DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—9 & 12—20 have been examined in this application. Claims 10—11 have been canceled. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 07/23/2026. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/07/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Figs. 8—10 and 15 of Species 2 and claims 1—20 in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
The Office has not provided any evidence or reasoning to justify their distinction aside from asserting that "Species I may not require searching areas such as A47C1/02." Therefore, an improper basis for a restriction requirement has been set forth.
The Office provides no basis for its assertion that it would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required aside from the conclusory statement that "Species I may not require searching areas such as A47C1/02.".
This is not found persuasive because: a pressure pad system provided with independently inflatable chambers including straps configured to attach to an article. Searching in different areas would require different search strategies different CPCs and text searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
The provisional statutory double patenting rejection of claim 12—20 has been withdrawn in light of the claim’s amendments.
The nonstatutory double patenting of claims 1—11 has been withdrawn in light of the claim’s amendments/cancelations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12—13 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson (Crewdson hereafter).
As per claim 12, Crewdson teaches:
A method of coupling a pressure pad system to an article (1002-Fig.10A; para [0078-79]), the method comprising: disposing a pad body (903-Fig.9B; para [0070]) of the pressure pad system in a coupling bag of the pressure pad system (901-Fig.9A; para [0070]); disposing the coupling bag of the pressure pad system on the article (1002-Fig.10A; para [0078-79]), the coupling bag including first and second ends (906A, C-Fig.9A; para [0070]) and first and second peripheral sides (906A, D-Fig.9A; para [0070]), the coupling bag comprising: a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends (911-Fig.9A; para [0070]), a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides (911-Fig.9A; para [0070]), and one or more coupling straps (907F-Fig.9A; para [0070]); and coupling the coupling bag to the article (1002-Fig.10A; para [0078-79]), including wrapping at least one of the one or more coupling straps around a portion of the article (1002-Fig.10A; para [0078-79]).
As per claim 13, Crewdson teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein disposing the coupling bag of the pressure pad system on the article comprises disposing the coupling bag of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article (1002-Fig.10A; para [0078-79]).
As per claim 20, Crewdson teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the coupling bag defines a bag cavity (903-Fig.9B; para [0070]) in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed (102-Fig.9B; para [0070]), the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet and including a bag closure (905-Fig.9B; para [0070]), wherein opening the bag closure allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity (para [0070] inflatable item 102 to be inserted, removed and/or replaced) and closing the bag closure allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity (para [0070] inflatable item 102 to be inserted, removed and/or replaced).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14—17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern (Stern hereafter).
As per claim 14, Crewdson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Crawson does not teach, wherein the plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends comprises at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap.
Stern teaches: wherein the plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends (812—Fig.9; para [0060])comprises at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends (812—Fig.9; para [0060]) and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap (844—Fig.9; para [0060]) and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap (846—Fig.9; para [0060]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system including coupling tabs extending from first and second ends) and arrived at a pressure pad system including each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the pressure pad system components in place as taught in Stern (para [0060]).
As per claim 15, Crewdson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Crewdson does not teach, wherein the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides comprises at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a first coupler portion.
Stern teaches: wherein the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides comprises at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs (812—Fig.9; para [0060]) comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a first coupler portion (844—Fig.9; para [0060]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system including coupling tabs extending from first and second ends) and arrived at a pressure pad system including each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the pressure pad system components in place as taught in Stern (para [0060]).
As per claim 16, Crewdson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Crewdson does not teach, wherein the one or more coupling straps comprise a strap with a pair of second coupler portions on opposing sides of the strap, with each of the second coupler portions configured to couple with first coupler portions of the end coupling tabs and the peripheral coupling tabs.
Stern teaches, wherein the one or more coupling straps comprise a strap with a pair of second coupler portions on opposing sides of the strap (844—Fig.9; para [0060]), with each of the second coupler portions configured to couple with first coupler portions of the end coupling tabs and the peripheral coupling tabs (para [0060]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system including coupling tabs extending from first and second ends) and arrived at a pressure pad system including each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the pressure pad system components in place as taught in Stern (para [0060]).
As per claim 17, Crewdson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 16.
Crewdson does not teach , wherein coupling the coupling bag to the article includes wrapping at least one of the one or more coupling straps around a frame or body of the article and a cushion or mattress of the article.
Stern teaches, wherein coupling the coupling bag to the article includes wrapping at least one of the one or more coupling straps around a frame or body of the article and a cushion or mattress of the article (846—Fig.9; para [0062]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system including coupling tabs extending from first and second ends) and arrived at a pressure pad system including each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the pressure pad system components in place as taught in Stern (para [0060]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson in view of U.S Patent Application 2005/0246834 A1 to Weedling (Weedling hereafter).
As per claim 18, Crewdson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Crewdson does not teach, wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides; and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by a cushion or mattress of the article and/or a frame or body of the article.
Weedling teaches wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides (44, 54 & 56—Fig.6; para [0033]); and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by a cushion or mattress of the article and/or a frame or body of the article (82—Fig.9; para [0043]: slots positioned on mattress).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Weedling (directed to a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide releasable attachment between the pull straps and the transfer mattress as taught in Weedling (para [0043]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0380504 A1 to Therkildsen (Therkildsen hereafter).
As per claim 19, Crewdson (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12 coupling bag of the pressure pad system comprises: at least one coupling loop.
Crewdson does not teach, wherein the article comprises a footrest configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration, and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: at least one coupling loop, and wherein the at least one coupling loop couples with the footrest of the recliner, by the at least one coupling loop wrapping around the footrest, to couple the coupling bag of the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and in the extended configuration.
Therkildsen teaches wherein the article comprises a footrest (18-Fig.1) configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration (18—Fig.1; para [0049]), and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: at least one coupling loop (62—Fig.4; para [0050]), wherein the at least one coupling loop couple with the footrest of the recliner (66—Fig.2 & 62—Fig.4; para [0050]), by the at least one coupling loop wrapping around the footrest, to couple the coupling bag of the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and in the extended configuration (62—Fig.4; para [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Crewdson (directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs) and Therkildsen (directed to a pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair es. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to couple the pillow to the leg section of the recliner chair as taught in Therkildsen (para [0050]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1—9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claims 1 & 5, the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application 2011/0252567 A1 to Chu teaches a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers.
Chu as modified by the following teaches
(U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson) directed to a pad body placed within a coupling bag including straps configured to secure to furniture provided with coupling tabs.
(U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern) a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles.
(U.S Patent Application 2005/0246834 A1 to Weedling) a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing.
(U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies) teaches an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap.
Regarding claim 1 there is no teaching suggestion or motivation in the prior art of record presented above which would reasonably permit a combination which would arrive at the combination of elements presented in independent claim 1. Specifically, the limitation with respect to:
disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article, the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm, the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm, a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system, with at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap;
in combination with:
a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides, with at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly;
a plurality of coupling straps comprising a strap with plug portions of a side-squeeze buckle assembly on opposing sides of the strap, with each of the plug portions configured to couple with the socket portions of the end coupling tabs and the socket portions of the peripheral coupling tabs; and a plurality of anchor straps coupled centrally and respectively along a common anchor strap axis to the first and second peripheral sides via a respective anchor loop that extends through a respective anchor;
anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by the at least one cushion or mattress of the article and a frame or body of the article.
Regarding claim 5 there is no teaching suggestion or motivation in the prior art of record presented above which would reasonably permit a combination which would arrive at the combination of elements presented in independent claim 5. Specifically, the limitation with respect to:
disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system in a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed, the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet with a bag closure extending from the first end to the second end, wherein opening the bag closure allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity and closing the bag closure allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity, and wherein the coupling bag defines the parallel first and second ends and parallel first and second peripheral sides
in combination with:
with at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends of the coupling bag and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap, a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides of the coupling bag, with at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides of the coupling bag and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a socket portion
Therefor upon exhausting the art, it is concluded by the examiner for those reasons stated above that inconsideration with deficiencies of the prior art, that applicant’s invention would be considered non-obvious in light of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg.1-9, filed 07/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12—17 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) & 5,7 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Claims 12—20.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 07/23/2026, the Applicant argues,
Regarding claim 12, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 12 is allowable at least for reasons including some of those discussed above in connection with claim 5. For example, claim 12 recites "disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system in a coupling bag of the pressure pad system; disposing the coupling bag of the pressure pad system on the article, the coupling bag including first and second ends and first and second peripheral sides, the coupling bag comprising: a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends, a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides, and one or more coupling straps; and coupling the coupling bag to the article, including wrapping at least one of the coupling straps around a portion of the article."
For at least reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that Stern alone, or in combination with the other cited references, does not teach such subject matter as recited in claim 12. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 12 is allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Stern and the other cited references.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding claim 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2015/0279005 A1 to Crewdson (Crewdson hereafter). Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, 13 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
3)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S Patent Application 2003/0163874 A1 to Boso et. al an inflatable mattress topper including an inflatable chamber which may be formed out of polyvinyl chloride with or without lamination or flocking. The inflatable chamber is designed to rest upon a support system, namely a bed without additional securing devices or may be integrated within a conventional mattress. The inflatable chamber being inflated by air to an adjustable level to provide the desired support for its user through plastic tubing connected between a pump and an air inlet sealed to the polyvinyl chloride chamber.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 08/19/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673