DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akcasu (US 20200050829 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210064187 A1) and Yang et al. (US 20160259459 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akcasu teaches a display device (Figs. 1 and 3, electronic device 10 including a display 38) comprising:
a display panel including a pixel circuit (Fig. 3, Display 38. Examiner notes a display includes pixel circuitry); and
a display panel driver configured to drive the display panel (Fig. 3, [0049] teach a processor 32 which cooperates with display to display images thereby functions as display panel driver), wherein the display panel includes:
a sensing region (Figs. 1-2 show a sensing region defined as a region where a sensed finger is proximate to a display); and
a display region surrounding the sensing region (Fig. 1 shows a display region surrounding a sensing region),
wherein the sensing region includes a hole region including a hole which extends through the display panel and configured to transmit light (Figs. 2 and 4, [0038], a pin-hole opening 16), and a distance signal sensing region surrounding the hole region and including a distance signal sensing electrode (Figs. 2 and 4, [0042-0043], distance signal sensing electrode includes light emitters 22 and a conductive sensor plate or ring electrode 26 which surround pin-hole opening 16. [0051], “The ring electrode 26 therefore comprises concentric rings 26a and 26b, centered around pin hole 16.” Figs. 4-5 and [0054-0055] teach that distance of a finger to a cover glass z is sensed with the use of light emitters 22 and ring electrode 26), and
wherein a proximity sensor configured to detect proximity of an object based on a capacitance variation is located in the sensing region (Figs. 2-4, [0043-0044], Proximity capacitive sensor 24 detect the proximity of an approaching finger by measuring a change in capacitance that occurs),
wherein the display panel further includes a touch sensor configured to detect touch ([0037, 0048], “display 38 is preferably a touch display”).
Akcasu is not relied upon for teaching the remaining claim limitations.
Lee teaches a display device wherein the display panel is configured to stop displaying an image when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between an object and the display panel is equal to or less than a second reference distance (Fig. 28. [0036], “determining, by a proximity sensor, whether an object is within a proximity of a top surface of a display panel, the display panel being turned off in response to the proximity sensor determining that the object is within the proximity of the top surface of the display panel”).
Lee teaches the advantage of turning off a display when an object approaches display is that improves the sensitivity of sensors disposed within a display area ([0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akcasu with Lee such that a display panel is configured to stop displaying an image when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between an object and the display panel is equal to or less than a second reference distance as Lee teaches this improves the sensitivity of sensors disposed within a display area (Lee, [0006]).
Akcasu and Lee are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations stating,
wherein the display panel driver outputs a touch signal to the touch sensor,
wherein the display panel driver stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance, and
wherein the proximity sensor only receive s a distance signal different from the touch signal.
Yang teaches a display device wherein the display panel further includes a touch sensor configured to detect a touch (Fig. 3, [0066], “user input unit 130 may include…a touch pad (e.g., a touch sensitive member that detects changes in resistance, pressure, capacitance, etc. due to being contacted.” Also see [0080-0082]),
wherein the display panel driver outputs a touch signal to the touch sensor (Fig. 3, [0066], “user input unit 130 may include…a touch pad (e.g., a touch sensitive member that detects changes in resistance, pressure, capacitance, etc. due to being contacted.” Also see [0080-0082]),
wherein the display panel driver stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance (Fig. 22, [0333-0334], “in a case in which the proximity sensor senses an object positioned within the reference distance, the controller 180 may deactivate the touch sensor in the state in which the display unit 151 is deactivated”), and
wherein the proximity sensor only receives a distance signal (Fig. 22, [0089, 0329-0330], teach a proximity sensor 141, “measures a distance between a sensing object such as a user’s finger and a detection surface to which a touch is applied using electromagnetic field or infrared rays without a mechanical contact”) different from the touch signal (Fig. 22, [0332-0334] teaches a process by which a proximity sensor sensing an object may deactivate the touch sensor. This teaching means the proximity sensor and touch sensors are distinct from each other such that each of the proximity sensor and touch sensor receive different signals. For example, [0322] teaches the touch sensor detects a tap applied to a touch display unit 151 while [0089, 0329-0330] teach the proximity sensor detects a distance between a finger and a detection surface).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to modify Akcasu and Lee with Yang such that a display panel controller deactivates a touch sensor when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance as Yang teaches this operation reduces power consumption (Yang, [0335]).
Regarding claim 15, Akcasu teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1, electronic device 10) comprising:
a display panel including a pixel circuit (Fig. 3, Display 38. Examiner notes a display includes pixel circuitry);
a display panel driver configured to drive the display panel based on input control signal (Fig. 3, [0049] teach a processor 32 which cooperates with display to display images and thereby functions as display panel driver); and
a processor configured to output the input control signal (Fig. 3, [0049] teach a processor 32 which cooperates with display to display images), wherein the display panel includes:
a sensing region (Figs. 1-2 show a sensing region defined as a region where a sensed finger is proximate to a display); and
a display region surrounding the sensing region (Fig. 1 shows a display region surrounding a sensing region), wherein the sensing region includes a hole region including a hole which extends through the display panel and configured to transmit light (Figs. 2 and 4, [0038], a pin-hole opening 16), and a distance signal sensing region surrounding the hole region and including a distance signal sensing electrode (Figs. 2 and 4, [0042-0043], distance signal sensing electrode includes light emitters 22 and a conductive sensor plate or ring electrode 26 which surround pin-hole opening 16. [0051], “The ring electrode 26 therefore comprises concentric rings 26a and 26b, centered around pin hole 16.” Figs. 4-5 and [0054-0055] teach that distance of a finger to a cover glass z is sensed with the use of light emitters 22 and ring electrode 26), and
wherein a proximity sensor configured to detect proximity of an object based on a capacitance variation is located in the sensing region (Figs. 2-4, [0043-0044], Proximity capacitive sensor 24 detect the proximity of an approaching finger by measuring a change in capacitance that occurs),
wherein the display panel further includes a touch sensor configured to detect touch ([0037, 0048], “display 38 is preferably a touch display”).
Akcasu is not relied upon for teaching the remaining claim limitations.
Lee teaches an electronic device wherein the display panel is configured to stop displaying an image when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than a second reference distance (Fig. 28. [0036], “determining, by a proximity sensor, whether an object is within a proximity of a top surface of a display panel, the display panel being turned off in response to the proximity sensor determining that the object is within the proximity of the top surface of the display panel”).
Lee teaches the advantage of turning off a display when an object approaches display is that improves the sensitivity of sensors disposed within a display area ([0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akcasu with Lee such that a display panel is configured to stop displaying an image when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between an object and the display panel is equal to or less than a second reference distance as Lee teaches this improves the sensitivity of sensors disposed within a display area (Lee, [0006])
Akcasu and Lee are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations of:
a display device wherein the display panel further includes a touch sensor configured to detect a touch,
wherein the display panel driver outputs a touch signal to the touch sensor,
wherein the display panel driver stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance, and
wherein the proximity sensor only receive s a distance signal different from the touch signal.
Yang teaches a display device wherein the display panel further includes a touch sensor configured to detect a touch (Fig. 3, [0066], “user input unit 130 may include…a touch pad (e.g., a touch sensitive member that detects changes in resistance, pressure, capacitance, etc. due to being contacted.” Also see [0080-0082]),
wherein the display panel driver outputs a touch signal to the touch sensor (Fig. 3, [0066], “user input unit 130 may include…a touch pad (e.g., a touch sensitive member that detects changes in resistance, pressure, capacitance, etc. due to being contacted.” Also see [0080-0082]), and
wherein the display panel driver stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance (Fig. 22, [0333-0334], “in a case in which the proximity sensor senses an object positioned within the reference distance, the controller 180 may deactivate the touch sensor in the state in which the display unit 151 is deactivated”), and
wherein the proximity sensor only receives a distance signal (Fig. 22, [0089, 0329-0330], teach a proximity sensor 141, “measures a distance between a sensing object such as a user’s finger and a detection surface to which a touch is applied using electromagnetic field or infrared rays without a mechanical contact”) different from the touch signal (Fig. 22, [0332-0334] teaches a process by which a proximity sensor sensing an object may deactivate the touch sensor. This teaching means the proximity sensor and touch sensors are distinct from each other such that each of the proximity sensor and touch sensor receive different signals. For example, [0322] teaches the touch sensor detects a tap applied to a touch display unit 151 while [0089, 0329-0330] teach the proximity sensor detects a distance between a finger and a detection surface).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to modify Akcasu and Lee with Yang such that a display panel controller deactivates a touch sensor when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance as Yang teaches this operation reduces power consumption (Yang, [0335]).
Claims 4-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akcasu (US 20200050829 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210064187 A1), and, Yang et al. (US 20160259459 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230094019 A1, hereinafter, Lee II).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches a display panel driver (Fig. 1, sensor driver 220) outputs a distance signal to the proximity sensor (See Fig. 5 which shows a signal output such as TX1 or TX4 to touch proximity sensors TX),
wherein the distance signal toggles between a first voltage and a second voltage lower than the first voltage (See Fig. 5 which shows signals such as TX1 and TX4 toggle between a high voltage and low voltage. [0143] teaches the sensor driver may transmit a driving signal for proximity sensing wherein proximity sensing determines a separation distance between an object OBJ and the sensor layer. As this driving signal is used for distance proximity sensing it corresponds to “the distance signal” as currently claimed),
wherein the touch signal toggles between a third voltage and a fourth voltage lower than the third voltage (See fig. 5 which shows touch driving signals cycle between a high and low voltage. See figs. 12-13 wherein touch sensing signals operate at a voltage V1), and
wherein the first voltage is higher than the third voltage (See figs. 12-13 wherein proximity operating voltage V2 is higher than touch sensing voltage V1. [0164], “the sensor driver 220 may be set such that the voltage magnitude vt2 of the driving signal (e.g., the driving signals for the proximity sensing and the biometric information measurement) of the second and third modes is greater than the voltage magnitude vt1 of the driving signal (e.g., the driving signal for the touch position sensing) of the first mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different voltage range than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 5, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches the distance signal has a first frequency, and the touch signal has a second frequency, and wherein the first frequency is lower than the second frequency (See Figs. 12 and 14-16, [0166], “the driving signal for the touch sensing may have a first frequency F1 in the first mode, the driving signal for the proximity sensing may have a second frequency F2 in the second mode. The second frequency F2 may be less than or equal to the first frequency F1”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different frequency than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 6, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches wherein the display panel driver outputs a distance signal to the proximity sensor, wherein the distance signal has a first frequency, and the touch signal has a second frequency, and wherein the first frequency is different from the second frequency (See figs. 12, and 14-16, [0166], “the driving signal for the touch sensing may have a first frequency F1 in the first mode, the driving signal for the proximity sensing may have a second frequency F2 in the second mode. The second frequency F2 may be less than or equal to the first frequency F1”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different frequency than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 7, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches wherein the first frequency is lower than the second frequency (See figs. 12, and 14-16, [0166], “the driving signal for the touch sensing may have a first frequency F1 in the first mode, the driving signal for the proximity sensing may have a second frequency F2 in the second mode. The second frequency F2 may be less than or equal to the first frequency F1”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different frequency than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 8, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches a display device of wherein a display panel driver includes:
a gate driver configured to output a gate signal to the pixel circuit (Fig. 29, scan driver 13);
a data driver configured to apply a data voltage to the pixel circuit (Fig. 29, data driver 12);
a touch driver configured to perform a touch sensing operation (Fig. 1, sensor driver 230); and
a driving controller configured to control the gate driver, the data driver and the touch driver based on an input control signal (Figs. 1 and 29, [0239], see processor 9 which may be application processor 30), wherein the display panel further includes the touch sensor configured to detect a touch ([0108], Figs. 1-3, Sensor layer 120 includes touch sensors TX and RX), and wherein the touch driver outputs the distance signal to the proximity sensor, and a touch signal different from the distance signal to the touch sensor (Figs. 12-16, see touch sensing and proximity sensing modes which each include signals of different voltages and frequencies).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that the touch sensing device includes the components and methods of Lee II as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 9, Akcasu teaches a distance signal sensing block configured to output the distance signal (Fig. 3, an and a capacitive proximity sensor 22); and
a touch signal sensing block configured to output the touch signal ([0048], touch display).
Akcasu and Lee are not relied upon for teaching a touch signal sensing block configured to output the touch signal, and wherein the touch signal sensing block stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance.
Yang teaches a touch driver includes:
a distance signal sensing block configured to output the distance signal (Fig. 22, [0333-0334], proximity sensor); and
a touch signal sensing block configured to output the touch signal (Fig. 3, [0066], “user input unit 130 may include…a touch pad (e.g., a touch sensitive member that detects changes in resistance, pressure, capacitance, etc. due to being contacted.” Also see [0080-0082], and wherein the touch signal sensing block stops outputting the touch signal when the proximity sensor detects that a distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance (Fig. 22, [0333-0334], “in a case in which the proximity sensor senses an object positioned within the reference distance, the controller 180 may deactivate the touch sensor in the state in which the display unit 151 is deactivated”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to modify Akcasu and Lee with Yang such that a display panel controller deactivates a touch sensor when the proximity sensor detects that the distance between the object and the display panel is equal to or less than the second reference distance as Yang teaches this operation reduces power consumption (Yang, [0335]).
Regarding claim 10, Akcasu is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee teaches a touch driver operates the display panel in a self-capacitance method ([0150], the sensing unit SENL may be driven in a one-layer mutual capacitance manner, or a self-capacitance manner).
Of note, Lee II also teaches the touch driver operates the display panel in a self-capacitance method ([0082], “In an embodiment (e.g., self-capacitive type), the sensors SC may be configured as one type of sensors without distinguishing between the first and second sensors TX and RX.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, to modify the invention such that the touch display device operates in self-capacitance as Lee teaches at [0150] it is well-known to drive touch display in either mutual or self-capacitance mode. The self-capacitive mode offers superior sensitivity, higher signal-to-noise ratios, and better support for thicker cover glass.
Regarding claim 11, Akcasu is not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee teaches a touch driver operates the display panel in a mutual capacitance sensing method ([0150], the sensing unit SENL may be driven in a one-layer mutual capacitance manner, or a self-capacitance manner).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, to modify the invention such that the touch display device operates in mutual-capacitance as Lee teaches at [0150] it is well-known to drive touch display in either mutual or self-capacitance mode. Mutual-capacitance offers the advantage of accurate multiple simultaneous touch tracking.
Regarding claim 19, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches wherein the distance signal has a first frequency, and the touch signal has a second frequency, and wherein the first frequency is different from the second frequency (See figs. 12, and 14-16, [0166], “the driving signal for the touch sensing may have a first frequency F1 in the first mode, the driving signal for the proximity sensing may have a second frequency F2 in the second mode. The second frequency F2 may be less than or equal to the first frequency F1”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different frequency than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Regarding claim 20, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Lee II teaches wherein the first frequency is lower than the second frequency (See figs. 12, and 14-16, [0166], “the driving signal for the touch sensing may have a first frequency F1 in the first mode, the driving signal for the proximity sensing may have a second frequency F2 in the second mode. The second frequency F2 may be less than or equal to the first frequency F1”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Lee II such that touch signal sensing operates at a different frequency than proximity sensing as Lee II teaches this improves proximity and touch detection (Lee II, [0007, 0192, 0195-0196]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akcasu (US 20200050829 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210064187 A1), and, Yang et al. (US 20160259459 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whitman et al. (US 20180088633 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Whitman teaches a display device wherein the display panel includes a foldable region (See figs. 1-2 which show foldable display with a folding region around hinge element 102), a first non-folding region adjacent to the foldable region and a second non-folding region adjacent to the foldable region (See [0021], figs. 1-2 which show foldable display with two non-folding regions first portion 101 and the second portion 103), wherein the first non-folding region includes a sensing region (Figs. 1-2, [0025], see sensing electrodes 104 which reside in first portion 101), and wherein when the capacitance variation is equal to or less than a reference capacitance variation, the display panel displays an image ([0030], “At least one characteristic of a graphical user interface presented on the display may be transformed based on a calculated fold angle and/or change in the fold angle between the first portion 101 and the second portion 103.” [0032-0033], “cause the electronic device to at least cause the touch sensitive display to display an interface when the determined opening state indicates that the electronic device is open”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Whitman such that the display device is foldable and can display an image based on the folding state as Whitman’s method provides a power efficient method of determining fold state using the existing touch display components (Whitman, [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Whitman teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the capacitance variation is determined based on an angle between the first non-folding region and the second non-folding region ([0020], ”determining a fold angle and/or opening state of a foldable electronic device using a self-capacitance measurement of as few as one electrode disposed in the foldable electronic device.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Whitman such that the display device is foldable and can display an image based on the folding state as Whitman’s method provides a power efficient method of determining fold state using the existing touch display components (Whitman, [0020]).
Regarding claim 14, Akcasu, Lee, and Yang are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Whitman teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein when the capacitance variation is greater than the reference capacitance variation, the display panel stops displaying the image ([0032-0033], “cause the electronic device to at least cause the touch sensitive display to display an interface when the determined opening state indicates that the electronic device is open, and cause the touch sensitive display to deactivate when the determined opening state indicates that the electronic device is closed”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Akcasu, Lee, and Yang with Whitman such that the display device is foldable and can display an image based on the folding state as Whitman’s method provides a power efficient method of determining fold state using the existing touch display components (Whitman, [0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026 are directed towards the amended subject matter, specifically the limitation,
wherein the proximity sensor only receive s a distance signal different from the touch signal.
As detailed in the rejection above, the combination of Akcasu, Lee, and Yang teach all the claim limitations including the limitation stating the proximity sensor only receive s a distance signal different from the touch signal.
Applicant argues on p. 9-10 of the remarks that Yang is silent regarding a distance signal “which is provided to the proximity sensor and is different from the touch signal.” It appears applicant may be suggesting the proximity sensor does not measure a/the distance signal but is instead “provided with a distance signal.” The claim does not actually state this, though, applicant uses this phrasing on p. 10 of the remarks. If this is what applicant is arguing the current claim amendments do not adequately communicate this intended meaning as currently presented. Yang’s proximity sensor and touch sensor teachings meet the claim limitations as currently presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN P BRITTINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629