-sectional area of the main body part S, an area of the first surface S1, and an area of the second surface S2 to meet S1+S2 ≤ S/2 (Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the second adapter {i.e. first current collecting member} comprises a the third connecting portion connected to the electrode terminal (first welding portion 511, Fig. 12; [0068];[0078]) and a fourth connecting portion connected to the second tab (first connection portion 512, Fig. 12; [0078]); and in the thickness direction of the first wall, and orthographic projection of the third connecting portion does not overlap an orthographic projection of the fourth connecting portion (Refer to how in Figs. 2 and 12 the first welding portion 511 and first connection portion 512 do not overlap).
Li further discloses wherein the third connecting portion {i.e. first welding portion 511} has a third surface in contact with the electrode terminal (first welding subpart 5111, Fig. 12; [0081 – 0082]) and the fourth connecting portion {i.e. second protrusion part 413} has a second surface in contact with the first tab (second welding subpart 5112, Fig. 12; [0081 – 0082]).
Based on the position of the positions of the corresponding surfaces shown in Fig. 12, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, in a thickness direction of the first wall {i.e. vertical direction}, there to be a height difference h2 between the third and fourth surface; however, Li does not explicitly disclose the height difference meeting h2 ≤ 3 mm.
Yang teaches a cylindrical battery cell having an ultra-thin cap and the cap includes a cover, an explosion-proof sheet, an insulating ring, a connecting piece and a sealing ring (Fig. 1; [0031]). Yang further teaches having a height from the highest point of the top cover to the lowest point of the connecting piece h2 be less than or equal to 3.0 mm for purpose of increasing the internal space of the battery and improving battery capacity without changing the external dimensions of the battery ([0008];[0016]).
Since Li teaches a similar cylindrical cell cap structure {i.e. cover with current collecting structure and insulating structure} and already teaches a desire to reduce the space occupation of the current collector component (Li: [0033]), it have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a height difference h2 the between the third and fourth surface of Li’s connecting portions within the claimed range of ≤ 3 mm in order to obtain a cap height within the range taught by Yang {i.e. less than or equal to 3mm}, with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing the internal space of Lai’s the battery and improving battery capacity.
In Li, the cross-sectional area of the main body part is the circular area of the entire top surface of cell 2 (See Fig. 2). As established above, the corresponding third surface in Li is first welding subpart 5111 and the corresponding second surface is second welding subpart 5112 (Refer to Figs. 2 and 12). Based on the relative sizes of the components {i.e. the first current collecting member is shaped and sized to be the same as that of first unit tab 22 (Li: [0068])} and surfaces shown in the figures, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the a cross-sectional area of the main body part S, an area of the third surface S3, and an area of the fourth surface S4 to meet S3+S4 ≤ S/2.
Claim(s) 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiong (CN115377623A, cited in previous O.A. mailed 02/12/2026).
Regarding Claims 8, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. In Li the corresponding first connecting portion is second welding portion 521 and Li teaches that the portion has an arc-shape ([0080]). One with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, due to the welding part having an arc shape that is smaller than a semi-circle (Refer to Fig. 2), to, in a peripheral direction of the electrode assembly, provide a central angle greater or overlapping the claimed range of 0 < α ≤ 120°.
Li teaches configuring the second current collecting member, which includes the the second welding portion, to have shape that is the same as the shape formed by second tab unit so that contact area between the two structures is increased and a current passing area of a welding structure formed by the second tab unit and the second current collecting member ([0069]). Li further teaches that their taught terminal and current collector assembly improves the space utilization of the battery ([0030]).
Xiong teaches a cylindrical battery cell current collector that has at least one second protrusion 21 for welding the current collector to the battery cover (Figs. 1 – 2; [0045]). Xiong further teaches an embodiment where the second protrusions are arc-shaped and, in the circumferential direction of the main body 40, controlling the central angle of the of the arc-shaped protrusion to be not less than 60°. Xiong further teaches that when the angle is too small, it is difficult to ensure the stability of the welding ensure the stability and flow conduction capacity of the welding between the current collector and the battery cover ([0061]).
One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that an increase in the central angle would necessarily require an increase in size with respect to the welding portion.
Therefore, selection of a central angle with the claimed range for the corresponding first connection portion would have been obvious to one with ordinary in the art for the purpose of optimizing the size of the welding part {i.e. selecting a size that achieves the desired reduction in the space occupation of the current collector while also ensuring that the area of the welding part is large enough to ensure the stability and flow conduction capacity of the welding between the current collector and the battery cover, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1) and Yang (CN105226209A), as applied to claim 9 above, and further as evidenced by Lee (KR20230067490A, cited in previous O.A. mailed 02/12/2026).
Regarding Claim 10, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses wherein the electrode assembly is a wound electrode assembly ([0066]), the main body part having a central through hole (Refer to the hole shown in the center of the cell 2 in Fig. 2), and the third connecting portion {i.e. first welding portion 511} covering at least a part of the central hole, that is one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect, based on the positions of the central cell hole and the first welding portion 511, that the protrusion 510 of the first welding portion 511 would cover the hole when includes over cell 2 (Refer to Figs 2 and 12).
Li does not explicitly disclose the center through hole penetrating the main body part in an axial direction of the main body part; however, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the hole shown in Li to penetrate the main body part in an axial direction of the main body part, because, as evidenced by Lee, when manufacturing wound cells for a cylindrical battery a cavity 102 that extends in axial direction of the core is known to form at the location where the winding core was used in the electrode assembly winding process (Figs. 13 – 16; [0042 – 0044];[0116]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US PG Pub. 2023/0411808 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (KR20230067490A).
Regarding Claim 20, Li discloses all limitations as set forth above. Li teaches a cylindrical battery cell and further teaches forming a battery module with a plurality of the cells (Figs. 1 and 13; [0057];[0090]). Li further that cylindrical batteries have applications in portable electrical appliances, electric tools, large energy storage, electric traffic power supply, etc. ([0003]). Therefore, Li suggests but does not explicitly disclose an embodiment of wherein the battery cell is configured to provide electrical energy.
Lee, also directed to lithium ion cylindrical battery cells, teaches forming a battery pack from a group of cylindrical battery cells and implementing the battery pack in an electrical vehicle so that the vehicle is able to operate by receiving power form the battery pack (Figs. 18 – 19; [0230 – 0234]).
Since Li teaches a cylindrical battery module and already suggests using cylindrical batteries , it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement of battery module of Li as an electric vehicle, as taught by Lee, and thus obtain the claimed battery and electrical apparatus, with a reasonable expectation of success in applying the battery cells in a vehicle and obtaining a functioning, battery-powered vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751