DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/30/2025 & 01/02/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Figs. 8—10 and 15 of Species 2 and claims 1—20 in the reply filed on 02/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
The Office has not provided any evidence or reasoning to justify their distinction aside from asserting that "Species I may not require searching areas such as A47C1/02." Therefore, an improper basis for a restriction requirement has been set forth.
The Office provides no basis for its assertion that it would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required aside from the conclusory statement that "Species I may not require searching areas such as A47C1/02.".
This is not found persuasive because: a pressure pad system provided with independently inflatable chambers including straps configured to attach to an article. Searching in different areas would require different search strategies different CPCs and text searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 12—20 of this application is patentably indistinct from Claim 12—20 of Application No. 18/980,421. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13.
Claims 1—11 provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1—11 of copending Application No. 18/980,421 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1—11 of this application are broader than and fully encompassed by claims 1—11 of copending Application No. 19/322,460 see table below.
Present Application
Copending Application No. 18/980,421
Comments
Claim 1 portion:
the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm; a second layer defined by a second planer sheet of PVC of the pad body, the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm,
Claim 1 portion:
the first layer having a thickness of between 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm; a second layer defined by a second planer sheet of PVC of the pad body, the second layer having a thickness between 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm
The instant claim is fully encompassed by copendening application 18/980,421 except the instant claim recites a first and second layer having a thickness between .2 – 0.7mm instead of 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm.
Claim 5 portion:
a strap with plug portions on opposing sides of the strap, with each of the plug portions configured to couple with the socket portions of the end coupling tabs and the socket portions of the peripheral coupling tabs;
Claim 5 portion:
The instant claim 5 is fully encompassed by claim 5 of copendening application 18/980,421.
Claim 6 portion:
the first layer having a thickness of between 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm; a second layer defined by a second planer sheet of PVC of the pad body, the second layer having a thickness between 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm
Claim 6 portion:
the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm; a second layer defined by a second planer sheet of PVC of the pad body, the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm
The instant claim is fully encompassed by copendening application 18/980,421 except the instant claim recites a first and second layer having a thickness between .2 – 0.7mm instead of 0.29 mm - 0.70 mm.
Claim 7 portion:
and wherein the plurality of coupling straps comprise one or more straps with one or more plug portions on one or more sides of the strap
Claim 7 portion:
and wherein the plurality of coupling straps comprise the strap with plug portions of a side-squeeze buckle assembly on opposing sides of the strap
The instant claim is fully encompassed by copendening application 18/980,421 except the instant claim recites one or more straps and plug portions instead of a plurality of straps and plug portions.
Claim 10 portion:
a bag zipper extending from the first end to the second end
Claim 10 portion:
a bag zipper disposed along a central length axis of the coupling bag extending from the first end to the second end
The instant claim is fully encompassed by copendening application 18/980,421 except that the instant application omits [a bag zipper] disposed along a central length axis of the coupling bag
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12—17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern (Stern hereafter).
As per claim 12, Stern teaches:
A method of coupling a pressure pad system to an article (800—Fig.9; para [0060]), the method comprising: disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system on the article (800—Fig.9; para [0060]), the pressure pad system including first and second ends and first and second peripheral sides (annotated Fig.9), the pressure pad system comprising: a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends (812—Fig.9; para [0060]), a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides (812—Fig.9; para [0060]), and a plurality of coupling straps(846—Fig.9; para [0060]); and coupling the pressure pad system to the article(846—Fig.9; para [0062]), including wrapping at least two of the plurality of coupling straps around a portion of the article(846—Fig.9; para [0060]).
As per claim 13, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein disposing the pad body of the pressure pad system on the article comprises disposing the pad body of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article (Fig.11A; para [0062]).
As per claim 14, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends (812—Fig.9; para [0060])comprises at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends (812—Fig.9; para [0060]) and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap (844—Fig.9; para [0060]) and a first coupler portion attached to the end coupling strap (846—Fig.9; para [0060]).
As per claim 15, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides comprises at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs (812—Fig.9; para [0060]) comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a first coupler portion (844—Fig.9; para [0060]).
As per claim 16, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of coupling straps comprise a strap with second coupler portions on opposing sides of the strap (844—Fig.9; para [0060]), with each of the second coupler portions configured to couple with first coupler portions of the end coupling tabs and the peripheral coupling tabs (para [0060]).
As per claim 17, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein coupling the pressure pad system to the article includes wrapping at least two of the plurality of coupling straps around a frame or body of the article and a cushion or mattress of the article (846—Fig.9; para [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent Application 2005/0246834 A1 to Weedling (Weedling hereafter).
As per claim 18, Stern (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Stern does not teach, wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides; and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by a cushion or mattress of the article and/or a frame or body of the article.
Weedling teaches wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides (44, 54 & 56—Fig.6; para [0033]); and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by a cushion or mattress of the article and/or a frame or body of the article (82—Fig.9; para [0043]: slots positioned on mattress).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Weedling (directed to a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide releasable attachment between the pull straps and the transfer mattress as taught in Weedling (para [0043]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0380504 A1 to Therkildsen (Therkildsen hereafter).
As per claim 19, Stern (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the article comprises a footrest (1102d—Fig.11C). Stern does not teach configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration, and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: a first coupling loop, and a second coupling loop, and wherein the first coupling loop and the second coupling loop couple with the footrest of the recliner, by wrapping around the footrest, to couple the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and in the extended configuration.
Therkildsen teaches configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration (18—Fig.1; para [0049]), and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: a first coupling loop (62—Fig.4; para [0050]), and a second coupling loop (62—Fig.4; para [0050]), and wherein the first coupling loop and the second coupling loop couple with the footrest of the recliner (66—Fig.2 & 62—Fig.4; para [0050]), by wrapping around the footrest, to couple the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and in the extended configuration (62—Fig.4; para [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Therkildsen (directed to a pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair es. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to couple the pillow to the leg section of the recliner chair as taught in Therkildsen (para [0050]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0115790 A1 to Ramano et al. (Ramano hereafter).
As per claim 20, Stern (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 12.
Stern does not teach, wherein the pressure pad system comprises a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed, the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet and including a bag closure, wherein opening the bag closure allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity and closing the bag closure allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity.
Ramano teaches, wherein the pressure pad system comprises a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed (62—Fig.2; para [0043]), the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet and including a bag closure (62—Fig.2; para [0043]: rectangular structure generally shown), wherein opening the bag closure allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity and closing the bag closure allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity (60—Fig.2; para [0043]: pad inserted to bag).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Ramano (directed to a pad system provided with a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a cover capable of encasing and protecting the internal cover as taught in Ramano (para [0039]).
Claim(s) 5, 7 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu (Chu hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies (Kalies hereafter).
As per claim 5, Chu teaches:
A method of coupling a pressure pad system to an article (300—Fig.3; para [0033]), the pad body having a rectangular shape with a length axis that is greater than a width axis (30 & 300—Fig.3; para [0033]), the pressure pad system including first and second ends and first and second peripheral sides (20 & 30—Fig.3; para [0033]).
Chu does not teach: the method comprising: disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article, the pressure pad system comprising: a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system, with at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap,
a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides, with at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a socket portion, and a plurality of coupling straps comprising a strap; and coupling the pressure pad system to the article including wrapping at least two of the plurality of coupling straps around a frame or body of the article and the at least one cushion or mattress of the article.
Stern teaches the method comprising: disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article(800—Fig.9; para [0060]), the pressure pad system comprising: a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system (812—Fig.9; para [0060]), with at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system (844—Fig.9; para [0060]) and with
a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides (812—Fig.9; para [0060]), with at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides
and a plurality of coupling straps comprising a strap (846—Fig.9; para [0060]); and coupling the pressure pad system to the article (846—Fig.9; para [0062]) including wrapping at least two of the plurality of coupling straps around a frame or body of the article and the at least one cushion or mattress of the article (846—Fig.9; para [0060]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to hold the components in place relative to the furniture element as taught in Stern (para [0060]).
Chu (as modified) does not teach each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap
Kalies teaches each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap (460-Fig.21) and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap (100-Fig.21) and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a socket portion (100-Fig.21).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) arrived at a pressure pad system provided end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to secure the support to an object of furniture as taught in Kalies (Col 6 Lines 5—10).
As per claim 7, Chu (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 5.
Chu as modified does not teach, wherein each of the end coupling tabs comprise a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap, wherein each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprise a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly, and wherein the plurality of coupling straps comprise one or more straps with one or more plug portions of one or more sides of the strap, with each of the plug portions configured to couple with the socket portions of the end coupling tabs and the socket portions of the peripheral coupling tabs.
Kalies teaches:
wherein each of the end coupling tabs comprise a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap (100-Fig.21), wherein each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprise a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly (100-Fig.21), and wherein the plurality of coupling straps comprise one or more straps (470 & 480-Fig.21) with plug portions of a side-squeeze buckle assembly on one or more sides of the strap (473 & 474-Fig.21), with each of the plug portions configured to couple with the socket portions of the end coupling tabs and the socket portions of the peripheral coupling tabs(460 & 470-Fig.22).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) arrived at a pressure pad system provided end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to secure the support to an object of furniture as taught in Kalies (Col 6 Lines 5—10).
As per claim 11, Chu (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the pad body defines the first and second ends and the first and second peripheral sides (20 & 30—Fig.3; para [0033])
Chu does not teach, and wherein the plurality of end coupling tabs and plurality of peripheral coupling tabs are coupled to the pad body.
Kalies teaches and wherein the plurality of end coupling tabs and plurality of peripheral coupling tabs are coupled to the pad body (100—Fig.21; Col 5 Lines 64—70).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) arrived at a pressure pad system provided end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to secure the support to an object of furniture as taught in Kalies (Col 6 Lines 5—10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies in further view of U.S Patent Application 2010/0139003 A1 to Moutafis (Moutafis hereafter).
As per claim 6, Chu (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the pad body comprises: a first layer defined by a first planer sheet of polyvinyl chloride (PVC) of the pad body (100—Fig.2; para [0025]) a second layer defined by a second planer sheet of PVC of the pad body (200—Fig.2; para [0025]), the second layer being directly physically coupled with the first layer via a plurality of weld couplings (100 & 200—Fig.2; para [0033]); a first chamber and a second chamber that is separate from the first chamber (110 & 210—Fig.3; para [0027]), the first and second chambers being defined by the first and second layers and the plurality of weld couplings that physically couple the first and second layers (110 & 210—Fig.3; para [0027]),
the first and second chambers being physically separate such that the first and second chambers can be separately inflated and deflated (110 & 210—Fig.3; para [0027]), the first and second chambers defining a plurality of first and second forks that are staggered with each other (110 & 210—Fig.3; para [0027]), with each of the plurality of first and second forks having a central fork axis that is parallel to the width axis of the pad body and perpendicular to the length axis of the pad body (150 & 250—Fig.3; para [0027]);
and a first charging port and a second charging port (212 & 112—Fig.3; para [0026]), the first charging port defining a passage through which air can be introduced into the first chamber and the second charging port defining a passage through which air can be introduced into the second chamber (214 & 114—Fig.3; para [0026]), the first charging port and the second charging port being separate such that the first and second chambers can be separately inflated and deflated via the first charging port and the second charging port (para [0029]).
Chu (as modified) does not teach, the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm; the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm.
Moutafis teaches: the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm (46—Fig.8A; para [0069]), the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm (46—Fig.8A; para [0069]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) and Moutafis (directed to an inflatable system provided with a pump and a first and second layer with a thickness) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensile properties of the fluid-impermeable material used for the bladders, based on the desired maximum system pressure as taught in Moutafis (para [0069]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies in view of U.S Patent Application 2005/0246834 A1 to Weedling.
As per claim 8, Chu (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 5.
Chu as modified does not teach, wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides via a respective anchor loop that extends through a respective anchor; and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by the at least one cushion or mattress of the article and a frame or body of the article.
Weedling teaches, wherein the pressure pad system further comprises a plurality of anchor straps coupled to the first and second peripheral sides via a respective anchor loop that extends through a respective anchor (44, 54 & 56—Fig.6; para [0033]); and wherein the method further includes anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by the at least one cushion or mattress of the article and a frame or body of the article (82—Fig.9; para [0043]slot on mattress).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Weedling (directed to a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to facilitate sliding movement of the transfer mattress 10 during circumstances when the caregiver stands close to the side of the mattresses as taught in Weedling (para [0033]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies in further view of U.S Patent Application 2019/0380504 A1 to Therkildsen.
As per claim 9, Chu (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the article comprises a recliner that includes the at least one cushion and a footrest (1102d—Fig.11C; para [0062]).
Chu does not teach configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration, wherein two of the end coupling tabs extend from the first end, and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: a first coupling loop extending between and coupled to the second end and the first peripheral side, and a second coupling loop extending between and coupled to the second end and the second peripheral side, and wherein the first coupling loop and the second coupling loop couple with the footrest of the recliner, by wrapping around the footrest, to couple the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and the extended configuration.
Therkildsen teaches [a footrest] configured to assume a retracted configuration and an extended configuration (18—Fig.1; para [0049]), wherein two of the end coupling tabs extend from the first end (64—Fig.4; para [0050]), and wherein the pressure pad system comprises: a first coupling loop extending between and coupled to the second end and the first peripheral side (68—Fig.2; para [0050]), and a second coupling loop extending between and coupled to the second end and the second peripheral side (66—Fig.2; para [0050]), and wherein the first coupling loop and the second coupling loop couple with the footrest of the recliner (para [0050]), by wrapping around the footrest, to couple the pressure pad system to the footrest of the recliner including when the footrest is in both the retracted configuration and the extended configuration (18—Fig.1; para [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Chu (directed to a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers) and Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) and Therkildsen (directed to a pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with straps configured to secure to furniture and coupled to the leg section of a recline chair es. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to couple the pillow to the leg section of the recliner chair as taught in Therkildsen (para [0050]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies in view of in further view of U.S Patent Application 2014/0115790 A1 to Ramano.
As per claim 10, Chu (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 5.
Chu does not teach, wherein the pressure pad system comprises a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed, the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet with a bag zipper disposed along a central length axis of the coupling bag extending from the first end to the second end, wherein opening the bag zipper allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity and closing the bag zipper allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity, and wherein the coupling bag defines the parallel first and second ends and parallel first and second peripheral sides.
Ramano teaches, wherein the pressure pad system comprises a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed (62—Fig.2; para [0043]), the coupling bag comprising a front and rear rectangular sheet with a bag zipper disposed along a central length axis of the coupling bag extending from the first end to the second end (88—Fig.4; para [0041]: zipper structure generally shown), wherein opening the bag zipper allows the pad body to be inserted into and/or removed from the bag cavity and closing the bag zipper allows the pad body to be enclosed within the bag cavity, and wherein the coupling bag defines the parallel first and second ends and parallel first and second peripheral sides (60—Fig.2; para [0043]: pad inserted to bag).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Stern (directed to a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles) and Kalies (directed to an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap) and Ramano (directed to a pad system provided with a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed) and arrived at a pressure pad system provided with a coupling bag that defines a bag cavity in which the pad body of the pressure pad system is disposed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a cover capable of encasing and protecting the internal cover as taught in Ramano (para [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1—4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claims 1, the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application 2011/0252567 A1 to Chu teaches a pressure pad system provided with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers.
Chu as modified by the following teaches
(U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern) a pressure pad system with alternating inflatable chambers including PVC material and a first and second port for inflating the chambers provided with straps configured to secure to furniture provided with squeeze fit buckles.
(U.S Patent Application 2005/0246834 A1 to Weedling) a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing a pad system provided with coupling straps crisscrossing.
(U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies) teaches an attachable cushion provided with end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion coupled to the end coupling strap.
Regarding claim 1 there is no teaching suggestion or motivation in the prior art of record presented above which would reasonably permit a combination which would arrive at the combination of elements presented in independent claim 1. Specifically, the limitation with respect to:
disposing a pad body of the pressure pad system on at least one cushion or mattress of the article, the first layer having a thickness of between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm, the second layer having a thickness between 0.20 mm - 0.70 mm, a plurality of end coupling tabs extending from one or both of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system, with at least two end coupling tabs extending from one of the first and second ends of the pressure pad system and with each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap;
in combination with:
a plurality of peripheral coupling tabs coupled to the first and second peripheral sides, with at least one peripheral coupling tab coupled to each of the first and second peripheral sides and with each of the plurality of peripheral coupling tabs comprising a peripheral coupling strap and a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly;
a plurality of coupling straps comprising a strap with plug portions of a side-squeeze buckle assembly on opposing sides of the strap, with each of the plug portions configured to couple with the socket portions of the end coupling tabs and the socket portions of the peripheral coupling tabs; and a plurality of anchor straps coupled centrally and respectively along a common anchor strap axis to the first and second peripheral sides via a respective anchor loop that extends through a respective anchor;
anchoring the pressure pad system to the article by disposing the anchors of the respective anchor straps into respective first and second slots defined by the at least one cushion or mattress of the article and a frame or body of the article.
Therefor upon exhausting the art, it is concluded by the examiner for those reasons stated above that inconsideration with deficiencies of the prior art, that applicant’s invention would be considered non-obvious in light of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-14, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2008/0178392 A1 to Chu in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern in view of U.S Patent 12,042,051 B1 to Kalies.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-14, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1—4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 regarding claim 12 on pg. 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 04/09/2026, the Applicant argues,
Regarding claims 5, Stern as cited teaches a buckle 846 on one end of the strap 844 and a fastener 812 on the other end of the strap 844. Accordingly, Stern fails to teach or suggest "a plurality of coupling straps comprising a strap with plug portions of a side-squeeze buckle assembly on opposing sides of the strap."
Additionally, it is unclear how Stern teaches "each of the end coupling tabs comprising an end coupling strap and a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap."
Regarding claim 12, applicant respectfully submits that claim 12 is allowable for the reasons discussed above in connection with claim 1.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding claims 5, The examiner maintains that Chu as modified by Kalies teaches the end coupling tabs comprise a socket portion of a side-squeeze buckle assembly coupled to the end coupling strap one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to secure the support to an object of furniture as taught in Kalies (Col 6 Lines 5—10).
2) Regarding claim 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2017/0332802 A1 to Stern. The examiner highlights that independent claim 12 does not recite the particulars of claim 1 and that claim 12 is may not be considered allowable for the reasons discussed above in connection with claim 1.
3)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S Patent Application 2003/0163874 A1 to Boso et. al an inflatable mattress topper including an inflatable chamber which may be formed out of polyvinyl chloride with or without lamination or flocking. The inflatable chamber is designed to rest upon a support system, namely a bed without additional securing devices or may be integrated within a conventional mattress. The inflatable chamber being inflated by air to an adjustable level to provide the desired support for its user through plastic tubing connected between a pump and an air inlet sealed to the polyvinyl chloride chamber.
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 05/05/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673