DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 19/323757 filed on 09/09/2025 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kobel et al. [US 2022/023649], hereinafter referred to as Kobel, in view of Kay et al. [US 2018/02899999 A1], hereinafter referred to as Kay.
As to claims 1, 18 and 20, Kobel discloses a system for managing components ([see at least 0050 and 0051], “control system generating inputs, outputs, and user interfaces in relation to equipment, components and machines) , the system comprising: a work machine comprising an onboard display and a connectivity module, the connectivity module configured to transmit and receive a communication signal ([see at least 0086], “work machine, onboard display, connectivity module; see also paragraph 104: "work machine 1202 may be provisioned with an integrated connectivity module 1204 configured to connect to the local fleet connectivity system 1200. The integrated connectivity module 1204 may be configured to perform the functions of multiple devices that are often installed as separate components in traditionally provisioned work machines 1202. The functions and components provided in the integrated connectivity module 1204 can include telematics 1206, analytics 1208, communications 1210”); a component associated with the work machine ([see at least 0073], “work machine component" in paragraph 73: "an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) may determine a work machine component requires replacement based on the condition of the component as detected by a sensor on the work machine and reported to the OEM via the local fleet connectivity system”); an electronic tag, wherein the electronic tag is associated with the component and an identifier of the component ([see at least 0079], “The connectivity module is configured, in some embodiments, to determine what components are integral to the
module and what components are machine equipment in response to a command"; this implies a bi-directional communication between the components and the connectivity module”), wherein the electronic tag is configured to; and transmit the communication signal to the connectivity module of the work machine, wherein the communication signal is associated with the identifier ([see at least 0079 and 0080], “the connectivity module may be configured to determine a machine state or condition (e.g. state of charge), receive
and process data from sensors (e.g. determine machine position or motion based on satellite positioning or inertial measurement unit outputs)"; the determination requires the presence of an identity, since the data needs to be mapped to the correct component/sensor); and a management module ([see at least 0079], “"local fleet connectivity system" in paragraph 79 might, for example, be regarded as the management module”).
Kobel does not explicitly disclose receive an indication of the component and the identifier. However Kay teaches receiving an indication of the component and the identifier ([see at least 0039 and 0040], “provide an indication that a particular piece of equipment 124 is present by, for example, entering the code into the user device 132. For example, a user may scan a barcode or manually input a code affixed a particular piece of equipment 124 and, by so doing, provide an input to the vehicle management system 120 via a secure connection established between the user device”). Both Kobel and Kay illustrate similar systems that use tags associated with machine components. Kay on the other hand teaches a receiving an indication of the component and the identifier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified Kobel so as to several alternative communication means. The use of tags in order to identify components of a machine. with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand several alternative communication means. The use of tags in order to identify components of a machine in Kay, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Kobel and Kay because this would improve identifying components of a machine.
As to claims 2, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the management module comprises a task management module, configured to: receive a planned task; determine at least one step required to complete the planned task; and present the at least one step required to complete the planned task on a display ([see at least 0120 and 0121]).
As to claims 3, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the task management module is configured to receive the planned task from a user device ([see at least 0120 and 0121]).
As to claims 4, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the task management module is further configured to: identify at least one required component to complete the planned task; and present the at least one required component on the display ([see at least 0073, 0093 and 0110]).
As to claims 5, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the task management module presents the at least one step required to complete the planned task on the display in response to the work machine arriving at a predetermined location ([see at least 0073, 0093 and 0110]).
As to claims 6, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the task management module is further configured to receive a confirmation that the at least one step is completed ([see at least 0134]).
As to claims 7, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the confirmation is received from at least one of, a user device, the onboard display, and the connectivity module ([see at least 0134]).
As to claims 8, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the connectivity module is further configured to transmit the confirmation upon the work machine performing an operation ([see at least 0134]).
As to claims 9, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, wherein the management module comprises a component management module, the component management module configured to: receive a second indication of a location of at least one component; receive at least one status of the at least one component; and present the indication of the location and the at least one status on a display ([see at least Fig.1, 0049 and 0073]).
As to claims 10, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, further configured to limit a component functionality upon determining that a second component with a second electronic tag is not associated with the work machine ([see at least 0079]).
As to claims 11, Kobel discloses a system for managing components, comprises a service management module, the service management module configured to communicate with the onboard display and the electronic tag to determine and present a maintenance schedule ([see at least 0050, 0061 and 0103]).
As to claims 12, Kobel discloses a system, wherein the onboard display is configured to receive a maintenance status from a technician device ([see at least 0050, 0061 and 0103]).
As to claims 13, Kobel discloses a system, wherein the maintenance status includes at least one of a required maintenance, a reason for disablement, a need for a second technician, and a current status of repair ([see at least 0066]).
As to claims 16, Kobel discloses a system, further comprising a user device comprising a display and a camera, the user device configured to: transmit camera data to a server associated with a service department, through the service management module; receive from the service department, through the service management module, a graphical representation of a service to perform; present the camera data on the display; and overlay the graphical representation of the service to perform over the camera data on the display ([see at least 0117]).
As to claims 17, Kobel discloses a system, wherein service management module functionality is disabled until a user purchases the service management module functionality ([see at least 0103] “subscription”).
As to claims 19, Kobel discloses a computer-implemented method comprising, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, a task to be completed; determining, by the one or more processors, one or more steps to complete the task to be completed; and presenting, by the one or more processors, the one or more steps on a display associated with the work machine ([see at least 0120 and 0121]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kobel in view of Kay, and in further view of Datema et al. [US 2019/0121353 A1], hereinafter referred to as Datema.
As to claims 1, Kobel in view of Kay discloses all the limitations stated above.
Kobel does not explicitly disclose wherein the service management module automatically updates the maintenance schedule upon receiving a third indication of interaction with the work machine. However Datema teaches wherein the service management module automatically updates the maintenance schedule upon receiving a third indication of interaction with the work machine ([see at least 0051 and 0052]). Both Kobel and Kay illustrate similar systems that use tags associated with machine components. Datema on the other hand teaches the use of augmented reality for the repair operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified Kobel in view of Kay so as to the service management module automatically updates the maintenance schedule upon receiving a third indication of interaction with the work machine with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand updating and interacting to indications in Datema, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Kobel in view of Kay and in further view of Datema because this would improve identifying components of a machine and correcting any faults.
As to claims 15, Datema discloses a system, wherein the service management module is further configured to transmit sensor data to a server associated with a service department ([see at least 0051 and 0052]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668