DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (2014/0145979) in view of Brown et al (2015/0179122) (herein “Brown”). In regards to claims 1 and 12, Lee teaches a See; Abstract for an OLED display having a thin film encapsulation layer comprising inorganic and organic layers); a first sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the first sensor comprising: connecting wires; touch sensor wirings; first sensor electrodes; and second sensor electrodes spaced apart from the first sensor electrodes in a plan view (See; Fig. 5A and Abstract for first sensing patterns 51 and second sensing patterns 52 having inherent connecting wires to drive/sense circuits). Lee fails to explicitly teach a mobile device comprising a second sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the second sensor comprising:a third sensor electrode; the first sensor electrodes; and the second sensor electrodes, wherein the first sensor senses capacitance changes between the first sensor electrodes and the second sensor electrodes, wherein the second sensor senses a location of an input tool by using the first sensor electrodes, the second sensor electrodes and the third sensor electrode, and wherein the mobile device comprises a smart phone, a lap top computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a mobile information terminal, a tablet personal computer, a watch, a desk top computer, a television set, an outdoor advertisement board, an exhibition display device, an automobile instrument panel or a head up display. However, Brown teaches a mobile device (See; p[0273]) comprising a first sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the first sensor comprising: connecting wires; touch sensor wirings; first sensor electrodes; and second sensor electrodes spaced apart from the first sensor electrodes in a plan view (See; Figs. 3 and 4 for drive electrodes 330 and first sense electrodes 310); and a second sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the second sensor comprising:a third sensor electrode; the first sensor electrodes; and the second sensor electrodes (See; Figs. 3 and 4 for drive electrodes 330 and first sense electrodes 310 and second sense electrodes 320), wherein the first sensor senses capacitance changes between the first sensor electrodes and the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 7 and p[0189] for detecting a first mutual coupling capacitance between the drive and first sense electrodes to detect conductive objects), wherein the second sensor senses a location of an input tool by using the first sensor electrodes, the second sensor electrodes and the third sensor electrode (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the capacitances of both 310 and 320 are used to identify non-conductive (stylus) inputs), and wherein the mobile device comprises a smart phone, a lap top computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a mobile information terminal, a tablet personal computer, a watch, a desk top computer, a television set, an outdoor advertisement board, an exhibition display device, an automobile instrument panel or a head up display (See; p[0273]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee to include an additional electrode so as to detect non-conductive objects such as stylus, thus increasing the amount of input devices the panel is able to identify. In regards to claim 2, Brown teaches wherein the second sensor senses a pressure of the input tool by using the first sensor electrodes, the second sensor electrodes and the third sensor electrode (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the capacitances of both 310 and 320 are used to identify non-conductive (stylus) inputs. Where when the non-conductive input contacts the panel an inherent pressure is present which is being detected in the detected capacitance). In regards to claims 3 and 9, Brown teaches wherein the third sensor electrode is disposed to face the connecting wires, the touch sensor wirings, the first sensor electrodes, or the second sensor electrodes, and wherein the first sensor senses a location of user contact on the mobile device (See; Fig. 3 and p[0189], p[0198] where the position of input objects is determined).
In regards to claim 4, Brown teaches further comprising a pad on the substrate, wherein the first sensor or the second sensor are electrically connected to the pad via a contact hole in the display unit (See; Fig. 4 for contact hole 470 between bridge layer 450 and drive electrode 330).
In regards to claim 7, Lee teaches an organic light emitting diode device comprising: a substrate; a display unit comprising:a plurality of thin film transistors; and a plurality of organic light-emitting diodes on the substrate; an encapsulation layer disposed on the substrate, the encapsulation layer comprising: at least one inorganic layer; and at least one organic layer (See; Abstract for an OLED display having a thin film encapsulation layer comprising inorganic and organic layers); a first sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the first sensor comprising: connecting wires; first sensor electrodes; and second sensor electrodes spaced apart from the first sensor electrodes in a plan view (See; Fig. 5A and Abstract for first sensing patterns 51 and second sensing patterns 52 having inherent connecting wires to drive/sense circuits). Lee fails to explicitly teach a second sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the second sensor comprising:a third sensor electrode on the first sensor, wherein the first sensor senses capacitance changes between the first sensor electrodes and the second sensor electrodes, wherein capacitance forms between the third sensor electrode and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes, and wherein the third sensor electrode overlaps the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes. However, Brown teaches first sensor electrodes; and second sensor electrodes spaced apart from the first sensor electrodes in a plan view (See; Figs. 3 and 4 for drive electrodes 330 and first sense electrodes 310) and a second sensor disposed on the encapsulation layer, the second sensor comprising:a third sensor electrode on the first sensor (See; Figs. 3 and 4 for drive electrodes 330 and first sense electrodes 310 and second sense electrodes 320), wherein the first sensor senses capacitance changes between the first sensor electrodes and the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 7 and p[0189] for detecting a first mutual coupling capacitance between the drive and first sense electrodes to detect conductive objects), wherein capacitance forms between the third sensor electrode and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the coupling capacitance is additionally recorded between the second sense electrodes and the drive electrodes), and wherein the third sensor electrode overlaps the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 3 where the second sense electrodes 320 overlap the drive electrodes 330 at bridge portions). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lee to include an additional electrode so as to detect non-conductive objects such as stylus, thus increasing the amount of input devices the panel is able to identify. In regards to claims 8 and 17, Brown teaches wherein the second sensor senses pressure in accordance with the capacitance change between the third sensor electrode and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the capacitances of both 310 and 320 are used to identify non-conductive (stylus) inputs. Where when the non-conductive input contacts the panel an inherent pressure is present which is being detected in the detected capacitance). In regards to claim 10, Brown teaches further comprising spacers, air, a cushion between the third sensor electrode and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 4 for space between each electrode). In regards to claim 13, Brown teaches wherein capacitance forms between the third sensor electrodes and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the coupling capacitance is additionally recorded between the second sense electrodes and the drive electrodes), and wherein the third sensor electrodes overlap the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 3 where the second sense electrodes 320 overlap the drive electrodes 330 at bridge portions).
In regards to claim 14, Brown teaches wherein the second sensor senses a location of an input tool (See; p[0188], p[0193] and Fig. 7 where the capacitances of both 310 and 320 are used to identify non-conductive (stylus) inputs), and wherein the first sensor senses a location of user contact on the mobile device (See; Fig. 7 and p[0189] for detecting a first mutual coupling capacitance between the drive and first sense electrodes to detect positions of conductive objects).
In regards to claim 15, Brown teaches further comprising a pad on the substrate, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are electrically connected to the pad via a contact hole in the display unit (See; Fig. 4 for contact hole 470 between bridge layer 450 and drive electrode 330).
In regards to claim 16, Brown teaches further comprising spacers, air, a cushion between a third sensor electrode of the third sensor electrodes and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 4 for space between each electrode), wherein the third sensor is on the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 3 where the second sense electrodes 320 overlap the drive electrodes 330 at bridge portions).
In regards to claim 18, Brown teaches wherein the first sensor or the second sensor is electrically connected to the pad via a contact hole in the display unit (See; Fig. 4 for contact hole 470 between bridge layer 450 and drive electrode 330)..
In regards to claim 19, Brown teaches further comprising spacers, air, a cushion between the third sensor electrodes and the first sensor electrodes or the second sensor electrodes (See; Fig. 4 for space between each electrode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627